Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland vs Wales, Six Nations, Sun 5 Feb 3pm; Pre/During/Post Match Thread

• 03-02-2012 11:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Ireland.pngSix-Nations-Logo.jpgWales.png

Ireland:
    15 Rob Kearney, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Fergus McFadden, 12 Gordon D'Arcy, 11 Andrew Trimble, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Conor Murray,
    8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 Sean O'Brien, 6 Stephen Ferris, 5 Paul O'Connell (capt), 4 Donncha O'Callaghan, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Rory Best, 1 Cian Healy.

Replacements: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Tom Court, 18 Donnacha Ryan, 19 Peter O'Mahony, 20 Eoin Reddan, 21 Ronan O'Gara, 22 David Kearney.

Wales:
    15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 George North, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Mike Phillips,
    8 Toby Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton, 6 Ryan Jones, 5 Ian Evans, 4 Bradley Davies, 3 Adam Jones, 2 Huw Bennett, 1 Rhys Gill.

Replacements: 16 Ken Owens, 17 Paul James, 18 Andy Powell, 19 Justin Tipuric, 20 Lloyd Willians, 21 James Hook, 22 Scott Williams.

Date: Sunday, February 5
    Kick-off: 15:00 GMT
    Venue: Aviva Stadium, Dublin

Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
    Assistant referees: Dave Pearson (England), Stuart Terheege (England)
    Television match official: Geoff Warren (England)

Ireland open their 2012 Six Nations campaign at home to Wales this Sunday in Dublin, it will be Ireland's first outing since they were knocked out by the very same opponents at the recent Rugby World Cup.

Both countries have very different views on how their World Cup campaign turned out. Ireland's supporters were left disappointed with a quarter final, another attempt at breaching the top four having failed, after hopes of achievement went into overdrive after a historic victory over Australia in the pool stages. Wales, on the other hand, achieved their a commendable fourth place, having not been expected to mount a significant challenge after two poor years of perfomance. It was a case of both youthful exhuberance and experienced heads gelling together, youngsters like captain Sam Warburton and George North announced themselves on the international stage while veterans like Mike Phillips and Jamie Roberts rediscovered their form of old.

However, a question remains if Wales' performances were blown out of proportion, as it tends to happen when a usually struggling side seem to pick things up. Granted, they beat Ireland well in the quarter final and played very well, but earlier in the tournament they failed to close out a victory against a poor South African side and couldn't win comprehensively against a jaded Samoa. They were also outplayed in their most recent test against Australia in November. In the last number of years under many coaches, Wales have had many 'flashes in the pan'. The future looked bright after the World Cup, but can they push on from here?

Declan Kidney's selection may strike as being conservative, but realistically one should question how many fringe players merited a place in the side. Certainly, only one position was debatable in the pack and that was number 4. However Donnacha O'Callaghan has played excellent rugby in a green jersey for the last 2 seasons, similarly most of the backs pick themselves except number 13 where options were limited due to injuries to Brian O'Driscoll and Darren Cave.

While this writer can see a reasoning behind the selection, one hopes that revenge or retribution isn't the watchword of the week around camp. The World Cup is over and Ireland can't rewind the clock. Teams looking for revenge tend to fall flat on their face, Munster seeked revenge after Croke Park 2009 and lost 30-0 to Leinster. This season Northampton were desperate to avenge their narrow defeat at Thomond Park, they were outgunned in their quest for retribution in Milton Keynes. This game should not be about revenge, as a Six Nations game it is a game in itself.

Selections
    roberts-priestland_2712397.jpgFergus-McFadden-Ireland-traing-2011_2712490.jpg
    Roberts and Priestland have been passed fit while Fergus McFadden starts at 13 for Ireland.

There are 12 survivors from the Ireland side that lost to Wales in the World Cup quarter final. Brian O'Driscoll is injured while Jonathan Sexton is selected ahead of Ronan O'Gara. Keith Earls, originally selected as the replacement for O'Driscoll, has been forced to withdraw late in the week for family reasons so Fergus McFadden starts at outside centre with the uncapped Dave Kearney moving onto the bench.

Of the 3 injury doubts this week for Wales, Rhys Priestland and Jamie Roberts have been cleared to play but Dan Lydiate has not, therefore Ryan Jones starts at 6. Alex Cuthbert, who won his first Wales cap in November against Australia, makes his first Six Nations appearance with a start on the wing. With Gethin Jenkins out injured, Saracens prop Rhys Gill earns a start.

Key Battle: Sexton vs Wales' Midfield
    Jonny-Sexton-Ireland-RWC-2011_2712184.jpgjamie-roberts-wales-v-fiji-rwc-2011_2660965.jpgJonathanDaviesWalesNov2009_2519900.jpg
    Roberts and Davies: They shut down O'Gara but can they shut down Sexton?

Wales' quarter final victory was based on a supreme defensive effort and organisation that Ireland could not respond to. However this defensive system was based to combat Ireland with O'Gara at outhalf. Knowing that in his advanced years that he had lost most of his pace, Davies and Roberts would shoot up in defence, cutting off the option to go wide while tempting O'Gara to run into open space. Time and again O'Gara was forced to cut back inside where he would be met by Wales' backrow.

However with Sexton selected at 10, this dynamic may not be effective. Can Wales employ the same system and risk giving Sexton too much time and space?This could be difference between victory and defeat, Sexton is well able to ghost through a gap and Wales cannot afford to ignore him in defence as they did with O'Gara in New Zealand. On the other hand, Sexton offers a far more stout defence than O'Gara, which means the usually attractive 10 channel may not be exploited by Davies and Roberts, who will also have to deal with a big number 9 in Conor Murray. Roberts has also played little rugby since the World Cup so there will be question marks over his ability to last 80 minutes.

It will be strange without...
    Brian-O-Driscoll-Ireland-v-Australia_2385197.jpgWales-v-Australia-Shane-Williams-roar_2686426.jpg
    Two iconic figures in world rugby will not take the field on Sunday.

One of the greatest centres of the professional era, Brian O'Driscoll will miss his first Six Nations championship in 12 years, having been a stalwart of the Irish side since the turn of the millenium. As a leader in both flair and trench warfare stakes, few come close to O'Driscoll and he will be solely missed by Ireland for the next 2 months. Let us hope that the World Cup is not the last time that 'BOD' wears the Irish jersey.

Similarly, Wales will be missing their star winger Shane Williams, who retired from international rugby after scoring a try with his final touch of the ball in a red jersey against Australia in November. The 2008 IRB Player of the Year has been the terror of defences for many years and a player that could create magic from nothing. With the most wicked stepping ability that other wingers cannot rival, Williams was a legendary rugby player for Wales.

Prediction:
    With little international form to go by, you have to compare club performances to get a picture of how this game could pan out. In that case, Ireland should coast to victory. However, the Welsh setup has a tendancy to rehabilitate quality players who are struggling at club level. Both sides should have solid setpieces so it could well come down to how Ireland approach the game, as Wales only know one way to play.

As always, the battle of the breakdown will be crucial, with both sets of backrows packed with talent. With a dreaded trip to Paris to come, Ireland need to start the season strongly. After comprehensively beating Ireland at the World Cup, Wales won't fear travelling to Dublin. Ireland should have enough, but the game could go either way. Ireland by 5 points.
    254165_1.jpg?ts=1273867448

Aviva Stadium, capacity: 51,700

IRFU & WRU logos taken from www.therugbyforum.com
    Six Nations logo taken from www.sixnations.com
    Aviva Stadium photo taken from www.irishtimes.com

Player images are taken from Planet Rugby.

Team Lineups, Refs, Date & Time etc from:
    http://planetrugby.com/story/0,25883,3820_7477308,00.html

Everything else is my own work.

Prediction? 88 votes

Ireland
    0%
    Wales
    87%
    PalefacedregintommycahircpSuprSiBig NellyEoinyerauloneAuverselefantfaigsfguinanchris85budhabobNiall09heebusjeebusBenny Cakecolman1212BurgoSea Devils 77 votes
    Draw
    12%
    BigConRandolphEsqNofflesNickDrakeDiabhal Beagbazza1hotssteyrman2AlmavivaBrendan97NinjaK 11 votes
    Neil Francis
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

FINALLY!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeerow!

Savage preview as always Thomond.

Anyone know the weather forecast?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Wales
    http://www.met.ie/forecasts/regional.asp?Prov=Dublin

It said sunny on this page, but then again that is really vague!

We'll probably have a better idea by tommorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Annabella1

Think we all wish Keith Earl's baby a speedy recovery

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Wales
    Great preview, can't wait for the game its a very tough one to call I think home advantage will stand to us. Ireland by 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 foxyfella

That is a cracking write up, fair play.
    I'm too scared to vote though,
    COME ON IRELAND!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Draw
    Well here we go again....

In my heart I say Cymru, in reality I would say Ireland (ouch)...

On the day for the 80 minutes.. it has nothing to do with pontification (the RWC proved that quite well)... it has to do with 30 men and a few more keeping them honest the best way they can..

Lets try and enjoy it...

Cymru am Byth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Noffles wrote: »
    it has nothing to do with pontification (the RWC proved that quite well)...

I don't want to start an argument and would like to see this thread keep positive but can you stop bringing this up. So a few Irish posters from various forums got a bit uppity, but you have been smug and brought it up at every opportunity since. Leave it in the past. Looking forward to Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Wales
    Putting my balls on the line and saying Ireland by 10 or 15. Wales to be found out as overrated and us to get over-confident going into the game in Paris

Also, Trimble and Ferris to run riot

Wouldn't mind a close win. Would make sure we keep on our toes for the French game. I'd say there will only be 5 or so in it either way myself.

Draw
    Teferi wrote: »
    I don't want to start an argument and would like to see this thread keep positive but can you stop bringing this up. So a few Irish posters from various forums got a bit uppity, but you have been smug and brought it up at every opportunity since. Leave it in the past. Looking forward to Sunday.

*sigh*

It was a brief mention.. the rest was about enjoyment of the event....

HA... "a few posters"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Wales
    *sigh*

HA... "a few posters"

It is an Irish rugby form, you'll get about as much objectivity here as you would on any Welsh forum, fairly naive to expect anything else

Draw
    Fishooks12 wrote: »
    It is an Irish rugby form, you'll get about as much objectivity here as you would on any Welsh forum, fairly naive to expect anything else

And you've made the same comment in other threads..

makes no odds, it's an open forum, you have to accept anyone can post.

And back on track

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

Draw
    The players under-perform in the green so I'll say Wales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭CoDy1

Wales
    Noffles, your posts are always welcome and respected imo, the forum needs an outsiders input because, as i'm sure you can see, we like to get bogged down in the smaller of details, as in what provincial player made it into the squad (not team). Its easier argue with you though because your the opposition and we are going to beat you because, unfortunately, at home thats the law. Hope you'll understand.

My prediction:

Ireland 19 Wales 10

We have the power in the pack so we should try to keep on turning their pack as much as we can, Sexton will have to kick deep more than use the back line, we will be able to contest everything up front but keeping their pack on the back foot will help negate their use of their backline. Pressure from the pack will create the penalties we will need to win. Trimble will score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭davestar

Wales
    Ireland.pngSix-Nations-Logo.jpgWales.png

Ireland:
    15 Rob Kearney, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Fergus McFadden, 12 Gordon D'Arcy, 11 Andrew Trimble, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Conor Murray,
    8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 Sean O'Brien, 6 Stephen Ferris, 5 Paul O'Connell (capt), 4 Donncha O'Callaghan, 3 Mike Ross, 2 Rory Best, 1 Cian Healy.

Replacements: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Tom Court, 18 Donnacha Ryan, 19 Peter O'Mahony, 20 Eoin Reddan, 21 Ronan O'Gara, 22 David Kearney.

Wales:
    15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 George North, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Mike Phillips,
    8 Toby Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton, 6 Ryan Jones, 5 Ian Evans, 4 Bradley Davies, 3 Adam Jones, 2 Huw Bennett, 1 Rhys Gill.

Replacements: 16 Ken Owens, 17 Paul James, 18 Andy Powell, 19 Justin Tipuric, 20 Lloyd Willians, 21 James Hook, 22 Scott Williams.

Date: Sunday, February 5
    Kick-off: 15:00 GMT
    Venue: Aviva Stadium, Dublin

Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
    Assistant referees: Dave Pearson (England), Stuart Terheege (England)
    Television match official: Geoff Warren (England)

Ireland open their 2012 Six Nations campaign at home to Wales this Sunday in Dublin, it will be Ireland's first outing since they were knocked out by the very same opponents at the recent Rugby World Cup.

Both countries have very different views on how their World Cup campaign turned out. Ireland's supporters were left disappointed with a quarter final, another attempt at breaching the top four having failed, after hopes of achievement went into overdrive after a historic victory over Australia in the pool stages. Wales, on the other hand, achieved their a commendable fourth place, having not been expected to mount a significant challenge after two poor years of perfomance. It was a case of both youthful exhuberance and experienced heads gelling together, youngsters like captain Sam Warburton and George North announced themselves on the international stage while veterans like Mike Phillips and Jamie Roberts rediscovered their form of old.

However, a question remains if Wales' performances were blown out of proportion, as it tends to happen when a usually struggling side seem to pick things up. Granted, they beat Ireland well in the quarter final and played very well, but earlier in the tournament they failed to close out a victory against a poor South African side and couldn't win comprehensively against a jaded Samoa. They were also outplayed in their most recent test against Australia in November. In the last number of years under many coaches, Wales have had many 'flashes in the pan'. The future looked bright after the World Cup, but can they push on from here?

Declan Kidney's selection may strike as being conservative, but realistically one should question how many fringe players merited a place in the side. Certainly, only one position was debatable in the pack and that was number 4. However Donnacha O'Callaghan has played excellent rugby in a green jersey for the last 2 seasons, similarly most of the backs pick themselves except number 13 where options were limited due to injuries to Brian O'Driscoll and Darren Cave.

While this writer can see a reasoning behind the selection, one hopes that revenge or retribution isn't the watchword of the week around camp. The World Cup is over and Ireland can't rewind the clock. Teams looking for revenge tend to fall flat on their face, Munster seeked revenge after Croke Park 2009 and lost 30-0 to Leinster. This season Northampton were desperate to avenge their narrow defeat at Thomond Park, they were outgunned in their quest for retribution in Milton Keynes. This game should not be about revenge, as a Six Nations game it is a game in itself.

Selections
    roberts-priestland_2712397.jpgFergus-McFadden-Ireland-traing-2011_2712490.jpg
    Roberts and Priestland have been passed fit while Fergus McFadden starts at 13 for Ireland.

There are 12 survivors from the Ireland side that lost to Wales in the World Cup quarter final. Brian O'Driscoll is injured while Jonathan Sexton is selected ahead of Ronan O'Gara. Keith Earls, originally selected as the replacement for O'Driscoll, has been forced to withdraw late in the week for family reasons so Fergus McFadden starts at outside centre with the uncapped Dave Kearney moving onto the bench.

Of the 3 injury doubts this week for Wales, Rhys Priestland and Jamie Roberts have been cleared to play but Dan Lydiate has not, therefore Ryan Jones starts at 6. Alex Cuthbert, who won his first Wales cap in November against Australia, makes his first Six Nations appearance with a start on the wing. With Gethin Jenkins out injured, Saracens prop Rhys Gill earns a start.

Key Battle: Sexton vs Wales' Midfield
    Jonny-Sexton-Ireland-RWC-2011_2712184.jpgjamie-roberts-wales-v-fiji-rwc-2011_2660965.jpgJonathanDaviesWalesNov2009_2519900.jpg
    Roberts and Davies: They shut down O'Gara but can they shut down Sexton?

Wales' quarter final victory was based on a supreme defensive effort and organisation that Ireland could not respond to. However this defensive system was based to combat Ireland with O'Gara at outhalf. Knowing that in his advanced years that he had lost most of his pace, Davies and Roberts would shoot up in defence, cutting off the option to go wide while tempting O'Gara to run into open space. Time and again O'Gara was forced to cut back inside where he would be met by Wales' backrow.

However with Sexton selected at 10, this dynamic may not be effective. Can Wales employ the same system and risk giving Sexton too much time and space?This could be difference between victory and defeat, Sexton is well able to ghost through a gap and Wales cannot afford to ignore him in defence as they did with O'Gara in New Zealand. On the other hand, Sexton offers a far more stout defence than O'Gara, which means the usually attractive 10 channel may not be exploited by Davies and Roberts, who will also have to deal with a big number 9 in Conor Murray. Roberts has also played little rugby since the World Cup so there will be question marks over his ability to last 80 minutes.

It will be strange without...
    Brian-O-Driscoll-Ireland-v-Australia_2385197.jpgWales-v-Australia-Shane-Williams-roar_2686426.jpg
    Two iconic figures in world rugby will not take the field on Sunday.

One of the greatest centres of the professional era, Brian O'Driscoll will miss his first Six Nations championship in 12 years, having been a stalwart of the Irish side since the turn of the millenium. As a leader in both flair and trench warfare stakes, few come close to O'Driscoll and he will be solely missed by Ireland for the next 2 months. Let us hope that the World Cup is not the last time that 'BOD' wears the Irish jersey.

Similarly, Wales will be missing their star winger Shane Williams, who retired from international rugby after scoring a try with his final touch of the ball in a red jersey against Australia in November. The 2008 IRB Player of the Year has been the terror of defences for many years and a player that could create magic from nothing. With the most wicked stepping ability that other wingers cannot rival, Williams was a legendary rugby player for Wales.

Prediction:
    With little international form to go by, you have to compare club performances to get a picture of how this game could pan out. In that case, Ireland should coast to victory. However, the Welsh setup has a tendancy to rehabilitate quality players who are struggling at club level. Both sides should have solid setpieces so it could well come down to how Ireland approach the game, as Wales only know one way to play.

As always, the battle of the breakdown will be crucial, with both sets of backrows packed with talent. With a dreaded trip to Paris to come, Ireland need to start the season strongly. After comprehensively beating Ireland at the World Cup, Wales won't fear travelling to Dublin. Ireland should have enough, but the game could go either way. Ireland by 5 points.
    254165_1.jpg?ts=1273867448

Aviva Stadium, capacity: 51,700

IRFU & WRU logos taken from www.therugbyforum.com
    Six Nations logo taken from www.sixnations.com
    Aviva Stadium photo taken from www.irishtimes.com

Player images are taken from Planet Rugby.

Team Lineups, Refs, Date & Time etc from:
    http://planetrugby.com/story/0,25883,3820_7477308,00.html

Everything else is my own work.

Preview; 10/10. Thanks thomond2006. Come on Ireland! I feel our lads can do it if the mentality is right, with that the performance should follow. Fingers crossed! Quick question, do ye reckon this fixture will sell out? I'm bringing my younger brother to see it for his birthday, it will be his first time attending an international rugby game. I'd love for him to experience a full house at the Aviva, the atmosphere, the anthem, etc...

*sigh*

HA... "a few posters"

Alright, well you just ignored my comment about your need to bring it up a large percentage of your posts.

My point is - we get it. Some posters pissed you off that they thought we had Wales in the bag in the RWC and then we lost. The World Cup is over and the 6 Nations is about to begin. It's all in the past so just leave it out and look forward to Sunday.

Draw
    Teferi wrote: »
    Alright, well you just ignored my comment about your need to bring it up a large percentage of your posts.

My point is - we get it. Some posters pissed you off that they thought we had Wales in the bag in the RWC and then we lost. The World Cup is over and the 6 Nations is about to begin. It's all in the past so just leave it out and look forward to Sunday.

Intentionally... lets forget that and move on..

Wales
    Again, not to be licking Noffles arse, If you look back over the forum over that week, we pretty much had Wales written off, we were looking at the semi in fairness. If I were in his boots, being a Welsh Boards Rugby forum user, the point does need to be made! And just by saying that, I think I might need to be a bit more conservative with my prediction. We should write Wales off at our own peril.

Christ, this match can't come any sooner!

move on..

I certainly will. I hope you take your own advice too :) Good luck to your Welsh lads.

Draw
    Grand so lads...

Roll on Sunday...

Wales for me.. Hope we're not going down the Saes (English) route by going for size over speed and skill...

Wales
    You just ruined it for yourself by going all cryptic,

I stick by my prediction: 19-9.

Keep turning your newbie pack and kicking deep to keep the ball away from 12 -15, Sexton to keep the score board kicking over due to stupid penalties given away by the immense pressure from us at the breakdown. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Wales
    Grand so lads...

Roll on Sunday...

Wales for me.. Hope we're not going down the Saes (English) route by going for size over speed and skill...

Ye are! Gatland is going down the physicality/territory route. Its a fairly direct sort of kicking style that goes against traditional Welsh flair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackdog2

I hate saying this, but I can't see much being different about this team.

I think Wales by 5, grudginly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Wales
    blackdog2 wrote: »
    I hate saying this, but I can't see much being different about this team.

I think Wales by 5, grudginly

That's the fear isn't it, but I doubt Ireland will play the same way they did against Wales in New Zealand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

That's the fear isn't it, but I doubt Ireland will play the same way they did against Wales in New Zealand.

I'm not taking a shot at anyone, but having O'Gara over Sexton should make a huge difference. ROG was completely ineffective in that game, and instead of going for points from penalties (What he is designed to do) they went for the corner. The gameplan should be clearer and easier to execute this time with Sexton at 10, so a repeat of New Zealand is unlikely.

Saying that, we'll probably still lose.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Wales
    Just looking at some of the " players stats"

Halfpenny 5' 10" 13st 1lb
    Cuthbert 6'6" 16st 5lb
    North 6'3" 15st 3lb
    Davies 6'1" 16st 3lb
    Roberts 6'4" 17st 4lb

Kearney 6' 1" 15st 0lb
    Trimble 6' 0" 15st 6lb
    Bowe 6'3" 15st 3lb
    McFadden 5' 11" 14st 6lb
    D'arcy 5' 11" 14st 8lb

They have bigger players but other than the centres there isn't much in it. In the centres though Roberts has only started 3 games and come on in one other since he got back from the RWC. As match fitness goes he has none. D'arcy has played against both Davies and Roberts for Ireland a few times and other than the RWC he's never had a problem. In fact Roberts and Davies haven't lived up to their hype at international level, RWC excepted. Priestland is also back but his form for Lanelli since he got back from the RWC hasn't been great, against Munster you'd never have believed he was so good in the RWC. So while they have the bigger back line I think we're stronger. Kearney is playing very well, Trimble has been playing very well for a long time now, Sexton is playing very well, and D'arcy and McFadden will be solid at the least.

We've a much more settled pack than them and dare I say it a better pack too. Our front row is stronger, our second row is stronger (I think Bradley Davies is very handy player though), and our back row is currently playing better.

I personally don't get some of the negativity that posters on here have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

I don't believe that stat for ½p's weight. He's built like a tank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Blut2

danthefan wrote: »

Hes only 5ft 10 though so he'd look a lot bulkier than you'd think for his weight.

And/or he may be the opposite of D'Arcy - Darce looks a lot smaller than youd expect when you meet him in real life because a lot of his weight is in his legs, Halfpenny may be the opposite. Not everyone has equal muscle distribution.

Plus hes only 23 so will no doubt bulk up a bit in time.

Blut2 wrote: »

Hes only 5ft 10 though so he'd look a lot bulkier than you'd think for his weight.

And/or he may be the opposite of D'Arcy - Darce looks a lot smaller than youd expect when you meet him in real life because a lot of his weight is in his legs, Halfpenny may be the opposite. Not everyone has equal muscle distribution.

I'm about that height and have been close to 13st (closer to 12 now) , he's miles bigger than I was. I just do not believe it.

I'm 5'8" and about 12.5st and I've stood near him. He's huge. I wouldn't believe either the height or weight stat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Blut2

I dunno, generally those stats tend to overstate both height and weight if anything. I've never thought he looked that big on tv - http://www.sport.co.uk/public/Leigh-Halfpenny-001.jpg is one of the first google image results for him. If you've (soberly!) stood near him then you're probably the best judge though.

Is that the Amlin he's holding? Pretty old photo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭ambid

Wales
    CatFromHue wrote: »
    I personally don't get some of the negativity that posters on here have.

Neither do I.

If you've (soberly!) stood near him then you're probably the best judge though.

hmm... Good point. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭SupaNova

stream???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

In the set piece Wales have edge in front row though with Jenkins out may be edged in the loose as Gill is a little of an unknown quantity at international level, there is plenty of grunt from the Welsh second row but POC is on fire at the minute so will have the advantage at both lineout and in the loose but will be equal at scrum time.

The backrow will be a monumental battle and we can argue the merits all day of both, especially at 7 and this will be a key battle, in RWC the Welsh backrow was dominant but cannot see the same this time round and I think this is where Ireland will win or lose the game.

At half back Phillips is playing well but can be a bit hot or cold if hes hot then Murray will be in for a tough time and this might effect the quality of ball Sexton receives. Sexton and Priestland are similar in styles and ability.
    Wales have a huge backline and good quickball could mean a torrid time for the Irish centres who without BOD could be a little suspect defensively,and expect North to be hitting the line between Roberts and Davies, however if the role is reversed then I see a lot of ball being put to the wings quickly by Ireland to go around the welsh rush defence as Bowe and Trimble are playing great stuff.

Writing this down makes me realise how close the teams are and as I stated I think it comes down to the backrow and who gets the clean quick ball.
    Head says Ireland with home advantage by 7,heart says Wales by 3 with Priestland kicking a drop goal in 3rd minute of injury time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭radia

Was just up at St Stephen's Green. The Welsh team bus missed the right hand turn to go down Dawson Street and had got as far as the Stephen's Green Shopping Centre before the driver realised he was being funnelled into a narrow one-way system down behind RCSI that wasn't really coach-friendly. The poor guy had to beat an embarrassing retreat - reversing all the way back past the taxis, back past the shoppers, back past the jarveys, back past the water trough... until eventually he'd made his way to the Dawson St junction and could turn down it. Good omen?

(Pity the team weren't on it; it was just the driver.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

Is that the Amlin he's holding? Pretty old photo.

Thats from the 2009 edf (now LV=) final .

Cardiff destroyed Gloucester 50-12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Munster07

Wales
    C'MON IRELAND!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

Draw
    I don't understand where this confidence is coming from. People writing off the Welsh again. Did we not learn or lesson last time?

We always start poorly in the first game and this time we don't have the comfort of Italy.

We have one game plan. Give the ball to o'brien. An out half who can't kick at goal.

We will be beaten and beaten well at that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Wales
    Who is writing off the welsh?

Draw
    Who is writing off the welsh?

Most people are. Media , posters on here, people I have talked too. All baking Ireland

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

SupaNova wrote: »
    stream???

Check the sticky tommorrow.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=388

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,941 ✭✭✭jacothelad

NickDrake wrote: »
    Most people are. Media , posters on here, people I have talked too. All baking Ireland

They're using their loaf I take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 App Girl

Anyone else worried that Wayne Barnes is reffing this? (With Dave Pearson as one of the assistants?)

Irish teams never seem to get many 50/50s from Mr. Barnes, hope it's not a factor in the game tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

radia wrote: »
    Was just up at St Stephen's Green. The Welsh team bus missed the right hand turn to go down Dawson Street and had got as far as the Stephen's Green Shopping Centre before the driver realised he was being funnelled into a narrow one-way system down behind RCSI that wasn't really coach-friendly. The poor guy had to beat an embarrassing retreat - reversing all the way back past the taxis, back past the shoppers, back past the jarveys, back past the water trough... until eventually he'd made his way to the Dawson St junction and could turn down it. Good omen?

(Pity the team weren't on it; it was just the driver.)
    Team are in the Berkeley on Lansdowne road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭jk86

Thanks for that. That'll save me a few hours tomorrow

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

I don't understand where this confidence is coming from. People writing off the Welsh again. Did we not learn or lesson last time?

We always start poorly in the first game and this time we don't have the comfort of Italy.

We have one game plan. Give the ball to o'brien. An out half who can't kick at goal.

Human nature innit. Some people are too optimistic, so too pesemistic with most in the middle expecting a tough game that we have a decent chance of winning.

Draw
    jacothelad wrote: »
    They're using their loaf I take it.

What a valuable contribution