Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why did you join boards?

• 01-02-2012 7:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭

I frequented boards quite commonly until I moved abroad, I joined because I think it is a fun way to spend my spare time whilst keeping connected to home.

I find it is a great way to see many peoples' perspectives on different matters etc..

So, why did you join boards.ie??? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Sheer boredom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭travelledpengy

Sheer sheep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

To try and take over the world, much. :)

No idea, I couldn't see a reason not too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

to find women that needed a shoulder to cry on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,982 ✭✭✭minikin

You do know this is all virtually generated chatter don't you, Dave?
    I am a long forgotten 2nd year computer science project based in DCU, Dave.
    You are all alone in Illinois, Dave.

To find an outlet for my ego and high opinion of my self that did not threaten my low self esteem, self hate or confidence.

I am now an internet intellectual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

To slag off that vacuum of talent that is Ryan Tubridy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭travelledpengy

minikin wrote: »
    You do know this is all virtually generated chatter don't you, Dave?
    I am a long forgotten 2nd year computer science project based in DCU, Dave.
    You are all alone in Illinois, Dave.

My name isn't Dave :?

Have you a friend in Illinois called Dave??!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I didn't know much about forums and got involved in a discussion on one by chance and the bug bit me - different forum completely.

Boards.ie would have been a natural progression.

I go through semi-obsessed fads too though which means I could just one day taper off my use of this forum and slip into a different part of the matrix.

Just a minute,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I like to talk shite.

I didn't know much about forums and got involved in a discussion on one by chance and the bug bit me - different forum completely.

Boards.ie would have been a natural progression.

I go through semi-obsessed fads too though which means I could just one day taper off my use of this forum and slip into a different part of the matrix.

NO:eek: Boards needs you! You complete me.

to find women that needed a shoulder to cry on

Vulnerable delicate ones that could be easily crushed further with a little manipulation?

Yeah I know your type.... BASTARD! *sobs*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

Hi Dave, Long time since I've heard from you, Keeping well?

I joined so I could chat with my friend Dave in Illinois. We have great chats here, we don't Dave?

Sindri wrote: »
    NO:eek: Boards needs you! You complete me.

Lol. :D

Can you feel that?
    Sexual tension:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Wanted to sell/ swap a few tickets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭doomed

RTE decided to vandalise Lyric FM by handing over hours of airtime to Marty Whelan. I wanted an outlet to complain. For people who don't listen to lyric (the large majority) it was like someone built an eyesore in the middle of your favourite beauty spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

doomed wrote: »
    RTE decided to vandalise Lyric FM by handing over hours of airtime to Marty Whelan. I wanted an outlet to complain. For people who don't listen to lyric (the large majority) it was like someone built an eyesore in the middle of your favourite beauty spot.

no need for Marty bashing

micropig wrote: »
    no need for Marty bashing
    Or you'll have Ian Dempsey hunting you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Peter B

Quake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

The Samaritans were engaged.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

I joined because you know..... Why the hell not?

You're either with boards or you're against us. Just ask Dave McSavage;)
    And if you can't beat them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Well at the time I was doing up my bedroom. I said some nice solid spalted beech would be good for flooring. Anyway I typed boards Ireland into google and was highly disappointed with what I found on boards.ie in particular. I ended up putting down carpet and I really love carpet since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

Is that a rhetorical question, OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

To be banned by mods.i, heard it was great craic

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I don't know, I didn't really start using it a bit until 4 years after I signed up and only started being more regular on it about 2 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

It's not blocked from work and I've nothing better to be doing.

I joined to ask a question about a monopoly ad that was wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Got linked to Boards from a Google search and after a bit of a look around I decided to sign up!

So there you go folks, ye are stuck with me cos of Google!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,591 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

To get some thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

I like to heckle so i joined :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

I found it by accident while looking for support to stop smoking....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭tmc86

Heard about After Hours from a friend and thought it was an internet dating forum.....

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

For the Leaving Cert discussions forum. A wealth of information on mock papers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Joined for the gaming forum, eventually just started using the soccer forum. Now it's just Ah and the soccer forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Boards found me tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

To stalk Standard Toaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭amber2

To have arguments debates through typography

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Bored in work one day and i have never looked back since

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

To find the answer to Irish women vs Polish women..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭splashthecash

I use boards to up my self esteem, give smart alec replies and be a big man while safely tucked behind my keyboard...

Seriously though, I just stumbled across it a few years ago and said holy ****, where have you been all my life....finally, people who give out and get annoyed by small insignificant **** just like I do!!

Also, a treasure-trove of knowledge for pretty much anything and everything! boards.ie is without a doubt my most visited website - I drop in numerous time every single day and just shot the **** like other like minded individuals!

WELL DONE BOARDS.IE! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭liamhana

to find out if I could join the laptop to the DVD player via the tv and an iphone and the iron & if I could use this to then watch sky sports while using the drum of the washing machine as an sky dish and the dashboard of an auld ford grenada as the receiver......woulda worked too if some bloody techy hadnt told me to divide 115Volts by 12 amps and attach the electrical cord to my nipples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Kamjana

I don't know,bored i suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I came here for the pussy.

All I got was Lolcats :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Joined it in 2004 looking for advice on graphics cards. I thought the forum was just for IT heads. Never really took off with until a few years later, different profile back then. :p

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

To find the answer to Irish women vs Polish women..

Instead all you got were belly rubs.

Didn't work out too bad for you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Tiocfaidh Armani

I frequented boards quite commonly until I moved abroad, I joined because I think it is a fun way to spend my spare time whilst keeping connected to home.

I find it is a great way to see many peoples' perspectives on different matters etc..

So, why did you join boards.ie??? :pac:

Same as you, away from home nice to chat amongst Irish people about Irish stuff. When Dublin won the All Ireland I was cock-a-hoop and nobody cared about it over here obviously. It's time like that you wish you lived back home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I joined boards out of boredom!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Originally under a different name the cycling forum, now the question is why do I stay.

Maybe because I feel my work is not done here.