Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taxi's to accept Leap Cards

• 31-01-2012 5:18pm
    Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0131/taxi.html
    Minister of State for Public Transport Alan Kelly said that in future, all taxis will be required to accept credit cards and allow the use of the Leap public transport card.

This would be a nice addition to Leap. Also I hope that all taxis will be able to accept the new contact less credit/debit cards, which from the end of 2012, almost everyone in Ireland will have and will be more ubiquitous then LEAP.

Personally I'm waiting for them to add Dublin Bike to Leap, any news on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

Dublin Bikes are only a tenner a year, cant argue with that at all. Integrating it with Leap would be great in the sense that people would only need a single card, and you could take the odd 50c off your leap card if you went over the free 30 mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

How would taxi's accepting LEAP be feasible. A taxi journey could cost over €30 in Dublin, when there is only a reserve balance of €5. I personally don't see it working. On the other hand I think all taxis should be forced to accept (contactless) credit & debit cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭AngryLips

mmcn90 wrote: »
    How would taxi's accepting LEAP be feasible. A taxi journey could cost over €30 in Dublin, when there is only a reserve balance of €5. I personally don't see it working. On the other hand I think all taxis should be forced to accept (contactless) credit & debit cards.

Well the option wouldn't be available to pay by Leap if that were the case, the reader wouldn't debit the required amount...

AngryLips wrote: »
    Well the option wouldn't be available to pay by Leap if that were the case, the reader wouldn't debit the required amount...

At which stage the journey would be complete, possibly causing problems for both drivers and passengers. ie. No other form of payment available

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

There is no way that Leap cards could be used in taxis, seems like more waffle from the ministers giving themselves a pat on the back for all the wrong reasons! <snip another Foggy_Lad off-topic rant>

foggy_lad wrote: »
    There is no way that Leap cards could be used in taxis, seems like more waffle from the ministers giving themselves a pat on the back for all the wrong reasons! He should have emphasised the new proposed changes which will keep convicted criminals out of taxis, or the ban on renting licences on their own and an obligation to notify the regulator of all vehicle rentings, also the proposed social welfare and revenue checks will be very welcome and should keep the illegal operators at bay!

My thoughts exactly, good old Alan Kelly and the shower of muppets who work for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Kitting out taxis to accept Leap Cards would be ridiculously expensive. The people who use Leap Cards are well clued into the public transport options and are probably the people who use taxis least so I don't see any justification for making taxi drives go to the expense of buying the necessary equipment.

My Leap car has very rarely over €20 on it so for the majority of the time it would not have sufficient funds to get me home from the city centre in a taxi.

Make taxi drivers buy decent cars instead, then I might use them.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

Dublin Bikes are only a tenner a year, cant argue with that at all. Integrating it with Leap would be great in the sense that people would only need a single card, and you could take the odd 50c off your leap card if you went over the free 30 mins.

More just putting your membership ID on the LEAP card, so you don't have to carry two separate cards that end up interfering with one another.

You would still need to have an account set up with Dublin Bikes and any charges would be taken by Credit Card.
    How would taxi's accepting LEAP be feasible. A taxi journey could cost over €30 in Dublin, when there is only a reserve balance of €5. I personally don't see it working.

Or it could be just €10, as it normally is for me. If you have no other way of paying, it is no different then if you end up not having cash on you, which often happens in Taxis. Normal procedure is to call into the house to get the cash (while leaving your phone or something else of value behind) or calling someone to bring the cash out.

It really isn't a big deal.
    On the other hand I think all taxis should be forced to accept (contactless) credit & debit cards.

Agreed, this will be the big one, everyone will have contactless visa debit cards by the end of 2012, so this will change everything.

I'd personally prefer if they focused on getting other things to work on leap first like:

- A flat fare on Dublin Bus
    - monthly/annual/t90 cards on leap.
    - Leap on all Bus Eireann services, including Cork, Limerick, Galway, etc. city services *
    - auto-topup
    - capping
    - transfers

* It worries me that they keep saying the Leap is only for the Greater Dublin Area, it is madness not to go for a the little extra expense to add it to Cork, Limerick, etc. They are doing that with RTPI, why not Leap.

Perhaps the reason is that these bus services are fixed fare and leap would work really well on them, so it would only end up showing up how inefficient Dublin Bus is.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

coylemj wrote: »
    Kitting out taxis to accept Leap Cards would be ridiculously expensive. The people who use Leap Cards are well clued into the public transport options and are probably the people who use taxis least so I don't see any justification for making taxi drives go to the expense of buying the necessary equipment.

Likely the same equipment that will be needed to accept contactless credit/debit cards, will also work with LEAP. They both would use the same RFID reader, computer and internet connection to work. So really it doesn't add any extra expense.

The Taxi's were eventually going to have to add credit and debit card facilities anyway, as many cities are already doing it (Boston, New York, London) so it would be expected by tourists anyway. Adding Leap to it is a minor extra cost on top of the credit/debit card facilities.

BTW Public transport users use taxis as much if not more then drivers. As a person who doesn't own a car and normally takes public transport, taxi's are important when public transport isn't running (at night), doesn't go where you want it (e.g. cross city) or you have to carry lots of shopping, etc. In fact I'd say public transport users use taxis more then car owners.

As to the expense, this is actually a good thing, as the cost bar of entering the taxi business is far too low at the moment and means there are far too many taxi's on our roads.

If you read the article I linked to, you will see that this is one of only 40 or so changes to taxi regulations that are going to be made, to raise the cost and quality bar of getting into the taxi business, so that there will be less taxis and a higher quality of service.

I'm sure better cars is one of the recommendations.

bk wrote: »
    Or it could be just €10, as it normally is for me. If you have no other way of paying, it is no different then if you end up not having cash on you, which often happens in Taxis. Normal procedure is to call into the house to get the cash (while leaving your phone or something else of value behind) or calling someone to bring the cash out.

I understand it does happen a fair bit with cash, but tbh, adding taxi functionality to the leap card is overcomplicating a system with which they are struggling to get the basics right. With the LEAP, I reckon they should stick to either Pre-paid tickets and fares which are paid for at the start of the journey. Adding in fares paid for at the end of the journey is just messy.

BTW I fully support the idea that the DublinBikes card be integrated into LEAP, it may require some hardware modifications, but I feel it should be easy enough to implement, although that means it should 'only' take 5-10 years to implement in Ireland :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭wexford12

I have priced a visa machine from the bank and it comes in at €65 per month for a GPS one and €200 to set this up.
    My worry would be apart from the cost of it would be how do you stop the customer getting his/her journey handing you the card and its declined "Oh sorry about that and iv no cash"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

Taxis and debit/credit cards.

Oh great, just another way for criminal gangs to skim my cards, except this time I'll actually hand them the card.

Doesn't The minister know that there is a huge amount of illegal taxis in Dublin ?

Some common sense would be nice.

Oh great, just another way for criminal gangs to skim my cards, except this time I'll actually hand them the card.

Doesn't The minister know that there is a huge amount of illegal taxis in Dublin ?

RTE News mentioned one checkpoint set up recently in Dublin catching 16 illegal taxis over a few hours!

Credit cards wand Leap cards wont work in Irish taxis for so many other reasons, it is worse press than if they had announced a road and rail tunnel to the Isle of Man. Some of these ministers will say anything to get their picture in the papers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Would it not be better for LEAP to work on all CIE company vehicles first, then worry about something for Taxis?

It's silly that they want a Taxi driver in a small rural town to accept a card that the largest public transport company in the State won't accept outside the GDA!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0131/taxi.html
    Among the main proposals of the Department of Transport Taxi Review are an extension of garda powers and the removal of certain categories of criminals from the sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭goingnowhere

I understand it does happen a fair bit with cash, but tbh, adding taxi functionality to the leap card is overcomplicating a system

Leap already has the ability to handle arbitrary value transactions, taxi support has been in the plans for ages. Ability to pay for your coffee and newspaper is also possible but then you are into banking license territory as its not longer transit only.

I understand it does happen a fair bit with cash, but tbh, adding taxi functionality to the leap card is overcomplicating a system

Leap already has the ability to handle arbitrary value transactions, taxi support has been in the plans for ages. Ability to pay for your coffee and newspaper is also possible but then you are into banking license territory as its not longer transit only.

I'm still not sure about it, if theres a solid no-fuss way to do it, then grand, but I just don't see it. I'd rather they ironed out the basic problems and got taxis to fit chip & pin. A large proportion of the population, and I'd say 99% of tourists, have debit & credit cards. I don't see the need for Leap in taxis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

coylemj wrote: »
    The people who use Leap Cards are well clued into the public transport options and are probably the people who use taxis least
    Cos no one'd want to use a taxi after 11:20 or before about 10 am on a Sunday so public transport is good enough....

The people clued into public transport will have a travel 90....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭AngryLips

When are you going to be able to use it to buy Ryanair tickets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 patthebus

They just. Need to stop the rental of plates because all the welfare
    dodgers are renting

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

wexford12 wrote: »
    I have priced a visa machine from the bank and it comes in at €65 per month for a GPS one and €200 to set this up.
    My worry would be apart from the cost of it would be how do you stop the customer getting his/her journey handing you the card and its declined "Oh sorry about that and iv no cash"

Someone posted up a picture of the screen from a Dublin Bus Machine in another thread here, it shows the balance of the card, as do Payzone units. So I'd be guessing (but fairly confident of this guess) that any reader provided to a taxi driver will also have this functionality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

The people clued into public transport will have a travel 90....

A what???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭steph1

patthebus wrote: »
    They just. Need to stop the rental of plates because all the welfare
    dodgers are renting

Thats a bit unfair! Not all those who rent are dodgy or dodging the taxman or claiming the social! There is a need for a rental market for those who find themselves in the position of hardly being able to make a living and then find themselves without a car because of an accident, mechanical problems that cannot be fixed easily etc.
    All thats required is a properly regulated rental market ensuring that the person renting has the proper licence to drive a taxi, the proper insurance and that they are going to operate the vehicle in the area they are licensed for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Making them accept something that isn't legal tender would be a bloody joke. I'm all in favour of making taxiing competitive but forcing them all to take on an extra expense isn't the same as competition. If a firm wants to take it on then more power to them, see how many do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

steph1 wrote: »
    Thats a bit unfair! Not all those who rent are dodgy or dodging the taxman or claiming the social! There is a need for a rental market for those who find themselves in the position of hardly being able to make a living and then find themselves without a car because of an accident, mechanical problems that cannot be fixed easily etc.
    All thats required is a properly regulated rental market ensuring that the person renting has the proper licence to drive a taxi, the proper insurance and that they are going to operate the vehicle in the area they are licensed for.

Some time ago, a taxi radio firm in Dublin wrote off to the Regulator during one of the consultation periods suggesting that all taxi plates and equipment along with a small fleet of spare cabs are held by them and leased longterm by drivers who met suitability criteria, held a clean PSV and appropriate insurance along with a suitable car to use. They got a stock reply letter back thanking them for their input and heard no more.

Another Dublin firm wrote off to them to suggest that the radio company's should hold all the plates and that drivers lease from them. They were invited to more formal talks to discuss this further, an idea that benefitted them as they coincidentally rented out over 100 taxis for up to €400 per week.

By co-incidence, the second firms owner sat on the Taxi Advisory Council while the first one didn't :rolleyes:

I think they should get rid of all rental taxis might sound a bit harsh but if you want one Buy One. Its a can of worms of ways to claim Dole etc etc.

I think the only way you should rent a taxi is off the likes of Hertz and only short term if your taxi is off the road for repairs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Midnightrunner

As a Taxi operator I have issue with a number of the new proposals. The idea that Leap would work in Taxis throughout the Country is simply another example of common sense gone wrong. I have no problem with Leap operating in a large City with an integrated transport system but to expect Taxis to fork out the inevitable cost of a system to operate Leap or Credit/Debit cards for use a few times a year is a ridiculous idea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

I am not sure that Leap is the correct method for it but cash-free payments in taxis are definitely needed.

Someone's card not authorising is the same as the guy who thinks he has a 50 in his pocket or only has a 20 or the guy who asks that he stops at the ATM to pay the taxi, only to find that he has no money in the bank.

Most businesses will support the taking of cash-free payments as it removes the risk of the storing, depositing, counting etc. of cash. While taxi drivers would benefit from this; some taxi drivers will feel that these methods begin to make their gross income visible so there is a clearer audit trail for the tax-man.

Do people feel that if you were able to pay by some payment card that passengers would be less likely to tip? You come to your destination, the meter says €28.60, ordinarily you would say "keep the change" as you hand €30 over but now you can just tap a card down and the money is transferred.

As a Taxi operator I have issue with a number of the new proposals. The idea that Leap would work in Taxis throughout the Country is simply another example of common sense gone wrong. I have no problem with Leap operating in a large City with an integrated transport system but to expect Taxis to fork out the inevitable cost of a system to operate Leap or Credit/Debit cards for use a few times a year is a ridiculous idea!

No, I'm sorry, but what is ridiculous is that in this day and age, you can't use a credit/debit card to pay for your taxi.

The reason you see so few people currently paying by card, is because everyone knows most taxis don't take card, so they go out of their way to bring cash. I know that taxi is literally the only reason I continue to carry cash.
    But once people know that every taxi you get into can take card, you will see a very big shift to people wanting to pay by card.

Specially when it will be so quick and easy with those new contactless debit and credit cards that will be rolled out this year to everyone in the country with an ATM card. People will increasingly demand that they can pay by this everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I can see some good and bad points about Leap cards in taxis.

If your card is registered, the time of journey and movements will be logged and traceable as with any registered transit smart card.

It will help cut down on welfare and corporate fraud on false taxi fare claims and bogus receipts.

If a passenger tags on and pukes in the back of a cab he can be easily traced.

If you leave property such as a mobile phone behind it would be easy to pinpoint the cab in question.

Taxi drivers will no longer get tips from excess change..

It will help weed out illegal taxis if these machines become compulsory in all city cabs.

Can somebody explain to me exactly how this is proposed to be actually done? Is there a facility with Leap to key in one off fare amounts so they can be deducted from a leap card? Will meters need to be adapted or replaced? Also, how does the driver redeem cash from Leap and how regularly will he get reinbursed? Crucially, who will pay for these terminals, their installation and their upkeep and networking?

I would see it being linked in to the meter. Journey ends, driver pushes the total button, amount flashes up on screen, customer touches the leap sensor and the amount goes to zero. The metering equipment records the transaction and at the end of the night a batch of transactions is sent by GSM to the provider who credits the nominated bank account using direct debit policies.

As it stands with taxi signs, meters, radios and other taxi equipment, I believe this should be the responsibility of the taxi owner to provide.

In New York new technology was introduced to enable card payments and have GPS tracking and display the route taken etc. This was compulsory for all taxis and the owners had to pay for it themselves. I presume that this would be the case here too.

As mentioned here previously, high standards, professional equipment, correct taxation and good service are barriers to the flybynight operators so any serious taxi operator should welcome such innovations as it is a win-win for drivers and passengers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

@everyone - can we keep this on topic please?

-Chris- wrote: »
    @everyone - can we keep this on topic please?
    is that in response to my post?

I would see it being linked in to the meter. Journey ends, driver pushes the total button, amount flashes up on screen, customer touches the leap sensor and the amount goes to zero. The metering equipment records the transaction and at the end of the night a batch of transactions is sent by GSM to the provider who credits the nominated bank account using direct debit policies.

If that is the solution, that will mean new meters and printers along with the Leap reader. The average taxi meter and printer retails at Eu 500+,, that is legitimately not too far off a gross weeks income these days, let alone net.
    As it stands with taxi signs, meters, radios and other taxi equipment, I believe this should be the responsibility of the taxi owner to provide.

Plate and meter's are, radio's are rented from base companies.

Who paid for the readers on buses and at train and Luas stations?

In New York new technology was introduced to enable card payments and have GPS tracking and display the route taken etc. This was compulsory for all taxis and the owners had to pay for it themselves. I presume that this would be the case here too.

In New York, the cabs are almost exclusively rented out to drivers by rather large firms and run 24/7; they'd want to be as plates were going for up to $1,000,000!! In Ireland, they are almost exclusively owner operated so the cabs have a shorter working week. Two very different markets with different client bases, different journey patterns and different economies to be comparing like with like.
    As mentioned here previously, high standards, professional equipment, correct taxation and good service are barriers to the flybynight operators so any serious taxi operator should welcome such innovations as it is a win-win for drivers and passengers.

Generally, yes. But as has been the case with almost all the recent "improvements" brought in since 2006, they have cost drivers money and with little to no return; I can't see this one as being win win unless the operator costs are low.

I thought it would benefit most if the operator costs were significant enough to ensure that those who shell out for them will use them correctly and use them over time.
    Make committed drivers make an investment, get rid of those who won't and offer a superior level of service to customers.

I would imagine that the service providers, ie Dublin Bus, Luas etc pay for their Leap readers so should taxis not do the same?

It can't be as easy as all taxi drivers turning up and asking for a Leap reader, throwing it in the boot and then never using it.

And I don't think it is fair for the passenger to pay a surcharge as the benefits of such a scheme would be felt as much by drivers as by passengers, if not more so.

For once I totally agree with Losty Dublin about Leap cards and even Credit cards being forced into taxis by politicians and regulators who know nothing about what they propose!

The number of people who would use this service would be akin to the number of people who now use the western rail corridor! The politician was looking for cheap publicity and giving himself a pat on the back proposing something that is unwanted and impractical. the regulator is not properly looking after the needs of the travelling public but has become an NTA lackey.

When you get into a taxi think about the cost of all the stuff you see inside which must be bought to comply with the regulations. The meter and printer are basics of course but have you noticed two(yes two) seals on the meter, each costing €40 and only available if you have your meter calibrated which costs even more. these seals can be torn off by any drunk at any time which means you must get your meter recalibrated before paying for the new seals!

The new area letters on the roof sign cost €40 each, the information signs for the back seat cost similar amounts, several other similar "consumables" which can be stolen or destroyed by passengers and others on the street also bring the costs up massively. Having to buy card readers or pay monthly fees of €60-100 for the banks reader plus the cost of installing internet access for the Leap card reader is not just unnecessary but a ridiculous suggestion.

foggy_lad, yet in other countries they are required to carry even much more expensive equipment, with GPS, credit card machines, cctv and passenger side full touch screen computers.

In other countries they even require taxi drivers to purchase and use specific cars!!

Ironically the taxi industry in Ireland has been crying out for the same to be done here. The cost of entering the taxi business in Ireland is far too low and any old Joe can stick a sign on the roof of his battered old car and work as a taxi.

As a result the industry has been flowed by double jobbers and dole cheats, resulting in a massive oversupply of taxis and making live very hard for professional full time drivers.

By driving up the costs of operating a taxi, you force out the chancers, leaving more business for the full time professional drivers and the customer benefits from a better service and experience.

bk wrote: »
    foggy_lad, yet in other countries they are required to carry even much more expensive equipment, with GPS, credit card machines, cctv and passenger side full touch screen computers.

In other countries they even require taxi drivers to purchase and use specific cars!!

Ironically the taxi industry in Ireland has been crying out for the same to be done here. The cost of entering the taxi business in Ireland is far too low and any old Joe can stick a sign on the roof of his battered old car and work as a taxi.

As a result the industry has been flowed by double jobbers and dole cheats, resulting in a massive oversupply of taxis and making live very hard for professional full time drivers.

By driving up the costs of operating a taxi, you force out the chancers, leaving more business for the full time professional drivers and the customer benefits from a better service and experience.
    By driving up the cost of operating a taxi you just drive up the fares and make illegal operators more lucrative and in Ireland because we have no real laws to stop these illegal taxi drivers in their rent a wrecks they will end up driving the honest much oppressed and broke legitimate drivers off the roads!

Foggy, correct equipment with the cost spread over several years would be a good investment. Perhaps if the New York model was followed a taxi tv style operation could bring in advertising revenue for drivers to subsidise the cost of the equipment. And how many people would stick up a taxi driver if they knew 75% of his trade was done by card? How many people could claim to have been taken the wrong route if they could see a GPS driven map of their journey?

As far as I am aware, banks do not charge a standing charge for accepting cards, only the cost of the machine. All charges from the bank are turnover based. So if the driver doesn't do many jobs by card he won't pay much to the bank.

I can only see positives from where I am sitting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

is that in response to my post?

Nope!

Drug addicts don't care or know how much business has been done by card, I agree about seeing a turn by turn map of the journey but yet again the Marauding p1ssheads that get into Irish taxis would have that destroyed in a few days along with the chip and pin card reader and anything else that is left out to be interfered with!

In other countries all this works because if you misbehave in public or in a taxi being intoxicated is not seen as mitigation in your favour and will most likely increase your fines/sentence but here it is treated much like a disability where the poor drunk has no culpability. also there are police all around to take the offender away in handcuffs while here they tell you it is probably a civil matter or come in and make a statement etc which keeps you off the road for the rest of the night.

Dublin is not New York or even London where they have their own issues but at least they have a much greater market to make a good living from, here there are very few longer fares anymore apart from the few at Heuston and the airport which is why so many drivers park up at both ranks for hours in the hope of making enough to cover them for the day.

Drug addicts don't care or know how much business has been done by card, I agree about seeing a turn by turn map of the journey but yet again the Marauding p1ssheads that get into Irish taxis would have that destroyed in a few days along with the chip and pin card reader and anything else that is left out to be interfered with!

In other countries all this works because if you misbehave in public or in a taxi being intoxicated is not seen as mitigation in your favour and will most likely increase your fines/sentence but here it is treated much like a disability where the poor drunk has no culpability. also there are police all around to take the offender away in handcuffs while here they tell you it is probably a civil matter or come in and make a statement etc which keeps you off the road for the rest of the night.

Dublin is not New York or even London where they have their own issues but at least they have a much greater market to make a good living from, here there are very few longer fares anymore apart from the few at Heuston and the airport which is why so many drivers park up at both ranks for hours in the hope of making enough to cover them for the day.

Unfortunately you may have several valid points although I'd hate to stall progress based on the behaviour of the lowest common denominator.

The NYC taxis' kit seem quite robust although they are built in to the security screen which are not present in Ireland.

Just to point out how wrong you are.

Most Taxi's with radio companies use GPS to track the taxi in Ireland and you can even follow the route on their iPhone app (e.g. check out the 8202020 app).

Also xpert taxis already carry credit/debit card machines for a few years now. So non of this is particularly new in the Irish market and it does work fine.

It is just making this standard across the whole industry.

As to your point of extra gear driving up the costs of taxi drivers while the illegals don't bother with the gear. Well the more obvious that the taxi is "illegal" * the less likely people are to take it.

If only legal taxi's were for instance London Style Black cabs, where you knew the driver had been vetted for criminal record and had done a knowledge test, then people would be far less likely to get into a dodgy illegal taxi. Also it would be much easier for the Gardai to spot and confiscate such illegal taxi's.

Anyway the problem in Ireland is that we don't really have "illegal" taxi's, the bar of entry to the industry is so low and cheap, basically anyone with a car can become a taxi driver.

Terrontress, I have been in the industry fulltime for 10 years. I have never been held up.
    BTW Banks charge a monthly and annual fee for credit card machines. I am part of a company which has an in-house credit card facility linked to the data head in the vehicle, so we have been providing this service for a good number of years but from what I'm being told this will not be good enough and a handheld credit card machine will be required, which I know Is extremely costly having make enquires.

Bk, I have to agree with you as far as people having the option of paying by credit card, but my point was about leap. I have been in the industry for 10 years and have been accepting credit cards for at least five of those but from what I'm being told the office system I use linked to our cars which incorporates a swipe system will not be good enough and a handheld credit card machine for each individual Taxi in the Country (Hip Hip hooray for the banks!) will be required, which I know Is extremely costly having make enquires.

Terrontress, I have been in the industry fulltime for 10 years. I have never been held up.
    BTW Banks charge a monthly and annual fee for credit card machines. I am part of a company which has an in-house credit card facility linked to the data head in the vehicle, so we have been providing this service for a good number of years but from what I'm being told this will not be good enough and a handheld credit card machine will be required, which I know Is extremely costly having make enquires.

As regards the holding up, I just wanted to make a comparison to benefits which other industries see, namely there is none of the issues with the storing of cash. If it isn't an issue in the taxi trade then fair enough.

As regards the bank's charges, if you own your own machine which can supply the bank with the data in the required format then they do not charge a monthly charge. Just a percentage of credit card transactions or a fixed debit card fee.

As regards the holding up, I just wanted to make a comparison to benefits which other industries see, namely there is none of the issues with the storing of cash. If it isn't an issue in the taxi trade then fair enough.

As regards the bank's charges, if you own your own machine which can supply the bank with the data in the required format then they do not charge a monthly charge. Just a percentage of credit card transactions or a fixed debit card fee.

They do charge for the machine I priced it last week
    It was €190 set up charge and a rental of €35 per month plus charges or 20c to 25cent for each transaction with a minimum of €30 per month. If your talking about buying a machine where would you get one from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭steph1

Bk, I have to agree with you as far as people having the option of paying by credit card, but my point was about leap. I have been in the industry for 10 years and have been accepting credit cards for at least five of those but from what I'm being told the office system I use linked to our cars which incorporates a swipe system will not be good enough and a handheld credit card machine for each individual Taxi in the Country (Hip Hip hooray for the banks!) will be required, which I know Is extremely costly having make enquires.

As a taxi driver who works in the West of Ireland there is no call or need for these machines. Maybe in bigger cities they may be of some use. But as someone who works mainly at night bringing home drunks and those that dont even have the cash to pay never mind having a credit card, we do not require this extra expense. All drivers are struggling at the moment. The last thing we need now is more stuff enforced' on us that we neither need and will probably never use. There may be a need for this type of service in Dublin but one rule does NOT fit all and there is absolutely no requirement for this service where I operate. Drivers should just call a halt to this nonsense once and for all.

People are talking about large companies taking over running taxis and the regulator and NTA seemingly supporting this but while this may work for some areas like London/New York etc it is different in smaller areas like Dublin where there are urban as well as rural taxis all falling under the same regulation! Many Rural taxis don't even have a radio and operate mainly using their mobile phones and home phones,