Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rubber bandits at halftime???

• 31-01-2012 08:08AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭

From what I've seen of them, family entertainment they're not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭User Friendly

gearoidc wrote: »
    I was thinking the same thing,i think this is a poor decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Doesn't bother me, I'll be taking my seat as close to throw-in for the Dublin match so that I can miss them.

dcr22B wrote: »
    Doesn't bother me, I'll be taking my seat as close to throw-in for the Dublin match so that I can miss them.
    problem is They are on at half time:D

Are they not on between the two games like Jedward were last year?

dcr22B wrote: »
    Are they not on between the two games like Jedward were last year?
    sorry i dont know the answer to that,its my understanding that there will be someone else performing at some stage of the evening as part of the "entertainment"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

I think you may be surprised. They're not idiots, they know what they can and can't do and I'd be surprised if they didn't have material to suit the occasion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Rastapitts

bought time someone from limerick got to play in croke park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭gearoidc

Fireball07 wrote: »
    I think you may be surprised. They're not idiots, they know what they can and can't do and I'd be surprised if they didn't have material to suit the occasion.

Hmmmmm.
    Not sure they'll compromise their "material". Here's some of it...

"Bag of Glue"
    Now, is she an ugly bird?
    Or a big fat ride
    Ah man I can't decide
    So I sniffed some glue, to clear my head
    Then rode her rotten on her mothers bed

This love we have, there's no respect
    But she's a big fat ****er, what does she expect?
    I'm hypnotized, by her puffy eyes
    And her sixteen chins and her massive thighs
    I take her out, and she stuffs her mouth

I got a three step plan, but follow it man
    When you get that fat bird home
    Step one get a bag and fill it with glue
    Step two sniff till your face turns blue
    Step three relax, enjoy the ride, and let the UHU do what it do to your mind

from "I Wanna Fight your Father"

Cause I'm a black belt in karate
    And a master of Kung-Fu
    And I'll kick his ****in' teeth in
    Just to prove my love for you

Cause your big fat ****in' father
    He said he wants it all resolved
    Your big fat ****in father
    He shouldn't got himself involved

and "Spastic Hawk" -

I got a hawkery
    That’s where you keep hawks
    And in my hawkery
    I got a special hawk

He’s a spastic hawk
    Spastic hawk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Meh, nothing worse than the kids will hear from drooler fans during the game anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

They've played all-ages gigs before and they'll be fine for younger kids, they're not idiots and they know their audiences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,903 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Hmmmmm.
    Not sure they'll compromise their "material". Here's some of it...

"Bag of Glue"
    Now, is she an ugly bird?
    Or a big fat ride
    Ah man I can't decide
    So I sniffed some glue, to clear my head
    Then rode her rotten on her mothers bed

This love we have, there's no respect
    But she's a big fat ****er, what does she expect?
    I'm hypnotized, by her puffy eyes
    And her sixteen chins and her massive thighs
    I take her out, and she stuffs her mouth

I got a three step plan, but follow it man
    When you get that fat bird home
    Step one get a bag and fill it with glue
    Step two sniff till your face turns blue
    Step three relax, enjoy the ride, and let the UHU do what it do to your mind

from "I Wanna Fight your Father"

Cause I'm a black belt in karate
    And a master of Kung-Fu
    And I'll kick his ****in' teeth in
    Just to prove my love for you

Cause your big fat ****in' father
    He said he wants it all resolved
    Your big fat ****in father
    He shouldn't got himself involved

and "Spastic Hawk" -

I got a hawkery
    That’s where you keep hawks
    And in my hawkery
    I got a special hawk

He’s a spastic hawk
    Spastic hawk
    Ok...you posted lyrics to an anti bullying song as an example of unsuitable lyrics for a family.....why is that unsuitable?

Oh its an anti bullying song? well that makes it ok then. its pathetic,i just dont get these clowns.

Of course it makes it ok, what would you prefer? The usual mindless drivel?

Don't have a clue what you're on about.

And I don't have a clue why or how it could have come to pass that the GAA is associating itself with or promoting their particular brand of entertainment. Whether it offends you or me (and it doesn't offend me in the least) is irrelevant really. The simple fact is that their stuff would offend 80% plus of GAA grass root types and most of them I'm guessing would prefer their kids weren't buying their music.
    Give that context, Croke Park's decision to offer them this platform beggars belief.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

damned if they do and damned if they dont. I'm fed up with all the didley eye crap they play over the tannoy at half time and before games, at least they are trying to make it that bit more relevant with their entertainment.

The Spring Series is about attracting new people to watch the games, not about placating grass roots types who will in all reality find something to complain about regardless, and turn up regardless.

Jedward were hardly put on stage to please GAA hardliners.

keane2097 wrote: »
    The Spring Series is about attracting new people to watch the games, not about placating grass roots types who will in all reality find something to complain about regardless, and turn up regardless.

Jedward were hardly put on stage to please GAA hardliners.

So you can't distinguish between "not placating/pleasing" someone and grossly offending them?

bruschi wrote: »
    damned if they do and damned if they dont. I'm fed up with all the didley eye crap they play over the tannoy at half time and before games, at least they are trying to make it that bit more relevant with their entertainment.

When were you last at Croke Park?

And relevant to who exactly? What % of the crowd would find lines like "**** your Mitsubishi I've a horse outside" relevant???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

This might sound crazy, but how about nothing at half time? It's a good chance to chat about the came or read the programme. I hate at games when they blast music from the tannoy so you can't talk. Maybe stick some kids game on. Absolutly no need for the likes of the rubber bandits or jedward.

So you can't distinguish between "not placating/pleasing" someone and grossly offending them?

With people hypersensitive enough to be offending by a satirical musical performance? There isn't a difference.

As has been mentioned in another thread, people in modern Ireland are in a headlong rush to be as offended as they can, as often as they can.

I have no doubt whatsoever that if the Rubber Bandits sang Molly Malone and The Rare Old Times there would still be people ringing Joe Duffy decrying it as a disgrace.

I also have no doubt that they will put on an appropriate show. Try not to be in such a rush to be outraged, ok? It might never happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Whether it offends you or me (and it doesn't offend me in the least) is irrelevant really.

I'm confused are you offended or not??

If yes then you are easily offended and if not ewhy the thread :confused:

Spot on keane2097, the GAA are trying something new so instead of whinging about it, people need to embrace the change.

I, for one, loved it when they played Thin Lizzy, Aslan and The Black Eyed Peas when the Dubs were doing their lap of honour last September.

Much better than that flipping Special Olympics music that I always associated with painful championship exits!

keane2097 wrote: »
    With people hypersensitive enough to be offending by a satirical musical performance? There isn't a difference.

As has been mentioned in another thread, people in modern Ireland are in a headlong rush to be as offended as they can, as often as they can.

I have no doubt whatsoever that if the Rubber Bandits sang Molly Malone and The Rare Old Times there would still be people ringing Joe Duffy decrying it as a disgrace.

I also have no doubt that they will put on an appropriate show. Try not to be in such a rush to be outraged, ok? It might never happen.

Try to keep up, eh? I'm not outraged.

But if people preferring that their 9-yr-old children/grandchildren don't hear lines like "I sniffed some glue then rode her rotten on her mother's bed" makes a person annoyingly hyper-sensitive in your eyes, then maybe it is actually YOU who is in a rush to be offended.

I'm confused are you offended or not??

If yes then you are easily offended and if not ewhy the thread :confused:

If you bothered to read what I said, you'd know. Some people are in too much of a rush to add to their 4000 plus posts it seems to me.

You're saying that threads can only be started by people who are offended???

There are many in the GAA who would be offended by the Rubberbandit's material. Do you disagree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

They love money so I'm sure they will do something which will not outrage 80% of people but instead try to make 80% of those people like them and support their careers. They're a satirical duo who parody others far more famous than them in the media, if you don't want your children to be exposed to what they do then make sure you don't let them watch MTV or anything which embraces the explicit rap culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

If you bothered to read what I said, you'd know. Some people are in too much of a rush to add to their 4000 plus posts it seems to me.

There are many in the GAA who would be offended by the Rubberbandit's material. Do you disagree?

So you have decided to open a thread on their behalf on the off chance they might be offended and its the people who reply that are jumping the gun, priceless!

And you have a playlist for the material they plan on playing I assume??

lol - stupid thread is stupid.

Lucky for us the GAA are a forward thinking organisation who seem to be giving real artists a chance as opposed to the usual commercial manufactured crap that would usually be on offer.

So you have decided to open a thread on their behalf on the off chance they might be offended and its the people who reply that are jumping the gun, priceless!
    What a fail.
    I'm guessing you don't know what a non sequitar is.

And you have a playlist for the material they plan on playing I assume??
    No.
    Your point is?

What a fail.
    I'm guessing you don't know what a non sequitar is.

No.
    Your point is?

His point is, how can you complain about something you haven't seen yet? THe Rubberbandits play childrens matinee shows, therefore they can be family entertainment.

THe Rubberbandits play childrens matinee shows, therefore they can be family entertainment.

I didn't know that.
    So they do adult and children's albums???

I didn't know that.
    So they do adult and children's albums???
    no

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

I'd rather The Rubberbandits anyday over that god awful Jedward.

It's just a bit of fun really, anyone who is offended by The Rubberbandits needs to get a life IMO.

I'd rather The Rubberbandits anyday over that god awful Jedward.

It's just a bit of fun really, anyone who is offended by The Rubberbandits needs to get a life IMO.

This thread was not about whether or not people on Boards.ie find the RB's offensive. I would have been amazed if they did and that was never the point of the thread.

The GAA - for all its recent progress - is still by and large a hugely conservative organisation. The match crowd will be very representative of middle-Ireland and will range in age from 8 to 80.

Given that, can ANYONE tell me any of their popular songs that the RB's could perform at the weekend that wouldn't offend a huge number of the people there?

And if they're not going to do any of the popular stuff, well then, what's the point of the exercise?

It's a bizarre move by the GAA. And contrary to some above, I don't think I should have to wait for the explosion of outrage on Joe Duffy or anywhere else before raising the matter for discussion.

This thread was not about whether or not people on Boards.ie find the RB's offensive. I would have been amazed if they did and that was never the point of the thread.

The GAA - for all its recent progress - is still by and large a hugely conservative organisation. The match crowd will be very representative of middle-Ireland and will range in age from 8 to 80.

Given that, can ANYONE tell me any of their popular songs that the RB's could perform at the weekend that wouldn't offend a huge number of the people there?

And if they're not going to do any of the popular stuff, well then, what's the point of the exercise?

It's a bizarre move by the GAA. And contrary to some above, I don't think I should have to wait for the explosion of outrage on Joe Duffy or anywhere else before raising the matter for discussion.

Why don't you wait until they've done their bit before complaining about them?

MrJoeSoap wrote: »

I'M NOT COMPLAINING ABOUT THEM FOR ****'S SAKE!!!!
    CAN'T YOU READ!!!?

It's crokepark lads, the sound will be muck and the unfocussed ear will only pick up a dance beat and mumbled Human voices..basically all you'll hear is 'la la la la la horse outside'.......or la la gee'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

I really think there will be much more colourful language from the most of supporters

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

CAN'T YOU READ!!!?
    Well what is your problem so, coz it sure reads like you're complaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

I would be surprised if they sang Horse Outside or Bags of Glue at the thing. As stand-up comedians, they are pretty good. They've a lot of kinda surreal stream-of-consciousness stuff which is what I'd expect them to be doing. They know how to get a crowd going and as has been said, they do do children's entertainment.

CAN'T YOU READ!!!?

Oh jesus give me a break here pal, they've nothing to prove to you or anyone else. You're judging their performance before it's done.

Aslan have a former (self-confessed) junkie as a lead singer and I didn't see any threads about them last year... I don't see how this justifies a thread but I'm happy to play ball and contribute.

Fireball07 wrote: »
    I would be surprised if they sang Horse Outside or Bags of Glue at the thing. As stand-up comedians, they are pretty good. They've a lot of kinda surreal stream-of-consciousness stuff which is what I'd expect them to be doing. They know how to get a crowd going and as has been said, they do do children's entertainment.

I'd say it would have to songs, comedy could never work on a pitch in this situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Trigger13222

Were you the clown on Joe Duffy last year giving out about them?

Oh jesus give me a break here pal, they've nothing to prove to you or anyone else. You're judging their performance before it's done.

Aslan have a former (self-confessed) junkie as a lead singer and I didn't see any threads about them last year... I don't see how this justifies a thread but I'm happy to play ball and contribute.

RB's are entitled to do whatever they want to do. I am NOT judging their performance. They have established themselves as a particular type of act. That is their prerogative and good luck to them.
    However, usually people have a choice who they listen to. In this instance, the Rubberbandits brand of "entertainment" will be foisted by the GAA on a lot of unsuspecting patrons many of whom will never have heard of them.
    I just fail to see how their brand of entertainment could possibly have been perceived as being appropriate for a GAA audience. I think it's a bizarre judgement call and was curious what others felt about the decision.

No more or less worthy than most Internet discussions I'd have thought.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

RB's are entitled to do whatever they want to do. I am NOT judging their performance. They have established themselves as a particular type of act. That is their prerogative and good luck to them.
    However, usually people have a choice who they listen to. In this instance, the Rubberbandits brand of "entertainment" will be foisted by the GAA on a lot of unsuspecting patrons many of whom will never have heard of them.
    I just fail to see how their brand of entertainment could possibly have been perceived as being appropriate for a GAA audience. I think it's a bizarre judgement call and was curious what others felt about the decision.

There no more inappropriate for a GAA audience than Jedward are. Jedward's target audience would be mainly 6-16 year old girls, there won't be many of them there on Saturday night.

I wish this thread was closed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dannyriver

Gearoid let it go dude of course you re judging their performance [which of course hasn't even occurred yet], you re like the teenager at the party after 7 alco pops tears streaming down her face, angrily stamping her feet saying 'I'm not upset, I'm not, I'm not , Leave me alone, I hate ye'

For your information any Irish teacher will tell you that Rubberbandits' song 'Ba Mhaith Liom Bruion Le T'athair' has down more for promoting the Irish language amongst school kids than 50 years of Buntus and ancient grammar class. Project your right wing views on people your own age and stop telling children what they should and shouldn't be listening to... kids have a far better grasp of irony and piss take than you ever will...clearly...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BNFfDirBE6w

I suspect they ll play this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,180 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Wouldnt worry about it folks. I saw them at a radio party before Xmas - they were absolute rubbish and we couldnt understand a single word they were singing so in a place like Croke Park they will be even harder to understand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dannyriver

Dovies wrote: »
    Wouldnt worry about it folks. I saw them at a radio party before Xmas - they were absolute rubbish and we couldnt understand a single word they were singing so in a place like Croke Park they will be even harder to understand!

Who's worried about it...I ve seen them lots of times and they ve been top class...but I agree GAA grounds and tanoy systems tend to be ****, if they do a song 'as gaelige' as I suspect they might, no one will understand anyway considering they themselves will be part of the small minority at your average GAA match that actually speak our native tongue but I guess that s for the likes of Gearoid et al to start a different thread :)

Gearoid.....the gaa is not an ethnic minority or a seperate race. SOme Gaa people like napalm death, some like the sugababes, there are guards, doctors, nurses, scientists, builders. Some like foreign food too!! Last year they foisted jedward on "us" this year it's the rubber bandits.....so what...

To follow that line of logic, "anything goes" as halftime entertainment - Daniel O' Donnell, hare coursing, inter-provincial mud wrestling - since there will always be someone amongst the guards, teachers, nurses, builders (and let's not forget the scientists!) who likes that kinda thing.

Anyone who bothered their arse to read my posts would see that I coudn't give two flying fuks whether it's the Rubber Bandits or Nana Mouskouri who turns up.
    My point was that it's a bizarre choice by the GAA and that point stands.

But hey. Never mind trying to understand what a person is saying. Keep the hysterical left-wing paranoia coming.