Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Top Gear is back! (Sunday @ 20.00)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

All too contrived these days and Jeremy Clarkson is a total w*nker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Here already:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056521150

Its a good show that has mabey got a bit worse in recent years, but its still beter then alot of other stuff on tv.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Couldn't give a toss.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Damning with faint praise those that say things like "Better than most things on TV". Turning the TV off is better than most things on the box :)

Top Gear has definitely lost the magic in recent years, trying to force the spontaneity of earlier series with excessively scripted routines. I watched the India special over Christmas and it was all so contrived. Plus they've got seriously fat lately. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

dooferoaks wrote: »

Thats why people like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭somuj

Sick of it myself these days. Only so many times you can watch some wanker drift around a track in a super car. Even the specials are ludicrous these days. Totally scripted nonsense. The only decent part of the show these days is the guest star.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

It's really on James May keeps me interested. I find myself skipping through allot of it these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

stopped watching it 2 years ago, its just boring

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

It would be just swell if those giving out here stay out of the threads this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭somuj

amacachi wrote: »
    It would be just swell if those giving out here stay out of the threads this season.

How about you stay out of the thread. I believe this is called a discussion forum. A place for people to voice their opnion, some positive and some negative.

so move to the top gear forum, i wont be there, ill be here in the general Tv forum, :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,514 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

The show jumped the shark about 6 series ago, its far too contrived now and everything is horribly forced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It's still one of the only car shows out there, nothing comes close to it's access to high end cars if there was no Top Gear I'd be left with very little to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Yeah its a bit shite, but its also a bit of a laugh. Have a drink and a smile and look at nice cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

dooferoaks wrote: »

He was always a wanker and it was always mostly contrived. What its really missing is the chemistry between the presenters that used to be there. Vietnam being the peak of it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

somuj wrote: »
    How about you stay out of the thread. I believe this is called a discussion forum. A place for people to voice their opnion, some positive and some negative.

I don't disagree with that, what gets annoying is when the same people complain for 3 years and still watch it and still complain about it for the same reasons week in, week out.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

I don't disagree with that, what gets annoying is when the same people complain for 3 years and still watch it and still complain about it for the same reasons week in, week out.
    So ignore them so; it doesn't negate the things the rest of us say about the show, especially those like myself who are disappointed by the diminishing quality of it. And yes I keep coming back on the off chance that some of the old magic returns. You can't exactly hold it against people if they continually give the show another chance.

ScumLord wrote: »
    It's still one of the only car shows out there, nothing comes close to it's access to high end cars if there was no Top Gear I'd be left with very little to watch.
    yeah lets see what car i can spend the E300k i saved last year on:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭kinetic

Clarkson is always the same, Hammond is unbearable now

Hammond has always been unbarable. Tonight has actually been fairly entertaining - though as is tradition I now mute the TV during the "Star in a ..." parts. Never could stand those.

Anyone catch the name of that test track in Italy earlier ?

Lapin wrote: »
    Anyone catch the name of that test track in Italy earlier ?
    Nardo:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nard%C3%B2_Ring

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Ciaran500 wrote: »
    He was always a wanker and it was always mostly contrived. What its really missing is the chemistry between the presenters that used to be there. Vietnam being the peak of it all.

Vietnam was awesome. Your right about the chemisty - i went to Top Gear Live about 2 or 3 years back and there was almost negative chemistry - like the really hate each other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

I get the feeling after years watching the show that Hammond gets along okay with the other two...but that May and Clarkson really dislike each other. Maybe it's all in my head though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

Kirby wrote: »
    I get the feeling after years watching the show that Hammond gets along okay with the other two...but that May and Clarkson really dislike each other. Maybe it's all in my head though.

Possibly...but they all go laughing to the bank together on a Monday morning..:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

don ramo wrote: »
    yeah lets see what car i can spend the E300k i saved last year on:rolleyes:
    Those are the cars people want s to see, who want to see them driving a Opel Corsa through Italy and then see how fast it goes on a track? If you want to see a car review show go elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Old Top Gear was cancelled for a reason tbh.

The Christmas special sucked, but I actually liked last Sunday's episode. It was contrived obviously, but not to the ridiculous levels of the previous series.

Christ, Joey got very grey. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭gflood

The Chinese copies of stuff are hilarious!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭mike2084

Tonight's episode was very good, I thought a good sprinkling of laughs right across it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

2 decent episodes in a row. Hopefully a return to form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

looks like the Russian version is more than just cars too:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭el diablo

Missed this episode on Sunday and it doesn't look like it's repeated during the week.
    Anyone know where I can see it or have any info on if/when it's being repeated?

Orange pilled.

el diablo wrote: »
    Missed this episode on Sunday and it doesn't look like it's repeated during the week.

If you have BBC HD, or the English/Scottish BBC 2 it's on Thursday at 7(not on Welsh or Northern Irish BBC 2)
    BBC 3 saturday night 8:10
    Also it is on the BBC iPlayer, but you can't watch it for free directly from Ireland, but there are ways around it. Try googling it.

Dave will be showing it every 3 days for the next fifty years from next year on most likely :P

If you have BBC HD, or the English/Scottish BBC 2 it's on Thursday at 7(not on Welsh or Northern Irish BBC 2)
    BBC 3 saturday night 8:10
    Also it is on the BBC iPlayer, but you can't watch it for free directly from Ireland, but there are ways around it. Try googling it.

Ok thanks, I see it's listed on BBC2 Scotland.:)
    Dave will be showing it every 3 days for the next fifty years from next year on most likely :P

I don't fancy waiting around for two or three years for it though. :p

Orange pilled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭gflood

try BBC player to watch past episodes ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭_AVALANCHE_

gflood wrote: »
    try BBC player to watch past episodes ?
    Along with Expat shield

Could do that but I'll hang on till Thursday and watch it on TV.

Cheers though.

Orange pilled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

I must be going brain dead, I've seen Top Gear, it's only last Sunday but until someone mentioned the Chinese stig, I could not remember it.

gbee wrote: »
    I must be going brain dead, I've seen Top Gear, it's only last Sunday but until someone mentioned the Chinese stig, I could not remember it.

Last night's Top Gear was the most boring I've ever seen.

I don't really care about three wheel race cars and seventy year old Bentleys.

Orange pilled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭_AVALANCHE_

Last night's Top Gear was the most boring I've ever seen.

I don't really care about three wheel race cars and seventy year old Bentleys.

Their has been bad episodes before, but last nights was the first time I ever changed the channel.

God awful shite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭bfocusd

Did anyone else think Hammond resembles the father from Angela's ashes too? What was with the hair and cloths combo..

Totally useless episode, really disappointing,the American one is even more irritating, I can't stand what they class as humor, I prefer to watch gadget geeks, it's much more entertaining

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I agree,

I really miss the days of "Supercar for less then a second hand Mondeo challenge" type episodes or the race to the north pole.

Next weeks one sounds in that mould but will prob be nowhere near as good. I'd say I have skipped 25/30% of this season by taping it and fast forwarding through it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,514 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

I reckon they jumped the shark about 5 seasons ago, its just taken everyone a while to notice.
    I used to specifically make time on a sunday to sit down and watch Top Gear, this week i completely forgot it was on till around 8.45, watching something else i was about to switch over and realised i really couldnt be bothered with it anymore

VinLieger wrote: »
    I reckon they jumped the shark about 5 seasons ago, its just taken everyone a while to notice.
    I used to specifically make time on a sunday to sit down and watch Top Gear, this week i completely forgot it was on till around 8.45, watching something else i was about to switch over and realised i really couldnt be bothered with it anymore

They jumped the shark when they changed it from a straight up car review show to a lads show with some cars. I mean it was the very definition of jumping the shark. Viewers just decided to jump too - I guess as there wasn' anyother car show worth watching - 5th gear ? I think not

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,720 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Decent enjoyable solid series so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

feb 19th viewing

1. Call the Midwife - BBC One - 9.2m
    2. Coronation Street - ITV 1 - 8.6m
    3. Top Gear - BBC Two - 4.7m
    4. Home of the Future - Channel 4 - 1m
    5. Saving Private Ryan - Channel 5 - 400,000

pretty good viewership for bbc2

might have jumped the shark years ago but people still watching

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

TG has been BBC2s most watched programme ever since it returned in 2001, its basically bombproof which is of course a problem as it means there is no great internal pressure to tweak things. As it happens I think the current series apart from the 3rd edition (the misfire Sweeney feature) has been solid, nothing spectacular but solid overall.