Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nigel Farage for Taoiseach :O

• 27-01-2012 4:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭

I think we need a few of these guys running the Dail. Is Nigel Farage a nutter, or is there even a shred of truth in his ranting?

Personally speaking, I would take this guy over Enda Kenny any day of the week. Kenny isn't genuine in the slightest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

TroikaBox wrote: »
    I think we need a few of these guys running the Dail. Is Nigel Farage a nutter, or is there even a shred of truth in his ranting?

Personally speaking, I would take this guy over Enda Kenny any day of the week. Kenny isn't genuine in the slightest.

That just sounds like all the stuff Kenny said before he was voted in tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

the man is an arsehole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Doesn't seem like an arsehole to me. Seems fairly stand up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

They are all great guys who will do a lot in office until they get into office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

He makes a lot of sense

also married to an Irish woman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

That is sooo mean. But funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

the man is an arsehole.

How so? I don't know very much about the guy but from the videos I've seen of him speak he seems to be both witty and forthright with his opinions. And many of those opinions are quite valid.

He's one of very few politicians with the temerity to question and criticise the direction in which the EU is headed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

. Farage has such an easy time in Europe. No chance of him entering politics over here. At least not until we become an actual democracy. With real debates about policy and the like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭TroikaBox

How so? I don't know very much about the guy but from the videos I've seen of him speak he seems to be both witty and forthright with his opinions. And many of those opinions are quite valid.

It's probably because he is using cold logic and facts dashed with a touch of hyperbole to show up the EU for what it really is. A democratic farce. Same goes for the Trilateral Commission, which is the bastard child of David Rockefeller.

Both of these questionable entities wish to achieve the same goal. Consolidation. The destruction of a nation state and it's independence. There is a hidden agenda here I believe. http://www.trilateral.org/

They don't like the idea of sovereign nations. The mere fact all these EU laws and procedures that overrule our own decision making is just one example of this. Why do we even have a European Constitution?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭Underdraft

He makes a lot of sense

also married to an Irish woman

He was married to an Irish woman. He's married to a German now afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Randy Anders

Farage has been fairly spot on about Europe so far in fairness to him, he's been ranting and raving about the dangers of the EU for years and a lot of his predictions have come true

It would be great to have someone with his charisma and fight in the Dail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

the man is an arsehole.

I couldn't work out whether he's an arsehole or a complete knob, and eventually decided that he's both.

I don't know whether this is the real Arsehole Knob, but he got banned.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/member.php?u=283029

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

A patriot. Hopefully they can gain some ground in future Assembly elections in N.I.

KeithAFC wrote: »
    A patriot. Hopefully they can gain some ground in future Assembly elections in N.I.

The UK does have anti-EU overtones with Thatcher, Farage and a few others. I love this country, I really do. But there is no question that by adopting this euro currency, we have become an economic basketcase.

Thatcher predicted what would happen with a fiscally irresponsible entity 21 odd years ago. Say what you like about the woman, but she was bang on the money with her assertion about the European Union and their lust for absolute control.

If only our own Politicians had such an insight into how selling away your nation to an external entity can ultimately lead to eventual Tyranny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

The UK does have anti-EU overtones with Thatcher, Farage and a few others. I love this country, I really do. But there is no question that by adopting this euro currency, we have become an economic basketcase.

Thatcher predicted what would happen with a fiscally irresponsible entity 21 odd years ago. Say what you like about the woman, but she was bang on the money with her assertion about the European Union and their lust for absolute control.

If only our own Politicians had such an insight into how selling away your nation to an external entity can ultimately lead to eventual Tyranny.

You complain about the sale of the nation but like Margaret "privatisation" Thatcher:confused:

Because her argument in relation to the topic at hand has is not just hypothetical in nature, it's happening right now. She predicted what a single european state would lead to. Social Democrats and other left leaning Socialists may not like her policies, and while that is open to debate, it's not for this thread.

The liberal spending policies of the left bear a fairly large responsibility for this mess. One good example is the bailing out of European and Irish banks.

In a strictly economically Conservative society, that probably would have never happened. Corporatism is horrid. The left are responsible for these quasi Governmental Corporations and their horrid policies.

I will say it again. In a free market Capitalist nation, the bailouts would probably not have happened. Seems pretty logical to me. If they fail. **** em.

Because her argument in relation to the topic at hand has is not just hypothetical in nature, it's happening right now. She predicted what a single european state would lead to. Social Democrats and other left leaning Socialists may not like her policies, and while that is open to debate, it's not for this thread.

The liberal spending policies of the left bear a large responsibility for this mess. One good example is the bailing out of European and Irish banks. In a strictly economically Conservative society, that probably would have never happened. Corporatism is NOT capitalism. The left are responsible for these quasi Governmental Corportations and their horrid policies.

I will say it again. In a free market Capitalist nation, the bailouts would probably not have happened. Seems pretty logical to me. If they fail. **** em.

Would you have liked to have your deposits wiped out too?

No, but I would not expect others to pay for my risks. You signed the contract, you lose. I don't trust European Banks to look after money. You either need to bury it, or put it in a vault or some other non European country.

They keep spending spending spending. This can't go on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Well, I'm not sure if Nigel Farage is a good politician or not.........but he sure can sing! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Hawk Wing 2

Farrage talks a lot of sense, but because of the anti British thing in this ****hole of a country he is dismissed as a euro sceptic

Yet the Irish people are absolutely flooding Canada and Australia, both of which are NOT in the European Union and don't intend to join in the future. Hypocrisy much? The anti british thing is rampant, but we live in the present.

Ask yourself this anti brits? Would the Irish have done the very same had we had the power of the British Empire? I think so. We've done some awful things to our own people in this country too.

Everybody must learn from their mistakes. Standing up and saying you are wrong is not only admirable, it is required for real progress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Pissmire

When Nigel Farrage speaks Barosso squirms. He'd get my vote any day.

No he is dismissed as a crank and a Little englander. Most Irish people people do not support the Daily Mail style politics which he espouses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

FFS lads would you ever look into the background of Farage & his like. They're the definition of little Englanders, they've no more interest in what the Micks and Paddies are doing other than it suits their agenda of anti-Europeanism.

It's embarrassing to hear Irish people cheering him on, really and truly.

No he is dismissed as a crank and a Little englander. Most Irish people people do not support the Daily Mail style politics which he espouses.

Farage is a Libertarian. I doubt the daily mail readers would be able to understand or even care about the political ideology he is trying to put across to the Fascists in the European Union. Spite the very points he makes, not the man himself. Would you even accept some of his points to be valid?

Irish people are too happy to be in bed with the EU and take their money, yet they are moaning constantly about bailouts and other EU supported crap. Talk about a severe case of Stockholm syndrome. If you don't like what is happening to the country lately, I fail to understand how you can see Europe as a solution.

They caused this mess in the first place, why would you go to them to ask for help? Ireland should have defaulted. Would have been horrendous, but fair. It's not fair to ask people who never borrowed obscene amounts of money to pay for idiots who lack the foresight of a goldfish. I never borrow unless I have to. Borrowing is idiotic. You can either afford something, or you can't. That is my motto.

I am deeply ashamed to call myself Irish with all this nonsense going on. Any Irish person who supports these bailouts is betraying the very Constitution men and women of the past fought for to bring about independence. We are throwing away our identity to some communist leaning european monster.

If you are happy with this, shame on you:mad:

hmmm wrote: »
    FFS lads would you ever look into the background of Farage & his like. They're the definition of little Englanders, they've no more interest in what the Micks and Paddies are doing other than it suits their agenda of anti-Europeanism.

It's embarrassing to hear Irish people cheering him on, really and truly.

The enemy of my enemy is my friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

the man is an arsehole.
    Worse, he's an arsehole with some valid points. One at least. Two at a stretch. That's dangerous in my book. He must be silenced. ;)

Farage is a Libertarian. I doubt the daily mail readers would be able to understand or even care about the political ideology he is trying to put across to the Fascists in the European Union. Spite the very points he makes, not the man himself. Would you even accept some of his points to be valid?

Irish people are too happy to be in bed with the EU and take their money, yet they are moaning constantly about bailouts and other EU supported crap. Talk about a severe case of Stockholm syndrome. If you don't like what is happening to the country lately, I fail to understand how you can see Europe as a solution.

They caused this mess in the first place, why would you go to them to ask for help? Ireland should have defaulted. Would have been horrendous, but fair. It's not fair to ask people who never borrowed obscene amounts of money to pay for idiots who lack the foresight of a goldfish. I never borrow unless I have to. Borrowing is idiotic. You can either afford something, or you can't. That is my motto.

I am deeply ashamed to call myself Irish with all this nonsense going on. Any Irish person who supports these bailouts is betraying the very Constitution men and women of the past fought for to bring about independence. We are throwing away our identity to some communist leaning european monster.

If you are happy with this, shame on you:mad:

The EU didn't cause the mess we are in at the moment, we did. We allowed our banks to lend too much, we voted for politicians who destroyed the tax base, reduced taxes and ramped up current spending, and many of us borrowed too much: both ordinary Joe soap and the developers.

The EU had no input into any of the above and indeed criticised our Government at the time for the policies they were pursuing. They were ridiculed and ignored. We thought we had reached a new paradigm, and to hell with the detractors and begrudgers.

We fucked ourselves by ourselves and blaming outsiders is delusional scapegoatism.

PS. Have you made up your mind... is the EU either Fascist or Communist?? The fact that you bandy the terms about leads me to believe you don't know what you are talking about. The rest of your post confirms that.

The EU didn't cause the mess we are in at the moment, we did. We allowed our banks to lend too much, we voted for politicians who destroyed the tax base, reduced taxes and ramped up current spending, and many of us borrowed too much: both ordinary Joe soap and the developers.

All of these was accelerated by the expansion of easy EU credit facilitation. Prior to 1998, lending from the Union was not anywhere near as easy as it was during the 2000's. The fact is simple. They largely facilitated this crash, and now they want to heap misery on millions for their gamble. Irish Politicians are largely to blame, yes, but so too is the EU.

Infact, I would not hesitate to say that if Ireland had not joined the EEC, we would not be in this bailout mess. The EEC was originally for just trading agreements, now it extends to all this socially democratic nonsense and easy credit which are largely to blame for these bailouts.

Irish Politicians didn't just magic the money into existence. That evil came from Brussels. A country without a government. How apt. They want to control every single thing about you and your life. It makes my blood boil. I never voted for this.

Why should I be made pay for the mistakes of other people, not to mention Politicians in Belgium, a country without a functional government?

Belgium has been without a Government for over 17 months. Is this an example of a country to be taking orders from? Not exactly a paragon of example to set for other European nations, now is it?. It's a joke.

http://fullcomment.nationalpost.com/2011/11/25/kelly-mcparland-belgium-still-afloat-after-17-months-of-no-government/

All of these was accelerated by the expansion of easy EU credit facilitation. Prior to 1998, lending from the Union was not anywhere near as easy as it was during the 2000's. The fact is simple. They largely facilitated this crash, and now they want to heap misery on millions for their gamble. Irish Politicians are largely to blame, yes, but so too is the EU.

Infact, I would not hesitate to say that if Ireland had not joined the EEC, we would not be in this bailout mess. The EEC was originally for just trading agreements, now it extends to all this socially democratic nonsense and easy credit which are largely to blame for these bailouts.

Irish Politicians didn't just magic the money into existence. That evil came from Brussels. A country without a government. How apt. They want to control every single thing about you and your life. It makes my blood boil. I never voted for this.

So have you made your mind up on it being Fascist or Communist?

Lending was also easy for other countries too and they didn't indulge in an orgy of spending like we did.

So what did you vote for?, The ULA and SWP and other assorted cranks? Did you vote at all?

If Ireland had not joined the EEC it would be an under developed back
    water, but yeah fair enough there would have been no bailout of the economy, because there wouldn't be a modern Irish economy.

Why would anyone oppose the social democratic side of the EU? It has increased personal freedoms for all, and protected individual rights more than any other organisation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Boo Hiss Boo.

Oh no he didn't.

Oh yes he did.

(Threads a bit like a pantomine)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭breadmonster

ah lets have one more video starts about 1 minute in.

farage wins

farage wins

To be expected. Gitchel is a european gravy train Politician. Whudda thunk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

farage wins

Don't know what video you watched.

I'm not a Gay Mitchell fan but I thought he acquitted himself quite well. You may not agree with his politics but to say he "lost" that debate is ridiculous.

Belgium has been without a Government for over 17 months.

Governments in the current sense are not part of the plans for the future, they will be solely for administration purposes, a bit like County Councils.

Pissmire wrote: »
    Governments in the current sense are not part of the plans for the future, they will be solely for administration purposes, a bit like County Councils.

"The future" could apply to the next 24 hours. You can mince the words any way, the only Government I can think of off the top of my head without a functional government is Somalia. Running a country properly without a Government is incomprehensible to me. It's not an example to set for our own country, while raping us financially.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

I have been following his speeches in the European Parliament since he fought our corner after we voted out Lisbon. He has exposed the EU for being anti democratic, and who have paid off unelected representatives to shove through policy, and in particular banking policy, which will detrimentally effect millions of people for many years to come.
    For many people, particularly in his constituency, Farage represents a beacon of hope in a very dark cloud, and there is no doubt that there are many in the European Parliment who would like him silenced.
    Martin Schultz, (the new president of the parliment, god help us), is certainly not a fan of Farage.

Here is a very good write up of Nigel and his views on the future of the EU in a Washington Times community writeup.

http://communities.washingtontimes.com/neighborhood/making-waves-hawaii-perspective-washington-politic/2012/jan/27/nigel-farage-and-future-european-union/

Here is a very good write up of Nigel and his views on the future of the EU in a Washington Times community writeup.

http://communities.washingtontimes.com/neighborhood/making-waves-hawaii-perspective-washington-politic/2012/jan/27/nigel-farage-and-future-european-union/

I see you have no response :rolleyes:

Yes Mr Barosso, you will lose your job:D - Nigel Farage

This stuff is gold. How on earth has this guy not been featured more prominently throughout mainstream media outlets? Oh I almost forgot. Because he is against the interests of Corporatist interests. I am trying to find some flaws of his. Can anybody find one or two? He seems pretty reasonable.

I never thought that a British MEP would become the only voice for Ireland and the common man. European Integration is destroying this country. Day by Day. The EU/IMF/ECB will ruin this country if nobody is willing to step up. Kenny sure as hell won't help matters in any form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Naomi00

We should leave the EU, make some kind of trading union with the UK and if everyone got an oar we could row the whole island a bit further West and away from those money hungry cúnts in the EU.. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Belgium has been without a Government for over 17 months. Is this an example of a country to be taking orders from?

They dont seem to be doing too bad all the same.

Maybe dose krayzee Belgians are on to something ?

Anarchy Yay !

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    They dont seem to be doing too bad all the same.

Maybe dose krayzee Belgians are on to something ?

Anarchy Yay !

Anarchy is a transitional phase. I can't think of many countries apart from Belgium and Somalia without a Government off the top of my head. I am not against the Government at all, just the current socially democratic EU monster pulling the strings at present.

They have nice beer, but their economic policies are horrid. You can't really control a market properly with so many rules and regulation. Capitalism through the free market is always better in my own opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

I never thought that a British MEP would become the only voice for Ireland and the common man. European Integration is destroying this country. Day by Day. The EU/IMF/ECB will ruin this country if nobody is willing to step up. Kenny sure as hell won't help matters in any form.
    I never actually sat down and listened to him but now I have he does seem to be making a lot of sense. His association with British nationalism kinda tars him with a similar brush as the BNP though doesn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Some of the points he makes seem logical (lack of democratic transparency, etc) but the idea that the EU is like a subtler form of communism is what would make me suspicious that he doesn't really have a clue or is simply an extreme libertarian.

You'd be hard-pressed to find a communist who has a lot of love for the EU.

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    I never actually sat down and listened to him but now I have he does seem to be making a lot of sense. His association with British nationalism kinda tars him with a similar brush as the BNP though doesn't it?

Yeah it could, but the UKIP is strictly anti racist. It's in their rule book. Unlike the BNP, these guys aren't spewing racist hatred towards minorities. The new BNP is disgusting imo. I would still vote for the UKIP given the choice.

Libertarianism is pretty much an anti racist ideology, because it just focuses on the individual. Collective thinking leads to racism generally, individualism on the other hand does not. Not that these descriptions are absolute or anything.

He comes across as the Ron Paul of Europe basically.