Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LOI Sellotanta Cup

• 25-01-2012 4:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭

Bray v glens
    Bohs v Portadown

Distillery v Derry

Clftonville v Pats

13th and 20th of feb :D

No games on tv not even the final :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Is that Glenavon or Glentoran?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Is that Glenavon or Glentoran?

Whichever one is in it :pac: Glentoran

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Lucan Bohs

Disappointed with our draw however at least a confirmed fixture for us :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Bah was hoping for Lisburn Distillery.

Wait, the Setanta Cup isn't being shown on tv...not even Setanta?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Lucan Bohs wrote: »
    Disappointed with our draw however at least a confirmed fixture for us :)

Might get to spit on Mick O Neill again if he's around the Shamrock Grounds.

Mushy wrote: »
    Bah was hoping for Lisburn Distillery.

Wait, the Setanta Cup isn't being shown on tv...not even Setanta?

In some paper during the week.

setanta.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I think the Setanta Cup has had its day. It saddens me to say this. The tournament is too drawn out in my opinion and there is nowhere near enough interest in earlier stages of the competition.

Looking at some of last years' attendance figures.

Bohs vs Portadown - 800
    Cliftonville vs St Pats -400
    UCD vs Lisburn Distillery- 150!!!....

That is a waste of time and money in anyone's viewpoint surely.

I think they should cut their losses and just have the two respective League Champions square off in a Final. Or at a stretch maybe include both Cup winners from each nation and have a Semi-Final also. Having 8 and 9 (Seriously 9, WTF!) teams in what is essentially a sideshow is just a drag on everyone.

*Ps- I was at the Setanta Cup final vs St. Pats in Tallaght and it felt sweet as a nut to win a trophy out there behind enemy lines.... before they did ;P

stovelid wrote: »
    Might get to spit on Mick O Neill again if he's around the Shamrock Grounds.

Nah, he's not the worth the energy or saliva ;)

In case anybody cares, the Bray match is moved to the 11th with a 3pm KO.

Not expecting any result, but a more competitive match than a friendly will be good for the team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Kinda needs a shake up.

Maybe just put in the winners of each league and main cup into two semis or something.

That said, 50k is still the same as what's on offer for the FAi cup and half of what's on offer for the league.

stovelid wrote: »
    Kinda needs a shake up.

Maybe just put in the winners of each league and main cup into two semis or something.

That said, 50k is still the same as what's on offer for the FAi cup and half of what's on offer for the league.

needs to be on tv tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭d22ontour

Should just call it 'the cup' or the 'non televised cup'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,606 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Bohs v Portadown live on Setanta Irl on 13th February.

Kick off moved to 7:15

Cannot wait for the match tomorrow, been waiting far too long for it. Feel quietly confident for some reason.

[jealous]bastard 3 more sleeps for me :([/jealous]

dreamers75 wrote: »
    [jealous]bastard 3 more sleeps for me :([/jealous]

Least you know it'll be worth it. My first ever time having a season start and me being genuinely excited about going to matches consistently. Even have a Shams fan coming with me cos he wants to go to a match.

Win lose or draw, im like a kid at xmas every year.

Seems Bucko has stirred something, 5 buses heading to Nordie land atm and room for more.

2 last season for the same fixture. Im unsire if its old saints coming back or new gimps about do something gimpish. They dont like us in Solitude :(

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Win lose or draw, im like a kid at xmas every year.

Seems Bucko has stirred something, 5 buses heading to Nordie land atm and room for more.

2 last season for the same fixture. Im unsire if its old saints coming back or new gimps about do something gimpish. They dont like us in Solitude :(

Thats me at the moment. Never have I been so happy at spending €100.

Nice lot of numbers going up for ye. Hope nothing happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Thats me at the moment. Never have I been so happy at spending €100.

Nice lot of numbers going up for ye. Hope nothing happens.

Bray home tomorrow?? Who you's playing?? Not on the tele i take it??

monkey9 wrote: »
    Bray home tomorrow?? Who you's playing?? Not on the tele i take it??

Yeah, 3pm at the Carlisle vs. Glentoran. No hope of tv coverage.

Bray 1 up

1-1 Bray

Derry 1 up

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Lisburn 0-2 Derry.

Rory Patterson gets their second. I reckon he could be a very useful player for Derry this season.

Bray 2-1 Glens

Kieran Waters gets his second.

Going well so far. Giving me hope for the season now.

Pity bout the one idiot who had to get his tri-colour taken from him. Fair play to security for being quick on him.

2-2 Bray

Derry 3 up and whoever they playing down to 10.

Lisburn 0-3 Derry

Lisburn down to 10 men for a stamp, Rory Patterson adds penalty for his second.

Bray 2-2 Glens

Leon Knight with the equaliser.

4-0 to Derry now, running riot...

Patterson hatrick. Definitely one to watch for the season ahead.

Going well so far. Giving me hope for the season now.

Pity bout the one idiot who had to get his tri-colour taken from him. Fair play to security for being quick on him.

What was the problem Mushy?

Omackeral wrote: »
    What was the problem Mushy?

Not allowed tri colours at Sellotanta matches.

Leon Knight gives Glentoran the lead against Bray. 3-2.

That's some comeback from the Cock n Hens.... or a massive decline from Bray.

@Dreamers75: Has this always been the case? Is it same for the Northern Irish Flag and the UK Flag? Hmmmm I dunno what I make of that ruling. I guess I see the sense in it. What do you guys reckon?

That's some comeback from the Cock n Hens.... or a massive decline from Bray.

@Dreamers75: Has this always been the case? Is it same for the Northern Irish Flag and the UK Flag? Hmmmm I dunno what I make of that ruling. I guess I see the sense in it. What do you guys reckon?

I see no reason why people feel the need to bring a national flag to a club match. Even more so at a Setanta match, making them an unnecessary trouble for stewards and police to have to worry about.

Glentoran wrap it up. 4-2 now.

Looks like both these ties are finished already.

Supposed to be the same for them but Linfield bring Union Jacks to Richmond and allowed display them.

I dont mind but there are a Pats fans with Tri Colour flags who get upset about it every year.

Glentoran wrap it up. 4-2 now.

Looks like both these ties are finished already.

Fairly hard done by, especially for the fourth. If only the linesman saw what everybody else did. Just need to take the chances really. Some positives though from the game, two competitive matches before the important stuff will be good for them.

Glens missed a penalty too.

Anyone watching the Bohs-Portadown match?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

What a goal by Corcoran just before half time for Bohs. Could've been 2-0 soon after.

Young lads look decent. Few nerves at the beginning were evident. Sexton looked extremely shaky and couldn't seem to hold onto the ball whenever it came into the box. Caught hold of it cleanly towards the end so hopefully that gives him a bit of confidence.

Holding their own against Portadown who have dominated without really threatening bar one shot that tested Sexton.

Missed the goal, but just saw the highlights of it there. Nicely taken goal, but severely against the run of play.

Totally undeserved but well taken nonetheless. Second half should be interesting.

What. A. Goal.

Karl Moore makes it 2-0 Bohs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Bohs goals have been great. Portadowns goal was good and very cheeky :D

I see a few N.Iron flags in the DK. I guess the ruling on no national flags doesn't apply once it's the Nordie fans that have them. Portadown also had Union Jacks last season in Dalyer, iirc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Cliftonville are 1 up

Wasn't exactly the prettiest performance from Bohs but the young lads really put a serious shift in. It was a pleasant performance from that point of view.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Goal of the season wrapped up :)

Really happy with the performance tonight. Under a lot of pressure in the 1st half but held out and Dinny took his goal very well. Though we managed a bit better in the 2nd half and look threatening on the break. Still plenty of work to do but a really positive start to the season, especially considering we lost this fixture last season ;).

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

ITS BACK!!!!!!!

We played well tonight, well worked free kick for their goal. We both hit the bar, us more than them.

We faded towards the end but had most of the ball, most of the possesion....such pretty pretty possesion.

They had more shots :o

We can be caught on the break fairly easily. think we will beat them next week.

Bohs fans is the rumour about Pender true? you lost his registration form and he couldnt play tonight cos of it :pac:

please let it be true :D

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

That's the first I've heard about it if it is true

Edit: He's listed in the squad in the program if that means anything

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

That's the first I've heard about it if it is true

BOHEMIANS: Sexton; Heary, McMillan, Feely, Byrne; Moore (Wilson, 71 mins.), Lopes, Joyce (Davidson, 71 mins.), Ward (Traynor, 78 mins.), McMahon; Corcoran.

Not on the team sheet and no reason why he shouldnt be, dont think hes suspended.