Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HSBC Golf Championship (Abu Dhabi)

• 25-01-2012 11:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.europeantour.com/europeantour/season=2012/tournamentid=2012004/teetimes/index.html

Ok , I need to get with the system, I'm a slow learner.

This is the Euro Tour, from Asia again. I've to drop all notions of continental Plates. But, it is not the Euro Tour it is the race from Africa to Asia and back to Asia. This is more like phileas fogg.

Anyway, what a field lads.

I'm throwing away money on

Tom Lewis 100 /1 3 euro E/W
    Shane Lowery 66/1 3 euro E/W (bad odds btw)
    Paddy H 35/1 3 euro E/W (sick poor odds)

The staff and Paddy go to the back room and laugh hard.

What the hell , Padraig hits a few greens last week his odds are halfed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

I wouldn't get too bogged down in nomenclature Fdp, in the last decade we've had the Leinster hurling final played in Thurles and the Ulster football final in Croke Park! The 07.40 tee-time looks tasty - Donald, McIlroy and Woods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I wouldn't get too bogged down in nomenclature Fdp, in the last decade we've had the Leinster hurling final played in Thurles and the Ulster football final in Croke Park! The 07.40 tee-time looks tasty - Donald, McIlroy and Woods

I'd take a trip to Thurles for a munster final over a trip to UAE anyday. Well except that kip of a hotel.

Anyway , great group. Who will win that group, that may be a good bet for a laugh. Hard to call Woods form. I'm sure Luke has been enjoying Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭basillarkin

http://www.europeantour.com/europeantour/season=2012/tournamentid=2012004/teetimes/index.html

Ok , I need to get with the system, I'm a slow learner.

This is the Euro Tour, from Asia again. I've to drop all notions of continental Plates. But, it is not the Euro Tour it is the race from Africa to Asia and back to Asia. This is more like phileas fogg.

Anyway, what a field lads.

I'm throwing away money on

Tom Lewis 100 /1 3 euro E/W
    Shane Lowery 66/1 3 euro E/W (bad odds btw)
    Paddy H 35/1 3 euro E/W (sick poor odds)

The staff and Paddy go to the back room and laugh hard.

What the hell , Padraig hits a few greens last week his odds are halfed.
    Padraig is 45/1 with Corals and Bet 365

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

I'd take a trip to Thurles for a munster final over a trip to UAE anyday. Well except that kip of a hotel.

Anyway , great group. Who will win that group, that may be a good bet for a laugh. Hard to call Woods form. I'm sure Luke has been enjoying Christmas.

PP have Rory 6/4, Tiger 7/4 and Luke 2/1 to win that threeball

Padraig is 45/1 with Corals and Bet 365

Was thinking that was mad. Goes to show Paddy takes the Paddy piss out of the Irish.

Even 45/1 is poor odds.

PP have Rory 6/4, Tiger 7/4 and Luke 2/1 to win that threeball

That is the order i would have called it. Luke worth a bet , well 2/1 in a 3 horse race, the other two are major winners , I've talked myself out of it.

Hard to call. as there is no real form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Nemesis

Was telling my son that Paddy might be worth a flutter e/w if you could get 40/1 or 50/1 but have to agree 35/1 is a little mean!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Dr.Silly

seriously...people backing paddy...even at 50/1 is just an awful awful bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

has harrington been shooting 59's in practice or something?

No way harrington should be 45/1 - way too short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

mcgrane played well recently and has some form in the desert. 830/1 on betfair is not bad....

I like horsey at 360/1 aswell.

Apart from that CMON TIGER!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭poteen

Its just a tricky field for betting on. The first time we really get to see a big field in 2012. Id maybe look at players with form in recent weeks . Maybe a few quid on Aiken who is a solid player has got back to the course already this evening and might be in shape to do alright (80/1). Also hard to discount Alvaro Quiros in the dessert (30/1) .

Of the shorter odds (win only players) - Mcilroy, Kaymer and Garcia for me.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

I'd say Schwartzel would be worth a punt. Maybe Colsaerts?? Few lads playing well enough - even if it was in a small field last week, and for lot of the big guns this is the first week out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭murphdogg11

Maybe those odds @ 35/1 are for PH to make the cut!

enough of the Harrington bashing. People should show Irelands greatest golfer and a three time major winner some more respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,729 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Thought i'd stumbled into the gambling forum for a minute :D

Sergio for me!

poteen wrote: »
    enough of the Harrington bashing. People should show Irelands greatest golfer and a three time major winner some more respect.

I LOL'd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭breffni bogballer

donald shud be fav,so [EMAIL="10ew@12s"]10ew@12s[/EMAIL],5ew[EMAIL="5ewgrace@50s"]grace@50s[/EMAIL] maybe [EMAIL="dyson@66s"]dyson@66s[/EMAIL] :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

donald shud be fav,so [EMAIL="10ew@12s"]10ew@12s[/EMAIL],5ew[EMAIL="5ewgrace@50s"]grace@50s[/EMAIL] maybe [EMAIL="dyson@66s"]dyson@66s[/EMAIL] :mad::mad:

Why so angry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Garcia & Francesco Molinari e/w.

All low stake E/W

Paddy Harro 35/1
    Paul Lawrie 125/1
    Shane Lowery 66/1

I'm laughing at my own bet. The odds in Powers are a joke.

My dad went 10 euro E/W on Woods, was a deal on him at 10/1.

it's a great bet IMO
    along with sergio garcia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

I went for the same bet, surely he can get a place at least...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Great start from McIlroy & Maybin. Very solid looking card from Tiger, 2 birdies 16 pars.

Dr.Silly wrote: »
    I LOL'd

You were the only one

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Sergio gets a hole-in-one at 12th - 7-iron, 193 yards. :D

First shot I watched of the day, he said it was the first of the Euro Tour, cool.

Nice to see McDowell going well.

He was trying to talk himself up as a bad player for the last 6 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭mikeunt

You were the only one

no, i lol'd too

mikeunt wrote: »
    no, i lol'd too

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

mikeunt wrote: »
    You were the only one

no, i lol'd too

So did I. Hilariously funny IMO

Ok , it is day 1.
    And he is a good bit back.

But who would have put Paddy ahead of or equal to.

Jason Day
    Luke Donald
    Lee Westwood
    Sergio Garcia
    Daren Clarke
    Alvaro Quiros
    Brendan Grace
    Shane Lowry

I think if your going to slag off Paddy , you need to put your hands up too and say fair enough.

Look it is day 1, but the lad is smiling and seems to be a change in him, (big fall for me in am. ),

Anway , I'm happy with my outsider bets.

But the wind plays a part in these parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,030 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Woods was very impressive imo, very few poor shots.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Not the best of starts for the 'big 3'.

Rory slipped back to -2 but back-to-back birdies and he's now back at -4.

Harrington ends with -4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Trigger13222

I know it might be a bit early to say but Harrington does seem to have a way more control in his swing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

Enjoyed watching Tiger yesterday. The way he compresses the ball is incredible. He seems to take a divot with every single club except the driver. Looking forward to seeing how 2012 unfolds for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Jaysus Harrington went birdie mad there at the start. Average enough after that but still a good round.

Edit: Never mind, he started on 10th!

Huge mistake my Rory just now. Brushed some sand from in front of his ball and has been given 2 stroke penalty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Huge mistake my Rory just now. Brushed some sand from in front of his ball and has been given 2 stroke penalty.

Seriously!!!?. Wow.

Had a stream but it has died, anyone got a good stream for this?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Stupid mistake, wonder who brought it to his attention? His caddy?

Just pulled a birdie on the next, back to 4 under

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

Presume it was his shot from fairway/rough and not the green?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

AGC wrote: »
    Presume it was his shot from fairway/rough and not the green?

Last I saw was he was on the bunker on left of 9. So it must have happened there.

Going to drop another 1 maybe 2 now

Leslie91 wrote: »
    Last I saw was he was on the bunker on left of 9. So it must have happened there.
    That's where it happened.

Only 1 shot dropped by Rory after a very poor shot from the bunker...it went into the bunker at the other side of the green!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

Only 1 shot dropped by Rory after a very poor shot from the bunker...it went into the bunker at the other side of the green!

He's all over the shop. Love the way he hit into the hospitality tent yesterday and still made birdie......

Still prone to big errors but with all the birdies he makes he'll give himself a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

Whyner wrote: »
    He's all over the shop. Love the way he hit into the hospitality tent yesterday and still made birdie......

Still prone to be big errors but with all the birdies he makes he'll give himself a chance

As unfair as it was at the time Westwood made the statement he is right:
    Westwood: “I’ve played with Rory and he does snap-hook under pressure.”

L.O.F.T wrote: »
    As unfair as it was at the time Westwood made the statement he is right:
    Westwood: “I’ve played with Rory and he does snap-hook under pressure.”

Cool, I've got something in common with Rory, minus the pressure bit.

I'd love to be watching this, with the tennis on as well.

Is there any shot tracker? That's got to be up there with the videprinter.

Everyone has a bad shot

Rory just birdies the 490 yards par 4 14th. As you do...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

No streaming here

Text updates are decent

The European Tour says: Watching McIlroy hit driver in the flesh is a site to behold; a thrilling and audible zip as the ball cuts through the air, boomed down 14.