Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommend a good diesel car for €5k - €5.5k

• 25-01-2012 9:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭

I do about 600 miles a week due to work, and have just sold my petrol 1.4 (was pumping over 100 a week into it). I know diesel has gone up in price too, but diesel will be more economical in the long run. Can anyone recommend what types of car I should be aiming for for the above price? Briefly looked at Passats but haven't had the chance to knuckle down and have a proper look yet. The car i sold was '05, so don't want to drop in years if at all possible.

Shurwhynot wrote: »

I do about 600 miles a week due to work, and have just sold my petrol 1.4 (was pumping over 100 a week into it). ..............

A 50mpg diesel will take €84/week to fuel, this might not be the money saver you expect it to be :)
    You won't get much 05 diesel Passat for that budget I'd say unless you get a very high miler. Would you fancy an Octavia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭rsole1

RoverJames wrote: »
    A 50mpg diesel will take €84/week to fuel, this might not be the money saver you expect it to be :)
    You won't get much 05 diesel Passat for that budget I'd say unless you get a very high miler. Would you fancy an Octavia?

With diesel at €7 a gallon you won't be saving much if anything when you take into account higher insurance, road tax and higher servicing costs. Might be best to stick with the devil you know.

rsole1 wrote: »
    With diesel at €7 a gallon you won't be saving much if anything when you take into account higher insurance, road tax and higher servicing costs. Might be best to stick with the devil you know.

How do you know the insurance will be higher for the OP?
    What are these higher servicing costs you mention?

How do you know the insurance will be higher for the OP?
    What are these higher servicing costs you mention?

Usually if you go from a 1.4 to a 1.9 engine the insurance group increases hence higher premiums. A diesel with turbo needs to be serviced more often than a 1.4 petrol. More expensive oil, fuel filters. If you check various garages you'll see it's more expensive to service a 1.4 petrol than say a 1.9 Tdi

Define "you", for anyone with a full NCB over 25 it matters very little.
    Servicing is much of a muchness, we're on a about diesel for €5000 not a new (or anywhere close to it) 335d or the like. Service interval for anyone with more than two functioning brain cells would be 10,000/12,000 miles on either the petrol or the diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

OP says he was putting over €100 of petrol a week into his old car. Call it €105 a week. By going diesel and saving about €20 quid a week in fuel and (possibly more) that's a saving of around €1000 a year. Quite substantial I'd have thought.

Octavia TDI would be the job though.

Servicing is much of a muchness, we're on a about diesel for €5000 not a new (or anywhere close to it) 335d or the like. Service interval for anyone with more than two functioning brain cells would be 10,000/12,000 miles on either the petrol or the diesel.

Go and troll somewhere else you little div.

166man wrote: »
    OP says he was putting over €100 of petrol a week into his old car. Call it €105 a week. By going diesel and saving about €20 quid a week in fuel and (possibly more) that's a saving of around €1000 a year. Quite substantial I'd have thought.

Octavia TDI would be the job though.

Did you consider the cost to change? Did the OP get a good price on the car they sold? Will they be getting value for money with their next purchase?
    I did say "might" too :)
    If the cost to change was a grand that's a full year of potential savings spent up front so we're into year two of running the diesel before any savings can be made.
    I'm not trolling, each point I made was valid :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Shurwhynot

I got a good price on my car yes. Obviously I realise the tax etc is more on a 1.9 diesel, but as I said i'm spending €100 Mon-Fri and maybe another 20 at weekends...I'm sure in the long run I'd save money, plus i'd have a more powerful car under my arse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,664 ✭✭✭✭vectra

LOL :D

It's you are the one talking through your h0le :pac:

RoverJames has made perfectly valid comments while your's are up in the air

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Tax might be higher, but thats about it. I'm paying less to insure a 3.2 now than the 1.9 it replaced (both diesels, neither performance vehicles).

Servicing costs are similar - filters are much the same, oil might cost more but then you're not paying for spark plugs so one cancels out the other.

If the OP is saving €20 a week on the fuel bill, then it'll most likely cover any slight increase in tax or insurance over the course of a year.

Oh and I think you got your last sentance wrong ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭littleredspot

I was "sure in the long run" that I'd save money by buying a diesel, everyone tells you that, so it must be true! Then I looked at a few threads here where people actually did the maths, and in my case, it def wasn't worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

RJ hangs out here alot, ive never seen or heard from you before....not that he needs defending cos he's right

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

For 5 or 5.5 k, you'd get a nice 06 mondeo tdci , 55mpg on a run, cheap to service, no timing belt intervals, parts are cheap, comfortable car and decent kit with good power (get a 130 bhp one). I recommend one over any passat or octavia.

How about this?
    Would be at the top of your budget

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2848352

Full-9260249.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Take your own advice.Attack the post not the poster please

Yes you would have a lot of choice on vectras op, well specced sri models are easy to find. Id recommend the 120bhp diesel instead of the 150 though, it appears to be much more reliable being the 8v. If you get the 150 you could get the swirl flaps blanked as they are prone to failure.

A leon cupra would be within budget, theyre hard enough to find though

vectra wrote: »
    How about this?
    Would be at the top of your budget

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2848352

Full-9260249.jpeg

top spec he states, with no leather;)

Only exclusive gets leather afaik, and then not even that often. I guess it just wasnt high on vauxhalls list. Sri is pretty much top spec, or the sport variety anyway unless you go vxr

MidlandsM wrote: »
    top spec he states, with no leather;)

My car is Top spec as well.. Had to order leather seperate..Stil loads of boxes to tick when I was ordering it.. All adds up though..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭giggsy07

B6 tdi passat mate.Beautifull drive.comfortable,vw reliability and perfectly eco!!Just changed from a 320d and the difference is unbelievable..:D

giggsy07 wrote: »
    B6 tdi passat mate.Beautifull drive.comfortable,vw reliability and perfectly eco!!Just changed from a 320d and the difference is unbelievable..:D

you english, Mate?

re; a B6 passat, far from reliable, the 6 speed gearbox in them is dung.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,626 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

vectra wrote: »
    LOL :D

It's you are the one talking through your h0le :pac:

RoverJames has made perfectly valid comments while your's are up in the air

And backseat modding :eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

B6 Passat isn't bad...........but far from reliable. 1.9tdi is the engine of choice but they have their fair share of issues, or at least mine has

you english, Mate?

Mine must be a dressed up ferrari so because its a dream..Stay away from vauxhall/opel,DIRT!!!And Midlands Im irish mate why ya feelin gayish and like my choice of words??Im straight lad so back t f**k off..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭JustLen

[/Quote]
    you english, Mate?

re; a B6 passat, far from reliable, the 6 speed gearbox in them is

English people aren't entitled to an opinion?

you english, Mate?

English people aren't entitled to an opinion?[/QUOTE]Dont mind that guy i reckon he's full of sh1t.Everyones entitled to an opinion on an open forum at least i taught.;)

you english, Mate?

English people aren't entitled to an opinion?
    Dont mand that guy i reckon he's full of sh1t.Everyones entitled to an opinion on an open forum at least i taught.;)[/Quote]
    I reckon he is full of knowledgable shyte and knows what he is talking about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,626 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

JustLen wrote: »
    you english, Mate?

English people aren't entitled to an opinion?[/QUOTE]

Well, they are, just they have to be apologetic in their tones and grovel a bit. Always helps the camaraderie develop, I feel.... ;)

Ain't that so, squires? Guv?

I would go with the Mondeo tdci 130. Or also a late 406 110 Hdi, if year doesn't bother you. And save maybe 2k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭GG66

Peugeot 406 worth a look if you don't mind dropping a few years and a few grand in price. The HDI diesel engine is reliable and will go forver.

I've heard people joke about electrics on french cars, mine's 10 years old & never had an issue.

A friend of mine had one with 200k miles on it & he fancied a change, so he stopped spending money on it, no oil, just diesel. he eventually sold it on with 250k miles

Ford Mondeo also well worth consideration.

Stay away from peugeot 407, no good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭cadaliac

I can personally vouch for the 6 speed being utter sh1t.

cadaliac wrote: »

agreed, but shure what would i know??....., I'm just full of shyte, mate ......LOL :D:D:D:D:D:D:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Cop on the lot of ye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Servicing is much of a muchness, we're on a about diesel for €5000 not a new (or anywhere close to it) 335d or the like. Service interval for anyone with more than two functioning brain cells would be 10,000/12,000 miles on either the petrol or the diesel.[/

Patronise much?

Anyway op, servicing is slightly more expensive on a diesel, its recommended that you change you oil every 10,000 miles but being honest its no harm every 6 - 7,000 as you'll be looking at higher mileage cars and im sure you'll want to protect your investment esp in these harsh times. Its also recommended you use a better type of oil (fully synth) but you can save a packet by doing it yourself, its very simple and the motors fo4um here on boards is usually a great souce of information to help you.

Any questions just ask . :)

cadaliac wrote: »

I changed to fully synth gear oil about 100k ago and the box is excellent, they (vw) have been shipping cars with semi synth oil in the box up until recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭pippip

Does the Audi A4 b6 1.9tdi have the same gearbox issues?

if it does its a bit strange as there are so many of them still on the road

JJJJNR wrote: »
    Patronise much?

Anyway op, servicing is slightly more expensive on a diesel, its recommended that you change you oil every 10,000 miles but being honest its no harm every 6 - 7,000 as you'll be looking at higher mileage cars and im sure you'll want to protect your investment esp in these harsh times. Its also recommended you use a better type of oil (fully synth) but you can save a packet by doing it yourself, its very simple and the motors fo4um here on boards is usually a great souce of information to help you.

How as it patronising exactly :confused:

Anyway :pac:

Since when is it recommended to use fully synth in diesels that are specced for semi synthetic?

If 10w40 is the recommendation you'll struggle to find 10w40 fully synthetic diesel engine oil and it will cost a fortune relative to what the manufacturer advises to use, emptying that out after 6000 miles would be sheer lunacy if like the OP you are doing 600+ miles a week :) Sure 'twould be getting done every 2 to 3 months.

How as it patronising exactly :confused:

Anyway :pac:

Since when is it recommended to use fully synth in diesels that are specced for semi synthetic?

If 10w40 is the recommendation you'll struggle to find 10w40 fully synthetic diesel engine oil and it will cost a fortune relative to what the manufacturer advises to use, emptying that out after 6000 miles would be sheer lunacy if like the OP you are doing 600+ miles a week :) Sure 'twould be getting done every 2 to 3 months.

Why would you use any other oil than that what is recommended, seems odd :confused: i was addressing the OP who was looking at passats. :confused:

From your post it seemed to me you were on about "a diesel", not specifically a Passat in that part of your post :)
    7000 mile oil changes on a Passat doing 600 miles a week is not necessary.

Hahaha lol a misunderstanding then. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭ligertigon

Servicing isn't a big issue.

What you dont realise, is that without warranty. And if something goes engine wrong..

A petrol car is Much cheaper to fix on average that a newer pd diesel.

A diesel is more vunerable to dodgy fuel.
    A diesel cant cope with too many accidental petrol fills, a petrol can cope with diesel.
    Most diesels have DM flywheels, that are knackered at clutch time.

For the op, you need to work out your yearly mileage etc and do the math,

For example, on motorway.
    My 180bhp petrol does 40mpg
    my 71bhp diesel does 45mpg
    the petrol is cheaper to tax but more refined.

I think a lot of people go diesel and realise that there is really no benefit unless you do big mileage.

So true, mate of mine had his 06 corolla engine replaced for 350 euro.

What happened it?

No idea, i was just so shocked at the price, that i didnt ask.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭ligertigon

wow
    350 euro, for engine and labour at a garage? No warranty on car?

lol

Family and friends special price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Eddie Smart

Would you think about Volvo S40'05-on 1.6 diesel. Easy 60mpg and relatively non expensive road tax. Good standard spec, ford engine is affordable to service.

It's a PSA engine, not a Ford unit

johnos1984 wrote: »
    It's a PSA engine, not a Ford unit

and a sh1t one too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

and a sh1t one too.

It's hardly a sh1t engine, problem is most Irish people won't maintain it in the way that it needs it, for example using the correct oil is very important in ensuring the turbo doesn't go early.