Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Standing me" phenomena!

• 24-01-2012 3:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭Damokc

This craic of lads selling cars saying "standing me over 7K" "so stupid offers"! What do they expect? If the car is only worth say €2,000 and they put in €7K do they expect €9K? Most vexing!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭FrontDoor

Damokc wrote: »
    This craic of lads selling cars saying "standing me over 7K" "so stupid offers"! What do they expect? If the car is only worth say €2,000 and they put in €7K do they expect €9K? Most vexing!:D
    My attitude to an ad with gibberish like that would be to hit the back button and move on.

I'd be the same with any ad containing text speak, lots of poor grammar, bad pictures and so on. The general impression being that they don't give a sh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

FrontDoor wrote: »
    Damokc wrote: »
    My attitude to an ad with gibberish like that would be to hit the back button and move on.

I'd be the same with any ad containing text speak, lots of poor grammar, bad pictures and so on. The general impression being that they don't give a sh1t.

Ya its idiotic.
    I wish I could get back half of what my car 'stands me'.

I think its a term that came from the trade and its use makes sense when dealing within the trade but lads on done deal quoting this after driving it for a year is daft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭bman1

my buddy had a nissan 180, car stood him over 15K, between engine, turbo, management, all suspension work, interior, wide arch kit and wheels. he tried selling it complete but obviously no takers so he stripped it, only sold the last few bits last week so did his sums and he made 9 grand by stripping it. no one is going to pay for what you've put into a car, we all know that when we pump money into a car in the first place. so many nice cars getting stripped for parts lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

No tyre kickers or time wasters.......like that's going to stop them calling :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Hmm heres an idea for the likes of Donedeal etc, have a search filter which removes any ads with the following words:

stands me
    fully loaded
    every extra possible
    absolute miser on diesel/petrol

Feel free to add to this list ha! When I see a description with a load of rubbish like the above I just click back, the odds are the seller is an utter idiot flogging off some sort of lemon.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

"it'll sail through the nct"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Timmaay wrote: »
    Hmm heres an idea for the likes of Donedeal etc, have a search filter which removes any ads with the following words:

stands me
    fully loaded
    every extra possible

Feel free to add to this list ha! When I see a description with a load of rubbish like the above I just click back, the odds are the seller is an utter idiot flogging off some sort of lemon.

it's all about the car, never mind the advertising bumf.......:p

i have to confess, i actually don't follow... what does "standing me over 7k" mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

bluewolf wrote: »
    i have to confess, i actually don't follow... what does "standing me over 7k" mean?

It has cost me over 7k between buying it, putting money into it, moding it, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

bluewolf wrote: »

I buy a car for €4k, I spend €3k on new wheels, tyres, shocks and springs. The car now 'stands' me €7k but that does not make it worth €7k. It's still worth only €4k if not less.

MidlandsM wrote: »
    it's all about the car, never mind the advertising bumf.......:p

I totally agree with ya, but simple as is the odds are high enough that the seller is flogging off a crock of sh*t when they start posting up rubbish like that.

Of course the oppose can be true, well worded add with a seller that sounds as if they know their stuff, then you go to see the car and its nothing as described, but in general if the owner puts up a good honest description with none of the stupid "buzz" words, it will be a better looked after car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

dahamsta wrote: »

I'm on the lookout for something new atm, and if I see that f*cking phrase once more I'll end up like this -> Exploding-head.gif

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Lady owner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

The "it stands me xxx" used to work in the trade when the prices were stable, demand and supply were better matched and there was a hefty mark up in dealer prices compared to private sale prices

Many dealers (and others) still hang on to this method, but it no longer works...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

After repeated visits to the dentist and the wearing of braces for years my teeth currently stand me €6000.

Will anyone give me this when I die?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

unkel wrote: »
    The "it stands me xxx" used to work in the trade when the prices were stable, demand and supply were better matched and there was a hefty mark up in dealer prices compared to private sale prices

Many dealers (and others) still hang on to this method, but it no longer works...

Reality sometimes takes a while to bite ... but it will after car is lying on the driveway for about six months with a couple of flats and guys start calling and saying they'll remove it for free:p
    I asked a back street garage guy to do some work on a car for me recently and he told me his rate was 44 euro an hour. I estimate that at around 360 a day , nice work if you can get it.... he didn't.,someone else got it at half that.
    Some people are caught in a time warp,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

No comment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

dahamsta wrote: »

http://www.google.ie/search?hl=en&q=it+will+fly+through+the+nct
    About 951,000 results :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭voojeq

johnos1984 wrote: »
    After repeated visits to the dentist and the wearing of braces for years my teeth currently stand me €6000.

Will anyone give me this when I die?

who knows, you might get a discount on your coffin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

Mint Condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

"First to see will bye"

Regularly seen with the spelling bye, as opposed to buy.

Also regularly seen bumped a few days later :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Nforce wrote: »
    Mint Condition.
    +1, along with 'immaculate' and 'perfect'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,764 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

"Real tight car", don't really know what this means, seems to be a phrase from those living in the border areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

"Real tight car", don't really know what this means, seems to be a phrase from those living in the border areas.
    It means it hasn't yet acquired that loose, rattly feel that comes with high miles on rough roads.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Call John on 086-0000000....

To be honest, I'm going to be in the very same boat shortly coz I'm selling my gf's car.

So I will be that guy with that ad! :( No way around it sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭O.A.P

I dont like the "readvertized due to timewaster" on some ads. To my mind it makes it sound like the seller is already p---ed off and is lightly to fly off the handle if I find something wrong with his car or what ever he is selling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Well just dont put "Lady Owner" in the ad. Tell them the details when they call asking about it. ;)

Then it'll be like a little bonus for when they make the effort. Like rewarding a dog with a treat for doing something good. :P

O.A.P wrote: »
    I dont like the "readvertized due to timewaster" on some ads. To my mind it makes it sound like the seller is already p---ed off and is lightly to fly off the handle if I find something wrong with his car or what ever he is selling.

Yep, what this can mean is you the buyer spotted what looked like nice car, rang up the seller who said mint condition etc etc, so ya decide to travel 1/2 way across the country etc to see it, then it turns out to be an utter turd of a car and the seller was lying through their teeth about the car.

Home you come annoyed that the idiot wasted your time with something that was not as they said, back to Donedeal looking for a car, and you find the seller has bumped the add, with "re-advertised due to absolute timewaster" put on the ad!!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Saw a good one today:

"Owned by a woman so you can guarantee that this is in a very good condition."

O Rly?

And yes......"Ad posted by Noel"

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2934760

"Runs on the smell of diesel"

I've seen this afew times the past week or so!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

O.A.P wrote: »

I absolutely love those!
    He probably had it advertised for some outrageous prize and ended up on the Dreamer thread. Then had avalanche of people calling him and taking the piss, so re-advertised.
    That person will probably do through life steaming at why everyone's taking the piss out of him.
    It's funnier to know that the whole world is getting the joke, except him.
    The system works!

Pre-empting hassle by adding "No time wasters, tire kickers, window lickers, dreamers, test pilots, no offers over the phone, texts, private numbers", etc... does absolutely nothing whatsoever, all the above will still call, but someone like me who might be interested will say "If he's got THAT attitude before I even spoke to him, I won't bother"
    Because, as you point out, the guy will probably be a dickhead and if something's not right, will most likely tell you to get effed.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,757 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Timmaay wrote: »

stands me
    fully loaded
    every extra possible

time wasters
    mint
    no private numbers

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

blue5000 wrote: »
    time wasters
    mint
    no private numbers

I always imagine a call centre full of these so-called 'timewasters' with their phones in their hands dialling the number in the advert and as they read the last line of the advert that says 'No timewasters' ... they sigh and put the phone down.. :)

It's so stupid ... it's not like a timewaster even knows he/she is a timewaster to begin with!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

ive been looking for a cheap run around over the last few days. the amount of adds with something like 1 previous owner, lady owner is unreal. i used to work in a garage as a salesman and have the garage code for doing the carchecks. 1 car i checked earlier said 2 previous owners in the ad but wen i checked it had 9 previous owners!! thats 10 owners altogether!!

another lad i rang up and asked him could i get my mechanic to look at the car and he shouted "NO MECHANIC WILL SEE THIS CAR" and hung up.
    i thought it was a reasonable requeast!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

"All electric" seems to mean central locking, and power windows. What about heated and powered seats, power sunroof, heated and powered mirrors etc?

mackeire wrote: »
    he shouted "NO MECHANIC WILL SEE THIS CAR" and hung up.

Anyone else read that in a thick German accent? Just me then....

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2936593

"Needs nothing for NCT, I just don't have the time" ****s sake, it's about an hour, tops including waiting and then you can put 'new nct' in your ad and add a couple of hundred to your asking price.

Also, "What have you got" is getting ever more popular amongst those who've realised that their heap of poorly modified scrap is of no monetary value and perhaps they can barter it away instead: http://cars.donedeal.ie/find/cars/for-sale/Ireland/what%20have%20you%20got?filter%28mileage_metric%29=Miles&source=all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Bought This Car Of A Granny

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2798254

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithi1970

When I see a car being described as "clean" I would avoid-If that's all they can come up with as a selling point....

daithi

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

"All electric" seems to mean central locking, and power windows. What about heated and powered seats, power sunroof, heated and powered mirrors etc?
    This is Ireland where bog standard is par for the course. Here all electric simply refers to the fact that there is a radio present!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Nforce wrote: »
    Mint Condition.

Despite the fact that its got ugly sideskirts and painted a garish green colour and a few pretty nasty dents...would Nissan really let it leave the factory like that.
    Also, "What have you got" is getting ever more popular amongst those who've realised that their heap of poorly modified scrap is of no monetary value and perhaps they can barter it away instead

I'm somewhat bemused when guys mention no swaps or cash sales only on adverts.ie. When somebody replies to their ad offering their car as a swap they go on to show an interest.

Also a wee bit bemused when when fellas mention that there are 90k miles on the car despite the fact that a snap of the instrument panel shows a mileage of 96,820 miles. Makes me wonder how accurate they'd be about last service, timing belt belt or what the tyres are really like etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

"xxx,xxx genuine miles"

Arse :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

Cant wait till the Estate Agents start using it !

"we are delighted to bring to the market this lovely 1 bed dogbox in Donnybrook north by northwest west central (tallaght) stands the owner €650,000, asking offers of forty grand, a pack of monster munch and a big hug"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

And just because driving cars into lakes, rivers and streams in Donegal is now getting a little bit long in the tooth, see link for the seemingly latest craze up there:eek:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2939646

And just because driving cars into lakes, rivers and streams in Donegal is now getting a little bit long in the tooth, see link for the seemingly latest craze up there:eek:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2939646

This belongs on the "Biggest Shed" thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Notch000

what does my head in is....

NEED GONE &
    Im only testing the water....

and this guy takes the piss altogether, "dont come down talking s**T"
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2849715
    who would want to deal with someone like that ?

finally if i see any mention of tags like - twin cam, vtec, evo etc
    Next add

Or anything with bold donegal plates are instantly blacklisted too, but that just a personal gripe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Notch000

just noticed he cant sell the AMG alloys as he only has two, one front right & one for back left. Just like Sabastioan loeb did for the mone carlo rally, a cross over of slicks and spikes. can cause questionable handling

Notch000 wrote: »

Ah, this ad ticks a lot of boxes, the sh*t bit and of course "NO MORE OFFERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" made me giggle, but what really gets me is"NO MORE PEOPLE RINGING ABOUT THE WHEELS", why take pictures of the car with scrap wheel on it? WHY??!!! AND then complain about it! Nitwit!
    The blurry pictures taken in absolute darkness are just the cherry on top, that ad gave me quite a giggle.

Another thing is "VW, BMW, Mercedes, Ford, Toyota, Mitsubishi, Renault, Lada, Rolls Royce, Bentley, Porsche, Tata, Skoda, etc..." in the description, which is it? If I want to buy a Focus, I won't consider your souped up piece of sh*t whatever it is, you've annoyed me and my chances of me buying it of you have now fallen below zero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭Stoolbend

"Motorway Miles"

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2932128

How much motorway had we in 99?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭Kevvv

Notch000 wrote: »

"NO EXSPENSE SPAIRED"

Does that make you feel any better? :p