Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish champion hurdle

• 24-01-2012 8:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭

Alright lads did anyone hear anything more about the fly? I remember someone knocking around here saying there may have been a few problems with him about 2 weeks ago...wanna do an antepost treble including the champ hurdle but the fly as usual scares the life out of antepost!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Plentyofice

Horse is grand . The B*ll*x would have been laid out of him on betfair if there was a problem :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

Horse is grand . The B*ll*x would have been laid out of him on betfair if there was a problem :o

Great news..should be an easy stroll
    In the park, although it would be nice to see unaccompanied give him a race

Betting suspended by all except boylespoets an bet365

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Mcharko

Why has betting been suspended?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭mccarte2

5 day declarations today so presume that's why it's suspended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Powers were offering 4/1 the Hurricane Fly Double, Irish and English Champion about 45 mins ago in shop. Absolutely huge price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

only1stevo wrote: »
    Powers were offering 4/1 the Hurricane Fly Double, Irish and English Champion about 45 mins ago in shop. Absolutely huge price.

4/6 on Betfair for this weekend. 2/1 for the Champion.

Thats 4/1 right now, if Zarkandar bolts up in the Tote Gold trophy or something else puts in a good one then the 4/1 is a bad price

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

ive no time for hurricane fly all talent aside, i dont know whether the trainer plays silly buggers or the horse is hard to get right etc.

i like to see a race horse ply his trade by actually racing.

big bucks is my favourite. you see plenty of him.

im not big fan of willys yard at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

4/6 on Betfair for this weekend. 2/1 for the Champion.

Thats 4/1 right now, if Zarkandar bolts up in the Tote Gold trophy or something else puts in a good one then the 4/1 is a bad price

Related contingency....

3/1 with Powers. Powers are 4/7 Sunday => 2.55 for the Champion if he wins Sunday

ive no time for hurricane fly all talent aside, i dont know whether the trainer plays silly buggers or the horse is hard to get right etc.

Hurricane Fly has run more often than Big Bucks over the last few seasons on the whole?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Unaccompanied has 9lbs on him Sunday.

The general thoughts seem to be this mare is only thing in the race capable of beating the Fly, best price 4/1.

Thousand Stars I think would have beaten Unaccompanied the last day had Townend not have given the smart ride he did.

So my bet will be Thousand Stars w/o Hurricane Fly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭Huntey

Fantastic shout with Thousand Stars, didn't even think of it.

The 'word' on here that HF was out was simply just more rumours.

The more I think of it it is a really cute campaign by Mullins. Worrying enough when last seasons novices are hacking up but they probably need a couple of runs under their bellies anyway, whereas HF is peaking as such and doesn't need to be heavily campaigned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Jaysus bookies are complete ****ebags altogether, I had a look way back when they had Spirit Son and Binocular in the Ante Post and I know it's not proper science but they all had the book at around 160% so even if HF came out they would be over 100%.

Now after 5 day declaration there are 6 runners, the overround with B365 is 117% and they are still ante post:mad:

It's no wonder people are using exchanges.

Ye fancy thousand stars to finish a couple of lengths behind the Fly in second.

The Fly will win, no doubt about that, wish I had the big bucks to lump on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭restingpilgrim

Hurricane Fly has run more often than Big Bucks over the last few seasons on the whole?

Big Bucks is a nine year old and had 22 races and Hurricane Fly is eight and had 14 including three flat races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,866 ✭✭✭Panrich

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

I've had a good bet on Hurricane Fly for the double at 3/1.

If he wins Sunday his price will collapse for Cheltenham, and I will lay enough to get my stake back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Big Bucks is a nine year old and had 22 races and Hurricane Fly is eight and had 14 including three flat races.

Hurricane Fly would have had much more than 3 races on the flat. He was a Listed class horse in his flat days.

Also Big Bucks would have a fair few races in France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Dont know where you got this myth from tbh, last season, the only season that the Fly had an injury free season, he ran 5 times compared to BB's 4. In fact since the horse came to Mullin's in May 2008 it has ran 10 times which considering it had two season ending injuries and a setback this year is very respectfull in comparison to Big Bucks 15 races in the same period.

Now dont get me wrong I am a massive BigBucks fan aswell but I cant have you dismissing the Fly on such a moot point, it would be akin to me pointing out that BB not going back over fences diminishes the horse*

*I dont believe this for a second btw its an illustrative point, I get very upset when anyone even dares question the Fly :D

Handsomecake, Its been well documented that the Fly has been a very difficult horse to get right and to train throughout the years.
    There's no reason for playing silly buggers with a horse like that, he's the best 2 mile hurdler by a long shot and I'm sure everyone, Mullins included, would love too see him racing every other week but the be all and end all for many owners is the festival and I'm sure the owners will skip a pissy race at the xmas festival in leopardstown if it means the horse is that extra 10 percent for cheltenham.

No great fan of Mullins myself and the manner in which the fly was entered in the istabraq, obviously with no intention of running him, in order to get the better price for Thousands stars, was certainly very misleading.
    But he does know how to train a horse, and he won't be taking any risks with the stable star.

As for who I'd prefer over Big Buck's or the Fly, it's a tough one indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Hate it when people say the Fly.

mdwexford wrote: »

Reminds me of those misfortunes you see in the bookies for some reason when I hear it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

mdwexford wrote: »
    Huntey wrote: »
    Reminds me of those misfortunes you see in the bookies for some reason when I hear it.

Point taken will try and resist in future, it was actaully a friend of mine who I spent three mo9nths arguing with last year that used to do it and I guess it eventually caught on, he was a peddlars cross fan btw, I have never doubted the Hurricane Fly :D

I don't care what people call him it just reminds me of some bum in the bookies for a reason unknown to me.

Huntey wrote: »
    I don't care what people call him it just reminds me of some bum in the bookies for a reason unknown to me.

What's wrong with being a bum in the bookies :D you get free coffee in there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭robfullam

Hurricane Fly is a CERT on Sunday if there ever was one. 4/7 is a good price if you ask me! Willie Mullins will only run Hurricane when he knows he's in top form so just wait and see hurricane win on the bridle by about 8 lengths! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

robfullam wrote: »
    Hurricane Fly is a CERT on Sunday if there ever was one. 4/7 is a good price if you ask me! Willie Mullins will only run Hurricane when he knows he's in top form so just wait and see hurricane win on the bridle by about 8 lengths! ;)

Like the time he ran him first time out against solwhit a couple of years back and got beat? Mullins, like any good trainer, will have left a bit to work on. I may or may not back him but he's not a stone cold cert

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Like the time he ran him first time out against solwhit a couple of years back and got beat? Mullins, like any good trainer, will have left a bit to work on. I may or may not back him but he's not a stone cold cert

Ahhh you can say all that but he's a lot more mature now! I guess theres never a cert in Horse Racing never!! But he's as close as you'll get to one!

Lol, well done, pick the only time he has been beaten since he came to Ireland. Lol

Agree I don't think anything will beat him in Ireland..
    that race actually that he was beaten when you look at how solwhit picked up..nearly looks like solwhit was on fastforward..I miss solwhit would love to know what's going on. At this stage I'm assuming chelt is out anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭mccarte2

Townend rides Thousand Stars and Davy Mouthwash rides Unaccompanied.

Did you read what he said? 'Mullins will only run HF if he's in top form'. I was merely pointing out that Mullins doesn't always run HF in top form, especially first time out, as shown by that race he got beat. Understand now? lol

If your saying that Mullins ran HF that day and knew he was below par then your talking complete bollocks. Hes not going to risk his stable star unless he thinks he is 100% which he obv did that day.

Do you understand modern training methods at all? A horse is rarely 100% on their first run of the season. They need races to strip them fitter. Are you telling me that HF was in the same state (100%) when being ridden out to beat Solwhit by 1 1/2 L on his first race last season, as he was when he hammered Binocular, Thousand Stars and Menorah at the tail end of last season?

HF will very likely not be at 100% on Sunday, as he won't have racing practice, and Mullins will know this. He will probably still win, but either way i'm sure we'll see a fitter and improved HF at the festival.

4/5 LOL.

Sweet mother of Jesus, that was one hell of a performance. :D:D

10/11 with B365, actually just cut again to 8/11 NRNB

I think the bookies are taking a bit much from that performance, to be expected of course admittedly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

What other way would they take it James?

He won it on the bridle. The most impressive grade one win I've seen in a long time

Well he relished the conditions, and you won't see ground like that at Cheltenham :)

RoverJames wrote: »
    Well he relished the conditions, and you won't see ground like that at Cheltenham :)

Don't think so James, he will definitely prefer a sounder surface.

I'm not saying he won't prefer a better surface gents :)
    I'm just reckoning that the rest of the field today were more inconvenienced by today's conditions, on the OR he was 16lbs higher than Unaccompanied.

I'm not saying he won't prefer a better surface gents :)
    I'm just reckoning that the rest of the field today were more inconvenienced by today's conditions, on the OR he was 16lbs higher than Unaccompanied.

He was giving her 9lbs though. He could have won y any distance he liked there

I know.
    I just think the cut in price after that performance in those conditions is OTT :), I did say it was to be expected.

I think the bookies are taking a bit much from that performance, to be expected of course admittedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Very impressive performance. Really can't see him being odds on on the day though.

Flemenstar was very impressive. Shows how good Bog Warrior is too. His trainer is getting the ride tonight as well. :pac:

With the price being so short naturally people will try to take him on on the day, which is when all the shrewdies need to get involved and hammer the price back in. :cool:
    Johner wrote: »
    Flemenstar was very impressive.

Flemenstar is a class horse, hope you got on ft9.

Is this where I say I told you so???:D

Thanks Rob, I'm sure nobody would have made a claim for Hurricane Fly without your valuable insight...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

Would never have considered backing him without your valuable input.

Thank Rob, I owe you one, you gave me enough confidence to put €5 on him to win. Never heard of this horse so I have added him to my horse tracker, there was no mention of him in the Irish Press since he started racing.:pac:

Congratulations on the winner anyway Rob