Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

why do

• 23-01-2012 10:19am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭

some motorists drive to the left of speed ramps. ..does my head in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

What, on the footpath? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Why does it do your head in... I seriously don't understand peoples logic of becoming pissed of by this?

It in no way affects or impedes your driving!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

...birds suddenly appear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Wolverine_1999

ootbitb wrote: »

They like their car?
    They respect their car?
    They like money and not repair costs?

Having said that hitting at speed doesn't make it any better :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Driving diagonally aross speed ramps give you better clearance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Tallon wrote: »
    Why does it do your head in... I seriously don't understand peoples logic of becoming pissed of by this?

It in no way affects or impedes your driving!

Exactly. OP, I wish I only had such trival things to get annoyed about!!!

Some people drive to the left of the speed ramp as only one side of the car will then have to go over the speed ramp. Some people drive across them at an angle as it gives better clearance and there is less chance of hitting the front bumper/splitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,625 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

Depends on the road, there are new ones on the Dunmore Rd in Waterford, 1 bump in each lane. If there's a car coming in the opposite direction, the swerving car usually mounts the footpath as the footpath isnt high enough to stop this. It's bloody scary when you coming towards the mounting car while pushing a heavy buggy, wondering will you be able to swerve.

Also I dont think its the car avoiding getting damage underneath, it avoiding slowing down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

It's a rare occasion that a speed bump in Ireland is actually built to regulation. Less damage caused to your car, the better!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭ootbitb

there seems to be ample clearance on most of the cars I see doing this in which case there is a negative benefit.

So what's your problem then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

smash wrote: »
    It's a rare occasion that a speed bump in Ireland is actually built to regulation. Less damage caused to your car, the better!

Had no idea there were actual regulations about them, would love to throw this book at the council!

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

You can go over them faster if only 2 wheels are going over. ie going straight over with 4 wheels at 40 - car bottoms out. 2 wheels goign over at 40 - no problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I do it because:

a) It reduces the risk of the sump grounding out.
    b) The Alfa's suspension is a bit delicate.

bladespin wrote: »
    Had no idea there were actual regulations about them, would love to throw this book at the council!
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1988/en/si/0032.html

5. Each ramp shall—

( a ) be constructed of hot rolled asphalt,
    ( b ) extend across the width of the roadway between channels,
    ( c ) be 3.7 metres in length in the direction of the roadway,
    ( d ) have a maximum height at the centre above the road surface of 10 centimetres,
    ( e ) be properly secured so as to prevent movement, and
    ( f ) be painted with reflectorised white paint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Twin-go

5. Each ramp shall—

( d ) have a maximum height at the centre above the road surface of 10 centimetres,

We should start a new thread similar to the obnoxious parking thread and name and shame locations that don't conform to the above.

Sick of badly designed/made speedbump fecking up my car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

Twin-go wrote: »
    We should start a new thread similar to the obnoxious parking thread and name and shame locations that don't conform to the above..
    Probably be easier and quicker to list the locations that DO conform!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

Nice baiting of the 300th post hook op !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

5. Each ramp shall—

first condition there seems to exclude an awful lot of them, I'd have thought! All those cobblelock ones are in breach so? Or those ones that are pre-fabricated and just bolted down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭heate

If the track of your car is wide enough why do people drive over the narrow ones?
    As for driving to the left I do it I find it doesn't give the suspension as much as a workout as driving straight over them.
    Why does it annoy you OP? There are plenty of horrendous things people do on the road and driving to the left of ramps is certainly not one of them!

Not just the first. If you consider all the points there, I doubt there are any ramps in the country that are legal. I know plenty of roads where ramps are nowhere near 3.7 metres in length in the direction of the roadway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭zapata

5. Each ramp shall—

There's the killer right there. Strawberry beds road from Lucan to the Phoenix park are in breach of this. And the ramps on the north road in the Phoenix Park especially the one right outside Garda Headquarters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

So I don't knacker my suspension

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭dougie-lampkin

1.(3) There shall be not less than two ramps on any roadway.

At least they've got one reg spot on :rolleyes:

I wonder what excuse the council would give if one was to complain about non-conforming speed ramps? Some of the recent ones in Limerick are deadly, well over the 10cm, never mind the other technicalities. The majority are a "stop and go into 1st" job for me, and that's still perilously close to the sump :mad:

One other thing I spotted:
    4. Ramps shall not be provided on a roadway where the road concerned is—

( a ) a road in respect of which a speed limit exceeding 30 miles per hour applies,

30 mph = 48 km/h, so does this mean ALL ramps placed on 50 km/h roads are illegal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

Wonder if Barack Obama is reading this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

How is it annoying or a problem if done without swerving across to the side and of course making sure no motor/cyclist going up the inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭V Eight

I always drive to the left of the speed ramps. Never really thought too much about it; other than if you have low profile tyres and firm suspension it just seems the logical thing to do!.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

There are two ways of going over speed ramps in my car:

A. Slow down to 1st gear and 10kmph. Crawl over the ram.
    B. Go at normal speed and shatter you spine in the process.

But sometimes when option C is available, I use it.
    That option being driving to the left and protecting your suspension, your spine etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Didn't we just have one of those threads in the last two weeks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Didn't we just have one of those threads in the last two weeks?

It's the same thread..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Yeah, it's the same one...

There are two ways of going over speed ramps in my car:

A. Slow down to 1st gear and 10kmph. Crawl over the ram.
    B. Go at normal speed and shatter you spine in the process.

But sometimes when option C is available, I use it.
    That option being driving to the left and protecting your suspension, your spine etc.

is your car customised at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Fiona

I have no choice but to do it cos my car is low, sorry if it annoys you :rolleyes::p

it's worse when cars slow right down. I cruise over them at 30kph.

just passed NCT with no fails and not uncomfortable for passengers.

possible that these are easy ramps though as have encountered a few where I brake, maybe 10%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I remember taking girl to work at 4:40 in the morning. The road we drove I used a few times and it newer had speed bumps. So those clowns made huge speed bumps which were totally same color as road. Guess what: no markings too! I was doing 50km/h and jumped I that speed bump on full blast, because I just could not see!!! It was scary and car defenetly did not liked that.
    If there' is a chance to go around, then I always will.
    On the other hand speed bumps are still not as bad as I have seen a few in Dublin. Those were like little high hills on the road! Lad with normal car had problem going over and I could not even dream to go over with my cars! I would have to stop turn around and find other road!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

I remember taking girl to work at 4:40 in the morning. The road we drove I used a few times and it newer had speed bumps. So those clowns made huge speed bumps which were totally same color as road. Guess what: no markings too! I was doing 50km/h and jumped I that speed bump on full blast, because I just could not see!!! It was scary and car defenetly did not liked that.
    If there' is a chance to go around, then I always will.
    On the other hand speed bumps are still not as bad as I have seen a few in Dublin. Those were like little high hills on the road! Lad with normal car had problem going over and I could not even dream to go over with my cars! I would have to stop turn around and find other road!

I did this in Curacao in some Tiny daewoo thing.

Felt a bit like the Dukes of hazzard .. f*ck sake .. black tarmac and black tarmac speed bumps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I did this in Curacao in some Tiny daewoo thing.

Felt a bit like the Dukes of hazzard .. f*ck sake .. black tarmac and black tarmac speed bumps.

Some monkeys they are m8! In fact I refused to take that girl to work anymore as the road I had to use had 8 horrible speeds bumps on top of pure **** road. She was not paying me anything too, not even for petrol to take her to work. So I just told her to deck off and find someone else as I don't like to put my little Mazda to more unneeded stress! Iight sound like a sick, but I don't give a **** about ignorant people and speed bumps!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Biggest ramps in my area would be through the Coolock village near Chanel College.

Sweet jesus, its like driving up and then down a set of stairs.