Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you think will happen after October 24th ?

• 22-01-2012 8:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭

I predict a few thousand older folk with blank screens and lots of calls to Joe Duffy from people saying its a disgrace Joe i didn't know this analogue switch off would effect me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Schorpio

It all depends on what happens from here on in imo. At the moment I don't think the Oct 24 date is pushed enough in the ads. To me, the ads seem to advertise Saorview as something you should want to get - not as something you potentially need to get. They'll need to up their game and put a ticker message along the bottom of the analogue broadcast or something similar to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭aerial man

Ah jaysus..... Only kidding!

A lot of people have been switching over to digital, slowly but surely. Some buying one maybe two tv for the main room for example but are going to keep their old tvs for bedrooms until they really have to switch.

It can run into a lot of money if people changed every tv in their house, holiday home etc.

The ad's on tv, such as the Gay Byrne ad, are misinforming people saying they need to get rid of their old aerials completely, that a magic box will receive all your Saorview stations without aerials. It is leading to a lot of confusion, especially the elderly. I hope they improve the clarity of their ad's.

A proper interview on the late late show, early summer perhaps would catch a majority of the 'misinformed' audience.

Refering to Joe, he has recently had a proper explaination of how Saorview works and who and how the switchover will affect people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

I'm fairly tech savvy but I have to admit I have no idea what's going on with the TV switchover and whether it will affect me.

I'll worry about it when it happens...

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 3,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭St Senan

The easiest way to let the Elderly people of Ireland know what will happen and what they need to do or get would be to have a piece on RTE six1 news every week like a countdown timer explaining it all to them and have the likes of Saorview Brian on it, Not some person who hasn't a clue. Also as some1 mentioned a ticker-tape should be put up around 6pm and 9pm every night mentioning the ASO on Oct24th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

I do like Tommy and PJ though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,417 ✭✭✭✭watty

For a kids show
    They are a distraction to the simple message.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭timesnap

The October 24th switch off date will become a movable feast imo.

the ASO will not happen until not a single home in the country is incapable of getting it,barring those who would need Saorsat.

some fudge will be found..

AFAIK people who already have a TV license will not get any free system.

which will be the most expensive for this Govt,delaying the digital dividend or subsidising those who will be left with a useless TV.

honestly i believe our Government will be so unpopular by next October they will not dare go through with a switch off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

timesnap wrote: »
    I suspect you are correct but that the fudge will only apply to the greater Maghera and Mullaghanish service areas and then only a 2 year extension.

The Midlands was always UHF as were Limerick and Cork cities once they got transmitters so no fudge is required there.

The more northern and eastern parts need to Co Ordinate with the UK anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭MarkK

aerial man wrote: »
    The ad's on tv, such as the Gay Byrne ad, are misinforming people saying they need to get rid of their old aerials completely, that a magic box will receive all your Saorview stations without aerials.

The Gay Byrne ad does not say anything about getting rid of your aerial and does not even mention buying a box or new TV, it says:
    "So if you are watching this on a TV with an aerial, you will have to take action to avoid your screen going blank."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,852 ✭✭✭✭The Cush

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    I suspect you are correct but that the fudge will only apply to the greater Maghera and Mullaghanish service areas and then only a 2 year extension.

If there is a fudge it might be restricted to the RTÉ channels on VHF. Can't see TV3 paying for analogue transmission beyond ASO, TG4 maybe? Also Maghera's analogue UHF channels are in the 60s which is to be available for mobile services from 1st Feb 2013.

timesnap wrote: »
    The October 24th switch off date will become a movable feast imo.

the ASO will not happen until not a single home in the country is incapable of getting it,barring those who would need Saorsat.

AFAIK people who already have a TV license will not get any free system.

which will be the most expensive for this Govt,delaying the digital dividend or subsidising those who will be left with a useless TV.

honestly i believe our Government will be so unpopular by next October they will not dare go through with a switch off.

This is all speculative nonsense.

There is International coordination. The only possible system to keep running is maybe Cork & Clare Band III and they won't.

A box already is 1/2 the annual cost of the TV licence and by October likely 1/3rd the cost of a TV licence. That's not counting special offers.

It's easier to install than a VHS and about as hard to add as a DVD player.

Why? Plenty of countries and UK regions have had ASO. Only in the USA was there a delay because of a mix up about the voucher scheme and also typical US politics.

Already DTT coverage is FAR better than Analogue for RTE1 & RTE2 and about 8% better for TG4 and about 20% better for TV3.

No broadcaster would pay the Analogue transmission charges past ASO anyway.

Like Decimalisation, Litres instead of Gallons for Petrol, Kms instead of Miles, breaking Punt from Sterling, The Euro instead of Punt etc this is happening.

If it wasn't for the stupidity of trying to find a Pay TV operator it might have happened already last May 2011.

There is no reason at all to believe it's not happening on 24th October 2012. It will not be end of world. Maybe a few people (Carlingford Village) need to get Saorsat first as though the coverage is better, a very few areas that do get analogue don't get Digital. More areas with no or poor reception on Analogue already get Digital.

The Government and Saorsat campaigns need to improve though. I think they are poorly conceived.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭blackius

watty wrote: »
    The Government and Saorsat campaigns need to improve though. I think they are poorly conceived.
    Very true.

Conversation at lunchtime in an arklow office the other day and I kid you not...
    Whats this saorview yoke.
    We're going to lose RTE unless we get a box.

Rinse and repeat.

Half the people in that office have chorus.The person quoted has sky and a new mpeg4 telly in the bedroom.

Oh and these people are 30 somethings not pensioners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Are their any stats on how many use the Analogue transmission these days.

Can't be many.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭mcwhirter

BostonB wrote: »

Can't be many.

I'd say quite a lot considering majority of the tv's sold over the past few years were mpeg2 uk spec only so they can't receive without a saorview box.

A lot of people I know are very unclear whether they can receive via the regular sky dish or need a new aerial etc etc. It is very clear to people in the know but for the rest it isn't that simple.

I reckon most people will have a UPC/SKY box, or using the internet. In which case having a mpeg2 isn't an issue.

Can't be many.

The latest Comreg figures indicate approx 200,000 homes use an aerial only to receive analogue/DTT only. If would be difficult to break it down further as many will have mixed equipment and won't replace it until they have to.

Another survey from over a year ago indicates over 500,000 homes rely on an aerial for some of their tv reception in addition to cable/sat.

Thats more than I was expecting tbh.

The Cush wrote: »
    If there is a fudge it might be restricted to the RTÉ channels on VHF. Can't see TV3 paying for analogue transmission beyond ASO, TG4 maybe? Also Maghera's analogue UHF channels are in the 60s which is to be available for mobile services from 1st Feb 2013.

Correct, the fudge ( if any) will be for those households too stuck in their ways to get TG4 and TV3 sorted in the 1990s and who still bitterly resent the cost of having to upgrade from Band 1 to Band 3 in the 1980s.

And they mainly vote FG of course ...it was Ray Burke and them fecking FFers made them pay for that aerial in 1989. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

There will also be confusion in the northern part of the country as the NI transmitters will not be transmitting digital at full power until the end, whereas with Saorview you can setup the kit anytime now.

ardmacha wrote: »
    There will also be confusion in the northern part of the country as the NI transmitters will not be transmitting digital at full power until the end, whereas with Saorview you can setup the kit anytime now.

This is the reason we can ASO in a single stage with all transmitters switched on and almost all at full power and an 18 transition period whereas up North the relays sites don't get switched on until 14 days before ASO, a two week transition for households that will only receive DTT for the first time.

Our two Northern Border Transmitters increase power then too.
    Mt Leinster should be better too on the new mast and lower group (moving to Group A, where Analogue is today).

I reckon most people will have a UPC/SKY box, or using the internet. In which case having a mpeg2 isn't an issue.

18 percent don't have Pay TV. Of the 82% an unknown number use an aerial too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭timesnap

watty wrote: »
    This is all speculative nonsense.

No need for that watty,the OP asked for speculation i speculated!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Saorview: Brian

I don't normally post outside of the "Queries for SAORVIEW" sticky thread, but I would like to comment on this discussion. I can say with 100% certainty that all analogue terrestrial television in the Republic of Ireland, VHF and UHF, will switch off on October 24th this year. There is no consideration being given in RTÉ or RTÉ NL, to any extension on that date, for any reason.

Regards,

SAORVIEW Brian.

I don't normally post outside of the "Queries for SAORVIEW" sticky thread, but I would like to comment on this discussion. I can say with 100% certainty that all analogue terrestrial television in the Republic of Ireland, VHF and UHF, will switch off on October 24th this year. There is no consideration being given in RTÉ or RTÉ NL, to any extension on that date, for any reason.

Regards,

SAORVIEW Brian.

Thanks for the input Brian.

This is a comment from Comreg in a recent information notice
    Potential for delayed commencement of Liberalised Use
    Licences in Time Slice 1 for Lots in the 800 MHz, 900
    MHz and/or 1800 MHz bands

2.22 It should noted that circumstances outside ComReg’s control could
    lead to ComReg being unable to make any or all Lots in the 800
    MHz, 900 MHz and/or 1800 MHz Bands available for Liberalised Use
    by a Winning Bidder by the commencement of Time Slice 1 and/or
    Time Slice 2 identified above.

Such potential circumstances include unforeseen delays to ASO resulting in delayed
    access to Lots in the 800 MHz band in Time Slice 1 and/or Transitional Activities by
    Existing GSM Licensees in the 900 MHz and/or 1800 MHz band resulting in delayed
    access to Lot/s in Time Slice 1 and/or 2 in these bands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Saorview: Brian

Needless to say I can't speak for COMREG, but I can say with absolute confidence that in RTÉ and RTÉ NL there is no plan to extend analogue transmissions beyond October 24th. At Mt. Leinster, Clermont Cairn and Holywell Hill the analogue channels will be used for SAORVIEW from October 24th onwards (at Holywell Hill this concerns Mux 2 only). There are numerous other reasons why analogue will not switch off in a phased basis. All analogue services will switch off at the same time on October 24th.

Regards,

SAORVIEW Brian.

I can say with absolute confidence that in RTÉ and RTÉ NL there is no plan to extend analogue transmissions beyond October 24th.

I firmly that to be true but you would be surprised at what a politically battered bunch of FG backbenchers could cook up for you yet through DCENR and Comreg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Machinehead

mcwhirter wrote: »

Can't be many.

I'd say quite a lot considering majority of the tv's sold over the past few years were mpeg2 uk spec only so they can't receive without a saorview box.

A lot of people I know are very unclear whether they can receive via the regular sky dish or need a new aerial etc etc. It is very clear to people in the know but for the rest it isn't that simple.
    I would think the TV retailers are in for a massive bonanza. Consider all the buildings such hospitals/nursing homes & pubs etc outside the cabled areas that don't have sky. The number of these locations that would require STB's or Saorview TVs for each existing connection must number in the thousands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭excollier

I very much hope that october 25th will happen after the 24th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭mcwhirter

Regards,

SAORVIEW Brian.

Thanks, but is this stated on the saorview website? I can only find the information stating analogue will be switched off at the end of 2012.

excollier wrote: »
    I very much hope that october 25th will happen after the 24th.
    OMG 25th October 2012

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭Ronnie Raygun

Consider all the buildings such hospitals/nursing homes & pubs etc outside the cabled areas that don't have sky. The number of these locations that would require STB's or Saorview TVs for each existing connection ...

A big place could just use a box & modulator for each channel & distribute to the analogue sets or a proper (S)MATV system with dedicated headend unit to produce analogue output from input digital signals.

Just typical Comreg covering themselves. I'd not read anything into ANY Comreg caveat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭Kenny Powers

I imagne after the 24th a message could be left broadcast on a loop on RTE1 or on all analogue channels for a couple of weeks letting everyone know what they need to do and in the run up to the 24th a scrolling message at the bottom of the screen warning viewers of the switch off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭aerial man

MarkK wrote: »
    The Gay Byrne ad does not say anything about getting rid of your aerial and does not even mention buying a box or new TV, it says:
    "So if you are watching this on a TV with an aerial, you will have to take action to avoid your screen going blank."

It is a very unclear message, for example, I ive a MPEG4 tv, recieving digital rte, which takes its signal from my aerial on the roof, what action do i need to take? There are some people who think they will have to start paying subscription satellite to receive their rte, and have got rid of their aerial, even though it perfectly set up for Saorview. The ad has a confusing message for some people.

As I said before, I hope the clarity of these advertisements improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭tlaavtech

I imagne after the 24th a message could be left broadcast on a loop on RTE1 or on all analogue channels for a couple of weeks letting everyone know what they need to do and in the run up to the 24th a scrolling message at the bottom of the screen warning viewers of the switch off.

Almost certain that you will get the scrolling message before the 24th, and old fashioned white noise after.

Since some of the Analogue frequencies will be re-used for digital, there won't be "all the analogue channels" at that stage.

aerial man wrote: »
    There are some people who think they will have to start paying subscription satellite to receive their rte, and have got rid of their aerial, even though it perfectly set up for Saorview.

Many people ONLY got Sky to work around a crap aerial install ( possibly more than once given the failure rates on the old Band 1 H aerials outdoors) or a bad signal in their area.

So the idea that one needs to get Sky to get a proper picture is ingrained in certain areas of the country where Digital TV can easily and cheaply be made work over an aerial.

The message in those areas, surely, is that they do not need to pay anyone for a decent RTE picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

On the 24th of October, matter and antimatter collisions will lead to the annihilation of the known universe, and RTE will open its new HD studio in Donnybrook. We will get the news in HD. :eek:

Not if the Borg get here first:-)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 12,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

Okay, spare the joke comments, or this thread will be closed.

My own view is that ASO will not be without problems, and that at the very least, the following day's Liveline will be particularly lively. At the other extreme, there might be a big backlash, and the Government might be forced into an extension of analogue transmission in certain areas.

But hey, I would welcome a pleasant surprise on that one.

That's simply not technically possible. Either it's delayed on the Entire Island on Every site or on none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Last

Just to let you know of a Community Outreach Digital Switchover programme to target the people least likely to switch over. This is due to kick off in March. If its done properly and local community groups buy in to the concept it should have a good result.
    I believe that no matter what information is distributed there will be some people who will do nothing until actual switch off. I believe some of these people may not even notice for a couple of days as TV is not that important to them.

Last wrote: »
    Just to let you know of a Community Outreach Digital Switchover programme to target the people least likely to switch over. This is due to kick off in March.

Discussed here when the announcement was made in early Jan, due to roll out in April.

http://www.goingdigital.ie/Sections/Outreach/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭elsie1b

Last wrote: »
    Just to let you know of a Community Outreach Digital Switchover programme to target the people least likely to switch over. This is due to kick off in March. If its done properly and local community groups buy in to the concept it should have a good result.
    I believe that no matter what information is distributed there will be some people who will do nothing until actual switch off. I believe some of these people may not even notice for a couple of days as TV is not that important to them.
    There are some people in the southeast who might just as well wait until october 24th,when Mount Leinster changes frequency.
    Some are not able to pick up channel 45 at the moment but this will change with the retune.
    Imagine putting in saorview for an elderly person only to have to tell them to wait till october for it to work properly !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭MarkK

elsie1b wrote: »
    Imagine putting in saorview for an elderly person only to have to tell them to wait till october for it to work properly !

Well that's how it works for many in the UK who are too far from a main transmitter or using a relay transmitter.

No digital at all until two weeks before switchover, when they get just the BBC Mux instead of analogue BBC 2.
    Then they have two weeks when BBC 2 is only available on digital, while ITV and Channel 4 are only available on analogue.
    On switchover day they will need to retune their digital boxes again and you can't tell for sure what problems they may have until switchover day.

None of my UK relatives have Digital via an aerial till the ASO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭elsie1b

MarkK wrote: »
    Well that's how it works for many in the UK who are too far from a main transmitter or using a relay transmitter.

No digital at all until two weeks before switchover, when they get just the BBC Mux instead of analogue BBC 2.
    Then they have two weeks when BBC 2 is only available on digital, while ITV and Channel 4 are only available on analogue.
    On switchover day they will need to retune their digital boxes again and you can't tell for sure what problems they may have until switchover day.
    Yes,but won't it work from day one for this persons cousin in Cork ?
    I have an aerial in the loft tuned to Forth Mountain until aso when it will be removed.
    I was also watching freeview from Preselli for a number of years before the Welsh aso.

You'll be able to watch Digital Preseli after Irish ASO. Mt Leinster Digital moves to the Analogue group A

While there has been some activity on a few tx's recently for mux 2, we haven't seen a thing from Mulla or Maghera for ages. Also I'm not so sure if anything has come on the 2nd mux from the relays at Cnoc an Oir or Knockmoyle in Kerry. A lot of tidying up to be done here in the southwest.
    Don't know if this has been posted yet. Broadband TV News:

"Saorsat, the free-to-air satellite companion to Ireland’s DTT service Saorview, is slated to launch this February or March.

Documents released by RTÉNL, the network’s division of the public broadcaster, said tests have been underway since December 2011. Saorsat will be carried on Eutelsat’s Ka-Sat at 9 degrees East.

It is anticipated that suitable receivers will be available within the next few weeks.

Around 1% and 2% of the Irish population will be unable to receive the terrestrial transmissions from Saorview. It also seems likely the transmissions will also be made available in Northern Ireland, while a joint UK and Irish Government project is currently examining the possibility of allowing the existing RTÉ and TG4 television services to be carried on part of the UK’s Freeview platform".

Link: http://www.broadbandtvnews.com/2012/01/26/saorsat-to-launch-in-february/

yes, posted a couple of days ago.
    First suggested by me in I think July 2010 when RTE was before the Communications Committee.

We don't have a start date for the service yet. No need to rush out and get a Ka-band LNBF till at least March - June.