Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Anarchists Cookbook

• 22-01-2012 3:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭

Anyone ever had a read of it or ever attempted anything in it?
    I Heard a lot in it is outdated and downright dodgy!

Btw mods, just a question, not planning anything dangerous/stupid/fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Had a read of it. Mostly outdated payphone hacking, some small explosives / smoke bombs, nothing great.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Outdated, I've read it and it's probably older than you are since most of the stuff was taken from the old BBS systems back in the early days of the internet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

the best thing in it is the matched+tennis ball bomb since it's easy and effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭bc dub

Ah lads, would'ja not just stick to the mentos rockets...

Sure ye can't be doin that now

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Read it years ago.
    Never bothered to try anything in it.

Odd that it was once given away for free on the front of a magazine in England and Ireland at one stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

nimrod86 wrote: »
    Anyone ever had a read of it or ever attempted anything in it?
    I Heard a lot in it is outdated and downright dodgey!

Btw mods, just a question, not planning anything dangerous/stupid/fun!

I've read it. Really boring to read.

You'd think something showing you how to make bombs wouldnt be - but it is.

The instructions seem as if they were all jotted down on an envelope while the dude was pissed. Also they're highly unstable recipes. The method he suggests for creating nitroglycerin is not safe. There are easier ways.

The part on drugs manufacturing/cultivation is outdated as hell too.

As is the public vandalism, shoplifting etc...

It's freely available as a PDF, mobi, kindle format etc..

Just don't get your hopes up. It's ****.

You'd be much better off reading Guerilla Warfare by Guevera, The Art of War by Sun Tzu and other such classics. The swiss also have a few guides which may be of use if you're interested in that kind of thing.

TL;DR - it's an over-hyped piece of crap that'll get your arrested/killed/bored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

That's not anarchism that's just violent intent.

Anarchism is a noble proposition.
    Anarchy

a theory that regards the absence of all direct or coercive government as a political ideal and that proposes the cooperative and voluntary association of individuals and groups as the principal mode of organized society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

If I ever get to go on "Come dine with me" then all my recipes will be taken from this book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Pacifist Pigeon

NOT ALL ANARCHISTS ARE VIOLENT REVOLUTIONARIES!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

Me and some of my mates tried the one about scraping the inside of banana skins and drying the stuff out to smoke. You need a LOT of bananas though, we stopped :pac:

BTW, if one downloaded a copy of the book online and if the authorities find out one had an electronic copy of the book on one's computer, could one face charges under any anti-terrorism legislation?

Just looking at wikipedia:
    In 2007, a seventeen year old British youth was arrested in Britain and faced charges under Terrorism Law in the UK for possession of this book, among other things.[9] He was cleared of all charges in October 2008, after alleging that he was a prankster that just wanted to research fireworks and smoke bombs. He claimed that he would not have been prosecuted in this way if he had not been of Muslim background.[10]
    More recently, in 2010, Ian Davison and his son were imprisoned under anti-terrorism laws for the manufacturing of ricin, and their possession of the Anarchist Cookbook, along with its availability, was noted by the authorities.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Anarchist_Cookbook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

El Pr0n wrote: »
    Me and some of my mates tried the one about scraping the inside of banana skins and drying the stuff out to smoke. You need a LOT of bananas though, we stopped :pac:

I've heard that rumour was started by one of the huge American companies that produce and market bananas. Sales soared for a while. There's one born every minute.:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Do atheists eat differently to believers!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

As Pacifist Pigeon states, don't download it, Ireland also has some pretty harsh anti-terrorism laws dating from the 40's etc its just you tend to hear about them less because they're just applied to dissidents etc not random Asian students.

In terms of the book I've not read it but I know a few chemists who have and apparently its both pretty useless and unsafe for the user. I could be wrong because its been years since had this conversation but apparently the fulminate methodology is particularly dangerous for the user.

All this talk about "The Anarchist Cookbook" brings me back to the late 90s and early 2000s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

nimrod86 wrote: »
    I Heard a lot in it is outdated and downright dodgy!

Was there only one edition ever published :confused:

I thought the title had been ripped off multiple times and applied to several completly different (albeit similarly themed) publications ?

After all the original authors are fairly unlikely to sue for trademark/copyright infringment :pac:

MCMLXXV wrote: »

Yes, usually have side-order of freshly aborted fetuses. YUM!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭IdidIt

pmcmahon wrote: »
    the best thing in it is the matched+tennis ball bomb since it's easy and effective.

Me and my buddy tried this when we were about 12, you need to cut the head off at least 1000 matches. It gets pretty boring when you have the attention span of a kid. needless to say we never finished it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Remember lads, reading it on a airplane is like reading Mein Kampf in a synagogue.

ColeTrain wrote: »
    Remember lads, reading it on a airplane is like reading Mein Kampf in a synagogue.

It really annoys me how one could be arrested for mere literature. It's just assortment of odd looking symbols.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

As Pacifist Pigeon states, don't download it, Ireland also has some pretty harsh anti-terrorism laws dating from the 40's etc its just you tend to hear about them less because they're just applied to dissidents etc not random Asian students.

Myself and the buddy got a copy on floppy disk when it was doing the rounds in school back in the day. We were printing it out in his house when his father, a Garda, starting looking at what we were printing. He told us (possibly for our own safety) that having it could have repercussions under the offences against the state act

Eitherway, we never tried any of it. Just seemed too complicated and long. It's novelty wore off in school after a few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Has anybody ever been arrested for shoplifting a copy of the anarchists cookbook ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

It really annoys me how one could be arrested for mere literature. It's just collection of odd looking symbols.

Not if you bought the Anarchist Cookbooks sticker magazine from Merlin. They gave you parts to collect every month for making your very own semtex. may not be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Yes, they swallow a lot less shit.:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Is this not about anarchists?

On topic: Are there any actual recipes in it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Myself and a mate got a copy when the whole Columbine thing had the news mentioning the cookbook all the time.

We made the home made napalm. It was suprisingly easy. Oh the mischievousness of youth!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Pherekydes wrote: »
    ...Are there any actual recipes in it?

Only for disaster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

The guy who wrote it is bat**** insane, or else trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Did the homemade napalm on a cousins farm when we were kids. Great fun and remarkably we didn't end up missing limbs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

That used to be all the rage 10 years ago.

I should have a copy of it lying around in my old PCs hard drive...

I remember it had very elaborate plans on how to construct a firearm out of a pen with a 5mm bullet. Never bothered trying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,581 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Proper terrorists buy from the BAE systems spring catalogue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Biggins wrote: »
    Odd that it was once given away for free on the front of a magazine in England and Ireland at one stage.
    If it's the one I'm thinking of, most of the "fun" stuff was taken out.

Meh. "Bad Ideas" on totse was so much better.

Every single ingredient was in Walmarts, though :pac:

Is the Anarchist Cookbook similar to the Jolly Roger Cookbook?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Haven't read that book in years. Majority is out-dated phone system hacking with the odd tales about how they used to function and prick around with them. The rest was highly dangerous bomb-making with poor instructions.

Always wanted to try the thermite on a car bonnet though :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭some_dose

I remember that there was one part in it which showed you how to make a nuclear bomb.

Step 1 was to "acquire nuclear material from terrorists".

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

BTW, if one downloaded a copy of the book online and if the authorities find out one had an electronic copy of the book on one's computer, could one face charges under any anti-terrorism legislation?

Just looking at wikipedia:
    No but you would get done for copyright infringement.

Here that's jail + €127,000 fine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

pmcmahon wrote: »

I think that's the only good thing in it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

some_dose wrote: »
    I remember that there was one part in it which showed you how to make a nuclear bomb.

Step 1 was to "acquire nuclear material from terrorists".
    I saw that movie

Step 2 was to "acquire a Delorean"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

Bought it about 15 years ago in Tower in Dublin. More as a coffee table book/talking point than any thing else. The drug and explosive "recipes" are well known for being very inacurate. And the book is very different from the files that could be downloaded over the years.