Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

We are all lucky to have jobs.....

• 22-01-2012 1:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭

.........but Employment in Ireland has became a torrid affair for those in the middle and the bottom. I'm glad i'm not unemployed but some employers are taking the total pss. Workloads that require working through brakes, after a shift and still no thanks. If anything they expect more done and higher standards. Oh and not replaceing staff when they leave. Sick of it now. I'm working for no sole trader either.
    Taxs are cutting me down to the pay packet and it aint going to get better is it. My car tax is gone up, they want to charge me for using my computer and the 2 cent rise in my petrol costs turned out to be ten cent. who ya reckon is going to pay this household charge, me the tenant... it will stream to eventually.

I'll leave a job behind me if i leave this country but the reason i do it aint going to be cause I want to leave my home soil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

But Steve Jobs died.

Also "working through brakes"? Yee may need an NCT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

bad day at the office?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

I have to say, the previous 2 replies are trying to come across as witty. But really they come across as ****e. Typical after hours posters.

emo72 wrote: »
    I have to say, the previous 2 replies are trying to come across as witty. But really they come across as ****e. Typical after hours posters.

Aw diddums. Why don't you go listen to my chemical romance or something? :pac:

chin_grin wrote: »

Aw diddums. Why don't you go listen to my chemical romance or something? :pac:

Not interested. You talk ****e. Not even clever. Diddums. Really?

Awwwwww somebody needs a hug. C'mere. Cheer up. It might never happen. I mean they're a good band and their music means so much to the young people today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Well take the lead Rambo. Do something other than whine and cry. You think posts aren't up to scratch? Make a good one. Contribute something.

Awwwwww somebody needs a hug. C'mere. Cheer up. It might never happen. I mean they're a good band and their music means so much to the young people today.

I'll take the hug. Buy you a pint. Maybe even friends. Just hate people trying to be clever.

Not trying to be anything. You're the one taking some personal vendetta against my posts.

Mines a double. Jameson. Cheers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Does it make you feel inadequate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

When you leave Ireland you'll quickly realise that it's like that everywhere, and for a huge number of people it was like that before any recession hit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭RickRoll

Dey took er jerbs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I wonder who didn't get any tonight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Typical After Hours posts in After Hours? :eek:

Not trying to be anything. You're the one taking some personal vendetta against my posts.

Mines a double. Jameson. Cheers.

How can it be personal? No vendetta. The opening poster posted his thoughts. All valid. You made fun of him. I defended him. Absolutely nothing personal. You could be the greatest person alive. However this after hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

I'm alright Jack! I'm going for a new job at the airport... breastfeeding mediator. :D

On the rag I'd say

However this after hours.

Yes. Yes it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

The only reason people emigrate is because they wish to/want to expand their horizons.
    It's ridiculous to think that anyone would have reason to, otherwise.
    Didn't Michael Noonan make that clear, recently?
    Don't you people listen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

Count yourself lucky you have a job

However this after hours.

Yes. Yes it is.

It is truly. Have the craic so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 527 ✭✭✭shuvly

OP...public sector? we (me as public sector member) are also the scapegoats of the last and current regime...am not meaning to derail the thread into another public v private sector...it's been done to death here many times before...so lets all be happy and propragate..(unless its been a while...)

(read another thread...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

shuvly wrote: »
    OP...public sector? we (me as public sector member) are also the scapegoats of the last and current regime...am not meaning to derail the thread into another public v private sector...it's been done to death here many times before...so lets all be happy and propragate..(unless its been a while...)

(read another thread...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭fat__tony

Ireland has unfortunately become an abysmal place for most people who are working for the reasons you have outlined.

It seems almost every single employer enforces the 'You're lucky to have a job' bull****, working staff into the ground, pay freezes or cuts etc.

Problem mo fu ker?
    Only with reading your fucked up post.

fat__tony wrote: »
    Ireland has unfortunately become an abysmal place for most people who are working for the reasons you have outlined.

It seems almost every single employer enforces the 'You're lucky to have a job' bull****, working staff into the ground, pay freezes or cuts etc.

But sure, aren't you lucky to have a job?

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    Only with reading your fucked up post.

Ah, bless.....

Bless what?

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    Bless what?
    Your cotton socks? :pac:

But sure, aren't you lucky to have a job?

Yep, but doesnt mean I have to keep being reminded of it. I have a great job, which I enjoy most days. I do not enjoy it every day...I would actually be interested to know how many people would like my job..I am in a caring profession that looks after severely neurologically impaired children, many of who are dying.....so swapsies anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭overshoot

op i definately know where your coming from. its a simple case of doing your job to the best of your ability and then just acknowledge that standards will fall. you can do so much and if they require more than its the customer who will suffer. if management dont care, whats the point in you giving a flying fuck?
    by all means dont be rude to the customers, even joke with them about it but its the management who sets the desired standard, the customer decides if its acceptable.... your just the middle man (and not paid to think:pac:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭skafish

Yep, but doesnt mean I have to keep being reminded of it. I have a great job, which I enjoy most days. I do not enjoy it every day...I would actually be interested to know how many people would like my job..I am in a caring profession that looks after severely neurologically impaired children, many of who are dying.....so swapsies anyone?

That sounds like a tough gig. More power to you. IMHO anyboby in the front line of the caring professions such as nurses etc cant be praised highly enough

skafish wrote: »
    That sounds like a tough gig. More power to you. IMHO anyboby in the front line of the caring professions such as nurses etc cant be praised highly enough

Thank you darling, may you be F or M! Am quite angry with the phrase "you are lucky to have a job" as this annoys me greatly....many of my family are now without jobs, one of whom was educated to masters level....and is currently almost without a job....and I am only a nurse...with only qualifications in general nursing, paediatric nursing and palliative care..end of.

i think at this stage many people are over qualified for the level of jobs that are out there. its either felt they will get bored with working a lesser skill job or the opposite side of it is that they have so much academic time that they have no pratical experience.

i know many friends who have suffered this dilema

Heya Jim, how goes it? are you in or out of work?

hi shuvly

im self employed but i could answer your question by saying im in and out of work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Red21

voz es wrote: »

I'll leave a job behind me if i leave this country but the reason i do it aint going to be cause I want to leave my home soil.

This recession tingy is great crack it's getting rid of all the spoiled brats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

I have a great job after 3 years of redundancy .

I AM VERY VERY lucky. And will do anything to keep my family in my home and full of that stuff..... food. I love my job. really.

So YES. Employers we . The people are here. Waiting for a chance to shine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Sanity_Saviour

How can it be personal? No vendetta. The opening poster posted his thoughts. All valid. You made fun of him. I defended him. Absolutely nothing personal. You could be the greatest person alive. However this after hours.

Can I be the greatest person alive too?

love my job most days...but hate it others

thats only natural shuvly
    everyone feels like that about their work at somestage or other

hi shuvly

im self employed but i could answer your question by saying im in and out of work

Are ye happy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

voz es wrote: »
    Workloads that require working through brakes, after a shift and still no thanks.
    i wouldnt mind working long hours if i got the shift on my break...

Are ye happy?

yea i am, but if you asked me that before christmas there was days i wasnt.

are you working right now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Red21 wrote: »
    This recession tingy is great crack it's getting rid of all the spoiled brats.
    dont know man, it could be said that its a lifestyle choice for some to stay at home on the dole

I am distracting myself from feckin college work..thought I would be done with this at my age..got thatt wrong..ye are distracting me...,think I will have to apply for an extension...

yea i am, but if you asked me that before christmas there was days i wasnt.

are you working right now?

Am trying to write an assignment but I think there mihgt need editing tomorrow!

college work this late?

its R & R time is it not?

Am trying to write an assignment but I think there mihgt need editing tomorrow!

I'd give it a proof read. Just to be sure. :pac: