Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

T&F IAAF ranking Challenge 2012- Best 5 events count

• 21-01-2012 09:31PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭

Rank your performance using 2011 IAAF tables. Highest total for 5 events at the end of the year wins. Simple:)

Name|100m|200m|400m|800m|1500m|3000m|5000m|10000m|100mH|110mH|400mH|3000SC|HJ|LJ|TJ|PV|Jav|Disc|Hammer|SP|Best 5 Total
    AN Other

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

+ Shot Putt. Do practice throws when nobody's watching count? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

RoyMcC wrote: »
    + Shot Putt. Do practice throws when nobody's watching count? :)

I knew I was missing one:o

Practice throws count Roy, as does anything dreamt, pondered, or timed by counting onemississippitwomississippi... as you sprint around the track. Sure I've a 15m+ triple to my name already (down the steep slopes of Tonelagee;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭ocnoc

So, lets say I run a 10,000m. Can I take my splits for 100, 200, 400, 800, 1500, 3000, 5000 and 10000?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

I thought tables were outlawed for that kind of thing in 2012? Where's the Google Doc? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,504 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Rank your performance using 2011 IAAF tables. Highest total for 5 events at the end of the year wins. Simple:)

Name|100m|200m|400m|800m|1500m|3000m|5000m|10000m|100mH|110mH|400mH|3000SC|HJ|LJ|TJ|PV|Jav|Disc|Hammer|SP|Best 5 Total
    AN Other
    For a man with an allergy to tables, you sure do create a lot of them. :)

Smarty Pants :D.

I've nothing against tables per se, I just far prefer reading some info about why you're including yourself/moving up or down/next goals etc. Nothing wrong with people ranking themselves every day, but the Google Docs list are far more useful for that. The tables where posters update a number every day, so the threads are refreshed on the main page several times a day, are useless, that's what breaks out my allergy.

If a ranking table like this T&F one became like that, I'd call for its removal too. If however, it starts a bit of discussion, no matter how small, on other T&F events, then it will have served its purpose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

If a ranking table like this T&F one became like that

I think you're safe :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Excellent idea. I hope this will get people giving other events a lash. The 5 events which will score for me will be the 100, 200, 400, LJ and TJ. Those 5 events are significantly ahead of the rest for me. Better get the times down before the end of the season in March to set some early markers for others to beat. :)

With regards to hand timing I think it would be good to follow the IAAF tables method of adding 0.24 seconds to a 100m, 200m, and sprint hurdles time, and 0.14 seconds to a 400m or 400m Hurdles time. So if somebody runs 12.8 hand timed then that would equate to 13.04 and that would be the time used to calculate points. If somebody runs 56.7 hand timed for 400m, then 56.84 would be the time used, and so on.

Also due to being in the southern hemisphere my track season stretches across two calender years (October to March). Just wondering, can I use my performances from late 2011 for this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

04072511 wrote: »
    With regards to hand timing I think it would be good to follow the IAAF tables method of adding 0.24 seconds to a 100m, 200m, and sprint hurdles time, and 0.14 seconds to a 400m or 400m Hurdles time. So if somebody runs 12.8 hand timed then that would equate to 13.04 and that would be the time used to calculate points. If somebody runs 56.7 hand timed for 400m, then 56.84 would be the time used, and so on.

Also due to being in the southern hemisphere my track season stretches across two calender years (October to March). Just wondering, can I use my performances from late 2011 for this?

Would not make more sense to take Oct to end of Dec this year coming and keep it all in 2012?

ecoli wrote: »
    Would not make more sense to take Oct to end of Dec this year coming and keep it all in 2012?

I suppose. Just would be a bit weird being the only one doing this long after the northern hemisphere track season has ended, and my performances would be based on two half seasons rather than one season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 920 ✭✭✭RandyMann

I agree to both of your points :)

But surely if the run is hand-timed properly then no adjustment is required? A trained timekeeper will never be far off the correct time, allowing for reaction time etc.

Agreed that Joe Bloggs will usually time 0.2 - 0.3sec fast.

But surely if the run is hand-timed properly then no adjustment is required? A trained timekeeper will never be far off the correct time, allowing for reaction time etc.

Agreed that Joe Bloggs will usually time 0.2 - 0.3sec fast.

No the 0.24 and 0.14 would be for a trained timekeeper. It would be a bit more for your mate timing ya with a stop watch while doing a solo time trial.

Hand timing can never be the same as electornic timing, no matter how good the guy with the watch in his hand is. The watch is pressed as soon as the gun goes off, but doesn't it take a fraction of a second for the sound to reach the person with the watch at the finish line? So the 100m guys hear the gun before the man with the watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

So the 100m guys hear the gun before the man with the watch.
    Unless the man with the watch is standing next to the gun

Most timekeepers set the gun off on the appearance of smoke from the gun unless I am mistaken:confused:

No the 0.24 and 0.14 would be for a trained timekeeper. It would be a bit more for your mate timing ya with a stop watch while doing a solo time trial.

Hand timing can never be the same as electornic timing, no matter how good the guy with the watch in his hand is. The watch is pressed as soon as the gun goes off, but doesn't it take a fraction of a second for the sound to reach the person with the watch at the finish line? So the 100m guys hear the gun before the man with the watch.

A trained timekeeper knows that his/her reaction time to the flash of the gun is between 0.2 - 0.3 secs - it varies from person to person. Therefore the timekeeper will adjust his/her stopping the watch at the finish to compensate. That's the essential difference between trained and untrained.

If you've got photofinish at your meets you'll probably have back up timekeepers as well. These guys measure their own accuracy against the electronic timing. The good ones expect to get within 0.05sec every time.

I've no idea why IAAF adjusts for hand-timing. It ought not to for a trained timekeeper. For Joe Bloggs and schoolteachers :) yes.

Edit - crikey, if you were to go by sound you'd be madly out, especially for races starting out on the back straight - e.g. 200m/1500m.

Most timekeepers set the gun off on the appearance of smoke from the gun unless I am mistaken:confused:

Second best, if you don't get a flash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 920 ✭✭✭RandyMann

Would it not be fair to only accept race times that are FAT or hand timed?
    I mean, before I ever did an official 100m or 200m I had an elevated opinion of what my ability was before I actually raced those disatances. My training/time trials were a whole lot faster than what I could really do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭longjump67

AN Other

Doubt i will do 5 events this year, been 20 years since i competed in T&F regularly mind you I did make a comeback a few years ago in the Masters champs 2006 i think won national Sliver medals in the High & Long jump.
    Will turn 45 this year and I "might" say "MIGHT" turn out again.;)

According to the IAAF, any record in athletics (world, Olympic, or national) or qualifying time for Olympic Games or World Championships set in a sprint event must be timed by a FAT system to be valid.

Hand times, those with humans operating the stopping and/or starting mechanisms are highly prone to error. By rule, they are only accurate to a tenth (.1) of a second, all 100ths of a second beyond zero must be rounded to the next highest tenth[2].

Many track and field statisticians use a conversion factor estimate of 0.24 seconds added to any hand-timed mark in the 100 m or 200 m event, and 0.14 seconds to any hand-timed mark in the 400 m or longer event. These conversion factors are only applicable for comparing marks from a variety of sources, but are not acceptable for Record purposes. In the case of comparing an adjusted manual time to FAT timing, an original FAT time being equivalent, the FAT time will be considered more accurate, and thus the athlete will be given the higher seed, or comparison ranking. This old method of converting times dates back to when FAT systems were much less common[3]. They are increasingly less acceptable even at low level meets and certainly not at the upper level of the sport.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fully_automatic_time

Fair enough. The track statisticians know full well that many hand-times are fast and they are correctly applying a caution factor. As my club's statistician I'll accept a manual timing from just one person in the club, and even then it's with a big asterisk and it doesn't override a record set with FAT.

Just to repeat though that the best timekeepers - those that appear at top meetings all year round - are fantastically accurate.

Anyway for Dpop's challenge I don't suppose we need get too anxious about it all.

Fair enough. The track statisticians know full well that many hand-times are fast and they are correctly applying a caution factor. As my club's statistician I'll accept a manual timing from just one person in the club, and even then it's with a big asterisk and it doesn't override a record set with FAT.

Just to repeat though that the best timekeepers - those that appear at top meetings all year round - are fantastically accurate.

Anyway for Dpop's challenge I don't suppose we need get too anxious about it all.

Yeh, I just think to keep things reasonably accurate and fair it would be good to follow the IAAF tables and add 0.24 to 100 and 200 times and 0.14 for 400m times.

04072511||26.92 (373)|59.44 (422)||||||||||||9.18 (334)||||||1129

Thought I'd get the ball rolling with this. To keep things simple I'll ignore my performances from before Christmas and just count anything from 2012. My 200 and 400 are PB's anyway and my Triple Jump is just 10cm (10 pts) off my PB.

Need to delete the quote tags...

RayCun wrote: »
    Need to delete the quote tags...

Everytime I try to do tables without the quote tags it never works for me.

You must be deleting some of the table tag too. Just delete the {QUOTE=04072511;76782695} and {/QUOTE} bits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭asimonov

04072511||26.92 (373)|59.44 (422)||||||||||||9.18 (334)||||||1129
    Asimonov||||||9:53 (505)|||||||||||||||505

3k time is an indoor result, so I used 2011 indoor tables - that right? If not, i'll correct no problem.

04072511|13.26 (326)|26.92 (373)|59.44 (422)||||||||||||9.18 (334)||||||1455
    Asimonov||||||9:53 (505)|||||||||||||||505

Updated for my 100m today. No improvement on my 400m sadly though. Thought I ran well and conditions were a lot better than 3 weeks ago but could only manage 59.96. A real head-scratcher.

Will get a long jump in soon, and an 800m. Long Jump should be my 5th scoring event baring a catastrophe.

asimonov wrote: »

3k time is an indoor result, so I used 2011 indoor tables - that right? If not, i'll correct no problem.

Thats bang on the money asimonov. If you could also give a little report on what got you there/how the race went/ whats next in line, it'll help make this thread something more than just a list of tables.

Great result btw!:)

Thats bang on the money asimonov. If you could also give a little report on what got you there/how the race went/ whats next in line, it'll help make this thread something more than just a list of tables.

I agree. That's a great time. A bit of chit-chat about it would be good for this thread.

Donothoponpop, what 5 events have you got your eye on for this challenge?

I agree. That's a great time. A bit of chit-chat about it would be good for this thread.

Donothoponpop, what 5 events have you got your eye on for this challenge?

800m, 5k, maybe steeple, Triple jump, and maybe 400m. Hate the 400m though, its the worst event for pain. Except for the 800m. And the Steeple...

The triple jump is dependent on my knee, which has been giving some jip. However, with a bit of luck, I'd be hopeful of beating my 26-year old PB, 9:80.
    I don't have the speed any more for the LJ, but have the strength for the triple, and strength can buy you back those cm that have been lost to speed. Great bloody event, the triple!

800m, 5k, maybe steeple, Triple jump, and maybe 400m. Hate the 400m though, its the worst event for pain. Except for the 800m. And the Steeple...

The triple jump is dependent on my knee, which has been giving some jip. However, with a bit of luck, I'd be hopeful of beating my 26-year old PB, 9:80.
    I don't have the speed any more for the LJ, but have the strength for the triple, and strength can buy you back those cm that have been lost to speed. Great bloody event, the triple!

Any targets in stone for those events?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭asimonov

Thanks - i ran it in the leinster indoor champs in Nenagh. This was my second year in m40 class - i won it last year in 10:06 (first indoor race, first 3,000m) and wanted to go back this year to go sub10 and see if i could win it again - running indoors is a real buzz, it seems easier to keep focus compared to outdoor track.

These races are very uncompetitive really to be honest as there is only a smattering of entrants in each age group. There were two other masters runners (both quicker than me) who were in m35 and they stepped up to the seniors race, so that left about 9 of us in the masters race. As it turned out, I led out from the start, and ended up running it as a time trial, 3:22, 3:16 and 3:15 - finished just short of 30" ahead of the next runners. I think it's the first race i had won in about 25 years - so happy days. But i was happier i set a goal and achieved and felt comfortable for most of it. Last year wasn't the easiest year for me and this felt like a marker that things are slowly coming back.

Afterwards, I did a 12 mile cool down after around Nenagh (damn marathon training) and was floating on air for it

I am gonna be stretched in terms of the other 4 events, but I am determined to do them. The 5,000 and 1,500 won't be a problem - I'll run them at the counties and leinster's- but I don't think we have a SC or 10,000 at county level. I'll have to find an open or guest somewhere. If the worst comes to the worst it will be some laughable attempt at sprinting or a jump - just to get some points.

A couple of events for me tomorrow: 800m and Long Jump. Unlikely the 800m will count for me as one of my 5 events, unless I can get down to 2:20 or so, but the Long Jump should be a solid scorer for me.
    I think you're safe :)

Just reading back over this thread and disappointed by this. Dono is doing a good job trying to give T&F more exposure on an athletics forum (I realise how hilarious it is that that even needs to be done in the first place) and here is one of our mod’s basically just writing the whole thing off insinuating that this competition will not take off. An athletics mod should be getting behind this sort of thing, not sniggering at it with scepticism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

Just reading back over this thread and disappointed by this. Dono is doing a good job trying to give T&F more exposure on an athletics forum (I realise how hilarious it is that that even needs to be done in the first place) and here is one of our mod’s basically just writing the whole thing off insinuating that this competition will not take off. An athletics mod should be getting behind this sort of thing, not sniggering at it with scepticism.

+1 T&F athletics will be the biggest event in the olympics this summer. It deserves a bit more limelight on here. Hopefully a few more will be inspired to take it up afterwards.

Indeed the TJ is a great event alright. Had a pb of 11.70m when i won the u18 Munsters but havent competed in it for 9 years. Tried it for the craic a couple of years back and barely got 9m, just shows how much you lose doing distance running and not plyometrics etc. I'd love to give it a crack this summer again, would need to work on my step though, that was always weak.

Now that I think of it I was closer 10:5x- I remember 11m being the Holy Grail I wanted to hit. (Sands of time, embellished PB's, how are ya;))

The step was always dependent on the hop- go too far/high on the initial phase, and you were guaranteed one of those curtailed 10-step jogs "feckitfeckitsorrysorry..." to avoid breaking the sand, which an oul fella with a flag had just lovingly raked:D

In fairness he is not just an athletics moderator the forum is Athletics/Running/Triathlon and as such we tend to gravitate towards the disciplines we are interested in/participate in.

The fact is that athletics is in the minority within this forum however it is growing (The Fantasy league this year has shown this) as well as new members.

I think its great to see and Agree that DnP has done a good job both as a moderator and since in terms of pushing this aspect and hopefully it will grow to rival the road running scene as track and field (both here and globally) needs a good shot in the arm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,076 ✭✭✭Dan man

I think its great to see and Agree that DnP has done a good job both as a moderator and since in terms of pushing this aspect and hopefully it will grow to rival the road running scene as track and field (both here and globally) needs a good shot in the arm

Yikes!! Perhaps not your best turn of phrase ecoli!! Always knew you were a bit suspect :D

In fairness he is not just an athletics moderator the forum is Athletics/Running/Triathlon and as such we tend to gravitate towards the disciplines we are interested in/participate in.

The fact is that athletics is in the minority within this forum however it is growing (The Fantasy league this year has shown this) as well as new members.

If they were separate forums then that would be fair enough, but as it is the one forum then a mod is not just a mod of what he/she is interested in, but rather a mod of the entire sport, and therefore IMO has a responsibility to try promote all aspects of that sport among posters and viewers, or at the very least show positive passive support for the idea, rather than just negatively dismiss it.

For those interested in getting some track races in this coming summer here’s the Graded meets schedule:

http://www.dublinathletics.com/attachments/163_Graded%20Book%202012.pdf

PR for track and field is not one of my responsibilities as a mod :rolleyes:

The reality is that there have been "Best of 20.." threads in this forum since before I started running :pac: and afaik nobody has ever entered a throw distance or jump height on the threads - not even hurdling, which is mainly running anyway :) Running is a mass participation sport in Ireland these days. Most of those runners - perhaps even most of the runners in this forum - aren't members of an athletics club. Even among club members, I'd guess the number running regularly in track events is a small minority. (It would be an interesting poll for the forum, if it hasn't been done before) And the number of people taking part in non-running events? You'll notice there are no private companies moving in to organise long jump competitions (with medals and t-shirts for everyone taking part!)

This is not to denigrate athletics. More people can play a bit of guitar than violin - it doesn't mean the guitar is better. I just don't expect this thread to become a mass of tables like the 1000 mile threads.

Dan man wrote: »
    Yikes!! Perhaps not your best turn of phrase ecoli!! Always knew you were a bit suspect :D

Probably not. What you mean I am suspect just because I endorse Powerade Turtle Blood Cherry flavour doesn't mean I am not legit:D

Back on Subject and DAB have published there summer Graded meet fixtures:

http://www.dublinathletics.com/attachments/163_Graded%20Book%202012.pdf

Going off these I will have 4 of my 5 events though couple this with 10,000m and National Seniors (hopefully depending on what kinda shape I am in coming close to the time) and my usual National league appearances in the Steeplechase will have a choice without having to hop into the field events (Though given NL in previous years could be called upon in worst case as I have made appearances in the 100mh,400mh and HJ also in recent years :D)

All in all though should be a fairly full track season

Yeah to be fair to Ray, its just not his bag, and you can't expect any of the mods to automatically have an interest in all aspects of the forum.

If it were down to me, I'd just lump all the marathoners and road runners into a jogging forum, or a cake forum. They've had long enough in the limelight, and frankly its been one long whinge about the merits of goody bags and scary hills you'd roll your auntie over. T&F, mountain running, and Tri & AR, should be given much more focus, and leave those pasty-faced famine refugees to their own devices. So you can run like a Very Important Person on the roads while a Garda holds his hands up to stop furious motorists, big swinging mickey; can you Fosbury flop or do a set of 40x100m in the pool or risk everything to sprint down Tonelagee now can ya, eh, eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Right feck it. I jumped 4.60 as a 13 y/o in the St Patricks academy sports day back when I was 13. Looking at those silly tables, i realise this is my best ever performance in athletics :D Gonna do the graded meets for a laugh and my aim is to beat 123453 in this challenge :pac:

menoscemo wrote: »
    Right feck it. I jumped 4.60 as a 13 y/o in the St Patricks academy sports day back when I was 13. Looking at those silly tables, i realise this is my best ever performance in athletics :D Gonna do the graded meets for a laugh and my aim is to beat 123453 in this challenge :pac:

4:60m is considerably better than a 3:2x marathon. Just because one requires miles and miles and lots of sacrifice doesnt make the performance any more than what it is.

There's a natural order to these things.

Sprinters start young, and are past it by the time they're old enough to drink.
    GAA types, footballers, hockey players... take up jogging when the post-game drinking has made them unfit for the game itself.
    If the drink really goes to their head, they think they're invincible and start charging down mountains. :eek:
    If the drink goes to their waist they take up triathlon, and let the water and the bike take the strain. :D

menoscemo wrote: »

4.60 @ 13 thats all ireland winner jumping :eek:

Think at my best I was about the same (at an older age) though was top 6 at all Irelands back as a juvenille a few times.

Would love to try it now and see how I got on between my 4.55 in LJ (roughly) and 1.65 in HJ and whether there was any improvement

There's a natural order to these things.

Sprinters start young, and are past it by the time they're old enough to drink.
    GAA types, footballers, hockey players... take up jogging when the post-game drinking has made them unfit for the game itself.
    If the drink really goes to their head, they think they're invincible and start charging down mountains. :eek:
    If the drink goes to their waist they take up triathlon, and let the water and the bike take the strain. :D

Tell that to this man who took it up in college

http://www.iaaf.org/athletes/biographies/country=irl/athcode=252052/index.html:D

4.60 @ 13 thats all ireland winner jumping :eek:

Think at my best I was about the same (at an older age) though was top 6 at all Irelands back as a juvenille a few times.

Would love to try it now and see how I got on between my 4.55 in LJ (roughly) and 1.65 in HJ and whether there was any improvement

Hmmmm maybe my memory is failing me? I definitely won a medal though. was it 3.60 :o

4:60m is considerably better than a 3:2x marathon. Just because one requires miles and miles and lots of sacrifice doesnt make the performance any more than what it is.

haha you are not gonna get me so quick.
    According to those tables that you love, my best modern performace is my HM (281pts) and my worst is my mile (181) my 10k is better than my 5k and my Marathon is not far behind (and it is my softest pb by far which I will soon beat).

Despite all that the one 200m I ran fast in training trumps all these on those tables :confused: You'd think If I was such a fast twitcher then My mile PB would be much better than my long distance pbs...?