Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A child kicked me today when I was walking down the street

• 21-01-2012 4:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭

Small Indian city, obvious foreigner gets beseiged by five young children (maybe 6 years old) begging for money. I refuse and one of them pulls my hair, KICKS ME and then laughs hysterically when I start shouting obscenities. My blood was boiling and I didn't know what to do... they followed me for ages and started chucking things at me. I was fuming but because they were kids I didn't feel I could do anything.

What should I have done AH? I'm female so blasting them with piss would have been anatomically challenging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

your bloody what was boiling?

yeah I often wonder what you would do in these situations, cause well there's lots of knacker children that do annoying things like that. but well there's nothing you can do. if you hit them a smack (which is what my first reaction would be) you're in the wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Nothing you can do, except talk to them sternly, that is the reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭CrackisWhack

Acid in the eyes, then send them off to a labour camp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Susie_Q wrote: »
    Small Indian city, obvious foreigner gets beseiged by five young children (maybe 6 years old) begging for money. I refuse and one of them pulls my hair, KICKS ME and then laughs hysterically when I start shouting obscenities. My bloody was boiling and I didn't know what to do... they followed me for ages and started chucking things at me. I was fuming but because they were kids I didn't feel I could do anything.

What should I have done AH? I'm female so blasting them with piss would have been anatomically challenging.

Ha Ha, I was walking down Hyde Road years ago and some brat came out of a garden and kicked me for nothing, I roared at him to **** off but on finding out later on who's house it was I was lucky it was only a kick and not a bullet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

I assume you are a women, use your powers of nagging and handbagging round the head:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

Small Indian city, obvious foreigner gets beseiged by five young children (maybe 6 years old) begging for money. I refuse and one of them pulls my hair, KICKS ME and then laughs hysterically when I start shouting obscenities. My blood was boiling and I didn't know what to do... they followed me for ages and started chucking things at me. I was fuming but because they were kids I didn't feel I could do anything.

you should have NAGGED them to death or better yet you could have told them one thing and mean the opposite then storm off in a huff slamming doors behind you ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

I was sitting in a park in Syndey, smoking a cigarette when some kids no older than 5 or 6 came over and asked me for one. I said no and they spat at me and ran off :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

I don't remember deleting or getting notification of deleting my "blast them with kicks" comment. Odd.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,283 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Give them a few bob? It's what I would have done. They poor little feckers were probably half starved.

Even if they weren't it would have avoided being kicked, no one likes to be kicked.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 27 itsyuranan

A quick lash with a stick when no one is looking usually sorts them out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

You should have picked one of them up and thrown him in front of a bus, that's what I'd do anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

Acid in the eyes, then send them off to a labour camp

Sadly, it's the only way really.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gosuckonalemon

Be grateful it wasn't five men who beseiged you, things could have been a lot worse!

chin_grin wrote: »
    I don't remember deleting or getting notification of deleting my "blast them with kicks" comment. Odd.

yeah wtf, biggins had a post too and someone else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

All that story is missing is a middle aged archaeologist,a small chinese boy and a blonde

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

chin_grin wrote: »
    yeah wtf, biggins had a post too and someone else

I dont remember 'blast them with jokes' being funny....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

You should have punted it back up the hole it crawled out of

KeithM89 wrote: »

I didn't say they were funny. didn't realise non funny posts were being deleted now.

OP, did you have this happen you before?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

KeithM89 wrote: »

Fadó fadó............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,760 ✭✭✭ASOT

Id be straight on to allah if i were you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Nothing much ye can do.

Hit them? No

Report them? To who?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

Never happened before. There aren't many beggars where I live so this was way out of the ordinary. A group of builders tried to help me by chasing the kids away but sure they just came back again.

Giving them money isn't the solution, who knows where that will go, and it creates a begging culture. There are plenty of local charities here that help kids like this so giving money there is better in my opinion.

What was so bizarre was the sheer scummery of these kids, they were so delighted to get me angry and to wind me up. Have never seen that side of Indian kids before, they are usually very sweet and curious and extremely polite. Still wondering what to do if it happens again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    I was sitting in a park in Syndey, smoking a cigarette when some kids no older than 5 or 6 came over and asked me for one. I said no and they spat at me and ran off :eek:

That made me laugh, sorry. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

You were just Eve Teased. Tis normal over there!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eve_teasing

Never happened before. There aren't many beggars where I live so this was way out of the ordinary. A group of builders tried to help me by chasing the kids away but sure they just came back again.

Giving them money isn't the solution, who knows where that will go, and it creates a begging culture. There are plenty of local charities here that help kids like this so giving money there is better in my opinion.

What was so bizarre was the sheer scummery of these kids, they were so delighted to get me angry and to wind me up. Have never seen that side of Indian kids before, they are usually very sweet and curious and extremely polite. Still wondering what to do if it happens again...

I believe the word is scumbaggery :pac:

but yeah maybe next time try not react. they won't get what they want then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

Carry a Taser?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Take out a bar of chocolate turn to them and eat it while laughing in their poor little faces.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Buy the kid a beef burger but don't tell him what's in it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Why would anyone go to India, a foul dirty smelly place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

All that story is missing is a middle aged archaeologist,a small chinese boy and a blonde

You forgot the main part, a John Williams theme tune.

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Buy the kid a beef burger but don't tell him what's in it
    Beef?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭CrackisWhack

No where near as foul, dirty or smelly as anywhere in Munster though

Like yore ma's gee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭boomkatalog

This is what happens when we leave the kitchen.

I hope you learnt your lesson op.

or Angelina and Brad.

Beef?

The OP is in India

Just be happy by the fact that they will be probably dead from leprosy or cholera soon enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

I assume you have been here yourself then Johnjo?

Feckin Indians

Stealing our callcentre jobs and kicking our wimmin :mad:

Edz87 wrote: »
    Just be happy by the fact that they will be probably dead from leprosy or cholera soon enough.

audible gasp of disbelievement.

Then I LOL-ed:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

throw a sack over 1 of them tie it slowly they will disperse, the chocolate idea would be good to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Have you ever been there or are you just on a trollling spree today? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Have you considered logging on to Boards AH India for advice ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

They sound like real delhinquents alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Give them a few bob? It's what I would have done. They poor little feckers were probably half starved.

Even if they weren't it would have avoided being kicked, no one likes to be kicked.

I'm afraid I have to disagree with you, and many of my Indian friends hate it when they see Western visitors giving coins, pens and things like that to children in the streets of villages and cities. As one of them put it, "why do they come to our country to create beggars; there are enough here as it is?" I'm sure you wouldn't want to have that on your conscience.:)

There are undoubtedly half-starved children in India, but does anyone realistically think that even every tourist giving them everything he or she has would make any difference?:confused:

I have spent a lot of time in India and sometimes been pestered by begging children, but the way I deal with it is to say "cello, cello!!", which means "go away" or "get lost".

I have never been kicked, nor even had my clothes clutched at. However, I know that they would get one mighty kick back if they dared even to touch an Indian.

A good way to get rid of kids like that is to go to a shop or stall, and the owner will immediately scatter them.

But giving them anything will not satisfy them and will only encourage others to try their hand at begging as well when they see that it brings rewards.

If you want to salve your conscience and give to the poor, go to a temple and do puja (leave rice, dal, bananas or money in front of the idol). Most of this is distributed to the poor by the temple authorities, who are well able to distinguish between the genuinely needy and greedy opportunists.

There are also places just outside temples where beggars, usually handicapped or maimed, sit and are given alms by people who wish to gain good karma. And, of course, you can give to charities who help the poor.

The same applies to beggars in Ireland. Every cent you give them is actually counter-productive. If you feel bad after you tell one of them to fcuk off, ease your conscience by putting a few euro in the St. Vincent de Paul collection box, or to some equivalent body.:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gosuckonalemon

Probably the most amazing country in the world. Thankfully free from any Lanzarote/Ballymun in the Sun holidaymakers like yourself! Although ye have polluted the islands of Thailand in the last decade :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Probably the most amazing country in the world. Thankfully free from any Lanzarote/Ballymun in the Sun holidaymakers like yourself! Although ye have polluted the islands of Thailand in the last decade :(

Good lord.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

stovelid wrote: »
    Good lord.

Mr Stovelid sir , you dropped your monocle .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Reminds me of this.

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Haha, op got bullied by a bunch of kids! And he/she got mad about it! :rolleyes: