Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is the poshest/chavviest name you have come across??

• 20-01-2012 9:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭

Poshest: Sebastian

Chavviest: Chantelle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Poshest: Beau (Male)

Chavviest: Jacinta (Female)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Palmer Sebastian Watson, Esquire
    Mr. Zachariah Xavier Wolverton
    Coleman Bartholomew Ashby

What's a chav?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,645 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Poshest Tristan( Was in Boots once and this young lad realised I was in his way.
    "Mummy,my exit is obstructed",
    "Tristan:eek::eek::eek: ,just excuse yourself politely" )

Chavviest- Traaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Shared a very long bus journey in the UK once with sisters called Verity and Felicity. They had never travelled by coach before, it was "great fun, haw, haw!" I have never encountered anyone like them before or since. ( I think they came from an Agatha Christie novel circa 1933, myself)

Trashiest has to be the little sister and brother named Tequilla and Bailey.

Oh, and trashy people trying to be posh by calling their kid Portia getting it wrong and thinking it's Porsche :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Crystal Chandler, actual real life name and not a hooker/stripper persona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,806 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

In Superquinn once and this rough looking yoke turns to her daughter and goes "Montana will ye comonnnnnnn?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

I am not sure how to spell it properly so i will sound it out
    Chin-eekk-waaa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Elvis O'Connor

Address: Care of xxxxxxx post office.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Poshest. Tarquin.

Other one: Scumstina

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Shared a very long bus journey in the UK once with sisters called Verity and Felicity. They had never travelled by coach before, it was "great fun, haw, haw!" I have never encountered anyone like them before or since. ( I think they came from an Agatha Christie novel circa 1933, myself):

sounds like a sketch from little Britain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭applejam

Poshest : Chrystabelle

Chav : Miami , Daytona ( twins in a buggy in Liffey Valley ) and their big brother Beckham .....

My chin was on the floor :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Posh: Mercedes.
    Chav: Mercedes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭lynski

isis and hamish = poshest/scumiest brother and sister, cant decide. their dad is a scotish laird tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Chav : Miami , Daytona ( twins in a buggy in Liffey Valley ) and their big brother Beckham .....

My chin was on the floor :eek:[/QUOTE]

Haha god none of those will get a decent job when older:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

Johro wrote: »
    Posh: Mercedes.
    Chav: Mercedes.

Mercedes is actually a nice enough name, it just sounds sh*te in a Dublin accent. MEEEEERCEEEEEDEEEEESSS!!!!

Poshest : Hugo

Chavviest : Rihanna and Britney (There's a lot of these in Drogheda)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭e-sull

Rachel Allen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,645 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Sometimes if my teenage girls are annoying me/acting up when we're out in public, I call out to them "Pochantas,Esmerelda,come on,we have to go now...."

It so pisses them off,and you should see the looks from other people-priceless.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Mercedes is actually a nice enough name, it just sounds sh*te in a Dublin accent. MEEEEERCEEEEEDEEEEESSS!!!!
    :D Yeah that's why I have it as posh and chav. I know a Spanish girl called Mercedes, and she's no chav.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

1) Gregory Ponsonby-McClure

2) Nacker Brandon

I can't remember which is posh and which is scobey though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭zef

John Doe1 wrote: »

My chin was on the floor :eek:

Haha god none of those will get a decent job when older:D[/QUOTE]

"Beckham O'Reilly to reception, please."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭carfiosaoorl

Poshest- Julian
    Chavest- Chelsea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭IcedOut

Poshest - Lewis

chavviest - Savannah, Zena , Anto

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭Underdraft

Chaviest : Chelsea

(I know it's traditionally a posh name , but like many others it has trickled down the naming ladder from top to bottom.)

sounds like a sketch from little Britain

Now that you mention it, Verity's upper lip was due a wax...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

poshest: penelope

chavest: franchesca

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Poshest. Tarquin.

Other one: Scumstina

I know Scumstina..... she has a brother called Scorebag .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

beano345 wrote: »
    poshest: penelope

chavest: franchesca

No way is Francesca a chav name :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

No way is Francesca a chav name :eek:

it is when its pronounced in a pure scouse accent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

bleg wrote: »
    Elvis O'Connor

Address: Care of xxxxxxx post office.
    Return to sender, address unknown.

brummytom wrote: »
    Return to sender, address unknown.

Love letter straight from your heart?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 EasyGame

Chav's are English entities I'm afraid, and not knowing England too well, I can't really comment.

Knacker names, however, are more familiar. I've heard knackers call their unfortunate sprogs terrible names including "Rihanna", "Shakira", "Romeo", "Brooklyn" and more, either pinched from celebrities or badly inspired by them. Knackers with money inspire knackers without money, it would appear.

With regards to "posh" names, I'm not sure I could identify a name as "posh". A lot of "posh" names are merely historical or perhaps British in origin. Doesn't really make them posh, and just because someone can name their children properly, doesn't mean they're a target for mockery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

poshest:
    marmot
    plunket
    xavier
    Brittany

most unposh:
    Britney
    Princess (seriously)
    anything that sounds jewellery-related

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Resi12

Poshest: Edwina

Scumiest: Rihanna and Shakira. Siblings I believe, "RIHANAAAAAAA, LEAVE SHAKIRA ALONE!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

How is naming a child after a rodent, which incidently is a ground squirrel, posh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

There must be scumthing in the water out around Liffey Valley. Heard a large pair of hoop earings dipped in methadone screaming "Dolce, DOLLCHAY"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Poshest: Ivor.
    Chavviest: Damo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 EasyGame

Daroxtar wrote: »
    There must be scumthing in the water out around Liffey Valley. Heard a large pair of hoop earings dipped in methadone screaming "Dolce, DOLLCHAY"
    Water, not quite, but there is an ass load of social housing in the inner city that is breeding townies of a caliber we haven't ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭martineatworld

Can't believe the thread is three pages in and Nikiiiiiiiiita still hasn't been mentioned...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

Brantford Warner
    &
    Cheyenne
    Chantelle
    Chelsie

I seem do be discriminating against names that start with a ch.

Makes sense. You can't spell chav without ch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

msthe80s wrote: »
    Sometimes if my teenage girls are annoying me/acting up when we're out in public, I call out to them "Pochantas,Esmerelda,come on,we have to go now...."

It so pisses them off,and you should see the looks from other people-priceless.:D

That's absolutely brilliant, must remember this for the future.

When I had my son we told my mother-in-law that we were going to call him Sebastian, her reaction was priceless.

Chaviest names - any name that is copying someone famous -Madonna, I also dont like Angel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

****einthebucket

EGAR wrote: »
    How is naming a child after a rodent, which incidently is a ground squirrel, posh?

Or, as I heard one Anerican tourist call them: "A swiss rat, Harry. Look! A Swiss rat!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

ceasar

chantalle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Tallula and shaniqua, lovely girls,

*cant believe no-one has done a 'came across' joke yet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Just saw on the Take Me Out thread that there was someone called Klamborghini(with a silent K)....takes the biscuit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Any of ye work in banks or call centres?

Rarely and it might never happen to you but it can happen that you'll be speaking to British Lord, Earl, whatever

And they insist on using their titles
    The arrogance just seeping down the phone lines

Never mind we don't recognize these titles in a Republic

I'm too chicken to ignore the title and wind them up, job is stressful enough without picking fights. If they want to be called a Lord so be it

There was a poster on boards once with a similar experience and the Lord threatened him with a treason charge :eek:

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Poshest: Thunder

Yes, that's right.

Chavest: Kaaaayleeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Hate that bloody name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

Poshest: Xaviour

Chaviest: Anita (pronounced An eeeha)

Usage : An eeeha did ya geh a new tracksuit? 3 bleedin stripes on it too, gotta love dem adidas tracksuits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

Pretentious Posh: Harry, Molly, Oscar, Kitty, Hugo

Tracksuiter: Maddison, Shanika, Katelin, Casey, Taylor, Dylon, and invented Black rapper sounding names cast upon unsuspecting babies born up in the Rotunda