Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Inter varsities

• 19-01-2012 6:03pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Just looking around at a few things when I got sent this, still a PhD so technically eligible, anyone ele heading out for it?

Cycling Intervarsity League

Cycleways Dublin Intervarsity League
    Trinity College cycling club (DUCC) and UCD cycling club are hosting an intervarsity cycling league sponsored by cycleways commencing on the 21st of January and running for 6 weeks.
    This league is aimed at students who are new to the sport and want to get a taste of what it’s like to race.
    The dates and venue of the race are as follows:
    21st January: 10 mile Time Trial: Boot Inn
    28th January:
    Road Race: Corkagh Park
    4th Febuary:
    Hill Climb TT: Howth (originally advertised for the 5th)
    11th February:
    Track introduction: Sundrive Track (originally advertised for the 12th)
    18th February:
    Road Race: Corkagh Park (originally advertised for the 19th)
    25th February:
    10 mile Time Trial: Boot Inn (originally advertised for the 26th)
    All races will be €2 each, however a full competition licence or one day licence will be needed for the road races and track day.
    All races start at 10am.
    A valid student ID will be needed to be eligable for the league.
    For more information or to pre-register for the event, please contact Ian at duroadcycling@gmail.com

Anyone here heading out for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭patrick151

I really want to but i work saturdays mornings and cant really afford to take 6 weeks off... So i'll probably end up just going to one. Either the track day(always wanted to try it) or the corkagh park road race. Any idea of the length of the road races?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

patrick151 wrote: »
    I really want to but i work saturdays mornings and cant really afford to take 6 weeks off... So i'll probably end up just going to one. Either the track day(always wanted to try it) or the corkagh park road race. Any idea of the length of the road races?

Not a clue but I have just realised I never picked up my ID this year, must do that in the morning. Its a bit short notice so I may not make it out either, just wondering was anyone from this neck of the woods heading in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Crow92

I'll be heading out, hopefully to 5/6 of the events. I emailed ucd cycling club about the distances of the tt and road race. I'll post here when I find out.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

There's a piece on Stickybottle about it.

Great to see the college seen beginning to take off a bit.

I am intrigued at what the level will be like, my first ever race if I get up (I am working quite late the night before).

I presume this is open to all third/fourth level students ie includes the ITs as well? Does anyone know?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Depends on who shows up. It would be very early in the season for some of the top guys.

Ian Richardson, the guy quoted in the piece, is a horse.

Just received this from the organiser:
    Any students are eligable to compete in the league ITs NUIs etc. below are google map links with the location of the starting lines.

Boot Inn (10 mile TT)

http://g.co/maps/mkb5v

Corkagh Park

http://g.co/maps/7pafw

Howth (hill climb)

the start will be at the school on the sutton side of howth head

http://g.co/maps/aubxv

I edited out the bits with names and nicities.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Might try a few if I can get a student id sorted.Technically a postgrad RSCI student at the moment....

RobFowl wrote: »
    Might try a few if I can get a student id sorted.Technically a postgrad RSCI student at the moment....

From the few replies to this thread I think most of us are going to be technically postgrads :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭dave_o_brien

I might just give this a lash; fitness is all over the shop though with the demands of a thesis putting any sort of consistent bike-time slightly down the pecking order of importance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 b00mIR

I'm one of the organisers so if you have any questions feel free to ask

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Get up the road

Dob ride the race youll be grand easier than a leage race. 30kms or so.

Haha, is that Niall?! I am going to ride it, just sandbagging! On top of that, I damaged a tendon in my foot running over Christmas. It's affecting the stabilising lateral leg muscles, so although I'm limping, my bike riding's ok, it's unaffected other than in big efforts.

b00mIR wrote: »
    I'm one of the organisers so if you have any questions feel free to ask

I have my 2011 card but haven't got this years one (I am still a student, just never botheres) am I OK? if I have one by the next race or is it a case of no card, no participation? I have a letter from the registrars office if that will suffice :o

CramCycle wrote: »
    I have my 2011 card but haven't got this years one (I am still a student, just never botheres) am I OK? if I have one by the next race or is it a case of no card, no participation? I have a letter from the registrars office if that will suffice :o

if you have your student card for the current term that would be preferable, but your previous term card (with your student number) and the letter from the registrar will be fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

CramCycle wrote:
    I am intrigued at what the level will be like, my first ever race if I get up (I am working quite late the night before).

There are some very strong people in the UCD club but I'm not sure that all (or many) of them are taking part. I'd imagine there will be quite a mix of abilities represented though so I'd say it'll be well worth doing. If the worst comes to the worst there is no shame in pulling out of the race part of the way through if you are knackered - everyone has a bad day, for one thing, and if you've given it your all there is nothing more you can do and you'll likely not feel as bad about dropping out as you might expect (I've found it only feels bad when I think I didn't really give it everything). Besides, sitting at the side of the road hugging your knees to your chest and rocking gently is a recognised part of the sport :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭AG2R

ITT are trying get people to enter.
    I would but the lack of a road bike.
    Maybe next year :lol:

AG2R wrote: »
    ITT are trying get people to enter.

They already have one and the head of sports tells me two more are interested. Guess we'll see in the morning.

Results of the day.

189392.png

(They gave me the 30.00 mins and not a dnf lol)

Crow92 wrote: »
    Results of the day.

189392.png

(They gave me the 30.00 mins and not a dnf lol)

You were pretty much there, so we calculated the time it would take to do the last 10metres

Thanks to everyone who came out today, considering the weather it was a great turnout, from all the buzz I was expecting more, but 23 competed so definitely happy with that. This is where I plug the sponsor cycleways, who sponsored today's prizes, and will be for the rest of the league.

They already have one and the head of sports tells me two more are interested. Guess we'll see in the morning.

where were the ITT guys today?

Great craic today lads, well done for the organisation, massively appreciated!

Nice result Dave.

Cheers, still not in great shape though, which can be seen in my significantly slower second lap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Dietmar Hamann

What distance is the race next week?

d_max wrote: »
    What distance is the race next week?

About 30km afaik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Eoin_Morton

Savage day on Saturday lads, cheers for the organisation. Apologies for not staying around till the end, i was feckin freezing and went out training.

Looking forward to next week!

Savage day on Saturday lads, cheers for the organisation. Apologies for not staying around till the end, i was feckin freezing and went out training.

Looking forward to next week!

Make sure to pick up your prize next week, for coming second on saturday

Crow92 wrote: »
    About 30km afaik

That's what the lads were saying alright, 30km of laps around the new corkagh park track. Should be fun!

where were the ITT guys today?

Well I had to rush out of the lab last night at about 4 (only 10 minutes away from actually finishing my work) in the morning after hearing my house was getting broken into. The Gardai were there when I arrived but needless to say my OH did not sleep well for the rest of the night so thats my excuse, I don't know the others personally so I can't say, I will be there representing ITT next week though.

Fast times though, very impressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Get up the road

Good man DOB must have been a windy day. Ian why didnt your time count ? And is that faster slower or close to Antos course record ?

Cheers, it was a pretty heavy headwind on one section of the course alright. It made Ian's time all the more impressive, and hammered home how little training I got done this winter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 iridemybike

Looking forward to a humdinger this weekend. Going up howth hill the week after should be fun too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭rosscollins88

Due to availability issues with Corkagh Park we have to postpone the road race this week. Due to this we have rearranged the calendar of events. Please find the new dates below:

28 Jan Hill Climb (Howth), 4 Feb TT (Boot Inn), 11 Feb Track (Sundrive), 18 Feb road (Corkagh Park), 25 Feb road (Corkagh Park).

All events beginning at 10am sharp so please arrive beforehand for sign on.

Hope to see you all there.

Ross

We weren't expecting the council to insure the event the problem was between cycling ireland and south dublin council, and was completely out of our control.

How much are the one day licenses for the event, are CI still doing the 10% of the event cost or is it back to the fiver for a day cost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭ragazzo

How much are the one day licenses for the event, are CI still doing the 10% of the event cost or is it back to the fiver for a day cost?

I think that only applies to leisure events.

A 1 Day Race licence usually costs €10 if you are a member of CI and €20 otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭StudentC

Regarding licences - is that still only the road races and track?
    i.e. no licence required for this Saturday's Howth TT?

StudentC wrote: »
    Regarding licences - is that still only the road races and track?
    i.e. no licence required for this Saturday's Howth TT?

Correct no license needed for the TTs

It is good to read that you don't need licences for the TT. It makes sense when one is trying to encourage new riders to participate in the sport.

How does this fit in with CI rules and the need to be insured for CI ratified events?
    I presume it is being run with the approval of CI as Full Competition/1 Day licences are required to participate in the RR/Track events.

It would be great if CI covered beginner TT events/leagues without the need for all competitors to be holders of some form of competition licence.

I only just found out that CI do a 50% discount for students, not money down the drain as I could afford it previously but it is great to find it out just in time for my first full competition license as I can't afford it anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭morana

ragazzo wrote: »

It would be great if CI covered beginner TT events/leagues without the need for all competitors to be holders of some form of competition licence.

we would go out of business!

morana wrote: »
    we would go out of business!

Or you might attract some new racing members. Maybe even some in the youth or junior categories. Now there is an idea.

How does it work for the Inter Varsity League or is that not included in the list of CI approved events?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

ragazzo wrote: »
    How does it work for the Inter Varsity League or is that not included in the list of CI approved events?

It's because its an inter club league rather than open events

Now I am confused.

Are you stating that one does not need a licence to ride a club league TT?

Does this mean that if a club was invited to ride the Swords league then non licenced members of that club could ride the TT events in that league?

I thought that one needed at least a CI Club Competition licence or an IVCA Racing licence.

I thought it was open rather than inter club because alot of people may not be members of their 3rd/4th level club and some may be members of none.

Misread your post razzogo
    You need a club competion licence for a league event, there is a TT only licence as well.
    If you don't need a licence for this TT then I'd doubt CI's insurance would cover it?

Edit there are special rules pertaining to students though. Would be sure you still need some sort of licence though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭scooters

Any results from yesterday? I had to leave before they got finalised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 iridemybike

scooters wrote: »
    Any results from yesterday? I had to leave before they got finalised.

http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/396475_144468379003599_100003213125654_195315_1128829094_n.jpg