Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Changing from a Focus to a Corolla - Good enough???

• 18-01-2012 1:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭

I currently drive a 2001 1.6 Ford Focus Hatchback 3 door, and I am considering changing to a 2002-2003 Toyota Corolla Hatchback (3 or 5 door), but it seems to only come in 1.4 petrol or 2 litre diesel.

Since I'm only 18 on a learners permit I think that the price of the 2 litres insurance would be too expensive. Is the 1.4 engine in the Corolla good enough for the car.

I had a 1.4 astra a few months ago and I thought it felt quite heavy on the motorway, had a bit of trouble overtaking, would the Corolla be the same? Any other opinions on it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

Pass your driving test before you start worrying about cars!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

dillo2k10 wrote:
    on a learners permit
    dillo2k10 wrote:
    on the motorway

??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭dillo2k10

Gophur wrote: »
    Pass your driving test before you start worrying about cars!

I have my test booked, but the insurance still wont go down much, if at all.

dillo2k10 wrote: »
    I have my test booked, but the insurance still wont go down much, if at all.

I wasn't referring to that, just, similar to other poster, you seem concerned with things other than passing your test.

You do know it's illegal to drive unaccompanied?
    You do know it's illegal for L-plate drivers to drive on Motorways?

Pass your test, then you'll be deemed fit to drive. Then worry about other cars.

I wasn't referring to that, just, similar to other poster, you seem concerned with things other than passing your test.

You do know it's illegal to drive unaccompanied?
    You do know it's illegal for L-plate drivers to drive on Motorways?

Pass your test, then you'll be deemed fit to drive. Then worry about other cars.

I don't drive unaccompanied (the majority of the time) and I'm not spending 5 times the amount of time getting to college because I have to drive on the motorway for a couple of minutes.

I was asking about the cars though, not the rules of the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

Surely it is his prerogative to worry about whatever he wants?

Also, I am sure he can worry about more then one thing at a time, ie: his test and getting a new car. Don't think that is too difficult for most people.

Either car will be sufficient for an inexperienced, unqualified, illegal driver to cause problems for other motorway drivers. I'd not bother changing if I was you.

Does that answer your question?

If you want an honest opinion on the two cars, I'd say that if your Focus is in good condition then you won't get much value from changing it. The Corolla Hatchback, in my experience, is pretty nippy in the 1.4 but not great for motorway driving. It also doesn't exactly step up the comfort / interior from the Focus of that era.

Draupnir wrote: »
    cause problems for other motorway drivers. I'd not bother changing if I was you.

I don't cause problems for other motorway drivers, I actually do stay in the driving lane and move to the over taking lane when overtaking, unlike the majority of legal, experienced drivers who just sit in the overtaking lane the whole journey, holding everyone back.

If you want an honest opinion on the two cars, I'd say that if your Focus is in good condition then you won't get much value from changing it. The Corolla Hatchback, in my experience, is pretty nippy in the 1.4 but not great for motorway driving. It also doesn't exactly step up the comfort / interior from the Focus of that era.

The focus isn't really, I just bought it 'cos my old car broke down. It starting to have trouble starting and the body work isn't great and theres a few other problems with it.

I don't cause problems for other motorway drivers, I actually do stay in the driving lane and move to the over taking lane when overtaking, unlike the majority of legal, experienced drivers who just sit in the overtaking lane the whole journey, holding everyone back.

You know what? I can't actually argue with you!

dillo2k10 wrote:
    The focus isn't really, I just bought it 'cos my old car broke down. It starting to have trouble starting and the body work isn't great and theres a few other problems with it.

That being the case, I'd change it once you can find a Corolla in decent shape within your budget. I wouldn't worry too much about engine size right now if I was you and you won't have much need for motorway driving in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭MidnightQueen

Ah dont be too harsh on the young fella lads! We were all teenagers once wanting different things to break our parents hearts. :rolleyes: Dont deny it, but we all break rules every now and again.

Anyhow, the Corolla would be a nice choice in my opinion. Safe reliable cars. It would bring down your'e insurance a bit, tax costs and your fuel cost. So that would be a wise choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Twin-go

I currently drive a 2001 1.6 Ford Focus Hatchback 3 door, and I am considering changing to a 2002-2003 Toyota Corolla Hatchback (3 or 5 door), but it seems to only come in 1.4 petrol or 2 litre diesel.

Since I'm only 18 on a learners permit I think that the price of the 2 litres insurance would be too expensive. Is the 1.4 engine in the Corolla good enough for the car.

I had a 1.4 astra a few months ago and I thought it felt quite heavy on the motorway, had a bit of trouble overtaking, would the Corolla be the same? Any other opinions on it?

What are your reasons for changing the car OP? and why are you thinking Corolla?

You can get a lot nicer cars for the same price as a 2003 Corolla. Some that would be close to the same or cheaper to insure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Twin-go

OP, There are plenty more interesting cars in your price range (similar Tax/Insurance costs) than the Corolla.

You could also come down to Yaris/Fiesta/Polo/Ibiza/Corsa etc sized cars (nippy with a 1.4) and get an even newer motor with lower miles and more equipment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,960 ✭✭✭creedp

You know what? I can't actually argue with you!

To be fair to the OP he's simply asking an opinion on a car and not on the rules of the road. And he (assuming it not a she) is correct when he says that a large number of drivers on motorways (whether they have full licences or not) haven't a clue how to drive on same roads. I presume you also similarly chide all the contributors on here who do 45kmph in 40kmph zones or worse still do 80 in a 75 kmph zone.

Personally have no experience of either car but a number of threads on here have praised the focus and criticised the corrolla but that's more down to driving dynamics (within the rules obviously!). So whatever floats you boat really.

Twin-go wrote: »
    What are your reasons for changing the car OP? and why are you thinking Corolla?

You can get a lot nicer cars for the same price as a 2003 Corolla. Some that would be close to the same or cheaper to insure.
    Twin-go wrote: »
    OP, There are plenty more interesting cars in your price range (similar Tax/Insurance costs) than the Corolla.

You could also come down to Yaris/Fiesta/Polo/Ibiza/Corsa etc sized cars (nippy with a 1.4) and get an even newer motor with lower miles and more equipment.

I was looking at the polo and to be honest I havnt a clue why I didn't think of a Fiesta, Im looking at some now on donedeal and they seem much better, Im starting to think more of a 04 fiesta now, they seem the best option .

I don't drive unaccompanied (the majority of the time) ............

So you do drive unaccompanied!

Noopti wrote: »
    Surely it is his prerogative to worry about whatever he wants?

Not when he's sharing a public road with others.

I want all other road users to be confirming to basic legalities. Unaccompanied learner drivers, not yet certified to drive, are not allowed on our roads. Learner drivers are not allowed on our motorways.

So, back to the original query, stay in your Focus (accompanied) until you are certified fit to drive.

So you do drive unaccompanied!

Not when he's sharing a public road with others.

I want all other road users to be confirming to basic legalities. Unaccompanied learner drivers, not yet certified to drive, are not allowed on our roads. Learner drivers are not allowed on our motorways.

So, back to the original query, stay in your Focus (accompanied) until you are certified fit to drive.

Yes I do drive unaccompanied, only locally though, to the shop or to a friends around the corner.

What's the point having rules and regulations, so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

What's the point having rules and regulations, so?

The OP is looking for car advice. We all know the implications for the OP and everyone else as it's been covered a thousand times already on this forum and has no relevance whatsoever to the OP's question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

Who didn't drive on the motorway with an L, jeez......it's not as if they taught you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭MidnightQueen

Too true, besides i think people should learn to drive on that too before their test. Some people who have their full licence still dont know how to drive. Rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Insurance generally goes by horsepower, not engine size. I drive a 1.9 diesel car that's as cheap to insure as a 1.0 Polo. Why you might ask? Because the engine only has 64 HP.

creedp wrote: »
    To be fair to the OP he's simply asking an opinion on a car and not on the rules of the road. And he (assuming it not a she) is correct when he says that a large number of drivers on motorways (whether they have full licences or not) haven't a clue how to drive on same roads. I presume you also similarly chide all the contributors on here who do 45kmph in 40kmph zones or worse still do 80 in a 75 kmph zone.

Personally have no experience of either car but a number of threads on here have praised the focus and criticised the corrolla but that's more down to driving dynamics (within the rules obviously!). So whatever floats you boat really.

Don't think I phrased my final reply very well, my point was that I couldn't argue with his point, there is an unending number of qualified drivers who can't drive on motorways in this country.

To the OP: I had a 1.4l 2003 Fiesta as my first car and it was a very nippy little motor that was a joy to drive in the city. It was a bit hairy at times on the motorway but that was about the only fault I could find with it thinking back, huge boot space and comfortable to sit in.

Whyner wrote: »
    Who didn't drive on the motorway with an L, jeez......it's not as if they taught you.

I didn't. Where's my medal?

Don't think I phrased my final reply very well, my point was that I couldn't argue with his point, there is an unending number of qualified drivers who can't drive on motorways in this country.

To the OP: I had a 1.4l 2003 Fiesta as my first car and it was a very nippy little motor that was a joy to drive in the city. It was a bit hairy at times on the motorway but that was about the only fault I could find with it thinking back, huge boot space and comfortable to sit in.

Well I only drive on the motorway for about 5 minutes, so its not the biggest issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

A Focus is better than a Corolla in every conceivable measure, including dare I say it reliability. The early VVTi Corollas can suffer from burning oil and of course sometimes the gearbox goes on them as well. Admittedly the 1.4 Focus engine is pants, but it is still a far superior car to the Toyota.

What about the fiesta? 1 4 2003 area

They're a fine car, no need to go for the 1.4 though, the 1.25 (1242 cc) has virtually the same amount of power (75 instead of 80 bhp, incidentally a 1.4 Focus has only 75 bhp) but the obvious tax and fuel consumption advantages. Don't get the old 1.3 (1297 cc or thereabouts) engine though; it's slower, less powerful and less economical than either the 1.25 or 1.4 petrol engines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

They're a fine car, no need to go for the 1.4 though, the 1.25 (1242 cc) has virtually the same amount of power (75 instead of 80 bhp, incidentally a 1.4 Focus has only 75 bhp) but the obvious tax and fuel consumption advantages. Don't get the old 1.3 (1297 cc or thereabouts) engine though; it's slower, less powerful and less economical than either the 1.25 or 1.4 petrol engines.
    The Corolla 4ZZ-FE has 97hp , they are actually quite a nippy engine

CJhaughey wrote: »
    The Corolla 4ZZ-FE has 97hp , they are actually quite a nippy engine

For 1.4 it is surprisingly good alright (feels much faster than you'd expect a 1.4 to be), just about the only redeeming feature of a Corolla from that era;)!

However, you'll note that the statement you quoted me as saying is referring to engines in the Mk6 Fiesta, which the OP also asked about:)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Ford Focus 1.6: My little 1.2 van can outmanoeuvre one any day :) Alot of people on here don't particularly like what I drive and as most examples are shagged at this stage I won't bother recommending one ;)

I currently drive a 1.25 Fiesta mk4. Its very wanderly wagon on the motorway but will easily do the limit :) the 1.4 Corolla is a much nicer drive than a 1.6 Focus, be weary of high oil consumption with a vvti. Otherwise, I can't see any reason not to replace the focus with a corolla

Btw is the Focus your own or belongs to your parent/s?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

For 1.4 it is surprisingly good alright (feels much faster than you'd expect a 1.4 to be), just about the only redeeming feature of a Corolla from that era;)!

That was the best Corolla they made, and at the time as good if not better than 90% of the class. Credit where it's due but that was a good car and I hate Toyotas usually. The oil problems were there, completely manageable once the OP knows what they're getting into.

I used to drive one regularly when I had a focus and you won't feel like you're driving an inferior car.

dgt wrote: »
    Ford Focus 1.6: My little 1.2 van can outmanoeuvre one any day :)............

Is your little van as it left the factory?
    Because if not a can of stfeckup is called for :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

EPM wrote: »
    That was the best Corolla they made, and at the time as good if not better than 90% of the class. Credit where it's due but that was a good car and I hate Toyotas usually. The oil problems were there, completely manageable once the OP knows what they're getting into.

I used to drive one regularly when I had a focus and you won't feel like you're driving an inferior car.
    I'd agree, it was a decent car alright. That generation Fiesta really is horrible though. Inside is just as crappy looking as the outside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

dgt wrote: »
    Ford Focus 1.6: My little 1.2 van can outmanoeuvre one any day :) Alot of people on here don't particularly like what I drive and as most examples are shagged at this stage I won't bother recommending one ;)

I currently drive a 1.25 Fiesta mk4. Its very wanderly wagon on the motorway but will easily do the limit :) the 1.4 Corolla is a much nicer drive than a 1.6 Focus, be weary of high oil consumption with a vvti. Otherwise, I can't see any reason not to replace the focus with a corolla

Btw is the Focus your own or belongs to your parent/s?

I drive a 1.25 mk 4, dont do many long journeys on it but its more than capable of doing speed, continuously on long journeys, even ok for overtaking (so long as its not with more than two people, me and a pax) or happening at too high a speed, which I would suggest isnt a thing that should be happening for anyone driving a smaller engined car or even otherwise, experienced or not.
    The boot is small, but enough room in the whole car to transport stuff.
    Not going to lecture about the OP being 18 and on the motorway so long as they are taking it handy, but performance should not be their concern (mpg sure, boot space but not overtaking ability or the ability to carry 5 mates), if they are getting to their destination they should be happy as it shaves hours off their travel time, I wouldnt be drawing attention to myself by an overtaking ability/requirement.

Unless its absolutely fecked (from a maintenance/safety point of view or giving horrible mpg) I'd hold onto what you have, if you're changing for that reason or regardless by all means go to something with more room/boot space, a fiesta 1.25,focus,corolla is more than adequete for a student/someone at 18. So long as its safe to drive and reliable, Id forget the performance requirement and drive like an old lady until you are better experienced.

EPM wrote: »

I've changed my mind, I thought the OP was thinking of the 98 to early 02 shape Corolla:o. That is a heap of crap.

The 02-06 model was indeed a good car, not just good for a Toyota but a good car full stop. It was one of the best cars in the class when it came out as I recall, but the Irish spec ones are manky, not even remote central locking was standard on the poverty spec ones and they only had two airbags. In the UK you could get ones with nice silver dashes and climate control etc, which the Paddy spec ones don't have.

I'd still rather a Focus, but nothing wrong with that shape Corolla either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 30 cutefainne

My focus is very heavy on petrol. Id gladly change if I could afford.

cutefainne wrote: »

What engine is it? The Focus has a repuation for being good on juice. Although if you've got a 1.4, I wouldn't be surprised if it was heavy enough on juice at higher speeds as that engine is woefully underpowered.

cutefainne wrote: »

Really? I find my focus great on Petrol!

Thats one of my worries about changing to a Corolla or Fiesta

RoverJames wrote: »
    Is your little van as it left the factory?
    Because if not a can of stfeckup is called for :P

Nope you got me there... :pac:

A mk1 Punto Sporting 1.2 left boggo should do the same job mind you, they were very nippy in their day ;)

Merch wrote: »
    I drive a 1.25 mk 4, dont do many long journeys on it but its more than capable of doing speed, continuously on long journeys, even ok for overtaking (so long as its not with more than two people, me and a pax) or happening at too high a speed, which I would suggest isnt a thing that should be happening for anyone driving a smaller engined car or even otherwise, experienced or not.
    The boot is small, but enough room in the whole car to transport stuff.
    Not going to lecture about the OP being 18 and on the motorway so long as they are taking it handy, but performance should not be their concern (mpg sure, boot space but not overtaking ability or the ability to carry 5 mates), if they are getting to their destination they should be happy as it shaves hours off their travel time, I wouldnt be drawing attention to myself by an overtaking ability/requirement.

Unless its absolutely fecked (from a maintenance/safety point of view or giving horrible mpg) I'd hold onto what you have, if you're changing for that reason or regardless by all means go to something with more room/boot space, a fiesta 1.25,focus,corolla is more than adequete for a student/someone at 18. So long as its safe to drive and reliable, Id forget the performance requirement and drive like an old lady until you are better experienced.

I find on the motorway that crosswinds affect it. Don't get me wrong, they're a grand car with a decent sized boot for what they are (mines a 5 door) as I said before it will reach the motorway limit with ease. I do a fair bit of long distance driving with my car, the seats are comfortable and supportive so no pains after a while. It's a little small inside especially if you have a sunroof, it eats that little bit extra (I'm 6ft 2). Tank is small at 41 litres but take it handy and it will last for a while. Service bits are cheap as chips such as front arms, drop links, pads, filters etc. Clutch slave is a weak point but if its been replaced theres nothing to worry about.

If you do decide on a Fiesta, different years have different bhp.