Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Black panther in Wicklow?????

• 16-01-2012 9:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭

well lads....

mate of mine was stalking at the weekend, and swears he seen a black panther crossing a lane in a wood in wicklow. He has seen more deer than most and is 100% sure it was not a deer, not a dog and definately a large cat.

That evening there was a piece in the papers about black panthers in Donegal and kilkenny.

Just wondering is it possible that it was a black panther or is the cold winter wicklow air gotten to him ????????????????/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

Was it ballyauther were he saw it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭marcp

patwicklow wrote: »
    Was it ballyauther were he saw it?

im not familar with ballyauther which part of wicklow is that

its near avoca co wicklow were abouts were you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭TossL1916

I saw on sky news last nite that a deer in england was mauled ( they believe ) by a large cat, the deers neck was shredded with large claw marks and large cat sightings have been reported in every county in england so it could be possible.
    I myself am a bit sceptical about it but hey you,d never know.

Well its known around theses parts for years, but its a large black dog that has been seen over the years around avoca manor, ballyauther, ect they say its a ghost.

its near avoca co wicklow were abouts were you

not far away, it was near derrybawn, why you ask about location:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Dai John

Lot of strange sights around, I understand wild boar have been released in our area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

Well its known around theses parts for years, but its a large black dog that has been seen over the years around avoca manor, ballyauther, ect they say its a ghost.

third_party_facepalm.jpg

Dai John wrote: »
    Lot of strange sights around, I understand wild boar have been released in our area.

iv heard about wild boar alright, and muntjac. But with the amount of poaching going on how does anyone think a new arrival will do? My guess - not good

marcp wrote: »
    not far away, it was near derrybawn, why you ask about location:confused:

why i ask about location? well your the one stating you saw a black cat in wicklow its a big county so location would be key on this subject i would think.

no i said a mate says he seen it. i wasnt even there.
    when you asked 'was it ballyauther?' and not 'where was it?' i presumed you had seen or heard somethin there. must be that dog!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 gunisfun

not to but in but there is somthing big and black around my place i saw it to day wile out with the dog i was going throw some wood land heavy cover and my brown lab was after somthing bigger than her self and my dog is quite large so say i have no idea what it was all i know is it is not a deer so small but bigger than any fox i have ever seen and it was all black i dono

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭rabbit assassin

Being a complete sceptic myself I know no one really believes these stories until you witness them first hand. I don't expect anyone to believe my sighting but I know its true as does the chap that was with me and that's all that really matters. Myself and another chap were stalking in Kilmacanogue and while driving back down a boreen on the way home a black cat crossed the road about 50 yards infront of the jeep. Of course anyone that was told the story took the piss as I did when I heard stories of this type. But as I said its only when you see it you can actually fully believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

At this stage I have to come clean, I never told this to anyone beforebecause I was afraid no one would believe me, but I have actually seen a leprechaun :o

oh sorry this isnt the mythical creatures thread is it :rolleyes:

gunisfun wrote: »
    not to but in but there is somthing big and black around my place i saw it to day wile out with the dog i was going throw some wood land heavy cover and my brown lab was after somthing bigger than her self and my dog is quite large so say i have no idea what it was all i know is it is not a deer so small but bigger than any fox i have ever seen and it was all black i dono

Are you in Wicklow yourself gunisfun

4gun wrote: »
    At this stage I have to come clean, I never told this to anyone beforebecause I was afraid no one would believe me, but I have actually seen a leprechaun :o

oh sorry this isnt the mythical creatures thread is it :rolleyes:

There is always 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

father-ted-s3e2-the-legend-of-the-beast_200x113.jpg

no north kerry south limerick i am kinda freaked out and not letting my dogs or hens out at all tomoro and i saw this only down the road form me like 2 min walk

gunisfun wrote: »

no north kerry south limerick i am kinda freaked out and not letting my dogs or hens out at all tomoro and i saw this only down the road form me like 2 min walk

All that can be done is people made aware and everyone keep an eye out

Surely be something shot sometime that will solve the mystery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭jay.b

may have been EL CHUPACABRA ?:eek::eek:

All that can be done is people made aware and everyone keep an eye out

Surely be something shot sometime that will solve the mystery[/QUOT

cant shoot around my house not aloud my the gun club rand the chair man and he sed no proof no shooting so game cams are getting piched of grandad for my use tomoro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

Fcuk me! Here we go again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Coles

I was in the mountains on Sunday for a walk and had to retrace my route because the pet dog went missing. I was at a remote forestry clearing calling for the dog when suddenly in the among the trees I could see a very large black animal watching me from among the trees. It moved steadily and as soon as I moved to get a proper look at it, it was gone. I haven't a clue what it was, but I'm fairly certain it wasn't a black panther!

sorry gunisfun could you repeat that again

Coles wrote: »
    I was in the mountains on Sunday for a walk and had to retrace my route because the pet dog went missing. I was at a remote forestry clearing calling for the dog when suddenly in the among the trees I could see a very large black animal watching me from among the trees. It moved steadily and as soon as I moved to get a proper look at it, it was gone. I haven't a clue what it was, but I'm fairly certain it wasn't a black panther![/QUOTE]

If it was you might not be here :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭jay.b

4gun wrote: »
    sorry gunisfun could you repeat that again

sorry there is a game statuary around my area so can not shoot due to the gun club so when or if i get proof i will be aloud to shoot it my self or get the granddad up with the .300 win mag to try and bag this thing

I dunno lads I'm on the fence about my mate seeing one aswell I only started the thread to see was there any similar experiences. There has to be something weird in the wilds of Ireland there is to many stories going around for it all to be made up

jay.b wrote: »

That's awfull like the guy that was on mounted in Alaska dressed up and making all the yeti noises

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 groundskeeper willie

That's awfull like the guy that was on mounted in Alaska dressed up and making all the yeti noises

looks a bit like yourself there lad!!!!

Well been known for years here if you walk after midnight passed avoca manor
    you will come across a massive black dog the hair stands up on the back of your neck..and i would,nt walk passed there at that time for any money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Well been known for years here if you walk after midnight passed avoca manor
    you will come across a massive black dog the hair stands up on the back of your neck..and i would,nt walk passed there at that time for any money

I'll vouch for this, as I nearly ploughed into a big black fecker of a dog when dropping a friend home one night a couple months back. He says it's a ghost, too, I think its just a grim big stray.

there ye go its not a stray thats for sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭robbie mars

The hounds of the baskerville oops sorry i mean wicklow

there ye go its not a stray thats for sure

Tis no beast, tis the devil's plaything. I'll get the holy water, you get the silver bullets, we have a demon to slay.

But seriously, the thing is bigger than any other dog I've seen, I'd say he'd tear you limb from limb. It was also an absolute idiot, and decided to stand in my side of the road when he saw the headlights. I doubt supernatural goings on, but it's certainly a gigantic dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

My bet will be Eight pages for this thread!!!Any takers???;)

And Careful Now.... BECAUSE

They say it's as big as four cats, and it's got a retractable leg so as it can leap up at you better and you know what Ted, it lights up at night, and it's got four ears. Two of them are for listening and the other two are kind of back-up ears, and it's claws are as big as cups and for some reason it's got a tremendous fear of stamps and Mrs. Doyle was tellin' me that it's got magnets on it's tail so's if you're made out of metal it can attach itself to you, and instead of a mouth it's got four arses. And when he yawns it sounds like Liam Neeson chasing a load of hens around inside a barrel.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Maybe six

Tis no beast, tis the devil's plaything. I'll get the holy water, you get the silver bullets, we have a demon to slay.

But seriously, the thing is bigger than any other dog I've seen, I'd say he'd tear you limb from limb. It was also an absolute idiot, and decided to stand in my side of the road when he saw the headlights. I doubt supernatural goings on, but it's certainly a gigantic dog.

Were on the road was this? did you notice any thing about his eyes? and was it the middle of the road?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

We've caught loads of those yokes down south, nothing to be sniffed at lads, they're angry b*astards

Cats Eyes

Ha.ha ha cats eyes ha ha

We've caught loads of those yokes down south, nothing to be sniffed at lads, they're angry b*astards

well you would,nt catch this one.

like the thing my dog went after yesterday big black and it was bigger than my dog that is quite big may i add

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Oh yeah, definitely

Were on the road was this? did you notice any thing about his eyes? and was it the middle of the road?
    I'd say about a hundred metres after the entrance for the manor, coming from woodenbridge, a bit before the dogleg part of the road, it stood in my fecking lane. Saw noone coming the other way, so drove around it. If anything was to notice it was that it was fairly glassy eyed staring into the headlights. Wasn't around on the way back, though. It was crossing the road before we got near it, then it suddenly decided to stand where it was. Same thing happened just before kilcarra a few minutes earlier, but obviously with a different dog.

Oh yeah, definitely

well i dident baleave any of this stuff till yesterday i dident see what i saw and i don't want to come across it agen with out my u/o and a hand full of 00 shells

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

How many people own guns in wicklow?
    How many deer stalkers are there in wicklow?
    How many poachers are there in wicklow?
    How many people go lamping in wicklow?
    How many people walk the wicklow mountains?
    How many people carry cameras for scenery in wicklow?

Why hasnt it been in a photo or been shot yet?
    must be very good at hiding.

Wicklow's not in caps now but I cant be assed changing it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

How about whoever saw this beastie,going back and getting us some pics of this kittys tracks???Or better still make a cast of them?

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    How about whoever saw this beastie,going back and getting us some pics of this kittys tracks???Or better still make a cast of them?

He has a leafy branch on his tail which covers up the tracks behind him as he walks. Kinda like what the pups did in 101 dalmatians:D

garv123 wrote: »
    Why hasnt it been in a photo or been shot yet?
    must be very good at hiding

It seems to live around private land, particularly that of a bible camp. Going in to a bible camp with guns is normally frowned upon.