Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LAMPING DEER

• 15-01-2012 11:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭

:mad::mad:Well lads

Big problem with lads lamping deer on the kilkenny tipperary border at monment.we are finding deer dead every were .Out shooting last sunday and found a buck dead inside a ditch shot in the neck.
    We have informed the guards and the rangers .All the land owers who have deer on there lands are stoping shooting.
    Any one else having the same problem's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Just shooting for the sake of pulling the trigger like?? At least a poacher has a reason for shooting them, money or food but what a fookin waist, i dont understand it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

They left them? How do ye know this was done under a lamp out of curiosity? The only reason i can think why they left it is that maybe they taught it was a doe and left it cos the game dealer wouldnt take it.

Theres a 4 or 5 lads in our area out with dogs mad after deer and just leaving them there. Heard one fella boasted about getting more than 100 for 2011. :mad:
    They cant be caught because they walk and leave the deer there to rot and walk back home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭driller2

well the deer was shot in the neck he was just inside a ditch.if a lad shot him stalking the deer would have being a easy find.All the local have being informed about the lamping and have being giving number to ring, if they see lights lamping .We are going to do our best to put a end to this .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

dont they know that this kind of activity will ruin all deer shooting/lamping in the country.......idiots......lamping for foxes that is:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Hunter21

Community alert groups for the protection of animals and people's safety need to be set up in poaching black spots! And good active groups that are willing to put in the work and hours. Hearing of landowners and guards suspending shooting in areas is hurting the legit hunters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭sonofthegun

its gone out of hand up our way mate rang me Sunday evening to go out to a local area to watch the lamps from the main road bold as brass and nothing being done about it.
    stog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 groundskeeper willie

its gone out of hand up our way mate rang me Sunday evening to go out to a local area to watch the lamps from the main road bold as brass and nothing being done about it.
    stog

I have a fairly expensive bit of stalking in wicklow and i'v got 2 deer this season. The numbers have just nosedived and poaching is the main reason. Obviously this lease will be going back to coillte at the end of the season because its not worth half what we're payin for it. And from what i'm hearing there wil be many more going back too. Something is going to have to be done about it before an accident happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭robbie mars

All hunting round dundalk has been temporary banned due to this sort of crap as well would sickened your ar*e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

The good old days of the gamekeeper and the local Garda that knew every bollix on his patch are well gone...

I for one would also put a good bit of blame on buyers of venison who don't seem to be very selective as to where their produce comes from. Or to put it more to the point, from folks who keep carcasses rolling up to the slab as if they fall of a conveyor belt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Don Corolone

Same story here in south offaly ,I gave up getting up early in the morning as I just kept finding drag marks ,legs and belly's .There are lads coming up from as far away as wexford to lamp deer with locals.The guards don't care nor do most of the landowners as they just want to get rid of the deer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭The Big Fella

Same story here in south offaly ,I gave up getting up early in the morning as I just kept finding drag marks ,legs and belly's .There are lads coming up from as far away as wexford to lamp deer with locals.The guards don't care nor do most of the landowners as they just want to get rid of the deer!

I know a few lads that stalk deer down there. Where did you hear about the lads coming up from wexford, you must have caught them if thats the case. The boys are tripping over deer down there so perhaps look a little harder. If there is a problem with poaching in your area wait out a few nights in the car for these lads that are poaching. Get the feicing reg number of the suspected poachers to give to the gardai. Complaining about it on boards.ie will not solve the problem!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭sonofthegun

I know a few lads that stalk deer down there. Where did you hear about the lads coming up from wexford, you must have caught them if thats the case. The boys are tripping over deer down there so perhaps look a little harder. If there is a problem with poaching in your area wait out a few nights in the car for these lads that are poaching. Get the feicing reg number of the suspected poachers to give to the gardai. Complaining about it on boards.ie will not solve the problem!

gaurds dont give a fiddlers down here and the super is so anti gun you would only be giving him another reason to deny applications by highlighting exactly what is going on
    stog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

gaurds dont give a fiddlers down here and the super is so anti gun you would only be giving him another reason to deny applications by highlighting exactly what is going on
    stog

Isn't that exactly the sort of logic that has giving cause for the last re-jigging of the firearms legislation. The actions of criminals being used to restrict legitimate gun owners.

It's a simple fact that poachers are involved in the illegal taking of game which is a criminal offence as such but they're quite often also involved in gun crime. Granted it's not as serious as a gangster shooting someone but it's still gun crime.

Unfortunately I can see a situation developing as often has in Irish politics where after a prolonged period of inaction and procastinating and general talking waffle someone in government has an "oh feck we need to do something" moment resulting in a fiasco where as per usual the child gets thrown out with the bath water. A right few former pistol shooters can tell you about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭muff munch

a lot of it is got to do with lads selling the deer.i was talking to a local gun dealer and he was telling me he knows lads who normally wouldnt shoot deer but now that theres money in it they are at it.when money is involved people dont give a sh-t.i know a lot o lads have morgages to pay and ar stuck for the money but with more and more people shooting deer to sell them its going to deplete the numbers.ive been hunting in a place for the last 3 years and when i first started hunting there the place was a walk with deer but this year ive really noticed the decline in numbers and i havent taken 6-7 deer out of that place over them 3 years.my brother lives up in mayo and he says its the same story up there.there could be great deer hunting in this country for years to come if it wasnt so easy to sell deers.i cant see deer hunting lasting much longer if this continues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭323

muff munch wrote: »
    a lot of it is got to do with lads selling the deer.i was talking to a local gun dealer and he was telling me he knows lads who normally wouldnt shoot deer but now that theres money in it they are at it.when money is involved people dont give a sh-t.ive been hunting in a place for the last 3 years and when i first started hunting there the place was a walk with deer but this year ive really noticed the decline in numbers and i havent taken 6-7 deer out of that place over them 3 years.my brother lives up in mayo and he says its the same story up there.there could be great deer hunting in this country for years to come if it wasnt so easy to sell deers.i cant see deer hunting lasting much longer if this continues.

Agree 100%, not much of a future for deer hunting

Gave up even going out before christmas, road passed one area I have permission was being lamped at least twice a night September to mid December, during that period Game butchers from north and south were doing the rounds of the NW every week collecting carcass'.

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭richiedel123

I shoot the sliabh blooms too and deer number are down in serious decline. I myself have met lads from carlow and wexford in the area shooting. I no for a fact one piece of land I shoot, they lamp everytime they are up because the land owner tells me and can even tell me what they shot and where. He didnt care because he wanted the deer thinned out but the wildlife ranger came knocking his door asking about lads lamping and told him there will be consequences if lads are caught lamping there so he stopped them from doin that. I have heard rumours of lads being caught by the guards and ranger in the area but how true it is i dont no. On the first day last year I was waiting for day break to go onto a piece of land I have and I could see lamps shining in the distance. These lads really dont care how or where they shoot them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭richiedel123

I shoot the sliabh blooms too and deer number are down in serious decline. I myself have met lads from carlow and wexford in the area shooting. I no for a fact one piece of land I shoot, they lamp everytime they are up because the land owner tells me and can even tell me what they shot and where. He didnt care because he wanted the deer thinned out but the wildlife ranger came knocking his door asking about lads lamping and told him there will be consequences if lads are caught lamping there so he stopped them from doin that. I have heard rumours of lads being caught by the guards and ranger in the area but how true it is i dont no. On the first day last year I was waiting for day break to go onto a piece of land I have and I could see lamps shining in the distance. These lads really dont care how or where they shoot them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭kakashka

I'm shooting a long time now,Poaching has been going on for all that time and has been much worse in the past,will always be lots of Deer in this country,Deer are not so stupid as to continue to frequent places that are relentlessly lamped and stalked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭marcp

kakashka wrote: »
    I'm shooting a long time now,Poaching has been going on for all that time and has been much worse in the past,will always be lots of Deer in this country,Deer are not so stupid as to continue to frequent places that are relentlessly lamped and stalked

was venison getting 2.50 a kilo in the middle of a recession with a huge amount of lads unemployed and lots of time on their hands?
    i'm not tryin to be smart, i'm only a few years shootin and i just think this is going to destroy deer stalking for those of us who are genuine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

deer poaching was a problem in the past, but back then there weren't as many rifles around let alone big centrefires and venison wasn't making the price it is today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Prohunter

15 years ago or so venison was making more money then it is today
    and that's a fact.. There is still good numbers of deer around but there well away
    from the roads over lads out for handy ones to lazy to walk

landkeeper wrote: »
    deer poaching was a problem in the past, but back then there weren't as many rifles around let alone big centrefires and venison wasn't making the price it is today

from what i'm hearing theres a few young lads in wicklow handing 300 animals in to the game dealer per season. your talking 7 or 8 grand there. there has always been poaching, a lot of it for the table, but its different now.

Prohunter wrote: »
    15 years ago or so venison was making more money then it is today
    and that's a fact.. There is still good numbers of deer around but there well away
    from the roads over lads out for handy ones to lazy to walk

agree. shooting from a window of a jeep (whether you pay for your shooting or not) during the day is poaching too lets not forget

What kind of an anti gun attitude is that? Its the game dealers you need to restrict! Every carcass should be accounted for and limits should be imposed on the ampont of carcasses sold to the game dealers.

the new game handling course is apparantly going to solve the accountability problem, wouldnt hold my breath though. would taxing all payments from game dealers help, or would you be crucifying deer farms and legit commercial stalking?

no anti gun attitude just fact

marcp wrote: »
    was venison getting 2.50 a kilo in the middle of a recession with a huge amount of lads unemployed and lots of time on their hands?
    A time when Venison was worth much more,1+ punt a POUND when a punt was worth a lot and nobody had a job,
    There are MORE deer now than ever,i hear the same story every year,particularly towards the end of season..."where are all the deer gone","must be poachers"..deer get to know the routine and CHANGE their habbits and territory to stay alive

but back then we were only allowed one rifle and max calibre was 22-250 or there abouts
    now every tom dick and harry has a 223 or bigger and some alot more than one

I must say Wicklow was gone bad for poaching
    but it wasn't as bad dis year the few lads gettin caught early in the year helped..

the new game handling course is apparantly going to solve the accountability problem, wouldnt hold my breath though. would taxing all payments from game dealers help, or would you be crucifying deer farms and legit commercial stalking?
    Dealers are taking deer from non licence holders and paying cash so no IMHO you can never stop poaching,more rules and regs will just hinder legit Hunters

but back then we were only allowed one rifle and max calibre was 22-250 or there abouts
    now every tom dick and harry has a 223 or bigger and some alot more than one

A car does not have to be fast to be driven fast if you could relate that to your anti centrefire comments and hidden agenda.

hidden agenda :confused: lost me there lad

A car does not have to be fast to be driven fast if you could relate that to your anti centrefire comments and hidden agenda.

There are more deer shot in Ireland with 223's than any other Calibre,(the new hornet)i certainly dont agree re limits of deer for Hunters-totally unworkable

hidden agenda :confused: lost me there lad
    Swifts were very common back in the late 80s and 90s and not to mention hornets.There was no money back then either! Yet there are more deer now than ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭marcp

A time when Venison was worth much more,1+ punt a POUND when a punt was worth a lot and nobody had a job,
    There are MORE deer now than ever,i hear the same story every year,particularly towards the end of season..."where are all the deer gone","must be poachers"..deer get to know the routine and CHANGE their habbits and territory to stay alive

people have a lot more time on their hands now and a lot less in their pockets.... its handy money, before they were making it working, now they are making it poaching, and as kakashka said deer are being taking in the back door for cash and thats not going to stop

but it wasn't as bad dis year the few lads gettin caught early in the year helped..

Prohunter wrote: »
    and i guarantee the same lads will be shooting away as we speak.Anyway-IMO stalking is actually better now than ever!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭tomcat220t

Would interesting to see how many guys here shoot for the pot or the pocket ?

swifts were not 'common' they were there but not in any number and believe me not that easy to find licensed as a .22 ,as you say hornets were, but the point i was trying to emphasise was that there are far more bigger calibre rifles around now, which make it easier to shoot deer also the fact that a large % of them are equipped with moderators makes the whole job alot simpler than it was back in the day as well as the fact that lamps are lighter and don't need a car battery to function
    however i would agree with you on the gamedealer side of things i have mentioned in the past that a simple tagging system with each shooters npws licence number on each carcass would be a step in the right direction

and i guarantee the same lads will be shooting away as we speak.Anyway-IMO stalking is actually better now than ever!!

u must have a fence around your land!! seriously though, maybe it is in some spots but overall, i dont think so

Better as in you actualy have to stalk

a simple tagging system with each shooters npws licence number on each carcass would be a step in the right direction
    i have to tag mine,have been for years:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Hunter21

i have to tag mine,have been for years:confused:

You won't have much left to stalk if these poachers keep killing all deer before them and no nothing about deer management.

Better as in you actualy have to stalk

not very inviting to poachers then. well theres the reason you still have deer

Hunter21 wrote: »
    You won't have much left to stalk if these poachers keep killing all deer before them and no nothing about deer management.
    Poachers dont stalk..animals are there,just harder to find/see etc especially this time of year

not very inviting to poachers then. well theres the reason you still have deer
    :confused:..

tomcat220t wrote: »

for the pot my self and i use every bit of them.one of the best meats you can eat.if you were to order venison in a resteraunt youd pay for it.an average size deer would feed a family of 4 for 3 weaks easy and i eat it every other day.if lads looked at it that way youd see the money youd save on meat but each to their own i suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭thelurcher

however i would agree with you on the gamedealer side of things i have mentioned in the past that a simple tagging system with each shooters npws licence number on each carcass would be a step in the right direction
    I don't know would a tagging system make much of a difference - it's too easy for the guys that are in it for the money to go legit from a license point of view.
    How is the revenue dealing with it. When they see the game dealers books how do they account for who they're buying from? Surely there's a tax liability there.

I'm finding numbers are definitely down on the last few seasons where I mainly shoot. That said they're are sightings of them in places they've never been before.

the place ive been shooting for the last 3 years is about an hours drive from my own house.once i get down near the place all along the fields on the main road was full of deer when i first tarted shooting down there.and down in the place its self was a walk with deer.i often counted twenty deer in one field.this year tho i havent seen 1 deer along the main road and where i shoot there only scattered here and there.so with the cost of petrol nd so on i dnt bother going there any more.just stay local now.and my brother was saying same story where he is.he said there was lads coming from all over to shoot up there.i just believe if every second lad is shooting to sell the deer we wil all be scratchig or heads in 3-4 years time wondering where all the deer have gone an what were going to do with our deer rifles.just my opinion on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭hunterpajero

tomcat220t wrote: »

we shoot most sundays,any calves or prickets go to the freezer between us if we do get a few in a day they go to the game dealer,all deer are tagged and hunter declaration has to be signed by the shooter,no profit to be made after the diesel and bullets are paid for,its out for the sport we go