Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever see or find anything unusual while cycling.

• 15-01-2012 11:22AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭

I was out early this morning and came across a big keyring with a car key and central locking gizmo. It was on a quiet country lane around Punchestown that I sometimes cycle on and it seemed very strange for it to be sitting in the middle of the road. I picked it up and dropped it off at Naas Garda station.
    It got me wondering if any of you have come across anything strange or find anything while out on the bike. I actually seen a guy hop off his mountain bike and have what he thought was a crafty poop before. He hadn't seen or heard me approach and was mortified to be in the squating position with a fist full of grass as I cycled past.
    You do tend to see more when on the bike than in a car I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭abcdggs

I cycled right over a live pigeon on south king st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

I was out early this morning and came across a big keyring with a car key and central locking gizmo. It was on a quiet country lane around Punchestown that I sometimes cycle on and it seemed very strange for it to be sitting in the middle of the road. I picked it up and dropped it off at Naas Garda station.
    It got me wondering if any of you have come across anything strange or find anything while out on the bike. I actually seen a guy hop off his mountain bike and have what he thought was a crafty poop before. He hadn't seen or heard me approach and was mortified to be in the squating position with a fist full of grass as I cycled past.
    You do tend to see more when on the bike than in a car I think.

I was on the turbo trainer and I saw a strange episode of coronation st

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭eyesquirm

I was on my mtb and got a dose of the squirts, had to get off and relieve myself when a "roadie" cycled past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

Last week I found my way partially blocked by a lady who had parked her 4x4 at the side of the road. She had the back door open and traffic had to move out to avoid her as she stood on the road. I slowed down to try squeeze through the gap that was left between her and the traffic she had her back to. It was at that point I saw what was so important that she had placed herself in such a precarious position. She was playing a game on a Nintendo DS.
    Probably one of those brain training games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,889 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

I saw a man park his car on the the Luas bridge at Heuston station and leap off into the Liffey. I cycled around trying to find a lifebelt, but couldn't find one, while an off-duty policeman called in for help. I also rang the police once I'd exhausted all possibilty of finding a lifebelt. Within five minutes the bridge was swarming with emergency-service personnel. I don't think he re-surfaced though. He definitely didn't reappear during the twenty minutes or so I stayed.

And I saw a dog run over by a van a few weeks later. I hope the poor thing was put down quickly.

So that wasn't a very nice month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭morana

I found a dead otter on the road between howth and Malahide the other day.

morana wrote: »
    I found a dead otter on the road between howth and Malahide the other day.

Found, rather than saw? How'd it taste?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭GlennaMaddy

Saw a sheep stuck in a field with 4 legs in the air, I went back and rolled him over, and he legged it back to the flock. Felt rejected for the rest of my cycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Saw a dog fall out of the window of a moving car, bounced headfirst off the tarmac and then ran off down the road after the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

Two fawns gambolling around Kellystown Road, near the entrance to Stacktown Golf Club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,246 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Sexy amateur photo shoot in the Phoenix Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭daragh_

Lumen wrote: »

Pics? :D

daragh_ wrote: »
    Pics? :D

I was riding with another boardsie at the time and it seemed rude to stop.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,456 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

I was riding another boardsie at the time and it seemed rude to stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I was out for a cycle at the end of April last year. The sky turned a very very unusual blue colour and there was this great yellow thing in the sky.

I thought the world was going to end. IIRC I got very warm when this happened and my legs turned a strange bright red in colour later that night.

I haven't seen anything as unusual as that before or since. Strange indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭elduggo

I saw the same as this a couple of times. Once on the wicklow gap at that ruined church about halfway up. The other time was last summer just up at the feather beds, 3 girls taking topless photos of each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

elduggo wrote: »
    I saw the same as this a couple of times. Once on the wicklow gap at that ruined church about halfway up. The other time was last summer just up at the feather beds, 3 girls taking topless photos of each other.

I want to cycle with you more often.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Saw a tank parked in a field near Ballyboughal.
    AFAIK its still there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭numorouno

caught some scumbags stealing copper from a house that was being renovated 60 miles into a cycle.just had enough energy to ring the Gardai.they were caught and prosecuted.woot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

i tend to find money when on the bike,found 140 euro last year around town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭Moflojo

I found a fiver in the bike lane near Christchurch.

I bought a set of raffle tickets from a local sports club with the money.

Won nothing.

Karma sucks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

I was startled late one windy night on Kilmashouge lane by a very old man emerging from the bushes. He was wearing a dark hood and cloak so I couldn't see his face but he walked with a cane and dragged a dead fox behind him. He had what appeared to be a sniper rifle with a scope slung over his shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

A bag of foxes tails! :eek: No kidding. Just after Christmas lying at side of road, about 10 tails freshly removed/cut. Really made me sick as can't understand this kind of butchery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭monkeyslayer

i was mountain biking about seven or eight years ago on a trail in the glen of the downs, the one that goes up to the old ruin at the top, when i spotted a man masturbating in the thicket and when he saw me he laughed aloud at me, shocking stuff, i told him to go f*ck himself as i sped up and away, only to realize the irony a moment later that was pretty much what he was doing... that was the last time i ever went up there on my own, scary woods that one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,227 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I found an iPhone last summer in the Phoenix Park at about 6 am. It was just lying on the road.

A fox crossed the road in front of me on the Dunboyne to Summerhill road a few weeks back.

I saw a "Dublin Bikes" bike just lying on the footpath in Blanchardstown village last autumn (again, very early in the morning).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭morana

i was mountain biking about seven or eight years ago on a trail in the glen of the downs, the one that goes up to the old ruin at the top, when i spotted a man masturbating in the thicket and when he saw me he laughed aloud at me, shocking stuff, i told him to go f*ck himself as i sped up and away, only to realize the irony a moment later that was pretty much what he was doing... that was the last time i ever went up there on my own, scary woods that one...

I suppose if he couldve ****ed himself he wouldnt have been spanking the monkey!

Anyway forgot to say last week on the road between Ratoath and Skyrne I sees a dead ram in the ditch. Big horns nasty look guy so I went on and 2 mile up the road there is another Ram running down the road towards me...musta been his brother!

Lots more stuff like this but I will dripfeed you !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,567 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

had a pigeon fly into my back wheel

a pile of cows heads left in a field

See the army out at Sally gap every so often, inflicting hardship on new recruits :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭mediwheel

People dogging just off N11 near Kilpedar !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭dave2pvd

Jekyll Island, Georgia. Had an up-close encounter with a 10ft alligator.

I didn't notice him him as I approached the bank of the pond.

Happily, he chose flight rather than fight. Reared up on his tail, spun around (half axle?), splashed down into the water and headed off to the other side of the pond, at pace.

To say I was fairly shook would be an understatement.

gator.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭Zen0

Saw this guy (or gal) on the road between Curtlestown and Enniskerry. Tried poking it back into the grass to save it from death by squishing, but it refused to cooperate. Must have been a gal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Sr. Assumpta

dave2pvd wrote: »
    Jekyll Island, Georgia. Had an up-close encounter with a 10ft alligator.

I didn't notice him him as I approached the bank of the pond.

Happily, he chose flight rather than fight. Reared up on his tail, spun around (half axle?), splashed down into the water and headed off to the other side of the pond, at pace.

To say I was fairly shook would be an understatement.

gator.jpg

Good that in your shaken state (both of you) you still managed to get a photo op.
    Is that "fight" or "flight" he's doing there???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭elduggo

Raam wrote: »
    I want to cycle with you more often.

nothing good ever happens in north county

I always find you're more likely to come across something odd if you cycle during the week (when most people are at work).

I'll bring a camera in future!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

A Nintendo DS near the Castleknock entrance to the Park - helpfully the owner had a number taped on it so I rang it and they met me later to reclaim it.

Money - the most I've found was a tenner on the way into Skerries (I've already spent it, Beasty!)

And cycling on the North York Moors between Danby and Pickering I was crossing the moor-top and when I looked down in to the valley I saw an Apache Helicopter zipping along right on the deck - stopped the bike to watch when his buddy came over the ridge I was on about 50 metres away - I just stood there with, no doubt, a stupid look on my face -> :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭-K2-

Lots of roadkill but the most memorable were: a full (fresh) deer near Blessington during the Wicklow 200 in 2010; 2 dead foxes side-by-side on the UCD flyover; the head, neck and about 1/4 of the body of a deer in a ditch near Manor Kilbride: the rest of it must have been eaten by foxes.

A guy in full camouflage with a rifle or shotgun stepped out from behind a bush in front of me near Roundwood last November; luckily it wasn't open-season on cyclists or I would be roadkill.

Gougers in modified cars. Lots of them. They aren't roadkill.

bcmf wrote: »
    Saw a tank parked in a field near Ballyboughal.
    Saw a herd of Buffalo, or is it Bison, in a field near Ballyboughal, gone now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭dave2pvd

Good that in your shaken state (both of you) you still managed to get a photo op.
    Is that "fight" or "flight" he's doing there???

Hah! Well, I felt that mere words were not enough to convey how frightening these giant reptiles are when up close and personal. So, a google search for "Jekyll Island Alligator" ensued. Pretty sure its the same feller though ;)

They smell pretty bad too. If only I could somehow share that part....shame google doesn't have a smell search engine.

Jawgap wrote: »
    And cycling on the North York Moors between Danby and Pickering I was crossing the moor-top and when I looked down in to the valley I saw an Apache Helicopter zipping along right on the deck - stopped the bike to watch when his buddy came over the ridge I was on about 50 metres away - I just stood there with, no doubt, a stupid look on my face -> :eek:

I had that experience with a harrier jump jet while cycling the Brecon Beacons on holiday :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭Colonialboy

A KANGAROO jumped out from the ditch in front of a friend of mine a few years back.
    He was driving a van but he is a keen cyclist...so its borderline if this qualifies for the thread but the strangest thing about it was he was in the Comeragh mountains in Waterford.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Stephen's day, I saw a guy with a fox on his shoulder on a leash at Tuitestown.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭McTigs

There was a guy doing a poo under a hedge on my morning commute there just before the christmas. About quarter to 8 so it was dark but under lots of lights so he could be seen clearly.

Didn't look particularly homeless either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭potsy11

I spotted 2 men breaking into a factory. They were in the process of cutting the chain on the main gate. I thought it to be a bit odd considering the vehicle they were driving (an ancient flat bed lorry).

I didnt batter an eyelid as they saw me. I continued on up the road and cycled up to the open window of the Garda Station where 3 x Gardai were reading the newspaper and having their dinner...

I told them what was happening and they leaped up with the speed and determination of a superhero.

I let them at it and continued on with my cycle. I passed by the factory about 25 mins later and the 2 men were in handcuffs and being put into the rear of the squad car.

Needless to say, after telling my friends of the incident, I now get called Jessica Fletcher and recommendations of retro fitting a basket to the front of my carbon bike have been made. the theme tune can be heard as I walk into the pub on a night out with them!

Saw a herd of Buffalo, or is it Bison, in a field near Ballyboughal, gone now.
    I think in Europe its Bison.
    When I moved out here there was a farm on the Naul Rd. that had ostrich (plural?).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

bcmf wrote: »
    ostrich (plural?).

The term that you are looking for is "a shít load".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

A police horse opening his bowels right in front of me :pac:

...'a sh!t load of ostrich'. Yep sounds about right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭Tombo2000

I was backpacking in rural western China and rented a bike for the day to have a look at the countryside.

I cycled to a market town about 30km away, saw the market and then cycled back.

Typically the way at went at markets was that the farmers would buy/sell their stuff and then have a few brews.

On my cycle back, I was going through a small little village, dirt track place with a sharp-ish bend at the centre of it.

I came cycling around the bend, and there was a big fight going on between two chaps, with about 8 more lads watching.

They'd had a few brews by the looks of it.

One of the lads picked up a brick and flung it at the other lad. But the other lad ducked, and the brick hit the front wheel of my bike.

At this point I had nearly stopped anyway, to watch the fight unfold, so it didnt do much damage.

But there were gasps of WTF?!!? all round.......me thinking....did that lad really just threw a brick at the other guy......them thinking...where did this fuppin foreigner come from......

The upshot was that in the bizarrness of it all they stopped fighting and calmed down.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

I went on a Swords spin once where no-one half wheeled .........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

A KANGAROO jumped out from the ditch in front of a friend of mine a few years back.
    He was driving a van but he is a keen cyclist
    Was it the kangaroo driving the van or your friend driving the van?

Lars1916 wrote: »
    A police horse opening his bowels right in front of me :pac:

Was the garda going to climb inside to keep warm, like in Star Wars?

That would be deadly.

Was the garda going to climb inside to keep warm, like in Star Wars?

That would be deadly.

And ethically dubious.