Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Rewards of Your Debs Night

• 15-01-2012 12:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Jude_2010

My debs is on in August (23rd)
    i was on FaceBook an came across this page:
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/He-wants-the-ride-and-she-wants-a-debs-invite/163556670346888?sk=info

'He wants the ride and she wants a debs invite'

I couldn't help but laugh haha.
    I wonder how many debs dates have agreed to this 'contract'?
    sounds like a fair trade to me :D

And how many girls out there are willing to give their date the ride at the end of it all. Cause face it thats all most of us are after :)

Ah the debs. Factor in an argument with whoever you bring at some point in the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Debs? That's Dub talk

Known as the grad around these parts. Midlands

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

It's only the start of one of many contracts in life...

Becomes...

'He wants the ride and she wants a nice birthday present'

'He wants the ride and she wants an engagement ring'

'He wants the ride and she wants her big day'

'He wants the ride and she wants a baby'

and so on...

Men may always want the one thing, but at least they are consistent. And easy to please!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Plenty of tramps out there. I'm sure that site will thrive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

My debs was unreal. Broke up with the boyfriend during the leaving and brought my best friend, who I vaugly recall him trying to sober me up with a breakfast roll.

Waste of time as I was hammered by dinner.

Didn't get the ride cause like, eww, but did end up losing an expensive white gold ring, a finger nail, corsage and my shoes. Daniel carried me off the bus and my mother undressed me when I got home cause I was wrote off.

Good times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Terri26

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Debs? That's Dub talk

Known as the grad around these parts. Midlands

no it's not! It's known as the debs in Mullingar and always has been. The grad is your event at the end of the school year before the leaving cert!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

Debs are over-rated tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Terri26 wrote: »
    no it's not! It's known as the debs in Mullingar and always has been. The grad is your event at the end of the school year before the leaving cert!

That event is the grad mass night
    Well it was for us, went to a CBS. Mass held in school then out for the night

Doesn't matter anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Finger and a shift. Concluded with serious tugging when at home while smelling the finger. Thats why you should use your off hand for the finger.

The youth of today have really high expectations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Lots of speed and baileys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Grads for boys schools, debs for girls schools I thought?

Our school didn't have a debs - apparently because a significant number of girls got knocked up at the 1985 one or something. How such info could have been gleaned or how the school felt responsible, I don't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Debs - the "you can dress them up but you can't take them out" night

Nothing worse than watching elegantly-dressed people embarrassingly ****faced as their first "classy" night out, or being in such a state that they won't remember having sex or who with.

Although one wasn't particularly messy last year so maybe I'm being unfair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I didn't go to my debs. One reason being the guy I was with around the time had that typical mentality of how the night would go. Which caused a horrible incident between us and much drama bla bla bla.

I don't regret not going though. Went to a grown up dance thing a while ago and won prom queen :D No drama cause we are not children now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Kim_Il_Jong

who I vaugly recall him trying to sober me up with a breakfast roll.

Good times

That wasn't a breakfast roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Didn't go. Didn't miss anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭GreenWolfe

Red Hand wrote: »
    Didn't go. Didn't miss anything.

Same here. Trying to survive a night with the company of whom I despised at the end of secondary school, and paying for the privilege? No thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Salty

The amount of people who actually get the ride at their debs is very low. I don't know why some people build it up in their heads, it's unlikely to happen. At the end of the debs night, people either wander around town until the morning, or else are passed out drunk at their house/friend's house/date's house, or else go home to bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Last year there was some young fella also of African descent trying to break into my house at some odd hour of the morning, but luckily I noticed while reaching for the bata and the mobile that he was wearing a tuxedo.

Considering it unlikely that he was the next Bond getting into character, although he couldn't be much worse than that Craig lad, it turned out to be the next door neighbours son who thought he was getting into his own house plastered drunk after his debs. I offered to let him sleep it off on the couch but he eventually got his sister to let him in by calling her on my phone.

The moral of the story is don't get your hopes up, don't take it seriously, and go easy on the sauce. The whole thing is a bit silly really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I knew a girl did it for a mars bar once... so this chap is well in for it.

yep I still have the herpe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Same here. Trying to survive a night with the company of whom I despised at the end of secondary school, and paying for the privilege? No thanks.

You sound like a right laugh.

Every time without fail one of these comes up someone chimes in with how every one to a man from their old school was a tosser. You cant help but wonder who the real cock was. I personally liked the school mob alot more than the college mob, generally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭carfiosaoorl

Ah loved my debs great night. I wore a 200 yr old dress that I swore I'd mind but managed to mangle. Got barred from the hotel and they called the guards on me. Great laugh though hehe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

My debs was unreal. Broke up with the boyfriend during the leaving and brought my best friend, who I vaugly recall him trying to sober me up with a breakfast roll.

Waste of time as I was hammered by dinner.

Didn't get the ride cause like, eww, but did end up losing an expensive white gold ring, a finger nail, corsage and my shoes. Daniel carried me off the bus and my mother undressed me when I got home cause I was wrote off.

Good times

So he didn't fancy you, then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

Haha of course he did, obviously. He's human, after all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭GreenWolfe

You sound like a right laugh.

Every time without fail one of these comes up someone chimes in with how every one to a man from their old school was a tosser. You cant help but wonder who the real cock was. I personally liked the school mob alot more than the college mob, generally.

I made good friends at college.

Problem is, almost everyone else in my class in secondary school didn't seem to give a toss about anyone else either. The class I was in sundered completely for some reason. Sixth year had far too much drama for my liking. Some of these people still hold deep grudges against each other today ffs. All over trivial stuff that happened years ago and should be forgotten.

You're describing your school and college people-you-hung-out-with as "mobs". Looks like you had to start slumming it because your betters didn't like you. Not a reason to be smug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I didn't bother going. My school was full of scumbags and I wasn't going drinking with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Babybuff

didn't go, spent the night smoking weed with my closeted lesbian bff who splashed out on a supermacs chicken box to make me feel better then made me sleep at her place. Like she always did.

Babybuff wrote: »
    didn't go, spent the night smoking weed with my closeted lesbian bff who splashed out on a supermacs chicken box to make me feel better then made me sleep at her place. Like she always did.

nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 MarcusBaraucs

...Met your'wan out of my class at my debs, she was on the blob...Got the ride...Sure, who doesn't mind a bit of sauce on their chips..!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Babybuff

The good old days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Facebook has changed everything. I want to be in school again. Last time left lots of room for improvement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭Downlinz

Didn't go to mine either, it was 3 months after graduating. After having escaped from that shower why on earth would I willingly go back. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

You're describing your school and college people-you-hung-out-with as "mobs". Looks like you had to start slumming it because your betters didn't like you.

Excuse me....my "betters"?

I just found the college crowd too staid and boring. I was just turned 18, was getting fairly heavy into my raves and all by that point, whereas most people in college seemed more content with 2 euro vodka night in Tramco or Barcode listening to whatever poppy garbage was in the charts, or a few pints down in Whelans listening to whatever Paddy Casey/ The Frames clones happened to be playing that night. Most of the proper sessioners and good looking birds had dropped out of my class or ceased coming in by Christmas, so yeah it was pretty boring. People seem to talik up college as being all about atrociously heavy drinking, rampant drug use and scoring. When all the sessioners and hot birds drop out it makes this lifestyle somewhat incompatible with reality. My mates college mind, I used to buzz down to his and it would be carry on that Shaun Ryder would be prudish about, but my dump....meh.

Glad I left mind, if I had persued it to graduation Id have been coming out skint just as the economy went tits up. Instead I got a half decent job and had a nice amount of dosh to bail out of the sinking ship and set myself up in Australia :) Moral of the story kids, never listen to your mother.

I knew a girl did it for a mars bar once
    I hope you're being Faithfull to the truth.

You're describing your school and college people-you-hung-out-with as "mobs". Looks like you had to start slumming it because your betters didn't like you.
    It doesn't in the slightest IMO. "Mob" (no plural) was just being used as a turn of phrase.

Who are one's "betters" in school?

Dudess wrote: »
    I hope you're being Faithfull to the truth.
    I wish I was joking :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Didn't bother with my own debs, as it cost 125€ a ticket of something mad, and was in the Nuremore in Monaghan. Pfft, feck that.

Did however go to two other debses. In one of them, the girl I was with asked me to not drink to much as she didn't want to have to haul a drunken oaf around. Crap night. Didn't help that I didn't know anyone there.

Second debs involved getting blind drunk and tearing my suit jacket somehow. We then went to Home in Balbriggan, and aimlessly wandered until the morning bus so we could get back to yer wans house in Malahide so I could pick up my stuff from her house and go home. Better night, still not amazing by any stretch, you wouldn't miss out on a lot on not going. Yer wan was an annoying prat and kept saying stupid crap, though, was a very annoying person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭FinnLizzy

I wen't with my OH for both mine and her's so there wasn't much difference between that and any other night out with her. Only difference was the price of the clothes being thrown on the floor.

I enjoyed my grad, but I can see why people wouldn't want to go. The cliquish nature of the grad committee and the amount of people that took it seriously. My mum dropped us off and we blended into the crowd as we watched a load of limos of knacker proportions roll in with lads who were bringing girls that wouldn't come close to putting out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭wilkie2006

It's only the start of one of many contracts in life...

Becomes...

'He wants the ride and she wants a nice birthday present'

'He wants the ride and she wants an engagement ring'

'He wants the ride and she wants her big day'

'He wants the ride and she wants a baby'

and so on...

Men may always want the one thing, but at least they are consistent. And easy to please!

I laughed a lot at that. Very good. Thanks! :D

didn't go to mine
    the cost was unreal, and i went to a different school for 6th year while all my old friends were in 5th year - and everyone at the new place went to their old schools' debs instead
    tbh i wasn't bothered, didn't sound like i was missing much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Explosions in the Sky

I had been working night shifts prior to my debs, finished work at 8am after a really long night, didn't get to sleep till atleast 9 am. Literally only got about 4 hours sleep as I had to pick up a tie and other debs related stuff. By 9 o clock I was fit for sleep and the pints didn't help, my debs story :) These things are definitely overrated :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I didn't bother going to my debs.

Like all normal people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭William_Hicley

I made good friends at college.

Problem is, almost everyone else in my class in secondary school didn't seem to give a toss about anyone else either. The class I was in sundered completely for some reason. Sixth year had far too much drama for my liking. Some of these people still hold deep grudges against each other today ffs. All over trivial stuff that happened years ago and should be forgotten.

You're describing your school and college people-you-hung-out-with as "mobs". Looks like you had to start slumming it because your betters didn't like you. Not a reason to be smug.

Wow, you really sound like a jerk in that post.

Anyway, been to three debs, didnt get off with any of em! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Went to 3 debs, shagged on the first one, even though I was plastered, then agains, I think the little lad went diving, 2nd one went with one girl, left with another, no shag, went for the other cause I though I would be in with a chance. 3rd debs, got locked and fell asleep in the ladies.

Wasn't going to go to my own, but did in the end cause the then gf wanted to. Should have dumped here and saved me a load of hassle and money...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Went to 3 debs, shagged on the first one, even though I was plastered, then agains, I think the little lad went diving, 2nd one went with one girl, left with another, no shag, went for the other cause I though I would be in with a chance. 3rd debs, got locked and fell asleep in the ladies.

Did you ever consider writing romantic stories for Mills and Boon?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

Didn't get the ride cause like, eww,

Wtf does that mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭cul-2008

Wtf does that mean?

Go to www.google.ie/translate

Insert said phrase.

Translate from D4 Loike to English.

Result - he wouldn't give me the ride, so he's the mingerrr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Went to my debs, was a pretty crap night all around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Been to three debs so far. All three were a bit of fun. Only got the ride after the second one. I was way too tired after the other two to be laying pipe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭xclw

thought my grad/debs was right craic, except the hotel wouldn't serve tequila, sambucca, jager bombs, silver bullet, supermans yano the popular shots.
    went around carrying a helium balloon for half the night..
    bouncers wouldn't let me get up on the stage either :/
    it is a great night but they're way too expensive, would have had just as good of a night if everyone went to the usual night club. like tickets, dress, shoes, hair, tan, make up, bag, jewellary adds up to bout €500 and then spending money on the night too. for one night is way too much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

I never went to mine because I didn't want to pay 200+ to hang out with people I don't like.