Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Songs that make me change the radio station

• 13-01-2012 8:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭

Of the current batch songs seemingly being played ad infinitum, high on the stations playlists are a couple of tunes that have me bolting to the radio to change stations because the song really irks me on some level or other.

For me at the moment it's The Delorentos when they start chanting numbers "15, 21, 25, 35, 45". How fecking mind numbing yet it's flavour of the month with the DJs.

Another is The Nationals who sing a twee little dittie about having cats, then the cats die, then they get new cats, hey hey whoo whoo, hey hey whoo whoo, hey hey whoo whoo...

Any songs that make you squirm so much that you have to turn the radio off, program out of the playlist, leave the room, take a scissors to the headphone lead of the bastard sitting beside you playing their music TOO LOUDLY?

Bugger. Venting didn't help, I'm still grumpy.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Your first mistake was listening to the radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Ha! Phantom have just put "The Nationals" on the turntable. I'm listening to Lyric now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

I'm a metal head, Lyric fm is the only radio music I can tolerate.

Ya'll can keep the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

I'm a metal head, Lyric fm is the only radio music I can tolerate.

Ya'll can keep the rest.

Ahh Lyric, home of 17th century Baroque Metal. Guitar players might hang up their instruments forever after listening to the solos of Scarlatti. Awesome heavy metal harpsichord. Srsly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

ANY Christmas song comes on and I make a wild lunge in anger towards the wireless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Anything that only consists of bass.

40% of music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

As sweeping a statement as it is, I don't like pretty much any music from the last 10 years. And the 10 before that weren't up to much either. Thank god for MP3 players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I hate that one that goes (i dont know the words so i'll hum it) Mmmmmmm mmmmmm mmmmm mmmmm mmmmm mmmmmm mmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm and so on....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Anything by westlife or Katy fucking Perry:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Haven't gone near the radio since I done tiling years ago. Would have the radio on and the amount of times I'd hear the same music throughout the day, everyday would drive me insane.

Radio Ga Ga? More like Radio Poo Poo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

CJC999 wrote: »
    I hate that one that goes (i dont know the words so i'll hum it) Mmmmmmm mmmmmm mmmmm mmmmm mmmmm mmmmmm mmmmmm mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm and so on....
    Crash Test Dummies?

I love that song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Battleflag

Stopped listening to Irish radio stations years ago, tend to listen to XFM London when at work - so all is good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Anything by Westlife.
    Anything by Boyzone.
    Anything by anyone involved in X Factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Diddy Kong

Anything by that lump Adele, I have even left some shops when her crap is on. Cannot stand her.

• Site Banned Posts: 44 Pegasus Galactica

Everything being produced now is so bland and its not the money hungry produces that are to blame but rather the fans for paying for the rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

There's so many that i only listen to internet radio now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭what a day

Any thing to do with X factor or lady gaga (she freaks me out)

As posted above your going wrong by turning on the radio, ipod or CDs.

The most annoying thing on the radio though the the crap talk by Djs that think they are funny and yap on about celebs or some thing they saw on twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Jedward, Dance music, Lady Gaga

luckily NOVA don't play any of that shoite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Anything in the Louis Walsh stable
    Listen to Nova mostly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Sleepy wrote: »

They do play a lot of shoite though. Just because it's from the late 70's early 80's and has guitars in it, does not mean it's good!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Here are a few workarounds to listening to sh!tty Irish radio and sh!tty Irish\UK\US bands. (In an office setting).

Download Radiosure.

That's it. You can get genre specific stations on that (or add your own via stations own streaming url).

Or youtube.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 90 ✭✭windingo

Anything that isn't Johnny Cash - which tends to be everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Cianos wrote: »
    Sleepy wrote: »

They do play a lot of shoite though. Just because it's from the late 70's early 80's and has guitars in it, does not mean it's good!
    Oh no they don't :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

At home I listen to my own music but in the car it's either Phantom or Nova. Cannot tolerate any other station for more than ten minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

The fact that there is so much rubbish out there makes me avoid turning on the radio in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Plumpynutt

Everything tbh. Radio is bollocks, bar Lyric. Spin is regularly on in the house, everything about that radio station makes me want to commit acts of violence, from the retarded f*cks who do the 5 word weather thing, the American voice over thing, to the bile they play.

S'why I don't listen to the radio anymore:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭what a day

Aggh and that stupid thing on Fm104 nod your noggin, they play a good song but you cant hear it because nod your noggin is played over ot for two 3rds of the song. Worst thing everon the radio though is the toll trolls, pat Cortneys horrible accent and spins good news.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Dale Parish

Anything Spin SouthWest plays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Tonight by Black Eyed Peas. The intro makes me change the radio station

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

anything by Beyonce, Jessie J, Professor Green or Lady GaGa. And hundreds of others. prefer listening to Sean Moncrieff in the afternoon and then time for the ipod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭StaticNoise

Anything by that complete and utter, talentless gobshite Bruno Mars.
    Despite that little fecker through and through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Anything Spin SouthWest plays.

Anything iRadio plays, music (allegedly) or their inane chat between.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

Poxy Rihanna, and Lady Gaga....that talentless piece of sh1t Pitbull really wrecks my head, how he's got a record deal is beyond me, I honestly dont think i'v ever heard a worse artist in my life, my mate has hit his album in his car and always plays it, albums for gays, i think he's gay, he said it's a real party album, we're in your fcuking car not at a party....at the start of every song he says mr worldwide huh huh....Wánker!!!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Hi,I'm tony fenton.Today my playlist goes as follows

Lady Gaga
    Adele
    Noah and the Whale
    Christina perry (?)
    Adele
    Katy perry
    Rihanna
    Beyoncé
    Noah and the whale
    Queen
    And Lady Gaga

Tune in tomorrow for the very same shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

pmcmahon wrote: »
    Hi,I'm tony fenton.Today my playlist goes as follows

Lady Gaga
    Adele
    Noah and the Whale
    Christina perry (?)
    Adele
    Katy perry
    Noah and the whale
    Queen
    And Lady Gaga

Tune in tomorrow for the very same shíte.

He does have the same playlist every day for a month before he changes to a new list which lasts another month...you forgot Coldplay...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Rihanna-we found love, beyonce- put a ring on it and one direction- what makes you beautiful.... Three absolutely brutal songs.

Die die die

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I save time by not turning on the radio in the first place.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Neil Young - Rockin' in the Free World

Quite possibly the worst ****ing song in existence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

The only station that isn't heavily repetitive with it's music is Dublin City FM, the traffic reports show. And the Trad one.

Nova and Phantom are the only tolerable music stations but by jaysus are they useless for new stuff or different stuff, or even Irish stuff.

I like Dave Fanning but I am never driving when he is on and forget which time and station.

I too switch to Lyric when the airwaves have fk all decent music to offer and I am sometimes glad I did.

Actually mostly I just have my gaypod on now so I don't have to suffer. Unless I haven't changed my music in ages though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

I know its old but having heard this song 20-30 time a day for 6 months in my early twenties, not only do I feel like changing the station I feel like hurling myself off a bridge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Nearly all of them, this why I dont ever listen to the radio. Unless you can find me a radio station that plays touhou smooth jazz, ahhhhh~

windingo wrote: »
    Anything that isn't Johnny Cash - which tends to be everything.

You've crossed the line there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Don't call me baby. Madison Avenue .

I have a pathological hatred of that song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Allz dat rock metal goth schite, NDubz FTW;)

The most horrid piece of sh1t ever committed to disc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Anything by Brezzy(sp?) The coronas, The wanted and much much more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Neil Young - Rockin' in the Free World

Quite possibly the worst ****ing song in existence.

Whoooaaaa!!! you hold up right there!

I used to stomach Nova but even that's gone to shite. Far too heavy reliance on bland 80's elevator rock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭The Big Fella

Any Beyonce song especially should of put a ring on it!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭Fourteen

anything by the Coronas or Kings of Leon.