Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man City v Liverpool - Carling Cup Semi Final. BBC 1, Kick-off: 7:45pm

• 11-01-2012 10:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭

mc_1.jpg

TEAM NEWS

Manchester City lost their appeal over Vincent Kompany's red card against Manchester United so he will begin his four-game ban against Liverpool.
    Mario Balotelli, Edin Dzeko and David Silva are doubts, but Gareth Barry is back from suspension.

The Reds will restore Daniel Agger, Jose Enrique, Glen Johnson and Martin Skrtel to the starting line-up after they were rested against Oldham.
    Captain Steven Gerrard is also expected to start.

MATCH PREVIEW

City have now gone out of two competitions at the first hurdle this season, a statistic that will not sit well with manager Roberto Mancini.
    It was their first defeat at home for 31 matches and losing their grip on the FA Cup to their biggest rivals made it an even tougher pill to swallow.

This match comes only eight days after City despatched Liverpool 3-0 in a Premier League clash, and they have lost to the Reds just once in their last seven encounters. Liverpool may have scored five at Anfield on Friday against Oldham, but goals have been at a premium this season. They have managed 14 in 10 league games at home so far and just 24 in total - compared to a whopping 56 scored by City. In the absence of Suarez, it is time for the £35m man, Andy Carroll, to step up and justify his enormous price tag.

The League Cup is a competition Dalglish has fond memories of as he lifted the trophy four times as a player at Wembley, but it has so far eluded him as a manager. Since Wembley reopened in 2007, Liverpool are yet to play a match at a ground that became almost a second home during Dalglish's first spell at the club. It's a run they are desperate to put to an end with a two-legged victory over City, especially as a Championship club awaits the winner in the final.

MATCH FHACTS

Head-to-head
    • This is the 164th meeting between the two clubs. Liverpool have won 80 times, Manchester City 42 and there have been 41 draws.
    • They have met three times before in the League Cup. City beat Liverpool 3-2 in the third round on their way to winning the cup in 1970. They lost 2-1 on aggregate in the semi-final of the 1980-81 season, with eventual winners Liverpool taking the first leg 1-0 at Maine Road. And in the 1995-96 season, Liverpool hammered City 4-0 in the third round.
    • Three out of the last four games between the sides have ended 3-0 to the home side.

Manchester City
    • Manchester City have won the League Cup twice, in 1969-70 (beat WBA 2-1) and 1975-76 (beat Newcastle 2-1), and lost in the final to Wolves in 1973-74.
    • They have qualified for the semi-finals for the second time in three seasons, and the seventh time in their history - they have won three and lost three of the previous six.
    • They have scored in their last 11 League Cup matches, and failed to score in only one of the last 21 - a 2-0 home defeat to Spurs in the quarter-finals in December 2007.
    • City are looking for a sixth successive home win in the League Cup.

Liverpool
    • Liverpool are the most successful club in League Cup history, having won it seven times (81, 82, 83, 84, 95, 01, 03) and finishing runners-up three times (78, 87, 05).
    • This is their eighth away game in nine League Cup matches.
    • The 2-0 away defeat to Chelsea in the 2007 quarter-finals is the only time they have failed to score in 42 League Cup outings.
    • They are participating in their 14th semi-final. Of the previous 13, 10 were won, including the last three.

Coverage on BBC 1 from 7:30pm.

What will the result be? 108 votes

Man City win
    0%
    Draw
    37%
    IITYWYBMADKingp35BarrMonkeyTennisNukaColastesaurusthegencarlconxtal191Xavi6dfx-claivaOrdinary mangeurowandatowellmailrewopMUSEISTeverdead.ieDenManDiggy78 41 votes
    Liverpool win
    15%
    YouTookMyNameMr AlaninternelligentWarperMagicMarkerI am piejenno86Hank ScorpioIvySlayerredarmytommyhaasniallo27Sgt Pepper 64magma69Insane Ramblingth3 s1aught3rDelboy007 17 votes
    Floodlight failure due to Asian betting ring
    46%
    ButcherOfNogmike65RaskolnikovBigConswalshKeedowah_blank_lpool2k05danniemcqLister1copaceticfred funk }{mwrfronan.hBandana boyJesus WeptjebidiahredzerdrogrichymcdermottGalvasean 50 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

City will put this to bed tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭DoctorGonzo08

Draw
    I would expect Liverpool to put up more of a showing than the last visit, especially with Gerrard back in the side. He should be afforded more time on the ball with De Jong and Barry most likely playing deep.

It all depends on how Liverpool line up. If they go for a 4-5-1 again, I'd expect City to close out the tie tonight. If they go for a 4-4-2, I'd expect the tie to be quite close going to Anfield.

City win tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

3-1 Liverpool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

High scoring game please. Wouldn't mind any team winning it. Maybe for the first time I will be watching City vs Liverpool as a neutral.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

BBC1????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Who's the ref tonight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Draw

Reina
    Johnson
    Skrtel
    Agger
    Enrique
    Spearing----Adam

Gerrard
    Maxi
    Bellamy
    Downing

If Liverpool put out a team like that, I could see them putting up a decent fight. If Carroll plays and basically ends up a passenger again I can see a very comfortable City win.

racso1975 wrote: »
    Who's the ref tonight?

A friend of Alex Ferguson, so he'll be out to screw both teams.

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    High scoring game please. Wouldn't mind any team winning it. Maybe for the first time I will be watching City vs Liverpool as a neutral.

Why who did you stop following ..Liverpool or City :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Draw
    racso1975 wrote: »
    Who's the ref tonight?
    Alex is announcing it at 1pm as far as i know.

Draw
    mixednuts wrote: »
    3-1 Liverpool

The last time Liverpool scored 3 away from home was against Exeter in the League Cup back in August. Don't know when they did it against Premiership opposition last. And they are going to do it against City at Eastlands for no other reason than they are Liverpool? At least try to back up mad comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

Draw
    Is this actually on BBC1?!

Sweet , Indeed it is

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b019c6vx

Score

Alex is announcing it at 1pm as far as i know.

It's really shít when someone makes the joke before you, isn't it mister?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Why who did you stop following ..Liverpool or City :confused:

Is that a joke? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Melion wrote: »
    BBC1????
    maximoose wrote: »
    Is this actually on BBC1?!

Sweet , Indeed it is

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b019c6vx

Score

Oh ye of little faith. :rolleyes:

The last time Liverpool scored 3 away from home was against Exeter in the League Cup back in August. Don't know when they did it against Premiership opposition last. And they are going to do it against City at Eastlands for no other reason than they are Liverpool? At least try to back up mad comments.

Post your score prediction so we can laugh at you when it's wrong, cause that makes sense.

Draw
    I would expect Liverpool to put up more of a showing than the last visit, especially with Gerrard back in the side. He should be afforded more time on the ball with De Jong and Barry most likely playing deep.

It all depends on how Liverpool line up. If they go for a 4-5-1 again, I'd expect City to close out the tie tonight. If they go for a 4-4-2, I'd expect the tie to be quite close going to Anfield.

City win tonight.
    3-1 Liverpool
    The-Rigger wrote: »
    Post your score prediction so we can laugh at you when it's wrong, cause that makes sense.

I had hoped for a bit of a debate. Tried to bit as objective as I could in making points for debate in what I hope will be a good game.

This gets followed up with a random scoreline with no reason behind it at all and I'm the one that doesn't make sense?

I had hoped for a bit of a debate. Tried to bit as objective as I could in making points for debate in what I hope will be a good game.

This gets followed up with a random scoreline with no reason behind it at all and I'm the one that doesn't make sense?

Oh sorry ..

3-1 Liverpool because i think so !

Have you considered drying your eyes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭ironbluedun

Draw
    predicting scores is silly, only bill o herlihy is still doing that, as in all big games anything can happen, who knows what the score will be.

Lets just hope that there are no refereeing balls ups against either team. I hate when games are ruined by poor refs and we have seen a lot of that lately.

Draw
    Oh sorry ..

3-1 Liverpool because i think so !
    The-Rigger wrote: »
    Have you considered drying your eyes?

Brilliant responses lads. Truly top posters :)

Truly top posters :)

Cheers .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

The thread is in flying form already and not even a ball kicked.

Have an exam tomorrow so gonna miss the match through studying..... Yeah right

Anyway I predict a 12-0 victory to the reds. Andy Carroll scoring all 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Draw
    The thought of getting up at 3.45am to watch us lose in our own back yard to a team that includes one of the biggest wastes of money in Premier League history is very depressing...so I'll say 5-0 City.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    The thought of getting up at 3.45am to watch us lose in our own back yard to a team that includes one of the biggest wastes of money in Premier League history is very depressing...so I'll say 5-0 City.

Don't worry lad, it's on at 7:45pm. ;)

Draw

Which one?

Henderson? Downing? Carroll?

Is Robinho back playing for City ? :pac:

Which one?

Henderson? Downing? Carroll?

Anyone else smell Hippo ?

Draw

Is Robinho back playing for City ? :pac:

See that doesn't make a single bit of sense.

I said 'us' as in City, 'our back yard' meaning the Etihad, and 'to a team' which of course is Liverpool.

Yet somehow you've tried to make a joke that would involve City losing to...City. I'd head back to the drawing board if I were you ;)

What's the craic on Silva? Is he fit or not? Hopefully Nasri gets his spot, he was beyond garbage against Utd.

Draw
    I had hoped for a bit of a debate. Tried to be as objective as I could in making points for debate in what I hope will be a good game.

Anyone else smell Hippo [sh1t]?

If I had to guess, the smell is probably coming from your mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭MoyVilla9

BBC1. Great. That saves going to the pub, although it is nice to be socialble sometimes. Oh well....

Draw
    What's the craic on Silva? Is he fit or not? Hopefully Nasri gets his spot, he was beyond garbage against Utd.

I don't think it is anything more than a slight doubt. I'd expect him to start tonight.

Draw
    lee mason is ref.......i feel more cock ups coming...:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Draw
    If I had to guess, the smell is probably coming from your mouth.

Actually, reading this again, that was pretty pathetic. (Hangs my head in shame) :(

Draw
    I don't think it is anything more than a slight doubt. I'd expect him to start tonight.

it looks likely he wont play, which is good, we need him for important games.

Draw

Firstly, hahahahahahahaha :D That made me laugh. Funny cause its true.
    Secondly, have you got a source for it. Been trying to find anything concrete, ie not off twitter or liverpool forums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

The thought of you getting up at 3:45 am and getting to see your team lose at home is one that makes me happy. :D;)

But if I am honest I would be happy to get a draw against City tonight. If Liverpool are carrying any passengers tonight then it could become a very long 90 minutes for me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

It's amazing how a semi final of the carling cup at home to liverpool has suddenly become non important to man city fans.

who are you people?

My dad's nearly 60 followed city all his life and i'm sure he thinks this is in the league of some of the most important games since he was started following them about 50 years ago.

mind boggling.

two fa cups

two leage cups

and a cup winners cup not even in your life time, and this is un-important.

wow, just wow.

Draw
    ntlbell wrote: »
    It's amazing how a semi final of the carling cup at home to liverpool has suddenly become non important to man city fans.

who are you people?

My dad's nearly 60 followed city all his life and i'm sure he thinks this is in the league of some of the most important games since he was started following them about 50 years ago.

mind boggling.

I think he was having a go at Liverpool not being a big team, rather than diminishing the fact that its a semi final. I would have thought any City fan are hoping for the League and Europa League Cups this season as well as the league. You don't get success from choosing to lose trophies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Draw
    Des wrote: »
    It's really shít when someone makes the joke before you, isn't it mister?

Nah does'nt bother me at all Des. Great minds would'nt you agree chum.

Yeah yous should be saving his legs for the big glamour Thursday night games in Uzbekistan.

Draw

who are you people?

mind boggling.

not mind boggling really, the league matches against wigan and spurs ARE more important matches for city, that's a fact.
    of course it would be 'nice' to win the carling cup, i for one wont be shedding tears if we dont. if we loose out on the league, well :(

I think he was having a go at Liverpool not being a big team, rather than diminishing the fact that its a semi final. I would have thought any City fan are hoping for the League and Europa League Cups this season as well as the league. You don't get success from choosing to lose trophies.

A city fan calling liverpool a small team.

is my sarcasm/ironing detector completely f*cked?

Draw
    A city fan calling liverpool a small team.

is my sarcasm/ironing detector completely f*cked?

What??

A City fan calling Liverpool NOT a top 4 team?? How could that be? Because they are 6th in the league?

Or is this another History/Legacy issue again? Do I need a disclaimer on my sig?

What??

A City fan calling Liverpool NOT a top 4 team?? How could that be? Because they are 6th in the league?

Or is this another History/Legacy issue again? Do I need a disclaimer on my sig?

where did he mention anything about top 4?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Draw
    Firstly, hahahahahahahaha :D That made me laugh. Funny cause its true.
    Secondly, have you got a source for it. Been trying to find anything concrete, ie not off twitter or liverpool forums.

http://menmedia.co.uk/manchestereveningnews/sport/football/manchester_city/s/1470278_kompanys-four-match-ban-upheld-while-silva-is-hit-by-an-injury-scare

That's probably the best source on it, not always reliable though.

They are saying heaving bruising around the ankle and could miss a few weeks at worst.

MoyVilla9 wrote: »
    BBC1. Great. That saves going to the pub, although it is nice to be socialble sometimes. Oh well....

You can come watch it in my gaff, problem solved.

Draw
    where did he mention anything about top 4?

Where did he mention anything about Liverpool not being a big team? That was me.

You were making truly dumb observations in the FA Cup thread, and now you are in a City V Pool thread doing the same.

Are you standing up for Liverpool? or City fans? Or are you just trolling the threads moaning utter nonsense to spark arguments completely off topic?

Draw
    We're a lot closer to winning this cup than the league so right now for me it is more important.

A trophy is a trophy and we aren't in position to be picking and choosing.