Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Finally - proof our TDs are worth their salaries - NOT!

• 09-01-2012 12:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭

Once again one of our elected representatives has proven they are worth every cent of their circa 93,000 salaries (plus expenses)

Stand up Niall Collins TD (FF) and take a bow for this gem:

Apparently Niall heard on local radio that Limerick wasn't on Google Maps. Did he immediately pop on to the interweb to check out this outrageous oversight. Did he F**K. He popped on to Twitter to express his anger, rang Google to complain and issued a press statement
    We in Limerick are competing with other regions for both domestic and foreign investment, and our absence from such a significant online resource is damaging. Google have indicated to me that they are working to rectify the problem.

According to Google however
    Limerick is very much on the map, available on Google Maps, Google Earth and also in Street View. We are always open to feedback and looking to improve the data in all zoom levels of Google Maps.

The bould Niall later admitted
    he had contacted Herlihy, whom he knows, about the issue. But when told that Google had said Limerick was on its software all along, he said he had only heard it being talked about on local radio after which he decided to take action.

http://thedailyedge.thejournal.ie/good-news-limerick-not-wiped-off-the-map-323636-Jan2012/?utm_source=facebook

Seriously...why do we keep electing muppets like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

I knew his father

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Subjective opinion is not proof - misleading thread title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Subjective opinion is not proof - misleading thread title.

Objective observation:

TD on salary of circa 93,000 hears claim on radio.
    TD fails to check veracity of claim.
    TD issues press statement based on unsubstantiated claim.
    Claim is proven to be false.

Objective conclusion: TD is question is a (high paid) muppet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭eire.man

so embarrassing for us all, what a dcik!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Never mind that - did he fix the road?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

or did he use family connections to get untalented relatives on tv?

Not to go too off-topic, but McSavage, love or loathe him, learnt his craft the hardest way, on the street. He was effectively blackballed in RTE for years, and only got the Savage Eye via an open submission process where RTE invited independent producers to submit comic one-off shows, with the most popular winning a six-episode slot. The others that made it to the telly were dung. His wasn't. People liked the first series so it got renewed. Neither his long-retired dad, nor his brother (who loathes him) had a hand in it.
    There are limits to the abilities of the golden circle, and seeing conspiracies everywhere is a surefire method for failing to notice when you really are getting bent over and diddled.
    McSavage is an embarrassment to his family as they see it. The very clip you quoted should adequately explain why, and also why they wouldn't lift a finger for him, even if they could, to get him a show on RTE.
    Tubridy, on the other hand...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

Well that's Irish politicians for you. You pay peanuts you get monkeys.

Wait a sec ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Sierra 117

What an eejit. You'd think he'd check it himself first before springing into action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

****ing gobshite.

Typical; a politician 'tackling' the easy issues instead of the real ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Looks like that particular PR exercise backfired anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Do people really scout over google maps looking to set up industry:eek::confused:
    Any else thinking we should start developing nukes in Limerick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Beautiful story. Now if only the Supreme Leader was still alive, he could find where North Korea's roads and cities went to.

http://maps.google.com/maps?q=north+korea&hl=en&ll=39.291797,127.320557&spn=5.33903,9.832764&sll=37.0625,-95.677068&sspn=43.528905,78.662109&vpsrc=6&hnear=North+Korea&t=h&z=7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

The Savage Eye (TSE) is one of the best home-grown comic shows RTE has ever aired.

When you think of some of the brutal rubbish that RTE passes off as comedy TSE is light years ahead of it.

I want MOAR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Haelium

Fianna Fail still exist, what did you expect?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I think the issue is actually that there isn't a pinpoint showing Limerick. Similar to the way there's one for Dublin, Waterford and even Cork....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I think the issue is actually that there isn't a pinpoint showing Limerick. Similar to the way there's one for Dublin, Waterford and even Cork....

That's because you can't trust Limerick with any sharp things...they tend to end up stuck in people.

'even Cork'? LOL...would that be Cork the 2nd largest city in the country? Imagine - how could such an insignificant place get a pinprick ... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

So what idiot on Limerick radio said it wasnt on google maps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

If anyone ever asks me to describe Irish politics ever again, I'm going to direct them to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

But that isn't the issue that the TD was complaining about. He was complaining about a non-existent issue.

So what idiot on Limerick radio said it wasnt on google maps?

Am tempted to say some bloke named Willie O...ooohhhh can't remember his name...starts with a D...Daly?..Deeley?...De..nope. Can't remember. But that would be me just taking the subjective urine out of poor Limerick TDs :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

So was the pinpoint ever there? Google maps has been up for 6 years now so it's not saying much for Limerick if it took this long for someone to notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Objective observation:

TD on salary of circa 93,000 hears claim on radio.
    TD fails to check veracity of claim.
    TD issues press statement based on unsubstantiated claim.
    Claim is proven to be false.

Objective conclusion: TD is question is a (high paid) muppet.

There aint no questioning that logic my friend.
    Muppet he is!!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

He probably doesn't even know how to use google maps, that's why he didn't check it first. Gombeen politics still alive and well in Ireland.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

http://maps.google.ie/maps?hl=en&ll=53.748711,-4.833984&spn=14.136102,43.286133&t=m&vpsrc=6&z=5

You have to scroll in a few levels before a Limerick tag shows up.

On the first level you just have Dublin and Belfast
    The next level has Dublin, Belfast, Derry, and Bangor
    The next includes alot of regional towns and cities like Cork, Galway etc and also Ennis, and Shannon
    The next level gives more towns like Annacotty
    Finally the next level is where the first tag for limerick city shows up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,125 ✭✭✭kirving

Anyway, even if a "Limerick" isn't visible at certain level, all he had to do was scroll the mouse wheel 2 clicks forward and it appears. What kind of idiot must he be if he thought the place wasn't on the map.

How he is still alive with the level of cop on is beyond me, never mind as an elected representative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭28064212

CatFromHue wrote: »
    http://maps.google.ie/maps?hl=en&ll=53.748711,-4.833984&spn=14.136102,43.286133&t=m&vpsrc=6&z=5

You have to scroll in a few levels before a Limerick tag shows up.

On the first level you just have Dublin and Belfast
    The next level has Dublin, Belfast, Derry, and Bangor
    The next includes alot of regional towns and cities like Cork, Galway etc and also Ennis, and Shannon
    The next level gives more towns like Annacotty
    Finally the next level is where the first tag for limerick city shows up.
    ^This is a fairly valid point (not earth-shattering or anything, #firstworldproblems).

And if Collins had spent 5 minutes actually checking it out, he could have brought forward the valid complaint. Instead, he shows what a totally incompetent official he is

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Such incompetence should be a sackable offence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

When i saw the words Fianna Fail i felt ill

Dempsey wrote: »
    Such incompetence should be a sackable offence

It's long past time that there were impeachment procedures in place to remove empty craniums like this. Let's see if they think to put that into their 'constitutional review', eh? About as likely as them axeing ministerial pensions for under 65s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

ok somebody figured out what he's talking about the limerick label doesn't appear when other city labels and smaller towns appear http://maps.google.ie/?ll=52.69969,-8.552856&spn=2.809725,7.13562&t=h&z=8&vpsrc=6

niall collins should have looked for the report a problem form on the google maps, he doens’t need to send out a press release and ring the vice president of advertiser operations of google

ok somebody figured out what he's talking about the limerick label doesn't appear when other city labels and smaller towns appear http://maps.google.ie/?ll=52.69969,-8.552856&spn=2.809725,7.13562&t=h&z=8&vpsrc=6

So he should have been complaining that Limerick has no prick on google maps (well - it does, but it's so small one has to really zoom in to see it)- not that Limerick isn't on google maps innit. :D.

The Muppet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    So he should have been complaining that Limerick has no prick on google maps...
    He should have just uploaded a picture of himself, then.

Boom, boom!

El Weirdo wrote: »
    He should have just uploaded a picture of himself, then.

Boom, boom!

I knew I could rely on you! ;)