Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aer Lingus recruiting Dublin Cabin Crew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭River Song

Damn...I miss out on the age requirement by 6 days :(

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Locker10a

Michael_E wrote: »
    Damn...I miss out on the age requirement by 6 days :(

Well if you have customer service experience and meet all the other requirments then i would apply anyway!! If you are good enough and they like you at interview its likely they wont care about 6 days !! best of luck !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭River Song

Locker10a wrote: »
    Well if you have customer service experience and meet all the other requirments then i would apply anyway!! If you are good enough and they like you at interview its likely they wont care about 6 days !! best of luck !

Hopefully!!! Thanks! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

As a matter of interest does anyone know the salary ? Are there guaranteed hours even ?

Delancey wrote: »
    As a matter of interest does anyone know the salary ? Are there guaranteed hours even ?

I dont know salary details but it depends on your roster ! I dont really know what you mean by guaranteed hours! If you are sucessful and pass training then you should be able to start flying straight away and when you fly you will earn! I imagine you would fly about 70 hours a month after you start !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

I dont know salary details but it depends on your roster ! I dont really know what you mean by guaranteed hours! If you are sucessful and pass training then you should be able to start flying straight away and when you fly you will earn! I imagine you would fly about 70 hours a month after you start !

I think he means is it full time hours or zero hour contracts as many aviation businesses are now adopting.

Michael_E wrote: »
    Hopefully!!! Thanks! :)

Best of luck!! Id apply Myself but couldnt just drop out of college! Let us know how you get on and what the selection procedure is like:)!

sparrowcar wrote: »
    I think he means is it full time hours or zero hour contracts as many aviation businesses are now adopting.

Ohh ok sorry ! Well i know in the past EI have put new crew on 1 year contracts and if all goes well they are made perm contracts ! But when on your 1 year contract you work the same hours and to the same conditions as perm crew!
    Now i dont know if this is what Aer Lingus plan to do this time ! I can only say what was done in the past !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

I remember years ago being at a training session in the Grand Hotel in Malahide same days as EI were holding recruitment sessions for Cabin Crew , the rig on some of the candidates was amazing - never knew mini skirts were made that short :eek:

Delancey wrote: »
    I remember years ago being at a training session in the Grand Hotel in Malahide same days as EI were holding recruitment sessions for Cabin Crew , the rig on some of the candidates was amazing - never knew mini skirts were made that short :eek:

haha ohh god! i can only imagine! well that one tip for applicants! Dont dress like a slag ;) The job is not what Britney Spears may make it look like in reality!
    I remember hearing about a girl who was shocked at the assment day to discover she would have to work weekends !! Some people really are cluless!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

sparrowcar wrote: »

From chatting to people who were taken on last year under contract.......they were full time hours and same T&C's are permanent staff. (Although saying that EI crew are operating to EU-OPs FTL maximums)

They told me they were doing up to the limits most months last summer (100 flight hours in 28 days)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 clarky09

I applied yesterday via the email address. Wonder when they might pick a panel. will give me some time to get some weight off! This would be a great opportunity for me. I've been holding out for Garda recruitment for nearly 3 yrs now and working in the mean time. This is something i used to tell my mother id do when i was small, air hostess, and she used to fob me off and say why dont u be a nun or a nurse....eh no! So nows my chance, i'll keep quiet for a few months and see how it pans out, fingers crossed it wont be too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

I'd never have even thought of having some swimming ability in relation to the Cabin Crew job. Good job i'm not interested!

If you're young and looking for something different then this is a great opportunity.

Has anyone on this thread actually applied or is it just me?...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭eimear10

If only I could swim...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Nadderz

I sent my CV of yesterday been waiting for them to Recruit. Fingers crossed really hope I hear back soon :)

clarky09 wrote: »
    Yes me :)

eimear10 wrote: »
    If only I could swim...

Sure apply and go for a few swimming lessons ;) its easy peasy to swim 25m and as far as i know all the other swimming drills are done wearing the life jacket so that will make you float anyway :p!!:D

Ohh i dont know what to do! I want to apply but am in the middle of college! Im half thinking of applying anyway and mabe I will be taken on in future ! Do you think it would do any harm to apply even though my CV isint that impressive at the moment :confused::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭corkman123

im in the middle of college too, but no interest in my course and all i ever wanted to be was a cabin crew member for aer lingus, i dont have much customer service experience but pass all the other requirements... worth applying? wud be my dream job!

No harm in either of ye applying....

Wait and see what happens then you can make your decision.

corkman123 wrote: »
    im in the middle of college too, but no interest in my course and all i ever wanted to be was a cabin crew member for aer lingus, i dont have much customer service experience but pass all the other requirements... worth applying? wud be my dream job!

Ahh im in pretty much the exact same position as you !! I want to fly too more than anything but dont think the family would be to happy about me dropping out of college:eek: Besides i think it would look better if i finished my course first. And i have zero customer service experience :(
    Still though i might apply :p:rolleyes: !
    Best of luck to you though :)

good luck to you too... ive 2 months experience, decent enough level of french and can swim confidently, i want this job more than anything, i WILL apply and if i get it i would gladly drop out of college to my parents disatisfaction ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 R lane

Hey I'm gonna apply 2mor.... Love a job with them! Soo happy ther actually recruiting in Ireland !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭missmoo

Did everyone who applied get a conformation email? Applied yesterday, as did a friend, and she got a "thank you for applying" mail sent straight back, I got no reply:(

ETA just got a reply now, can imagine the amount of applicants if it takes so long!!

missmoo wrote: »
    Did everyone who applied get a conformation email? Applied yesterday, as did a friend, and she got a "thank you for applying" mail sent straight back, I got no reply:(

ETA just got a reply now, can imagine the amount of applicants if it takes so long!!

Wonder how Long it will take to get back to us...I heard they do phone interviews first, fingers crossed.

anyone know the deadline for the closing date??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Kournikova

I imagine in the current economic climate the amount of people applying will be ridiculously big, good luck to everyone who is.

Locker 10a, **** college! Excuse the language but I did a degree and was hoping to join An Garda Siochana...they were recruiting and recruiting and recruiting and I said 'ah sure feck it i'll finish my degree it'll look good and it might bump up my starting pay and join the second I finish'.......THREE YEARS LATER.... i'm in the Garda Reserve, STILL waiting. Not getting paid for it, only there for the experience, it's a great one dont get me wrong, but i would like to get paid for going it! Aer Lingus was my second choice. Fingers crossed because this to me is my last shot at anything :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Kablamo!

missmoo wrote: »

I applied 4 days ago and still no confirmation email?

Kablamo, call em up, no harm. When they reach applicant quota they gonna stop takin em could have reached it already

Locker 10a, **** college! Excuse the language but I did a degree and was hoping to join An Garda Siochana...they were recruiting and recruiting and recruiting and I said 'ah sure feck it i'll finish my degree it'll look good and it might bump up my starting pay and join the second I finish'.......THREE YEARS LATER.... i'm in the Garda Reserve, STILL waiting. Not getting paid for it, only there for the experience, it's a great one dont get me wrong, but i would like to get paid for going it! Aer Lingus was my second choice. Fingers crossed because this to me is my last shot at anything :-(

Im sorry to hear about your situation with the Gards i hope they hire soon and give priorty to people like you who dedicated you time to the reserve free. I think i will apply anyway although i dont have much going for me at the moment ! Basicly no customer service experience and in terms of education just the leaving cert! I have always intended applying to EI and my plan was to get a customer service job while going to college and then wait for them to hire ! I wonder if i apply now and fail and apply in the future will they have record of my application which at the moment would be pretty crap

.....I have always intended applying to EI and my plan was to get a customer service job while going to college and then wait for them to hire ! I wonder if i apply now and fail and apply in the future will they have record of my application which at the moment would be pretty crap
    Seriously doubt it. Too much bother to hang onto old applications that they didn't accept.

urgh...cant fill out the form.. my microsoft office trial ran out :mad: !! wont be in college till monday, will they still be recruiting then dya reckon??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,184 ✭✭✭✭L1011

urgh...cant fill out the form.. my microsoft office trial ran out :mad: !! wont be in college till monday, will they still be recruiting then dya reckon??

Many free ways to edit Word documents:

www.libreoffice.org
    www.abiword.com

http://docs.google.com , possibly.

Yes they prob will be ! But if you dont wanna take the risk you could copy and paste the questions into the email !Its better then Nothing unless you want to wait!:)

thanks guys! dya think its worth putting in an extra note bit like a cover letter stating how much i want the job and how dedicated id be? i donr wana sound like im begging but wana improve my chances if at all possible!......... especially cause im in the middle of college... should i say im happy to drop out of college bcause working for the company is all i ever wanted to do?

Do not say 'its all ive ever wanted' every tom dick and harry will say that. Just say 'look lads i need a job and a lift outta this kip, a job with u lot is right up my street! :-P on a more serious note, just sound professional but not needy, nobody likes needy!

Has anyone heard anything other than the confirmation email? This may be a painful process.

i applied ystday and havent even got a confirmation email

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

A friend of mine is cabin crew and she said she heard they have already selected the 100 applicants they need and they will be on a permanent seasonal contract running until October and will be trained on the 330 for transatlantic routes. This puts the company into trouble with their existing temporary crew as this is an abuse of their seniority status as they have yet to be trained for transatlantic flights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Dacian

Dotsey wrote: »
    A friend of mine is cabin crew and she said she heard they have already selected the 100 applicants they need and they will be on a permanent seasonal contract running until October and will be trained on the 330 for transatlantic routes. This puts the company into trouble with their existing temporary crew as this is an abuse of their seniority status as they have yet to be trained for transatlantic flights

Seriously doubt that. Hiring contract staff is normal for an airline.
    EI will hire some staff to cover the busy summer season, they will use them on their A320 routes to maximise their productivity. No point training them up for A330 where the hours flown are less. EI will want their 100 flight hours per month from these new hires. (Max legal limit)

And legally I don't think existing 'temporary/contract' staff have any company seniority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 alexio

I quiet have a random question in relation to cabin crew... Does anyone know how exactly you have to reach the 212 cm ? I mean by one hand or both hands???? Because I just realize that I can't reach 212 cm with my both hands , even on the tip toes :(((((... I only can with one hand because I can stretch more.

alexio wrote: »
    I quiet have a random question in relation to cabin crew... Does anyone know how exactly you have to reach the 212 cm ? I mean by one hand or both hands???? Because I just realize that I can't reach 212 cm with my both hands , even on the tip toes :(((((... I only can with one hand because I can stretch more.

The form says stretch up to 6'3/1.9m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 alexio

Well in general a lot of airlines like etihad, emirates...ask to reach up to 212cm ...but they don't mention if you have to reach with both hands or just one . One hand it's better because you can stretch more than with both hands! You get what I mean Dacia ??

alexio wrote: »
    Well in general a lot of airlines like etihad, emirates...ask to reach up to 212cm ...but they don't mention if you have to reach with both hands or just one . One hand it's better because you can stretch more than with both hands! You get what I mean Dacia ??

I Know BA make you do a reach test where i belive you reach with one hand! I think the only reason you would have to streach both arms would be to test if you can hold onto both assist handles at the same time while blocking an exit in an evacuation, thats what i heard any way !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭dercu

Dotsey wrote: »

If I'm not mistaken there is a issue with temporary staff getting crew visa from US embassy. So the only 330 training they would receive would be the summer Malaga route,
    Things might have changed correct me if I'm wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭vtec_vixen

I applied too :) Reaaaaaaaalllllllly want to get into aviation.. And it would be awesome to work for an Irish company :)
    Yee all have to let us if you get a response. :pac:

dercu wrote: »
    If I'm not mistaken there is a issue with temporary staff getting crew visa from US embassy. So the only 330 training they would receive would be the summer Malaga route,
    Things might have changed correct me if I'm wrong.
    Don't want to be on your case but.....

....no point training them to operate a single route. Waste of time and resources. More logical to train them solely on the A320 to cover increased fleet usage, enough existing crew (I assume) to operate the A330 routes.

Looking at the website, it does say looking for applicants for a panel which may be called forward. Quite cagey on the part of EI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 maura mae

Has anyone heard anything yet? :)

As the recruitment is still open, I doubt that all the applicants have been selected?