Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

co-workers with no motor tax

• 07-01-2012 10:36am

Two of my co-workers have recently openly admitted that they haven't paid motor tax in a couple of years. There was a small group of us having lunch and others said things like "your dead right" and "thats it,im not renewing mine, sur you'l never get caught". Will the gardai take any action if I call them with number plates?

edit: forgot to add, one of them told the story of being stopped at a checkpoint with no tax for over a year and grovelled and was just leg go, with no consequence apart from being told to pay his tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

They most likely will OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

would you ever go away and mind your own business? I pay mine in full the whole time but what does it matter to you if someone else doesn't pay it? You're not a cop so stop trying to do their job.

That's it, first thing on Monday morning I'm gonna rat out my friends in work about not paying TV licences. :rolleyes:

Get a grip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Just goes to show you should never disclose information to workmates as you never know what little rats you might be working with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

I think thre're winding you up, have a look at their cars, I bet ther're bullsh1ting you.

yupyup7up wrote: »
    would you ever go away and mind your own business? I pay mine in full the whole time but what does it matter to you if someone else doesn't pay it? You're not a cop so stop trying to do their job.

That's it, first thing on Monday morning I'm gonna rat out my friends in work about not paying TV licences. :rolleyes:

Get a grip

With that reaction I doubt you actually do pay "in full, the whole time".

You might have noticed that the country is bankrupt, and here are two people, not my friends, who can pay and choose not too. Its not like they were temporarily broke and cant pay, they earn the same as me and I pay so f**k them and much the same sentiment to you for your short sighted opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭Salmon

Will the gardai take any action if I call them with number plates?

+1 On the old mind your own business!! Don't know why people are so concerned with other people's lives

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

Before you call them, maybe you should check the tyre depths on the cars of your immediate family members and report them as well while you are at it if they are below 1.6 millimetres

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Op do you work in the force by any chance ;)

Before you call them, maybe you should check the tyre depths on the cars of your immediate family members and report them as well while you are at it if they are below 1.6 millimetres

I will, and I will check yours while im at it ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Report the spongers, OP. They'd report you in a second if they thought it would save them.

MugMugs wrote: »
    They most likely will OP.

Good stuff, Il call them later. Now im suspicious of all those who posted negatively. wonder can i track ye down and have a quick look at yer discs :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,010 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Amazing sense of Civic Duty here as per usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Maybe the OP's pissed off. I know I have been by people, being called an "idiot" and a "fool" for paying €1300. I'd take pleasure in reporting these arses, not friends though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

With that reaction I doubt you actually do pay "in full, the whole time".

You might have noticed that the country is bankrupt, and here are two people, not my friends, who can pay and choose not too. Its not like they were temporarily broke and cant pay, they earn the same as me and I pay so f**k them and much the same sentiment to you for your short sighted opinion.

No point mentioning that they are not your friends, as i would say that would make little difference with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Good stuff, Il call them later. Now im suspicious of all those who posted negatively. wonder can i track ye down and have a quick look at yer discs :)
    Lovely, what if one of them uses boards? It would be very easy to put 2 and 2 together and find out who the tell tale is ;)

Songok wrote: »

You're in trolling territory now.

robbie7730 wrote: »
    No point mentioning that they are not your friends, as i would say that would make little difference with you.

Your wrong :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

stovelid wrote: »
    Don't be a cry baby now, you weren't short of opinions at the start.

Interesting range of opinions on what would basically be a patriotic act.

Looks like people who love there country are in the minority around here...

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,552 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Bottom line is money needs to be made up somewhere, so if idiots like this don't pay motortax then that money has to come from somewhere else.
    So if there's a tax shortfall then why should people that actually pay taxes have to make up the losses with extra tax?

Clearly you think abusing the system is fine, I guess your fine with people doing social welfare fraud too yeah?

Anan1 wrote: »
    [Don't be a cry baby now, you weren't short of opinions at the start.

Are you the outraged office twat backup?

I also pay my tax but other people can do what they want. Clearly, the department should start being proactive instead of relying on grasses to do their work.

Interesting range of opinions on what would basically be a patriotic act.

Looks like people who love there country are in the minority around here...
    Most people will steal when they think they can get away with it and no, they don't like being exposed.

It's generally the ones that aren't net contributors that don't have an issue with these forms of fraud / tax evasion.

They seem to think that the little guy has an entitlement to take as much as he can from society regardless of who is expected to make up the shortfall. Then they use the excuse of the bank bailout and politicials pay and perks to justify it.

Are you the outraged office twat backup?.
    That's a good logical position you've got there, boss.
    I also pay my tax but other people can do what they want. Clearly, the department should start being proactive instead of relying on grasses to do their work.
    Really? Because you sound more like an apologist for thieves, TBH. And why would you be taking their side, I ask myself..

Most people will steal when they think they can get away with it and no, they don't like being exposed.

Most people? I don't think so. Maybe 5% or 10% - the same people who have always been at it - whether it was welfare fraud, nixers, DIRT tax evasion, Non Resident accounts, Ansbacher accounts or political corruption.

juan.kerr wrote: »
    Most people? I don't think so. Maybe 5% or 10% - the same people who have always been at it - whether it was welfare fraud, nixers, DIRT tax evasion, Non Resident accounts, Ansbacher accounts or political corruption.
    That's because we have enforcement. Remove the enforcement and i'm afraid revenues would drop off a cliff. People like stovelid may have an unpalatable outlook, but they're regrettably by no means unique.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Mind your own business.

Even if they did pay, what would it solve? Not alot. Its not their fault the country has no money. If they paid tax, it wouldn't help one little bit.

Mind your own business.

Even if they did pay, what would it solve? Not alot. Its not their fault the country has no money. If they paid tax, it wouldn't help one little bit.
    I bet you make your own Hard Luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭CamperMan

if you can't beat them, join them

When someone does not go around policing other peoples motor tax status, that does not mean they agree with non payment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭whippet

a cousin of mine hasn't taxed his car in nearly 3 years, does about 25k miles a year all over the country in a 02 VW (which has never been NCTed)

Has managed to get a couple of penalty points for speeding from gatsos but never stopped for tax or nct.

While I don't condone his actions .. I am flabbergasted that he has never been stopped or prosecuted for the offenses.

CamperMan wrote: »
    if you can't beat them, join them

Who said we can't beat them? I have my baseball bat out and ready to go. All I need is an address.

When someone does not go around policing other peoples motor tax status, that does not mean they agree with non payment.
    When they call other people 'rats' and 'grasses' for informing the Gardaí then yes, it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,969 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

When you're out and about today OP make sure to take down any reg numbers of untaxed cars so you can report them as well.
    Make sure no-one is parked with a ticket that has run out - report them too.

Anyone buying fancy biscuits or cuts of meat in the supermarket - find out if they are on welfare - if so, report them for "wasting" their dole....actually if they are not in lidl or aldi then make the call.

Probably better to give up work completely and go round spying and reporting on people......or you could do what the rest of us do....let the authorities deal with it.

Nobody gets away with it forever and there are people employed to catch these people....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

report them. If everyone paid their share, maybe Id get to pay a bit less

When they call other people 'rats' and 'grasses' for informing the Gardaí then yes, it does.

We have already seen posters suggest they would report non payers, but not if they were friends. The OP himself said it. Why stop at friends if the motive is for the good of the country?

Would you report your friend who had no motor tax? Would you go checking their tax discs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

I can hand-on-heart say I've never evaded tax - motor or any other kind. Your colleagues sound like idiots TBH but ratting out people you know, pro-actively giving their details to the cops....I dunno...that's kinda despicable in my view. Mind you own business.

mfceiling wrote: »
    ......or you could do what the rest of us do....let the authorities deal with it.
    Actually, the rest of us do help the authorities where possible. If you saw someone being assaulted would you call the Gardaí, or would you think 'ah sure there'll be a squad car along shortly'? We help when we can help.
    We have already seen posters suggest they would report non payers, but not if they were friends. The OP himself said it. Why stop at friends if the motive is for the good of the country?
    Ah FFS - because loyalty to friends is a motive too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,378 ✭✭✭alias no.9

mfceiling wrote: »
    When you're out and about today OP make sure to take down any reg numbers of untaxed cars so you can report them as well.
    Make sure no-one is parked with a ticket that has run out - report them too.

Anyone buying fancy biscuits or cuts of meat in the supermarket - find out if they are on welfare - if so, report them for "wasting" their dole....actually if they are not in lidl or aldi then make the call.

Ridiculous comparison between a group of people evading their responsibilities and others accessing their entitlements. It takes away from the valid point that the authorities, that should be enforcing it, clearly aren't. So the question becomes when this happens, do you ride the system? Do you develop a sense of civic responsibility and help the authorities? Or are you simply a sneaking regarder, the type who wishes they could ride the system but doesn't have the balls, the fair fuçks if you can get away with it brigade, the people who still voted for De Bert in 2007 when the tribunal evidence was in the public domain? The sneaking regarders are the enablers of corruption, the reason it is never tackled and rooted out at any level and the only thing they seem capable of doing is point at others saying look at them, they're worse.

pburns wrote: »
    I can hand-on-heart say I've never evaded tax - motor or any other kind. Your colleagues sound like idiots TBH but ratting out people you know, pro-actively giving their details to the cops....I dunno...that's kinda despicable in my view. Mind you own business.
    If it was a victimless crime like selling grass or something then i'd agree, but it is your business when it's your money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

A lot of lads in my my place just make one up on the PC and stick it in the window, incredibly easy if you know where to look.;)

That's because we have enforcement. Remove the enforcement and i'm afraid revenues would drop off a cliff. People like stovelid may have an unpalatable outlook, but they're regrettably by no means unique.

I sincerely hope that by unpalatable that you are not implying that I don't pay my motor taxes, or indeed any other taxes.

Just because I think you should pay doesn't mean I advocate shopping people lo the authorities.

Plus as people said, unless you are prepared to inform on your friends and family, the moral position is contingent and hypocritical.

In addition, I would guess that long term non-payment is quite hard as I was told that non-payers are eventually threatened with court.

Actually, the rest of us do help the authorities where possible. If you saw someone being assaulted would you call the Gardaí, or would you think 'ah sure there'll be a squad car along shortly'?We help when we can help.
    Ah FFS - because loyalty to friends is a motive too?

Would you report your friend if they kicked another person into a coma, since you seem to make a comparrison between that and motor tax non payment? Or would loyalty again over-rule reporting friends?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

would you ever go away and mind your own business? You're not a cop so stop trying to do their job.

Get a grip

You could say the exact same thing if his coworker said he gives the wife a few slaps. Or he knocked someone down and drove off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭eyesquirm

I agree with the OP.
    I also don't give a fcuk if people look on this as a troll. It's not meant as one, just my opinion.
    If someone breaks the law, evades paying tax, etc. , they should realise there is always someone willing to shop them. There is too much "cute hoorism" in this country and the sooner we cop ourselves on the better. I'm fed up of everyone's " ain't I a smart arsé " attitude.

Anyway, I have no problem writing letters to relevant authorities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭barura

Good heavens, doesn't anyone realise its this "mind your own business" lark that got us in trouble in the first place?

OP, report them if you want to, it's up to you. What people on the internet say shouldn't affect what you feel you should do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,969 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Actually, the rest of us do help the authorities where possible. If you saw someone being assaulted would you call the Gardaí, or would you think 'ah sure there'll be a squad car along shortly'? We help when we can help.Ah FFS - because loyalty to friends is a motive too?

Ridiculous comparison tbh....someone being assaulted and someone not paying their motor tax.

I'm not a Garda or an employee of the revenue so if you don't mind I'll let them do their job.

I was reported on before because I'm self employed....someone rang the revenue to report me as an employee for a company even though I was working on a job on a price in my time....fcuking nosey Parker stuck in my business even though they were totally wrong in what they reported.

Let the Garda do their job....I'm not reporting someone for non payment of motor tax - I pay mine - I don't know someone's circumstances - food on the table or 3 months car tax.

And finally I never ever voted FF or anything to do with Bertie....those lads weren't interested in no car tax...more like brown envelopes with thousands in them while telling the rest of us to "live within our means"...

barura wrote: »
    Good heavens, doesn't anyone realise its this "mind your own business" lark that got us in trouble in the first place?

A rather simplistic view of our economic mess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

And if you're not taxed, your insurance is void. So basically they're uninsured drivers.

I sincerely hope that by unpalatable that you are not implying that I don't pay my motor taxes, or indeed any other taxes.

Just because I think you should pay doesn't mean I advocate shopping people lo the authorities.
    I was referring by 'unpalatable' only to your views, as laid out in this thread.
    Would you report your friend if they kicked another person into a coma, since you seem to make a comparrison between that and motor tax non payment? Or would loyalty again over-rule reporting friends?
    I never said that it would overrule even reporting a friend for tax. I answered your question, that's all.
    Plus as people said, unless you are prepared to inform on your friends and family, the moral position is contingent and hypocritical.
    Nonsense. Anyone having money stolen from them has a perfect moral right to try to prevent it. There is, however, no moral obligation on them to do so.