Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What can we do to solve the Romani gypsy problem?

• 06-01-2012 1:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭

Ever since we opened our borders to Romania they have come over and just robbed, begged and claimed money. How can we sort this out?

I like what President Sarkozy of France did when he said "Damn the legislation, i'm deporting straight away." He has done this, but they had to be given €200 each when leaving. They use this money to travel back into Europe again. It is obvious they are just a virus on the map. None of them work, and now because of their reputation none of them would get a job anyways. (the small 0.01% that would like to work legitimately here) It baffles the mind.

Here is a good article on the current situation in France. http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-16428195

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Pedro K

Kill it with fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

I'd be all for a bit of genocide.

Of people who start threads about Roma gypsies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

I don't understand why they;ve suddenly decided that my windscreen is clean enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

There must be some sort of cream for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Give them as much money as we can and leave our front doors unlocked.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Turn the TV off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Get them to work in Dixons.

They need slaves at the minute, I hear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

From the poster who brought us the following threads:
    It annoys me how Fianna Failure are rooting for the working man all of a sudden

What does the world "Fat" mean to you?

How many single mothers IYO fit the stereotypical single mothers image?

Reminds me of a RHCP song...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

Simply STOP giving them money when they beg.... instead tell them that you know they are not homeless (there is a house full of them in phibsborough on the North Circular Road) and that they even get welfare from the state (cos ive seen them queuing in the dole offices on signing day a few times).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Take their jobs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

HovaBaby wrote: »
    Ever since we opened our borders to Romania they have come over and just robbed, begged and claimed money. How can we sort this out?

I like what President Sarkozy of France did when he said "Damn the legislation, i'm deporting straight away." He has done this, but they had to be given €200 each when leaving. They use this money to travel back into Europe again. It is obvious they are just a virus on the map. None of them work, and now because of their reputation none of them would get a job anyways. (the small 0.01% that would like to work legitimately here) It baffles the mind.

Here is a good article on the current situation in France. http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-16428195

Have you a link to prove this figure?

I know a few Romanian family's, both home owners, and with a very impressive educational background. Both family's make a good living here and contribute like everyone else who works.

I think that tarring all the Romanians with the same brush, would be the same as calling all Irish in England , Travellers. Which is untrue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Simply STOP giving them money when they beg.... instead tell them that you know they are not homeless (there is a house full of them in phibsborough on the North Circular Road) and that they even get welfare from the state (cos ive seen them queuing in the dole offices on signing day a few times).
    They can't all be living there

?

Maybe a forcible gold tooth extraction scheme implemented at border control would raise some revenue for the country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭aidoh

It'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Why don't people get it into their thick heads that not all Roma come from Romania?

No offence.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Why don't people get it into their thick heads that not all Roma come from Romania?

Exactly - what about the Italian ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Put a curse on them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭novarock

Roma Gypsies and Romanians are not the same thing..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

gsxr1 wrote: »

I know a few Romanian family's, both home owners, and with a very impressive educational background. Both family's make a good living here and contribute like everyone else who works.

I think that tarring all the Romanians with the same brush, would be the same as calling all Irish in England , Travellers. Which is untrue.

Roma are not indigenous to Romania, please try to educate yourself on the differences

just ask your Romanian friends about their opinion on the Roma.

question for any of you bleeding heart liberals, have never heard one good thing said about the Roma?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

^This.

novarock wrote: »

That has to be explained about fifty times in every racist thread on the subject.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

No offence.

These.

If people can't even inform themselves to this level about the Roma folk then they should probably just STFU.

Offence intended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭gutenberg

gsxr1 wrote: »

There is a difference between Romanians and Roma gypsies. The latter are a separate ethnic group (IIRC), and it just so happens that a lot of them are from Romania - if you read the BBC article the OP linked, it mentions that there are also communities in Hungary & the Czech Republic, among others. Most Romanians have a similar attitude to them as the OP, that is, not friendly. The families you know are likely Romanian, but not Roma gypsy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

The lad who owns my local Roma comes from Turin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭HovaBaby

No offence.

"In fact, research shows that most of those residing in France are from Romania - not Hungary, Poland, or the Czech Republic where there are sizeable Roma populations."

From the BBC article in the OP. Not all Roma gypsies are from Romania, but i'd bet my coin that nine tenth's of them are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

Pull the other one will ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭peckerhead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

No offence.

Hey, we're moving on, back in the 90s most people here seemed to think that Roma and Bosnians were effectively one and the same thing.

Oh, and OP - a really silly post. Offence intended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

"In fact, research shows that most of those residing in France are from Romania - not Hungary, Poland, or the Czech Republic where there are sizeable Roma populations."

From the BBC article in the OP. Not all Roma gypsies are from Romania, but i'd bet my coin that nine tenth's of them are.

You realise that doesn't disprove his argument, don't you?

Does it really make that much difference? No one wants them, even Romania, despite being citizens...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Auvers wrote: »
    question for any of you bleeding heart liberals, have never heard one good thing said about the Roma?

There ya go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Tuck your strides into your boots.

No offence.

I'm not taking aim at your statement directly, but where do they come from? Or are you dim-witted enough to say not all Roma (*gypsies*) come from Romania but then not know where they came from?

No offence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Noopti wrote: »
    You realise that doesn't disprove his argument, don't you?

I don't think so somehow.

Mild annoyance intended.

Give this poster a medal!

I'm not taking aim at your statement directly, but where do they come from? Or are you dim-witted enough to say not all Roma (*gypsies*) come from Romania but then not know where they came from?

No offence.

They are an ethnic group with their origins in northern India, who migrated to Europe in the Middle Ages (I think). So they're not descended from groups such as the Goths, Saxons etc as most European nations are, including Romanians. So while they live in Romania, they are *not* Romanian in the sense that most Romanians would agree on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

This wouldn't happen if Hitler was still here, I tells you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Hear the one about Klu Klux Kenevil?...

He's gonna try jump over 50 thousand Roma beggars in a steamroller :D

No offence.

Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia etc etc etc etc

No need to get offensive because you made a mistake.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

What can we do to solve the Romani gypsy question?

FYP

gutenberg wrote: »
    They are an ethnic group with their origins in northern India, who migrated to Europe in the Middle Ages (I think). So they're not descended from groups such as the Goths,

Oh dont get started on the Goths, they couldnt even be arsed to beg.

They are an ethnic group with their origins in northern India, who migrated to Europe in the Middle Ages (I think). So they're not descended from groups such as the Goths, Saxons etc as most European nations are, including Romanians. So while they live in Romania, they are *not* Romanian in the sense that most Romanians would agree on.

I never claimied they were Romanian. In the topic title I said "Romani gypsy".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

No offence.

Romania is a muti-ethnic country with a large Hungarian minority, along with minorities of Germans and other groups. These minorities might not be considered Romania by ethnic Romanians but in every way that matters, they are Romanians. The same goes for those Roma who live in Romania.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭happyfish

Auvers wrote: »

http://www.yelp.ie/biz/roma-take-away-rathfarnham

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Having been to Romania with work a few times i can tell you that the locals don't like these people too much and i can also say that they are treated as a distinct ethnic group and completed on the fringes of Romanian society, at least in Bucharest.

Complaining about Romanians when you mean gypsies is about as intelligent as complaining about the Irish based on a few bad experiences with travellers with irish accents.

In terms of what to do with them, well, it would seem to me that if people stopped giving them money and ignored them they might well go away. If they are claiming benefits illegally then the state should prevent them from doing so.

Oh dont get started on the Goths, they couldnt even be arsed to beg.

:p

Given their Germanic origins & descendants, they're the ones giving the handouts :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭simit

I think they should all be deported to sub-sahran Africa where they can sell their Big Issues to the locals to use as wall paper for their mud huts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

simit wrote: »
    I think they should all be deported to sub-sahran Africa where they can sell their Big Issues to the locals to use as wall paper for their mud huts.

We should send you down to, for the craic, you seem like a laugh.

Benny_Cake wrote: »
    Romania is a muti-ethnic country with a large Hungarian minority, along with minorities of Germans and other groups. These minorities might not be considered Romania by ethnic Romanians but in every way that matters, they are Romanians. The same goes for those Roma who live in Romania.

Indeed, they would all enjoy citizenship, with all its attendant rights & benefits. However, Roma in particular would not be part of mainstream Romanian society, in all its forms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

How about we make soap and washing obigitory upon arrival here??
    If we tweak it a little we could also solve the traveller problem too!!:D