Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

running is the name of the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭irfrm

CLUB SESSION

First night back at club since CCM and was alot of marathon top around. Interval tonight 400, 300 &200 metres repeats at about 6 minute pace recovery of 1. Well up for this and felt good throught out. Started at the back of the group and made my way up throught the run. Repeat these 5 times and at the end did one fast 400 in 1:14. Glad with the whole session.
    Forgot the watch tonight but ask one of the lads he said we done 5 miles.

WTD 5 miles
    MTD 73.9 miles
    YTD 752 miles

4 MILE RECOVERY

Lovely evening, lovely run.
    4 miles 35:44 (8:56)

WTD 9 miles
    MTD 77.9 miles
    YTD 756 miles

8.2 MILES FAST

8.2 miles, out on my usual loop. problem with garmin getting reception.

8.2 miles 1:04:00 (7:54)

WTD 17.2 miles
    MTD 86.1 miles
    YTD 764.2 miles

2 MILES EASY

2 miles with OH, left her pace herself and she went out too fast and had nothing left after 2 miles so we called a day with lesson learnt.

2 miles 17:59(8:59)

WTD 19.2 miles
    MTD 88.1 miles
    YTD 766.2 miles

8 MILE STEADY & 3MILE RECOVERY

Down at my sister in south Kerry for weekend, Saturday 8 miles 8 min pace went well last 2 miles uphill but maintained pace well. Sunday ran 3 miles on beach tough running on soft sand (and pints night before).
    8 miles 1:03:01 (7:53)
    3 miles 27:54 (8:54)

WTD 30.2 miles
    MTD 99.1 miles
    YTD 777.2 miles

CLUB SESSION

Good session again doulbing up on last week, 2*200, 2*300 & 2*400, splits around 40, 58 & 75. Enjoyed this again and feeling good at the end.
    Shannagarry 5 miles Thursday night so I'll take it easy till then.

5 mile 44:44 (8:55)

WTD 5 miles
    MTD 104.1 miles
    YTD 782.2 miles

3 MILES EASY

Have had an upset tummy since Monday night and felt weak up to last night, just went for a small run out last night with herself to see how legs felt. It poured rain when we were out put felt OK otherwise.
    Still feel a bit off today but will will give tonight race a go anyway, OH is running as well, I think she hooked:)

WTD 8 miles
    MTD 107.1 miles
    YTD 769.2 miles

Shanagarry 5 mile Ballycotton summer series

Second race in Ballycotton summer series and think they have to change the name to winter series with the rain that we had last night. Thankfully it had cleared for the start so overall conditions were good for running.

Body felt ok so waited in front of the start line until just before the off, as I got caught too far back in Ballyandreen. Was in the first row at the off and kept telling myself to not get taken out too fast so let loads pass while keeping a good pace. After half a mile cheked the watch and was at 5:40 pace so had to put the brakes on more and seemed that hundreds were still going by. Mile 1 6:09, a few club mates that would bep going for same time as me came up to me so went with them. Mile 2 6:28, went well and the pace was more even.Turned at Garryvoe hotel and it a tough mile nearly all up hill, trying my best to hang on to the group I was with.

Passed one runner who then sprinted pass us again only for us to catch up to him again 100 yards down the road, and off he went again.This happened a few times over the next 2 miles, and we all had a good laugh.
    Mile 3 6:35 so bang on track.
    Mile 4 had a steep down hill follow by a tough uphill and I was just staying with the group, once we reach the top I had nothing left and had to let them go.(6:28)
    Rain started again for mile 5 and it couldn't have come at a better time, as it cooled me down and thought that if I can keep it going my still make it.
    Last 600 metres downhill but nothing left in tank so no sprint finish. got to the line pressed the watch and glad to see the time 32:29. PB by 3 seconds,
    Delighed with that, So that will keep me going for the next few weeks.

Moved from 100 to 64 in overall summer series so small chance of getting in side top 50.

Wu/cd and race 6 miles
    WTD 14 miles
    MTD 110.1 miles
    YTD 775.2 miles

10.8 MILES FAST

Out for another run in rain this morning, legs felt good and kept pace steady.
    10.8 miles 1:21:43 (7:34)

WTD 24.8 miles
    MTD 120.9 miles
    YTD 786.0 miles

Monday 2 July

6 miles easy, found it tough at the start, legs tired but finished up ok.
    6 miles 50:51 (8:28)

Tuesday 3 July
    As I missed club training and the interval training that is done there set up my own workout on the garmin and off I went. Weather was awful pouring off the heavens but as they say " no point being mad without proving it".
    Workout was a 12 min warm up 0.51 miles at 6:10 to 6:30 pace and a 10 min cool down.
    Recovery 1:40.
    Splits
    6:26
    6:29
    6:00
    6:27
    6:18
    6:23
    6:40
    Third one a bit fast and last thought I heard the garmin beep so slowed too early.
    Enjoyed it and looking forward to some of the interval runs in the training plan for DCM.
    Overall 7.2 miles in 60:26.

WTD 14.2 miles
    MTD 14.2 miles
    YTD 800.2 miles

irfrm wrote: »
    Goals 2012
    5 miles 36:400
    10 miles 75:00
    H/mar 1:40:00
    15 miles 2:00:00
    CCM 3:45:00

Time for a review of the goals I set back in January, looking back It shows what a schedule training plan and setting goals can make a person achieve.

GOALS FOR REST OF 2012
    5 KM; 19:30
    5 MILES; 31:59
    H/MAR; 1:29:59
    15 MILES; 1:44:59
    DCM ; 3:14:59.

Lets get training:D

7.7 MILES STEADY

Warm out this afternoon and didnt feel up for it, legs and mind tired, improved as the run went on but overall tough for this pace.

7.7 miles 1:01:04 (7:54)

WTD 21.9 miles
    MTD 21.9 miles
    YTD 807.9 miles

FRIDAY 6th JULY
    4 mile recovery, legs still tired.
    4 miles 35:41(8:54)

SATURDAY 7th JULY
    3.3 miles, was mean to do LSR this morning but didnt get up:), just time for aquick run this evening.
    3.3 miles 26:58(8:08)

WTD 29.2 miles
    MTD 29.2 mies
    YTD 815.2 miles

SUNDAY 8th JULY
    3.7 miles yesterday 25:13 (6:49), OK.

WTD 32.9 miles
    MTD 32.9 miles
    YTD 819.5 miles

MONDAY 9th JULY
    Club training, watch battery died so no splits :(, 200, 300 & 400 twice followed by
    4*200 with 200 jog recovery. Felt good through out.
    5 miles.

WTD 5 miles
    MTD 37.9 miles
    YTD 824.4 miles.

Start of training for DCM going to follow a runners world 3:15 program, moved around a bit to suit.

4 MILES EASY
    4 miles with the dog, feeling good. 32:58(8:15) a bit too quick.

WTD 9 miles
    MTD 36.9 miles
    YTD 823.5 miles

4 MILES 2@ 10K PACE

Missed last night run as work just caught up so looking forward to this all day when I evenually got home and out for the run the tummy didnt feel great and was going to turn for home. Ran the 2 pace miles at 6:37 & 6:24 but these were a lot tougher than they should have been.
    4 miles 30:27 (7:29)

WTD 13 miles
    MTD 40.6 miles
    YTD 827.5 miles

FRIDAY 13th 4 MILES
    Going to Dingle for the weekend so got this run in while waiting for OH, went well happy with run.
    4 miles 32:04 (8:01)

SATURDAY 14th 4 MILES
    Went for along walk along the Dingle way (Dingle to Ventry and back again), beautiful day for this and really enjoyed it.
    Got a 4 miles run in when we went to Inch beach during the afternoon, forgot the garmin so did 4 miles but took it ease after morning walk.
    4 miles 40:00

SUNDAY 15th REAT DAY
    No LSR as needed to rest head and body:D

WTD 21 miles
    MTD 48.6 miles
    YTD 835.5 miles

CLUB TRAINING

Back to club training and a mix bag, as there was a varied mix of level of runner so things done at a handier level, 200,300,400 &800 times ok but with a walk recovery each were made alot easier.
    5 miles 41:58 (8:16)

WTD 5 miles
    MTD 53.6 miles
    YTD 840.5 miles

5.5 MILES EASY

Very warm out today and even though run was easy still sweated up alot.
    5.5 miles 45:22 (8:15)

WTD 10.5 miles
    MTD 59.1 miles
    YTD 846 miles

CARRIGTWOHILL 5KM

Have been looking forward to the 5km season which kicked off to night in Carrigtwohill, this was voted the best 5km in Cork last year and the crowds really turned out tonight. Only found out that I could get an hour off work to run at 6 so got there at 7 and ran a 1.5 mile warm up with some club members, weather was perfect for this.

Start well up the front with about 100 in front of me, wanted to settle in to a nice pace early on and left a good few pasted me early on. Mile 1 6:03.

Felt good on mile 2 but lost some time on a hill but now began to pass a few who had gone out too quick. Mile 2 6:27.

Continued passing runners, had my eye on a club mate about 25 metres up ahead but everytime I speed up he seemed to go as well. Mile 3 6:17.

Finished with a good sprint to get home in 19:37.
    New PB:D by nearly 2 mins and a nearly 4 min improvement on this race last year.

0.8 mile cool down. Overall 5.5 miles.

WTD 16 miles
    MTD 64.6 miles
    YTD 851.5 miles

FRIDAY 20th
    6 miles steady, warm out and first mile was tough but settled to the pace and went well.
    6 miles 47:06(7:51)

SATURDAY 21st
    4 miles recovery:) went too fast, rush to go to kerry match.
    4 miles 32:25(8:06)

SUNDAY 22nd
    13 miles still too fast for LSR, very warm and after the few pints after the match yesterday I still felt comfartable.
    13 miles 1:41:51 (7:50)

WTD 39 miles
    MTD 84.6 miles
    YTD 871.5 miles

MONDAY 23rd

4 miles on threadmill, cant say I enjoyed it and would rather have been on the road but thats the way it worked out.
    4 miles 33:10(8:18)

WEDNESDAY 25th

Garmin battery low so went with out it, 4 miles taken it nice and easy. Third of the Ballycotton 5 mile summer series on tomorrow night so will be going all out to improve my time.
    4 miles in 34:00 approx

WTD 8 miles
    MTD 92.6 miles
    YTD 879.5 miles

CHURCHTOWN SOUTH 5 MILE

The third of the Ballycotton summer series was on thursday night, the cource is 2 laps on quite country roads near churchtown south. Had to drive for 2 hours to get to the race but got there nice and early so did a good warm up. In 65th position in the overall series and would have to put out a good run to improve my place.

Started afew rows back and got away well even with the big numbers, legs felt tired after only half a mile so didnt think I would do that well. Mile 1 6:04 too fast again knew I would pay at the end for it.

Second mile was ok and kept the pace up with a few around me. Mile 2 6:06

Began to feel the effects of going out too fast and there was tough hill which would be the finish on the second lap was surprised that I didnt lose more time. Mile 3 6:30

Passing the third mile marker one of my club mates was walking as he got a stitch and I felt like joining him. A good few runners began to pass me and could not go with any of them mile 4 6:35.

Tried to stay positive and keep it going, with half amile to go the leading lady pass me so decided to track her, reached the hill and with about 400 metres to go made a bit of a sprint for the line. Stopped the watch 32:02. A new PB but if i knew I was that close to 31:** I would have gone earlier.

Checked the overall standings and have moved up to 49

Warm up/cool down and race 7.5 miles.

WTD 15.5 miles
    MTD 100.1 miles
    YTD 887.0 miles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭beeduybe

Well done. That's a pretty impressive 5 mile improvement in a month.

5 MILE RECOVERY

Recovery run yesterday nice and easy.
    5 miles 41:22 (8:17)

WTD 20.5 miles
    MTD 105.1 miles
    YTD 892 miles

13 MILE STEADY

Got my LSR run in yesterday, plan was to run this in 1:44 but went a bit quicker 1:41:21 avg pace 7:51. Felt ok until last mile which was my lowest at 8:22.
    Poor week reguards marathon training missing two runs but got a 5 mile PB.

WTD 33.5 miles
    MTD 118.5 miles
    YTD 905 miles

7.5 MILES 6*1000 FAST

1.5 miles jog warm up, 6*1000 with 90sec recovery, splits 4:02 4:04 4:06 4:19 & 4:10, felt ok in the rain. 1.5 miles cool down, good workout.

WTD 7.5 miles
    MTD 126.0 miles
    YTD 912.5 miles

8 MILES EASY

Was going to but this off until this evening, but got out this morning and the rain cleared just as I set off, nice run plan was 8 miles in 1:08:00 but ran a little quicker.

8 miles 1:06:25 (8:18)

WTD 15.5 miles
    MTD 8.0 miles
    YTD 920.5 miles

4 MILES VERY EASY

Out with OH for a recovery run, 4 miles 36:17 (9:04), rest day today, unsure of plan for weekend as I have a 10k run on Sunday which I hope to beat 40:00 but there also LSR, doubt l'll fit both in.

WTD 19.5 miles
    MTD 12 miles
    YTD 924.5 miles

BANNA 10KM RUN

Poor week again last week, missing rus and too many nights out, no run on Friday or Saturday, but that was ok as had Banna 10km run on Sunday morning so wanted to be up for this.
    Got there early as a few of OH family were either run or walking. This is a flat 10k so felt if I am going to break 40 min this was the race. Set garmin for km split so it woulld be easy to see how I was doing (4min/km).

First few km went ok with splits 3:52 and 3:57 but legs didn't feel great, and began to lose time, km 3&4 4:09 and 4:10. was able to keep this pace up but not any faster and knew early on that I would not break 40:00.
    Noticed that the km markers were running short with the garmin split a few hundred metres after marker.Felt good enough at the end for a sprint and came home in 40:27 for 20th place. Garmin reading 9.89km. I'll take the PB and move on.
    OH family had a great day with most running a race for the first time. I think they caught the the bug as there a looking for the next race.

WTD 27.5 miles
    MTD 15 miles
    YTD 932.0 miles