Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cla/midland game fairs 2012

• 04-01-2012 11:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭

I'm thinking of heading across to the cla or midland fair this year just wondering has anyone here camped at either one and if so what are the facilities like(her indoors shall be in tow:D) and are the camp sites close to the grounds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

As the season draws nearer a close - any more thoughts on these??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

ill be definetly heading across the water to a show this year i said i would last year and work took over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭sonofthegun

charlie10 wrote: »
    ill be definetly heading across the water to a show this year i said i would last year and work took over

any talk of any package deals to go over was there a coach accomadation and tickets to the game fair arranged by some travel agent last year or was it just an idea put out to see response
    stog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

I went to the CLA in 2010. Well worth the trip and I will go this Summer coming. Three of us went and camped in a camp site about 3 or 4 miles form the gamefair. The gamefair camp site was booked out but I think it was a bit pricey anyway. Saying that it would of been good craic to have a few pints and talk shooting in the beer tent there in the evenings. Once you go to the CLA or presumably the Midland you will never be able to enjoy Birr castle again it is just so far behind the big fairs in England.

Once you go to the CLA or presumably the Midland you will never be able to enjoy Birr castle again it is just so far behind the big fairs in England.

Thats for sure!

Def will do a 1 if not 2 of the UK fairs & probably give the Irish ones a miss. They are a spectacle & if the weather holds a great weekend.
    I think a drive over is a good way to do it also. Pack up the jeep & make a long weekend of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Alchemist2

give me a shout EP and let us know your plans... will be goin ourselves... might as well camp in the same spot if there a few lads goin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

Was at the cla in 2009 or 2010,its unreal,porn for fishin/huntin kinda guys,if i were going again i'd camp ,the craic was meant to be mighty on the camp site and your not restricted by a bus scheduale,we went with Kavanaghs of Urlingford,think it was about E330.00 all in,verey good value.
    The English posh totty in their short tweed skirts and high boots are worth the entry fee alone:p:p:p,be warned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭ace86

which is the best games fair to go to to in terms of flying there and being close to the fair itself and is it hard to get accomodation besides camping sites etc any good websites to visit for info?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭.243

ace86 wrote: »
    which is the best games fair to go to to in terms of flying there and being close to the fair itself and is it hard to get accomodation besides camping sites etc any good websites to visit for info?
    if you havnt been to one of these before id strongly advise you to pool up a gang of 4 in a car or jeep and stay in a hotel nearby(the amount of gear you can get at these things at good prices is unreal),
    i go to the midland with my crowd and stay in one of the hotels on the motorway beside it,
    the midland fair is a 20 min motorway trip away from birmingham airport,and although there is camping facilites onsite its alot easier and less hassle to stay at a hotel nearby,(plus its easier to bring home stuff in the car than get caught for baggage wieght at the airport)

The shropshire one near Birmingham was class last year. Also was a nice time of year weatherwise in September. More of the pre hunting season atmosphere. Not a long drive from Holyhead & plenty of cheap hotels. There's Premier Inns etc around which are very reasonable.

The CLA then in july is the big one & a mix of country fair from talking to a few people who've been.

I'm hoping to do both this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

id be up for it:D is there no coaches from eire that do a package?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭LB6

If I could get the boss to organize his passport, there's a "slight" possibility that we could go too!

Should organise something and see what prices are like for a "group"

Spunk84 wrote: »
    id be up for it:D is there no coaches from eire that do a package?

Kavanagh Coaches Urlingford Kilkenny do the Cla for about 350 all inclusive(bar drink):D:D:D:D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

Should organise something and see what prices are like for a "group"

We should get a boards bus and head over be some craic.

Kavanagh Coaches Urlingford Kilkenny do the Cla for about 350 all inclusive(bar drink):D:D:D:D.

have to look into that;) if it included hotel as well. stick 60 quid away a month until the event

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭wildfowler94

have to look into that;) if it included hotel as well. stick 60 quid away a month until the event

be great job.

It includes the trip over the hotel the breakfast and the grub in the evening,and entry into the fair,not bad value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭LB6

So which one are ye considering going to? the CLA in July or the Midlands in Sept?

LB6 wrote: »
    So which one are ye considering going to? the CLA in July or the Midlands in Sept?

Both :eek:
    CLA bigger but Just before the season has more atmosphere.
    Plus midlands is not small either. Think Birr on steroids X 100
    Average 80/90k people

CLA, couldnt travel by bus... id freak out somewhere on the N7.. too cramped imo.. anyoo can fit way more in back and ontop of disco:p(if swmbo aint comin that is):D cause i doubt there be a whole lotta room in the cargo area of a bus if there were a load of us nutters goin

Either one, haven't been to one in years over in the UK..... I say a car covoy would be cheaper! Maybe even tents on the side if the motorway LOL

THE CLA GAME FAIR AT BELVOIR CASTLE
    4 DAY TOUR
    TOUR INCLUDES

Luxury coach throughout with experienced Driver/Escort
    Return ferry Dublin - Holyhead
    3 night’s hotel accommodation with dinner, bed and breakfast
    2 day entrance to GLA Game Fair
    HOTEL

*** Jury’s Inn, Nottingham
    COST €395
    ITINERARY (4 DAY)

FRIDAY 20TH JULY
    We will pick you up from our designated pick up point and travel to Dublin for our ferry to Holyhead. We depart Holyhead and continue our journey to Nottingham with a stop enroute and check into the hotel for our 3 night stay. (D, B&B)

SATURDAY 21ST JULY
    We depart the hotel after breakfast and spend a full day at the Game Fair in Belvoir Castle. Return to the hotel for dinner. (D, B&B)

SUNDAY 22ND JULY
    We depart the hotel after breakfast and spend another full day at the Game Fair in Belvoir Castle. Return to the hotel for dinner. (D, B&B)

MONDAY 23RD JULY
    After breakfast, we will check out of the hotel and travel to Holyhead for our ferry back to Dublin. After disembarkation in Dublin, we will immediately transfer you to your original pick up point.

(3 DAY)

TOUR INCLUDES

Luxury coach throughout with experienced Driver/Escort
    Return ferry Dublin - Holyhead
    3 night’s hotel accommodation with dinner, bed and breakfast
    2 day entrance to GLA Game Fair
    HOTEL

*** Jury’s Inn, Nottingham
    COST

€49 Single Supplement
    DEPARTURE DATES

TOUR CODES

PRICES PPS €325

ITINERARY (3 DAY)

SATURDAY 21ST JULY
    We will pick you up from our designated pick up point and travel to Dublin for our ferry to Holyhead at 02.15am arriving into Holyhead at 06.00am. We depart Holyhead and continue to Belvoir Castle for the CLA Game Fair. We depart the fair and continue to Nottingham and check into the hotel for our 2 night stay. (D, B&B)

SUNDAY 22ND JULY
    We depart the hotel after breakfast and spend another full day at the Game Fair in Belvoir Castle. Return to the hotel for dinner. (D, B&B)

MONDAY 23RD JULY
    After breakfast, we will check out of the hotel and travel to Holyhead for our ferry back to Dublin. After disembarkation in Dublin, we will immediately transfer you to your original pick up point.

http://www.kavanaghtravel.com/agricultural/html/07_july.html

I See no free booze on that list:mad: hahhahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

How does tha cla compare to the midland?
    Is it as big as many traders etc?

So im all booked for CLA:D anyone else heading over?>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

Just seen the news on twitter. They just couldn't go ahead due to the weather. Gutted for anyone who has booked it as a bit of a holiday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

Ah for Fk sake!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭slippy wicket

Aint that terrible, its some year for cancellation of shows and the like. :(

Bastards.

Very unfortunate to all involved, major revenue loss to field sports related businesses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭game hunter

is this a sick joke by any chance :mad: just got my fu~king tickets 2 days ago

Gutted

Just changed ferry booking for shropshire. 50 quid extra but not all lost!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭fiestaman

Just changed ferry booking for shropshire. 50 quid extra but not all lost!!

Whats on in shropshire?

fiestaman wrote: »
    Whats on in shropshire?

Midlands game fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭denismac

I'm planning to go to the Midland Fair also. Have the ferry and hotel booked. Do you think it would be worthwhile booking the tickets for it now because of the possibility of it being over subscribed or is that a bit alarmist?

denismac wrote: »
    I'm planning to go to the Midland Fair also. Have the ferry and hotel booked. Do you think it would be worthwhile booking the tickets for it now because of the possibility of it being over subscribed or is that a bit alarmist?

Good question. Last time I paid at the gate & was grand. I'll prob risk it again & hop the wall if they won't let me in after the disappointment of the CLA :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭denismac

I might just book them anyway just to be sure. Thing is, do I book 1 day or 2 for all? I'll have the wife and kids with me so will there be enough there to keep them happy for a second day or will I pack them off to the shops and go back myself on the Sunday?

denismac wrote: »
    I might just book them anyway just to be sure. Thing is, do I book 1 day or 2 for all? I'll have the wife and kids with me so will there be enough there to keep them happy for a second day or will I pack them off to the shops and go back myself on the Sunday?

Depends on their interests. If you can keep them entertained for a day in Birr or the likes then 2 at MLs shouldn't be an issue...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 46 decoyer

Good question. Last time I paid at the gate & was grand. I'll prob risk it again & hop the wall if they won't let me in after the disappointment of the CLA :D

Hi lads no need to book tickets for Midlands you can always pay at the gate ,i trade at most shows all over UK and Ireland
    CLA luckily aint a big loss as they are refunding us in full this year
    last time they cancelled at Harewood house i lost nearly £3000 :mad:
    So as usuall i will be at Birr and Midlands also be at Borris House show ;)

What ar the dates for the midlands fair ?

Midlands is 15th and 16th September

still kicking **** today over it being cancelled:mad: id say midlands will be alot bigger this year because of the cla cancelling!! Poor bastards around the cla have just lost 1-2years wages because of it

Definetly WONT be any bigger SPUNK ,just usual Midlands
    lot of big shots in the industry wont do any shows except the CLA
    and i would keep an eye on that as well weather in Shropshire is crap
    and they have still to hold the V fest in weston park
    if you remember they done it bout 5 yrs ago and had to move midlands
    further back making it smaller
    ive done the midlands for 15yrs now and to be quite honest its become like
    a big car boot sale ,lots of traders with nowt to do with hunting ,shooting or fishing

ps no one losing out they are giving 100% refunds this time

decoyer wrote: »

Definetly WONT be any bigger SPUNK ,just usual Midlands
    lot of big shots in the industry wont do any shows except the CLA
    and i would keep an eye on that as well weather in Shropshire is crap
    and they have still to hold the V fest in weston park
    if you remember they done it bout 5 yrs ago and had to move midlands
    further back making it smaller
    ive done the midlands for 15yrs now and to be quite honest its become like
    a big car boot sale ,lots of traders with nowt to do with hunting ,shooting or fishing

ps no one losing out they are giving 100% refunds this time
    Tell us this lad how much would a wildcat moderater be if the you were selling them. Or if u know of the prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

jaysus that is a kick in the teeth allrite, :mad: i feel sorry for ye lads that were goin over ,i hope to make the trip over nxt year all goin well,but for now i all i can hope for is to go to birr this yr:(

The crowd were going with haven't even called us to say it canx :O gonna give them a bollocking Monday for it !!! I'm soo pissed off its not funny

Tell us this lad how much would a wildcat moderater be if the you were selling them. Or if u know of the prices

Sorry Spunk we dont carry anything like that too much hassel ,if we were to carry guns and such we hae to apply to each Licensing dept for every area we go to and they charge what they like,
    We sell Pigeon Decoying gear ,Clothing ,Gundog supplies,Rabbit nets,Longnets and loads more at Birr we are directly across from the Gundogs ;) and do best deals there ;)