Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you use text talk?

• 02-01-2012 11:35am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Do you use text talk?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Y u ask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭ssshhh123

Ye sum a de time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

No. I would rather send two text messages than send a message that looks like a two year old was pressing random buttons on a phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Nope and glad I never have because everyone that uses it looks like a fcukin dope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Balfie wrote: »
    No. I would rather send two text messages than send a message that looks like a two year old was pressing random buttons on a phone.

This. Just a lot of facbeook statuses/forum posts are done in text talk, annoys me.

Why does it annoy you? R u not upto date on de slang

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Nope and never will. It's acceptable to shorten one or two words if you're low on credit and are hitting the 160 character mark but in a one line text it's ridiculous The whole "Ill c u l8tr" schite is annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

I would use a small bit but it all depends on who im writing to.

Another thing that is a9n! Is a 6 upside down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

ssshhh123 wrote: »
    Why does it annoy you? R u not upto date on de slang

It annoys me because it sounds childish imo. I was texting a girl recently and her texts were full of mistakes like done and seen. I can't see why she'd bother to write 'done' instead of 'did'. There's one more letter in it and it takes longer to write when you're not on predictive.

Personally, I have used predictive for years. The only time that I cut any letters out is if I've run out of free texts and my credit is low. As a result I often send messages that are 3 and 4 messages long.

I can text 10 times quicker in predictive than the other way, and I never intend changing. I have a 'normal' phone btw and not one of the touchscreens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭vtec_vixen

Depends, if I'm in a hurry and need to get a message sent quickly then yes. Don't use it on the computer though, typing what you have to say is easier than faffing about with numbers and symbols when your on keyboard IMO.

It annoys me because it sounds childish imo. I was texting a girl recently and her texts were full of mistakes like done and seen. I can't see why she'd bother to write 'done' instead of 'did'. There's one more letter in it and it takes longer to write when you're not on predictive.

I'd say that's different to text speak and she just doesn't know the difference

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

no i hate it. anyone who uses it should be thrown to the lions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

I hate text talk with a passion it is just so lazy and IMO makes the author come across as a retard who cannot even understand a simple language thay've been speaking for years.

I was courting a girl a few years ago she was amazing right up till she texted me some garbled rubbish text speak message, my opinion of her nose dived immediately, safe to say I am not with her now.

The worst thing about it is that the kids these days have to learn that shít possibly taking away from their real learning of languages in school which I've witnessed first hand.

Also I know several people with dyslexia and they can send stupid texts using incoherant text speak but they cannot even spell the simplest word and use their dyslexia as an excuse for all sorts.
    This type of behavious needs to be stamped out!
    No more mobile phones!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Wouldn't use it and hate it. And anyone over 10 who uses it just looks like an idiot.

Have been known to ignore FB posts and texts that use it - if someone doesn't have the cop-on and respect to ask something properly then they don't deserve a reply.

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Wouldn't use it and hate it. And anyone over 10 who uses it just looks like an idiot.

Have been known to ignore FB posts and texts that use it - if someone doesn't have the cop-on and respect to ask something properly then they don't deserve a reply.

Exactly.
    I wouldn't even read a text in that nonsense even if it was important:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

cloud493 wrote: »
    Do you use text talk?
    seldom, but the odd time if in hrry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

pdbhp wrote: »

Also I know several people with dyslexia and they can send stupid texts using incoherant text speak but they cannot even spell the simplest word and use their dyslexia as an excuse for all sorts.

Incoherent is a simple word...
    There is no correlation between text speak and dyslexia 7 of your friends are eejits who don't understand how their dyslexia works. :pac:

-A Dislexik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

i do in mye f00k, lol

saa wrote: »
    Incoherent is a simple word...
    There is no correlation between text speak and dyslexia 7 of your friends are eejits who don't understand how their dyslexia works. :pac:

-A Dislexik.

Correct, they use it as an excuse when other dyslexics I know are smart go getters who'd never let anything stop them getting ahead in life, most who use excuses like that are lazy and no matter what they'd be failures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I do find it annoying it irritates me cause sometimes I don't understand what they are trying to say it wrecks my head. Its ok in a text just to shorten a word or two or running out of credit or low in battery or in a hurry that's grand but seriously some common english sense wouldn't go amiss! Text speak in emails and social networking sites does my head in its alright if you had a typo or just wanted to shorten mo for moment or something but like l8ter instead of later is a bit lazy now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

I understand if people used it on a 0-9 keyboard. But if people do it on a QWERTY then there's no excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

bluewolf wrote: »
    I'd say that's different to text speak and she just doesn't know the difference

Yes it probably is. The rest of her texts were all text speak though. Anyway I got sick of it and stopped texting. I spent more time trying to figure out what she was trying to say than I did actually texting her back.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

http://bash.org/?759758
    #759758 +(1828)- [X]

dantose: Do u get a trophy 4 it????
    rocker576: It occurs to me that typing "u" instead of "you" and "4" instead of "for" saved you 4 (not "for") keystrokes. Typing "????" instead of "?" used 3 keystrokes plus the use of the shift button for a total of 4 keystrokes. Thus, you have saved no effort whatsoever by kicking the English language.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Liam Byrne wrote: »

What's an FB post?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

cloud493 wrote: »
    Do you use text talk?

Only when texting.
    I find it really irritating when people use text speak on Facebook or in emails.
    I think the only time you should use text speak is on your mobile phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I do but only ironically. I still use a Nokia 3210 btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

What's an FB post?

Facebook post.
    Get with the times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Carter P Fly

My Cousin writes nit for night and gud for good and u for you and so on. It makes me think shes retarded but when I asked if she was actually retarded got funny looks as if I was the evil antichrist for suggesting such a thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭maiden

I HATE it, i have warned my teens never ever to send me a message with text speak or I will dock their pocket money!

I wont even read a message with that **** in it, i cant be arsed trying to decipher what it says!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Never. It bothers me when I have to talk to people that do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Carter P Fly

Also I know some adults that do it as well, people with decent jobs and education and stuff yet still come across like they're feral inbred mountain folk that eat wayward travellers (not the pikey sort, cant eat them, they taste funny)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭Sarn

Yes, but only when I speak. Fortunately no one notices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

A small bit just when texting - like "u" and such. Really OTT textspeak actually looks like it involves huge effort, which kinda defeats the purpose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭Arianna_26

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭Caiseoipe19

It's when people use it on the internet that I find it irritating...at least with texts there's a character limit so people have some defence but when typing on a computer it's just stupid. I'd shorten the odd word in texts if I'm in a rush or it's the difference between needing to send an extra message. Typing is much faster using proper spelling as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

No, I don't. I have a few friends who do and one who always uses 'were' instead of 'where', and he does know the difference, but it's quicker to not use the h apparently. Maybe it is, but "Were?" is completely different to "Where?" and it doesn't even make sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

it can also be very awkward when ya get a message off someone, especially the mother saying. "Cn u cum"

ehhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

maiden wrote: »
    I HATE it, i have warned my teens never ever to send me a message with text speak or I will dock their pocket money!

I wont even read a message with that **** in it, i cant be arsed trying to decipher what it says!!!

What if they were in trouble and needed to get hold of you quickly, hadn't much time to text. Don't get me wrong I cant stand text speak but if I got a message on my phone with one of my kids names on it, I'd make an extra effort to read it, I certainly wouldn't ignore it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

No.

I'm not a simpleton.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭Missmiddleton

i tend to leave that kind of thing to the bebo stunnahz. they have it down to a fine art by now bbz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭zimmermania

i tend to leave that kind of thing to the bebo stunnahz. they have it down to a fine art by now bbz
    I used to but now that i have emraced predictive texting i find its so quick and easy i could never go back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭IsMiseLisa

I'm not entirely against text language. If I'm writing a long text, or don't have much credit once my free texts go, I'll chop out a few letters and change 'to' to 2. (Too many 't(w)o/o's?)

I cannot stand shortening messages on the internet. Keyboards are designed to maximise typing speed.

I also don't get people who text short-hand, but retarded, so that 'you' is spelt 'yhuu' or 'it' is spelt 'iih'... The ****?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I do but only ironically. I still use a Nokia 3210 btw.
    That has to be one of the best mobile phones ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,246 ✭✭✭conor.hogan.2

People need to learn the difference between writing some legitimate paper and texting friends.

It also comes into play especially on platforms that cost money the more characters you use, so using fewer characters is just smart in those situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Used to when there was a character limit, but dont now that it serves no purpose. My friends will know when Im using webtexts because I wont have proper spelling (to-2, you-u etc) just so I can fit enough into one message, or should I say msg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

People need to learn the difference between writing some legitimate paper and texting friends.

It also comes into play especially on platforms that cost money the more characters you use, so using fewer characters is just smart in those situations.

Is your name actually Conor Hogantoo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

maiden wrote: »

you are not a cool mom.

I hate txt speak, don't use but guilty of shortening some words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Well if it was a text cos someone was in a hurry, then thats fine. If someone has the time to make a facebook status/does have the time to write a proper status, pisses me off to no end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Personally, I have used predictive for years. The only time that I cut any letters out is if I've run out of free texts and my credit is low. As a result I often send messages that are 3 and 4 messages long.

I can text 10 times quicker in predictive than the other way, and I never intend changing. I have a 'normal' phone btw and not one of the touchscreens.

couldn't agree more! #

although sadly i had to switch to touch screen recently but predictive text still works a charm and with a bit of fiddling in the android settings i have a keypad like keyboard so i don't have 30+ keys to try and not press when i wasnt an a or something