Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tim and Gary Cahill being called K-HILL

• 01-01-2012 7:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭

It really fcukin pisses me off.As its an Irish surname,I just want to know how come these commentators(morons) have not been corrected.They have been mispronouncing it for too long now.

Was listening to Newstalk yesterday and I heard Dave McIntyre refer to Everton player Tim as "K-HILL",and I thought what the fcuk,Irish people now saying Irish names incorrectly,just to be the same as the idiots cross channel.

Also heard Stephen Hunt say it a few weeks ago,but I suppose we will leave him off.

They called Ken Doherty,Ken Dirthy for long enough.

I heard Cillian Sheridan being referred to as Silly-an before

Today they call James McClean,McClaane.

I was thinking of emailing BBC and SKY this

http://hearnames.com/pronunciations/search/Cahill.html

I know I have a lot to be worrying about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Andy Key-o is another one .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Only one I've really noticed is faw-he(Fah(e)y).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Then theres Doherty being pronounced Doc-herty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

It's how they pronounce it themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,532 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I'm sure Gary and Tim know how to pronounce their own surnames.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

FFS they are English Cahills - its how they say it. Like Elvis Cos-Tello rather than "Costalow"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Patsy fyre

Also rosicky being pronounced rositski annoys that does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

and irish commentators are great for getting all names right too. next time bill or giles dont get Henry and the likes right, ill be emailing Rte.

or actually i wont, cos i dont give a f*ck about it! Cahill is pronounced differently all over the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭ambid

Two of my favourite players were kevin mo-RAAN and paul mcgrATH! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

And while we're at it I'm sick of how they stopped pronouncing Arshavin in the hilarious form they used for Euro 2008.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Dotrel wrote: »
    And while we're at it I'm sick of how they stopped pronouncing Arshavin in the hilarious form they used for Euro 2008.

I just cant wait for the day it comes up in a game show in one of those "say what you see" picture rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭abelard

Patsy fyre wrote: »
    Also rosicky being pronounced rositski annoys that does

I'm giving you the benefit of the doubt here that that was facetious... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

People pronouncing the L in Ljungberg used to wreck my head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Firstly OP, that is how they say their own names. This may shock you, but other countries are allowed pronounce names and words differently.

Funny the abuse George Hamilton gets for trying to actually pronounce names properly.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

How many words that we use everday are adopted from french and german? And we still pronounce them how we've become accustomed to, not how they were originally pronounced in that language.
    I'd say get down off the ould high horse there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Sami Hoop-e-a or Hip-e-a was another one that was always wrong. Packie Bonner calling Juventus "Jewventus" was annoying too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,711 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

No one and I mean no one can pronounce Kuyt right.

Also OP you have to realise the people with the surnames are not Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭batistuta9

murpho999 wrote: »

apparently feyenoord changed the spelling of their name to that way from feijenoord as no one outside holland could pronounce it either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,711 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

batistuta9 wrote: »
    apparently feyenoord changed the spelling of their name to that way from feijenoord as no one outside holland could pronounce it either

Yea, it's a bit strange, but 'ij' in dutch is also written as 'y' in Dutch but non Dutchies wouldn't know it!

Kuyt could also spell his name as 'Kuijt' if he wanted to!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭elefant

batistuta9 wrote: »

Sometimes the Dutch use interchange a 'y' instead of the 'ij' anyways.

edit: of all the things I never expected to be beaten to :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭elefant

An interesting one I always mispronounced was Boudewijn Zenden.
    I always heard it like 'Boo-de-win', but it's actually pronounced 'B-ow-de-vine'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Boner for Bonner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Quazzie wrote: »
    I'm sure Gary and Tim know how to pronounce their own surnames.

You'd think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭the untitled user

mike65 wrote: »
    FFS they are English Cahills - its how they say it.

Actually Mike, don't assume it. What generally happens when one moves abroad is that you get so fed up of having K-hill thrown back at you that you cave and just go with the flow. I know a few Cahills in England who just started calling themselves K-hill so they wouldn't have to keep spelling it everytime to people.

It gets really annoying when people go out of their way to correct you on the pronunciation of your own name :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

It's like back in French class when someone was saying their name and giving it some ridiculous French pronunciation.

Then I moved here and realised that in Irish class people actually had different names.

Never got that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I tend to pronounce names however the owner of the name says it. Say for Noel Gallagher I'd pronounce the 'g' at the 'gh', whereas for the Gallaghers down the road I'd put the emphasis on the 'h'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

It really fcukin pisses me off.As its an Irish surname,I just want to know how come these commentators(morons) have not been corrected.They have been mispronouncing it for too long now.

Was listening to Newstalk yesterday and I heard Dave McIntyre refer to Everton player Tim as "K-HILL",and I thought what the fcuk,Irish people now saying Irish names incorrectly,just to be the same as the idiots cross channel.

Also heard Stephen Hunt say it a few weeks ago,but I suppose we will leave him off.

They called Ken Doherty,Ken Dirthy for long enough.

I heard Cillian Sheridan being referred to as Silly-an before

Today they call James McClean,McClaane.

I was thinking of emailing BBC and SKY this

http://hearnames.com/pronunciations/search/Cahill.html

I know I have a lot to be worrying about.

Gary Cahill is from England and Tim Cahill is Australian. That's how they pronounce it themselves. You do have a point about the Irish players though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭carlcon

Fuhrer wrote: »
    Then theres Doherty being pronounced Doc-herty

My peeve was always hearing Ken Doherty being called "Doe-Herty"/"D'oh-erty", as in the female deer or a Homer Simpson "D'oh".

--

But yeah, the OP is off the ball completely. Good luck telling an Englishman and and Australian to pronounce their names the Irish way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

De-Gee comes to mind :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,192 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

To be fair i've heard commentators getting it right (or at least close!) a reasonable amount of the time.

Correct pronunciation seems closest to Kowt (Dirk himself was asked in an interview and this was his answer, kinda funny clip though).

Dirky will do!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

oh and Ronny Whelan its pronounced

Ray-al Madrid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,192 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Trying to remember who the commentator was that would insist on saying "Ports - Mouth" every single time, Drove me nuts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,272 ✭✭✭✭8-10

It's not just the surname, his first name Dirk is so so so often pronounced on TV as 'Durk' instead of the correct 'Deerk'

I mean it's not difficult to pronounce 'De-erk'?

Also with Liverpool there's Martin Skrtel which I admit is a difficult one. People say something like 'Skirtil' instead of what sounds like 'Schkirtyell'

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

8-10 wrote: »
    I mean it's not difficult to pronounce 'De-erk'?

It's not right either. He's not German; listen to how he pronounces it himself in the clip above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Trevor Walsh on TV3 says "Matches United" all the time, instead of Manchester United.Shur Trevor,would it be too hard to say Man United.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Fairly silly Irish sensitivity especially if the players use that pronunciation. Get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Dotrel wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭Rojiblancos

The Fulham match that's on now... Sen-dayros

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,416 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

I dont understand why Davies is pronounced Davis by so many commentators.
    The "E" is not silent.

My own favourite is David Pleats Benny-noon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

Another one from Pleat - Bervatob.

That's not just mis-pronunciation though, there's an element of stupidity in that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Trying to remember who the commentator was that would insist on saying "Ports - Mouth" every single time, Drove me nuts!

think it was peter collins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Theres a motorway in Sydney called the Cahill Expressway. Shows Ive been here listening to their media too long when I see the sign and the voice in my head pronounces it as "K- Hill Expressway" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭batistuta9

it's just like McGowan(pronounced mc-go-wan) & McGowan(pronounced mc-gow-an) then and not the english destroying irish names but seems the dutch have got a case with them :D

although maybe K-hill is the correct pronunciation and martin just changed it to throw the guards off

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I dont understand why Davies is pronounced Davis by so many commentators.
    The "E" is not silent.

In the UK, "Davies" is pronounced the same as "Davis". It's a Welsh name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

I'm an Everton suppoprter and I'm still not too sure of how to pronounce Jagielka (some pronounce it with a 'J' and some with a 'Y') or Anichebe (some pronounce it as 'Ann-Knee-She-Bee' and some pronounce it as 'Annie-Chee-Bee')

Oddly enough, I'm pretty comfortable with Bilyaletdinov and Stracqualursi :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭The Swordsman

Remember Mark Kin-Sella. (without the silent e)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Wolf Club

I really don't see how this could be the cause of annoyance; names being pronounced differently due to dialect is hardly uncommon, and I don't just mean in other countries. In Connacht, it's common for the name Staunton to be pronounced Stanton, Keane to be pronounce Kane, Phelan as Phay-lan, etc. (In fairness though, these pronunciations are used either by or referring to indigenous people with those names. It'd be strange to refer to Roy or Steve as Roy Kane or Steve Stanton). The point I'm trying to make is that surely it is wrong to correct someone on how they should pronounce their name, and I don't think the fact that an Irish name like Cahill is pronounced differently in other countries is reason to think it's wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,210 ✭✭✭maximoose

The Fulham match that's on now... Sen-dayros

I noticed that lastnight, bloody annoying it was. He was just Senderos for years, now he's SenDERos? Feck off.

Same with Arshavin. At the Euros/first season with Arse it was ArshavIN. Now ArSHAVin.

What I hate most though is Jonathan Pearce - commentates on BBC and really goes over the top in trying to correctly pronounce everything. Anytime he is commentating on a match Raul Mereiles is playing in you know you're for a treat.