Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryanair boss in Brussels...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

So the people who are collecting a massive amount of our taxes refuse to use low fare providers.

And then we wonder why we're in the situation we're in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,901 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Way to skip over the more important issue of typical eu bureaucracy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭alex73

Quazzie wrote: »
    So the people who are collecting a massive amount of our taxes refuse to use low fare providers.

And then we wonder why we're in the situation we're in.

Indeed. Thats really annoying. I working for an american multinational and we have to use the cheapest option (within reasonable time limit)

Anyway Ryanair short flights to UK and France/Spain are not that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

ted1 wrote: »
    Way to skip over the more important issue of typical eu bureaucracy
    If indeed it's actually true and not another one of Mick's publicity stunts or a gross misrepresentation of what the EC's policy actually is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I dont think the bags was the main story here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭alex73

Oranage2 wrote: »
    I dont think the bags was the main story here.

No I changed the Title...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

alex73 wrote: »

I'm sure he and his wife don't give a **** about what people think about them. It's a good conference though, you should watch the entire thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

"The European Union spends most of its time either suing me, torturing me, criticising me or condemning me for lowering the cost of air travel all over Europe and making life really difficult for their favourite airlines."

Given that it was EEC(EU) deregulation that made his entire business model possible in the first place the guy has a fiece persecution complex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

A ban on low fare airlines ? What a joke, its typical that nobody at the top is willing to make any show of austerity for themselves. Plenty of large multinational companies practically enforce low fare airlines as the only choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

once i red the article i went looking for the thanks button, i was dizzy for a while.

A good watch... A bit too much ego-pleasing but he made his points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Michael O'Leary is a legend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

Michael O'Leary is a legend

A great man, and a great company. Ryanair are a great success story internationally and we can be proud it came out of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

I'm delighted the arrogant tosser is stupid enough to say this to their faces because he's just made a few more enemies in Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

Alun wrote: »
    If indeed it's actually true and not another one of Mick's publicity stunts or a gross misrepresentation of what the EC's policy actually is.

I personally dislike the chap, but if this IS true then Heaven help us all. "We won't use something because it's cheap". FFS.:rolleyes:

The_Thing wrote: »
    I'm delighted the arrogant tosser is stupid enough to say this to their faces because he's just made a few more enemies in Europe.

But is it arrogance - or reality? The bloated dinosaur that is the EU being exposed for what it is? And that guy is FAR from stupid. That is why he is so successful at what he does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Alun wrote: »

I do some work with a guy who is on secondment from an EU institution (ultimately they report to the Commission) and he is definitely allowed use low-fares airlines for official travel (but he's not compelled)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭pjmn

Classic O'Leary.... here's the Q&A session from the same event....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,058 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Freddie59 wrote: »
    But is it arrogance - or reality? The bloated dinosaur that is the EU being exposed for what it is? And that guy is FAR from stupid. That is why he is so successful at what he does.

he is only successful because the other airlines are too stupid to lower their flights. If they did so he would be out of business and if they went out of business he wouldn't be long raising his own prices then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

alex73 wrote: »

The man is a legend.
    He speaks the word of truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

he is only successful because the other airlines are too stupid to lower their flights. If they did so he would be out of business and if they went out of business he wouldn't be long raising his own prices then.
    But other airlines aren't dropping their prices which is why Ryanair are flourishing. That's precisely the point he's making :rolleyes:

And it looks like he cares?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

That reads like a trolls post in AH.

He doesn't care for Brussels much. I'd say Michael was a big fan of the Commission when they deregulated the airline industry saving Ryanair from bankruptcy and ensuring a very profitable future.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,058 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

MyKeyG wrote: »
    But other airlines aren't dropping their prices which is why Ryanair are flourishing. That's precisely the point he's making :rolleyes:

Yes indeed but the man is so arrogant it's unbelievable. He also skirted around the bit where he would not be in existence at all without the de-regulation so he tried to make little of them despite the help they gave him initially. I was a bit embarrassed listening to him to be honest and I would have no love for Europe.

K-9 wrote: »
    That reads like a trolls post in AH.

He doesn't care for Brussels much. I'd say Michael was a big fan of the Commission when they deregulated the airline industry saving Ryanair from bankruptcy and ensuring a very profitable future.
    So a comment you don't disagree with is a trolls comment? Pathetic!

Yes indeed but the man is so arrogant it's unbelievable. He also skirted around the bit where he would not be in existence at all without the de-regulation so he tried to make little of them despite the help they gave him initially. I was a bit embarrassed listening to him to be honest and I would have no love for Europe.
    I'd say Michael was a big fan of the Commission when they deregulated the airline industry saving Ryanair from bankruptcy and ensuring a very profitable future.
    Deregulation wasn't help in as much as it was general common sense open to everybody and MOL took advantage. You make it sound as if deregulation was an exclusive gift to Ryanair. He acknowledged the remark but quite rightly indicated that it was unrepeated innovation.

The man is a legend.
    He speaks the word of truth.

+1. Not only that, but he is showing how us Irish can compete successfully in business internationally. Ryanair is Europes largest airline.

Fair play to the man. Plus he pays his taxes in Ireland. If only we had more success stories like Ryanair.

So a comment you don't disagree with is a trolls comment? Pathetic!

No, coming out with childish comments like "no innovative ideas came out of Brussels since 1922" is pretty trollish, actually AH would have better attention seeking trolls.

Its also pretty thick as his company wouldn't be anywhere near the size it is without Commission deregulation in the 80's.

Plus its Michael O'Leary. Nuff said.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭CricketDude

gigino wrote: »
    A great man, and a great company. Ryanair are a great success story internationally and we can be proud it came out of Ireland.

All true.
    Unless you work for them though.

All true.
    Unless you work for them though.

Nobody is forcing anyone to work for Ryanair. They can leave if they want to. I would say most are glad of the jobs.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Other airlines can't afford to lower their prices to compete with Ryanair because they insist on providing ridiculous services people don't want. I don't want a free check in bag or food/drink or to have a chat to a person checking me in. I want flying to be as close as possible to hopping on a fecking bus. I'd fly with Ryanair ahead of any of the other big European airlines even if fares were the same.

I'd fly with Ryanair ahead of any of the other big European airlines even if fares were the same.

statistically I think Ryanair are the most punctual too.

They are a great airline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

No, coming out with childish comments like "no innovative ideas came out of Brussels since 1922" is pretty trollish, actually AH would have better attention seeking trolls.

Its also pretty thick as his company wouldn't be anywhere near the size it is without Commission deregulation in the 80's.

Plus its Michael O'Leary. Nuff said.

Jesus Christ, what a load of horse****.

So, the commission rolled back a mistake they made and suddenly they're fantastic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Fuhrer wrote: »
    Jesus Christ, what a load of horse****.

So, the commission rolled back a mistake they made and suddenly they're fantastic?

European deregulation was aimed at correcting the mistakes made by national governments so in this case they did his employer (among many others) a great service.

The competition that Mr O'Leary loves to talk about is assured by measures enacted and assured from Brussels. Sometimes those measures stymie his attempts to corner the market (as in their opposition to his takeover of Aer Lingus). I would also imagine he is less than happy with their attention focused on his use of regional subsidies to supplement his profitable airline, and his rather novel interpretation of many European directives on employment rights.

European deregulation was aimed at correcting the mistakes made by national governments so in this case they did his employer (among many others) a great service.

The competition that Mr O'Leary loves to talk about is assured by measures enacted and assured from Brussels. Sometimes those measures stymie his attempts to corner the market (as in their opposition to his takeover of Aer Lingus). I would also imagine he is less than happy with their attention focused on his use of regional subsidies to supplement his profitable airline, and his rather novel interpretation of many European directives on employment rights.

He doesn't mind when the Commission interferes for his own good, competition is good, hates when they interfere with his pay outs from airports for his own benefit, competition is bad.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Other airlines can't afford to lower their prices to compete with Ryanair because they insist on providing ridiculous services people don't want. I don't want a free check in bag or food/drink or to have a chat to a person checking me in. I want flying to be as close as possible to hopping on a fecking bus. I'd fly with Ryanair ahead of any of the other big European airlines even if fares were the same.

That doesn't necessarily follow: Pretty much the cheapest airline in the US is SouthWest. They also are about the only airline I can think of which has no fees for a checked bag, to change a flight, to get a soft drink....

The reason they're able to do it is, quite simply, they're better managed than the competition.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭The_Thing

Freddie59 wrote: »
    But is it arrogance - or reality?.....

I think it's arrogance - his was the only European airline who tried to wriggle out of its legally binding commitments to passengers stranded due to the ash from the Icelandic volcanoes. He had every intention of breaking this law until he was forced to backtrack by the EU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Inda Kenny vs MOL - Fight to the death.
    Winner gets to run the country!

The_B_Man wrote: »
    Winner gets to run the country!

After 5 years we'd be running the world if we had someone like O'Leary.

Interesting piece in Sundays Indo :
    MICHAEL O'Leary was offered free flights by the European Commission to address a conference in Brussels -- but the offer was withdrawn when he told them he would be flying Ryanair.

"We got an email back saying, 'I'm sorry but the Commission can't pay for a Ryanair flight because there is a ban on low-fare flights within the Commission'," revealed the Ryanair boss this week.
    But he went anyway and, describing himself as "a Brussels virgin", the millionaire businessman told the conference on innovation that he was offered free flights, a limo and a hotel room.
    "You work in the Commission and pay higher prices by law because, let's face it, the European taxpayer is going to pay for it anyway," he said.
    "The European Union spends most of its time either suing me, torturing me, criticising me or condemning me for lowering the cost of air travel all over Europe and making life really difficult for their favourite airlines."
    He went on to describe Brussels as the "evil empire" -- despite the fact that he was there as a guest of the European Commission.
    He told the young entrepreneurs present to "get the hell out of Brussels as quickly as you can or any streak of innovation and intelligence will be beaten out of you by Brussels".
    The airline tycoon's attack on the Commission was met with a mixture of laughter and open mouths.
    He went on to tell his audience: "Any hint of innovation is left at the door when you walk in to become politicians and bureaucrats.
    "A conference on innovation is so important because, if you look at the mess that Europe is in... there's only one way out of it -- and it's not going to be a summit of European politicians.
    "It's certainly not going to be a conference held in Brussels, where the last innovative idea came in 1922. Innovation is going to be the way for the European economy to grow, to develop, to create new jobs and that's the way out of the mess we are in."
    He told the young entrepreneurs he was nervous that they were brought to Brussels where their "innovative spark might be dulled" by long lunches and sleepy afternoons.
    He also made the rare move of speaking about his wife, Anita, when discussing his airline's policy of baggage fares, saying even she was having difficulty keeping within Ryanair's rules for travelling.
    Defending the high cost of checking a bag in, he said: "We don't want your money, we just don't want your bloody checked-in bag.
    "You need to get into the discipline, unlike my wife, who is incapable of getting into the discipline of travelling with one bag; she needs three."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭ThePower11

The_B_Man wrote: »
    Winner gets to ruin the country!
    FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭blarney_boy

I think Michael O Leary talks a lot of sense and his company Ryanair is very successful BUT he can over do the rhetoric at times, I thought he was bordering on outright rudeness/ignorance at some points in the presentation.

The diplomatic skills of the conference chairman were excellent however, he never once rose to Michaels baiting and was even able get in a subtle dig about him getting up on his high horse at one point.

The most salient point Michale O Leary made in the whole presentation is that air traffic control has yet to be de-regulated in Europe, is currently responsible for 96% of delays and constitutes 20% of an airline's ticket price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭ThePower11

Is there any Boardsie's that have or are working for Ryanair? It'd be interesting to hear what frontline staff have to say about there employers.

I can't imagine the salaries are over generous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

Does this mean Antonio Tajani failed to accept his attempted bribe? I'm sure if they give him more tax breaks he'll stick a few more european flags on his planes again.
    Without Europe, there would be no open-skies, no low-fares industry and Ireland would have absolutely no future," he said.

ThePower11 wrote: »
    Is there any Boardsie's that have or are working for Ryanair? It'd be interesting to hear what frontline staff have to say about there employers.

many Irish people whinge about their salaries.

Our public service pay at an average of over 48k a year is one of the highest in the world - and yet they whinge. Our social welfare is one of the highest in the world - and yet they whinge. Our minimum wage is one of the highest in the world - and yet they whinge. Never met any Ryanair staff whinging though.

I think it's arrogance - his was the only European airline who tried to wriggle out of its legally binding commitments to passengers stranded due to the ash from the Icelandic volcanoes. He had every intention of breaking this law until he was forced to backtrack by the EU.

I find it incredible that I'm even DEFENDING Ryanair.:D But surely the other airlines are similarly guilty of other offences?

He can be an arrogant creep all he wants as long as he keeps sending me to Europe for ten quid!!!

He is only arrogant against those that deserve to be. If he was always Mr. Nicey, Ryanair would not have grown to 1% of what it is, and air fares would still be a few hundred Irish Pounds ( the equiv in euro ) to go to England, like it was 30 years ago when Air Lingus was doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭donutface

ThePower11 wrote: »

I know one Ryanair air hostess very well. The main complaint is the workload (4-6 flights a day with a 20 minute turnaround to clear out the plane and what not).

Also huge pressure on selling newspapers and its quite difficult on certain routes that are less than a half an hour.

No real complaints about money, but not a company I'd go and work for personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

I'd say it was more a case of the travel policy only allowing flex fares, which low cost airlines don't offer.