Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Places to walk the dogs off lead that aren't too far out.

• 01-01-2012 12:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭

I know these threads have come up before, and I have searched, but they weren't that helpful.

Anyway.
    I have a six month old pup and i'm looking for places to walk him that aren't too far out as he gets car sick on longer journeys :(.

So we've done the lee fields, ballinlough/douglas park and the beach in mrtyleville so far, they've all been great. Atlantic park and the old railway line are also on the cards.

I'm generally looking for somewhere that has lots of space for him to run around, and if it has other people walking their dogs too, all the better!

I've seen Farran Woods pop up a few times but I don't actually know where it is? Google wasn't too helpful either.

Thanks!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Bylaws are now clamping down on dogs off lead in some areas, I,m a dog owner myself and I think it's a good idea for dogs to be kept on a lead when in public areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Léan

Very true! I am well aware of the laws.

However that's why i'm looking for somewhere dog friendly. He has excellent recall so it's not fear of him running off, or annoying someone or anything. If there were people around he would be kept on a lead at all times.

This is why places like Ballinlough park and the Lee Fields have been great so far as lots of other people have their dog off the lead and they can have a good run around together. I'm looking for more environments like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Isnt Farran woods just outside Ballincollig.It probably would be a good place alright.
    There are plenty woods also in Watergrasshill and Whitechurch that are ideal for walking dogs.

Across the road from the anglers rest pub, few fields with a worn walking track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

No doubt the 'dogs must be on a lead think of the children' brigade will be along shortly, but there are a few places where dog owners do let their dogs off and let them socialise - which is exactly what dogs need. One hidden gem is the park behind Beaumont School - I walk my hound there twice daily, and there's plenty of space even if your dog is off the lead but responds to recall if you want to avoid other dogs. Everyone in there with dogs seems to be very easy going - even if spats break out the odd time between dogs most people just laugh it off and are generally pleasant about the whole thing, and there's even a bin for disposing of faeces provided by the council.

Currabinny woods is another great option, but take the smaller paths. People take the large wide paths through the forest, but there's a smaller one which is midway up the forest hill that no one ever walks which is a much more interesting walk IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

My dad brings our little fella to the Millenium Park in Tivoli - it's down by Tivoli Docks over the flyover from Silversprings. It's a lovely little park and he always leaves him off the lead. He has met loads of others with their dogs there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭Dercola

As far as I know, Farran Woods is down the far side of Bandon. As you head out the otherside towards Clonakilty, there is a turn off to the left.. The place is enormous, but not really practical if you haven't got the means to travel...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭opti76

abbots wood on rochestown rd is handy for off lead walks ...

http://www.qype.ie/place/1264921-Farran-Woods-Cork
    farran woods is decent though

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Tazzle

Farran Woods afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Just while everyone's recommending Farran Woods, there are signs all the way through the woods that dogs must be on a leash. If you take your dog down by the water's edge though, and they like to swim, it's a good place to let them burn off all their energy, and you can walk them back on the leash when it's over and done with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Ballynamona beach in East Cork is an excellent place to give dogs a good run. I go there quite often with my 2 Jack's. It has no 'facilities' whatsoever - just water, sand, dunes, carpark and a view of Ballycotton so families tend to go to nearby Garryvoe. Any time I have been there its been mainly dog walkers and wind surfers.

It has a Facebook page which gives directions: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ballynamona-Beach/153903078005906?sk=info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Yup Farran woods defo im just back from a trip there with the dog , and if you bring dog down by waters edge and walk along the stony beach abit there is a great stretch of secluded area to leave them off and get them into swimming, Swimming is great for them as they use alot of energy up during it and it helps keep them cool and shed during the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 CoolClearWater

Lean,
    For your own protection the law states (Some of the replies posted below are actually incitement to break the law and could land you in trouble) :

Cork City Council, Parks, Open Spaces and Cemeteries Bye-Laws 2011 require that a dog broughtinto a park, cemetery or open space in Cork City borough, and while on anyproperty owned by Cork City Council, whether in the City or County, must

· Be held on a leash at all times

· Not cause any annoyance to any other user of that space

· Not chase, injure or disturb any animal, bird or other creature, and

· The dog owner must remove all dog faeces from that space and deposit itin a bin (an ordinary litter bin if there is not a specially designated bin)."

So
    a

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

I often take mine to Glen River Park. He's off the lead (as are 99% of the dogs in there), and yes - I DO clean up after him. Unlike most of the owners in there...

I avoid the Glen now as I can't deal with the amount of rubbish. Last time I had to tug-of-war a very dirty nappy off a jrt who thought it was the best game ever. :mad:

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    I avoid the Glen now as I can't deal with the amount of rubbish. Last time I had to tug-of-war a very dirty nappy off a jrt who thought it was the best game ever. :mad:

YUK!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Lean,
    For your own protection the law states (Some of the replies posted below are actually incitement to break the law and could land you in trouble) :

Cork City Council, Parks, Open Spaces and Cemeteries Bye-Laws 2011 require that a dog broughtinto a park, cemetery or open space in Cork City borough, and while on anyproperty owned by Cork City Council, whether in the City or County, must

· The dog owner must remove all dog faeces from that space and deposit itin a bin (an ordinary litter bin if there is not a specially designated bin)."

So
    a

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Léan

Ha, i had forgotten about this thread completely. That 6 month old pup is now a 2 and a half years old and about 30 kg. He's mid snooze and taking up half the couch as i type this :rolleyes:.

I actually made it to Farren a few times with him during the summer in the good weather, great spot, especially with the water. He was wrecked :).

I've brought him out to Curabinny a few times too, also nice, however it's not that big, so a fairly short walk.

Thank you CoolClearWater for that too, for my own protection and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭TOMO666

Pilmore beach down by Red Barn beach outside of Youghal is very good also. Very few people use it & the dog will love it. Long walk goes on for ages. Enjoy

TOMO666 wrote: »
    Pilmore beach down by Red Barn beach outside of Youghal is very good also. Very few people use it & the dog will love it. Long walk goes on for ages. Enjoy

Ballynamona Beach is excellent.

So is Garryvoe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭wheresmybeaver

White bay beach near trabolgan is good too, not least because you get a hell of a workout walking back up the cliff to the car park. That steep walk keeps the beach fairly quiet so its a good spot for the dogs off the lead.

So is Garryvoe.

I find Garryvoe too busy tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭reic

Ballincollig regional park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

Curragh Woods, near Midleton 19 km from City.

reic wrote: »
    Ballincollig regional park.

unless you're walking in the deeper and darker recesses of the park its a bit busy for leaving the dog off the lead. If you park on the eastern end (near the abandoned visitor centre that looks like its out of Jurassic park) then its much quieter and handy for leaving the dog off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Ahoy Ahoy

No doubt the 'dogs must be on a lead think of the children' brigade.

Dogs should always be on a lead. There are lots of children about.

Ahoy Ahoy wrote: »
    No doubt the 'dogs must be on a lead think of the children' brigade.

Dogs should always be on a lead. There are lots of children about.

You don't say? I always put the lead on my dog if there's kids about.

How about educating ignorant parents to tell their little darlings NOT to approach strange dogs?? I've had to tell the kids not to touch my dog, even though he's very placid and great with kids, whilst the parents look fondly on. Unfortunately, the kids sometimes are a bit rough with dogs. And you can never trust a dog 100%.

Very simple solution.....go somewhere where it's dog friendly. Plenty of them about. Go to google and type it in for your area-not that difficult. Won't be many children about.

Also law says that dogs should be on lead at all times, not when you think there are no children about. Very simple law and very easy to obey.

Very simple solution.....go somewhere where it's dog friendly. Plenty of them about. Go to google and type it in for your area-not that difficult. Won't be many children about.

Also law says that dogs should be on lead at all times, not when you think there are no children about. Very simple law and very easy to obey.

I can read and understand English thank you. It is my first language. Does that mean I can't walk my dog on the streets either? Because that's where children can come up to a dog too... Gimme a break!!

If I want to be preached to, I can get another Mass. I walk my dog on COMMON LAND. It is not owned by you or me. I consider myself and my husband responsible dog owners and have consideration for others.

The law states that the dog be under the owner's control at all times. It DOES NOT mean that the dog is on a lead, although that's common sense when walking the dog on the streets.
    I see you didn't answer the last point I raised regarding education of the children...

I can read and understand English thank you. It is my first language. Does that mean I can't walk my dog on the streets either? Because that's where children can come up to a dog too... Gimme a break!!

If I want to be preached to, I can get another Mass. I walk my dog on COMMON LAND. It is not owned by you or me. I consider myself and my husband responsible dog owners and have consideration for others.

I see you didn't answer the last point I raised regarding education of the children...

Thank you for informing me that you understand English and it's your first language. That's made my day. Didn't say you can't walk your dog on the street-there's your right,just as long as your dog on a lead AT ALL TIMES!!!! Not just when you think children aren't about. I mean children playing in the street....who would off thought.

If you didn't want to be preached too don't come on a public forum. Also don't state that you break the law....you will then be preached too. You are clearly not a responsible dog owner owner because you break the law by letting your dog of its lease. You clearly stated that in an above post so please don't preach that you are a responsible dog owner because you are not. As I said simple law simple to obey....you refuse to do that. That means you aren't responsible.

Go away and bore someone who cares...

Intelligent, mature reply.

You don't want to talk about it anymore so we will go our separate ways. Please remember the law and keep your dog on a lease at all times. Very simple law for everyone's safely. As you stated you can't trust dogs 100% so they should always be on a lease,not just when you think there are no children around. Children tend to be adventurous-especially when they are outside playing. Dogs also tend to be adventurous. That's why dogs should always be kept on a lease. No excuses really. I hope you take these points on board and read the law about dogs.....it's stated a few posts up. This might help you become a more responsible dog owner.

Intelligent, mature reply.

You don't want to talk about it anymore so we will go our separate ways. Please remember the law and keep your dog on a lease at all times. Very simple law for everyone's safely. As you stated you can't trust dogs 100% so they should always be on a lease,not just when you think there are no children around. Children tend to be adventurous-especially when they are outside playing. Dogs also tend to be adventurous. That's why dogs should always be kept on a lease. No excuses really. I hope you take these points on board and read the law about dogs.....it's stated a few posts up. This might help you become a more responsible dog owner.

Gosh.

Gosh.

Lean,

Just in case you didn't read it. Point 1 applies to you becoming a more responsible dog owner. Thanks

Lean,

Just in case you didn't read it. Point 1 applies to you becoming a more responsible dog owner. Thanks

And thank you for popping into a thread specifically discussing places where dogs can be walked off leash to lecture us on the finer points of the law.

I hope that high horse you are riding is micro-chipped.

And thank you for popping into a thread specifically discussing places where dogs can be walked off leash to lecture us on the finer points of the law.

I hope that high horse you are riding is micro-chipped.

Neighhhhhhhhhh bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

wow, I feel for you Ahoy Ahoy, getting quite a blasting here. Fear not, fair play to you for quoting the law, you're not alone.

This 'common land' nonsense from ABajaninCork is laughable, unless you are an animal hypnotist (:D) you cannot possibly say you are in control of you dog 100% of the time when the animal is not on a leash, hence the laws for your fellow common man.

And ABajaninCork, telling people to go away on a public forum sounds real mature, if you can't accept that other people may have different views from you, especially when those views are backed up by the law then perhaps you should take a break from public forums, how about a walk with the dog..in your back garden...no leash required, no pooper scooper required either ;)

wow, I feel for you Ahoy Ahoy, getting quite a blasting here. Fear not, fair play to you for quoting the law, you're not alone.

This 'common land' nonsense from ABajaninCork is laughable, unless you are an animal hypnotist (:D) you cannot possibly say you are in control of you dog 100% of the time when the animal is not on a leash, hence the laws for your fellow common man.

And ABajaninCork, telling people to go away on a public forum sounds real mature, if you can't accept that other people may have different views from you, especially when those views are backed up by the law then perhaps you should take a break from public forums, how about a walk with the dog..in your back garden...no leash required, no pooper scooper required either ;)

Oh dear. Don't like what I write? Don't read it. Go and bore someone else, somewhere else...

Forrest

Judging by the reply to your post I don't think maturity is high on the agenda. I didn't even want to touch the common land comment.

I backed up my point with fact so I think they may be a bit annoyed. Ah well....what can you do. You get them everywhere in life. Just hope they listen but I'm not holding my breath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

I think a beach is the best place to let a dog run around, garryvoe is a bit of a drive but it is huge when the tide is out,
    my parents in Dublin have a Labrador who is out 2-3 times a day off his lead running around and swimming, big dogs need the exercise,
    I'm pretty sure beaches are only "owned" up to the high tide mark so dogs can run around like lunatics off their lead without their owner being arrested :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 BigDinny

To the dog owners who allow their dogs to run loose, I am sure that your dog is a lovable and trustworthy beast, but I don't want to get to know your dog better. I don't want to be run at by your dog. I don't want to feel as if *I* am the one who has the problem if I tell you that your dog is disturbing me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Ah come on now... My toddler has been chased and knocked over up in the park by beaumont. she didn't approach the dog, it was racing around off lead. She is now terrified of dogs, which is right pain, because obviously we see a lot of them. The spot by beaumont school is a distaster. Loads of people let the dogs off lead there, and there are two primary schools in the park ffs. Most of the dogs are fine I'm sure, but it only takes a second for one to chase a child. As you said, no dog can be trusted 100%.

Not everyone is a responsible dog owner. Evidence: Piles of dog **** everywhere you look.

We wouldn't need all these (completely unenforced) dog control laws if it wasn't for the irresponsible dog owners out there. Again, the evidence is the amount of dog shyte in public places and the dogs running amuck where they really shouldn't.

but its a bit much to be lecturing the responsible dog owners who are actually looking for the best place to bring their dog so it can have a run without bothering anyone else. Which is the entire purpose of this thread.

Following the letter of the law is a bit much; I'm assuming anyone in this discussion who owns a car has never driven above the speed limit or performed an illegal uturn if they personally felt it was appropriate?

i don't think I've ever seen a discussion on boards about where to walk dogs that hasn't eventually collapsed into these kinds of arguments. Jesus Christ people just want to know where to let the dog have a run.

but its a bit much to be lecturing the responsible dog owners who are actually looking for the best place to bring their dog so it can have a run without bothering anyone else. Which is the entire purpose of this thread.

Beaumont school was mentioned at the start of this thread as a good place for a dog to go off lead... Just wanted to say that primary school children and dogs off-lead don't mix in my opinion.

Ps, I think if there was a thread on best places to go speeding, and someone suggested in front of a primary school, you'd get a similar reaction.

pwurple wrote: »
    Beaumont school was mentioned at the start of this thread as a good place for a dog to go off lead... Just wanted to say that primary school children and dogs off-lead don't mix in my opinion.

you're right, there was a mention of ballincollig national park here as well and i wouldn't recommend it unless you're in a deserted part of the park. The main entrance to the park has the playing fields and there should never be a dog off the lead anywhere that ball games take place, whether there's kids there or not at the time. You might not spot your dog leaving a present in the middle of the pitch for the next group out playing.

a little bit of enforcement by the guards or whoever when some eejit lets a dog off for a run in the middle of a busy beach or on a playing field might send a message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Ok can we stop with the bickering and personal attacks please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

Have not been to the Glen river park in ages

Its a beautiful little natural gem hidden away in the city

last time I was there I was struck by the amount of rubbish
    place is filthy, mattress floating in the river etc
    It crying out for a tidy up

Why does the local community not look after it.??!? :mad: :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭denhaagenite

This thread is breaking my heart :(.

Thinking about coming back to Cork for 3 - 4 months next year and would be living near UCC if that happens. Our pup is around 5 now and has spent most of her life here in Dutch suburbia, lots of other dogs, responsible and irresponsible dog owners, friendly and not so friendly dogs, best of all a huge park with a loslopen (enclosed area to allow dogs run off lead). We might have to rethink it if there is nowhere to take her for a decent run, I don't think the shock to her system would do her any good in the long term.

I take her to the park twice a day, takes about 40 mins of 4/5 kmph walking to get around and I allow her 10 minutes of completely free running as long as there is no one around to disturb. We then come back to the enclosed space which must be around 15 x 40 metres, where she can either have another run and a sniff around or play and socialise with other mutts that might be there. It sometimes results in a bit of barking, growling, scrapping but ffs that's what dogs do and it never results in anything serious- it's just communication.

This is a small city with limited space for parks and the like but this is not the only one of it's kind here, and all have facilities for dogs. We pay extra taxes every year for the privilege of having her, as do other owners, so it is up to our local council to cater for us. Whenever a problem is encountered here regarding public spaces a quick email to the council clarifies things. I'll be sending them one about the possibility of having stationary exercise equipment available in the park soon, saw it in the US and thought it was a great idea. Playgrounds for grown ups :D

How much are the licences for dogs in Cork these days? Where is the money going according to Cork City and County Councils? Just bins? So why doesn't everyone who uses the bin have to pay for it? How much would a bit of fencing cost? No point in coming on here and sniping at eachother. It is against Irish law to have a dog off the lead in an open space, and this is in the best interest of safety for everyone. So there needs to be a movement towards making a space available for dogs and their owners to use. Canvas your representatives folks, change doesn't happen unless there's a will for it.