Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speed ramps need to go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭vetstu

They are effective anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭hi_im_fil

I've to do that for some of the speedramps around here. Most are grand but a few are just designed badly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Wolverine_1999

Speed ramps should be used to slow you down.. not give you a concussion. The state of some of them are just a disgrace, destroying the car.

If the legal speed limit is 50 for example, then why shouldn't you be entitled to drive that? Why are 30 zones not introduced for housing estates etc. with permanent speed cameras? No need for these god awful creations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Sandwlch

Speed ramps should be used to slow you down.. not give you a concussion. The state of some of them are just a disgrace, destroying the car.

If the legal speed limit is 50 for example, then why shouldn't you be entitled to drive that? Why are 30 zones not introduced for housing estates etc. with permanent speed cameras? No need for these god awful creations.

There is.
    People dont observe speed limits. Speed cameras in housing estates etc would be far too expensive. Bumps are cheap and effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,411 ✭✭✭Dartz

They ruined the suspension on my car, extra wear and tear all last winter with all the grit and salt getting into the joints. And may have caused the damage to the gearbox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,581 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Sandwlch wrote: »
    There is.
    People dont observe speed limits. Speed cameras in housing estates etc would be far too expensive. Bumps are cheap and effective.

In that case, they should be installing ramps which allow you to do the speed limit, not ones which need you to go to 40% of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

around my estate there is 7 on a 300 metre stretch of road, you cant do above 10 mph over them, and even crawling over them there comes a nasty bump when dropping on the other side, some road workers need a proper engineer to assess them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

There are 2 entrances to the underground car park in my apartment complex. Both entrances are at the bottom of a slope into them, and what is at the very end of both slopes? A ****in speed ramp :mad:
    One of the entrances is fine, but of course the gate has been broken for the last 2 weeks :rolleyes:
    I have been using the other entrance and the speed ramp is awful, I have to creep across it at an angle worse than that video or else my front splitter hits the ramp pretty hard :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

speed bumps? Ha! I can't get one of my cars into my drive with the kids in the back :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

If I ever find the person that invented speed ramps I'll skin him alive. When i was driving the Integra, which wasn't lowered I had to take some speed ramps in first gear and go at an angle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,632 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Reminds me of my son in the Toledo Ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I love hydropneumatic suspension. I can take 75% of speed bumps at thirty. Slow down? Feck that :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

The trouble with so many of those things is that they are sited in places that make no sense at all. We have lots of them in Waterford, where the corpo had some materials to get rid of. It is common to find one on a straight stretch of road with no schools or anything nearby, and then no more at all for a mile or so.

I better solution was one that I saw in Egypt some years ago on holiday. On roads where they wanted to limit speeds they changed the road surface to slightly raised bricks every couple of hundred metres or so. They did no damage to cars, but if you drove over them too fast they would rattle your teeth loose.

On a side issue, I also liked the traffic lights in some of their cities. They had quite large screens that, when the lights were red, showed a green coloured countdown in seconds of when they would turn green. When they were green they showed a red countdown of when they would turn red. That seemed to stop racing the lights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

I dont believe in speed ramps.......

i just go over them as if their not their... hasnt done any damage to my car !

zoooooooom bye bye !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,805 ✭✭✭jammstarr

Those little metal fuckers are the worst :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

robbie_998 wrote: »
    I dont believe in speed ramps.......

i just go over them as if their not their... hasnt done any damage to my car !

zoooooooom bye bye !

You don't actually believe that you're not doing anything harm do you?

EPM wrote: »
    You don't actually believe that you're not doing anything harm do you?

not to my car anyway.......

that old beat up vectra in the drive though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭fenris

The ramps on Nutley Lane are rediculous and a true tribute to brown envelope power in Ireland.

How you can put speed bumps on a primary approach to a major hospital is beyond me.

I had the pleasure of traveling over them in the back of an ambulance once and it was far from pleasant - broken pelvis + speedramps = screaming in agony crunchy time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

When I was learning to drive in my dads new shape Skoda Superb Greenline which is lowered by default for better economy + with all the crap he has in the boot for his job = a very low rear. This was a pain for the bumps in the industrial estate where I was learning and even crawling over them in second gear the tow hitch would still clatter off of it. They're annoying buggers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,581 ✭✭✭✭L1011

fenris wrote: »
    The ramps on Nutley Lane are rediculous and a true tribute to brown envelope power in Ireland.

How you can put speed bumps on a primary approach to a major hospital is beyond me.

I had the pleasure of traveling over them in the back of an ambulance once and it was far from pleasant - broken pelvis + speedramps = screaming in agony crunchy time.

They were reprofiled recently to only affect one direction badly - away. Can take them at 50km/h in my van in to Vincents but not the same speed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Only an odd few are hard to get over, meaning I'd have to drive quite slow over them. But most are grand as if they are not there. No loud noises from the bump stops, no buckled wheels, shocks are ok too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,695 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

fenris wrote: »

Not to mention the no left turn cut through to Ailesbury Road on (?) Nutley Road which is normal width, not so many cars parked o n the street and hoses with front gardens and walls meaning a lower risk of kids on street. They complain about kids pester power nothing compared to skilled negotiators. Seriously, there are paces where right turns are permitted but this left turn is knocked ut???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

You're doing harm to both tbh.

EPM wrote: »

You're doing harm to both tbh.

Sorry I should've rephrased.... I go over them slowly in my car but the vectra is ****ed anyway. Getting scrapped soon enough by the looks of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Ugh on one stretch of road home from work everyday there's 6 of the bloody things, or I could take a different road that has 3 of them :mad:
    My car thankfully has good clearance, but still have to slow right up for them don't want to cause any unnecessary damage.
    I always get oh it's lovely but it needs to be lowered, eh don't think so not til ramps in this country have been done away with!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

South Circular Road in Limerick, every few meters and they are vicious buggers.
    So, second gear, full speed up to ramp, step on brakes, over ramp in first gear, floor it off the ramp to 50, second gear coming up to ramp, result:
    Same speed, triple the noise and nice rising and falling revs.
    Only shame it's not loud enough, I'd love to do that with something petrol, something nice and noisy, might even buy something especially for that purpose.
    If everyone did it, there would be mountains of complaints from residents, since no one is breaking the speed limit and I'm not aware of any rev limit for engines on the roads and as long it's within the decibel range, there's SFA anyone can do about it, it's the one legal way to pervert the system.
    Only by turning the situation against the councils will they act, because they don't give a sh*t otherwise what anyone thinks, least of all motorists, the scum of the Earth and nothing but cash cows as far as any politician is concerned.

So:
    Drive up to ramps at full legal speed in low gear, brake sharply, change down and floor it off the ramp, letting the revs rise nice and high and keep it in a low gear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

There's a point here that many people seem most unwilling to take on board - in this country, low suspension and big wheels = slow car. You can say it's the fault of the ramps, or of the potholes or whatever - IMO, if ramps slow you to a crawl then your car is not fit for purpose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

My old Nissan Sunny was brilliant on the speed bumps at Tivoli in Cork, I'd put her into 3rd and tear over the bumps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Currently I sometimes forget what I'm driving and realise the car can take the bumps well, not that I do anyway :)

I've reverted to turning around once or twice in the van :(

Why can't they make the bumps less severe? Some are like trying to drive up on a kerb!

Anan1 wrote: »
    There's a point here that many people seem most unwilling to take on board - in this country, low suspension and big wheels = slow car. You can say it's the fault of the ramps, or of the potholes or whatever - IMO, if ramps slow you to a crawl then your car is not fit for purpose.

The GF's MX5 bottomed out on the speed bumps in our industrial estate, one can hardly say an MX5 is such an outrageous and exotic car that one shouldn't have any business driving it round this country.
    On the plus side, it does give a much nicer roar over 4k RPM, making the inbetween dash much more fun.
    Same goes for the Elise and Honda S2000 in the estate.
    I'd understand that a Ferrari, Lamborghini or Zonda might not be suitable for our roads, especially our potholed and boulder strewn back boreens, but if you can't use the above examples on regular main and city roads and even industrial estates, maybe the speed ramps aren't fit for purpose?

The GF's MX5 bottomed out on the speed bumps in our industrial estate, one can hardly say an MX5 is such an outrageous and exotic car that one shouldn't have any business driving it round this country.
    On the plus side, it does give a much nicer roar over 4k RPM, making the inbetween dash much more fun.
    I'd understand that a Ferrari, Lamborghini or Zonda might not be suitable for our roads, especially our potholed and boulder strewn back boreens, but if you can't use the above examples on regular main and city roads and even industrial estates, maybe the speed ramps aren't fit for purpose?
    You're looking at it in terms of right and wrong, I think you need to be more pragmatic. The fact is that any road imperfection, from a pothole to a ramp, is going to affect every car differently. If you choose a car with hard, limited-travel suspension and big wheels then you're going to be forced to slow down more, and more often, than otherwise. None of us discovered ramps after buying our cars, moaning about it after the fact is IMO akin to complaining that the car you bought doesn't have enough seats/doors/horsepower. An MX-5 is a great car in many ways, it's just not really able for ramps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I can't understand how you can defend the state of the potholes in the roads... nevermind the badly designed speed ramps which easily damage cars

I think you need to dig your head out of the sand and realise that people who want to modify their cars, be it alloys or suspension, should have no issues doing so, and anyone should be able to buy and drive a standard or non standard car without any hassle on the roads.

You seem to have an attitude which stinks of high-horse tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,823 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

You're looking at it in terms of right and wrong, I think you need to be more pragmatic. The fact is that any road imperfection, from a pothole to a ramp, is going to affect every car differently. If you choose a car with hard, limited-travel suspension and big wheels then you're going to be forced to slow down more, and more often, than otherwise. None of us discovered ramps after buying our cars, moaning about it after the fact is IMO akin to complaining that the car you bought doesn't have enough seats/doors/horsepower. An MX-5 is a great car in many ways, it's just not really able for ramps.

Sorry, but you're wrong. An MX-5 is neither stiffly suspended, and has small std wheels - 14"ers, and should be able to travel anywhere without issue in this country.

Ramps are an abomination, and are a typical PS lazy answer ti a problem......which only makes things worse......

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

As I found out...
    But I would argue that an MX5 is a fairly standard car, it's not a Veyron, Lambo or Ferrari.
    It's a fairly common car, nothing exotic and one could say that it was designed with as much practicality in mind as possible for a two seater convertible. You can even fit some shopping in the boot.
    It is fairly low, but if someone designs ramps that this car cannot cross, the ramp is faulty, not the car.
    After all, it is easier to change a ramp, rather than the design of millions of cars, nevermind modifying the ones that are already out there.
    A ramp to me is something that does not HAVE to be there, it does not fulfill a vital role, it is merely there to annoy motorists so they rev their engines more, which in turn annoys residents.
    As for joyriders? They just enjoy going over them as fast as possible.
    I think ramps are self-defeating and pointless.
    http://www.topspeedracer.com/do-speed-bumps-save-lives.html

I can't understand how you can defend the state of the potholes in the roads... nevermind the badly designed speed ramps which easily damage cars
    I'm no more defending ramps than I am potholes. They both exist, so I plan for them.
    I think you need to dig your head out of the sand and realise that people who want to modify their cars, be it alloys or suspension, should have no issues doing so, and anyone should be able to buy and drive a standard or non standard car without any hassle on the roads.
    That'd be nice, but so would lighting on every road in the country. Don't hold your breath.
    You seem to have an attitude which stinks of high-horse tbh.
    Ah, this witless old chestnut again. Anything looks high when viewed from below.
    galwaytt wrote: »
    Sorry, but you're wrong. An MX-5 is neither stiffly suspended, and has small std wheels - 14"ers, and should be able to travel anywhere without issue in this country.
    Depends on the MX-5, I suppose. I drove a standard Mk1 for a good while, and I don't remember having any particular problems with ramps. I'm only taking dr.fuzzenstein's word for it that the car can't do ramps.
    galwaytt wrote: »
    Ramps are an abomination, and are a typical PS lazy answer ti a problem......which only makes things worse......
    Ramps are a crude answer to @rsehole driving. Cameras would be better, but cameras are expensive. I could drive a low-slung car and spend my days whining about ramps too, but i'd sooner get around the problem and treat ramps as a useful overtaking opportunity.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I don't know if there was a speed ramp here but even Obama fell foul of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

I have paid lot of money for my car, in VRT and annual motor tax, together with VAT and duty on fuel. In return for that I have a reasonable expectation of having roads that I can drive it on without damaging it, irespective of whether or not the suspension has been lowered. I recognise that there are some drivers who will ignore reasonable speed limits, and are incapable of imagining that in towns and near schools they should slow a little. I want them caught and put off the road. Doing that needs a bit more than speed ramps and the odd sign threatening speed cameras where there there obviously aren't any.

This is yet another simplistic solution devised by politicians of limited intelligence, intended to penalise the majority for the sins of the few. Let's face it, if there are speed ramps a few hundred metres apart, even a little family car nowadays, in the hands of a boy racer, could get up to some speed between them. In fact, where I live, that seems to be the latest challenge.

What's the alternative? Perhaps a lot more Gardai on the streets and in the traffic corps. Perhaps an environment where, if you want to act the idiot, you never know if the eyes of the law are on you.

Government solution? Downgrade the Garda traffic corps and get rid of a raft of Gardai. Brilliant!

anyone should be able to buy and drive a standard or non standard car without any hassle on the roads.

Some roads have trenches left in them... Now thats a real hazard

Edit: Not as severe as some but example (the Audi is in it)

http://maps.google.ie/maps?hl=en&ll=53.396797,-6.392887&spn=0.001099,0.00284&t=m&z=19&vpsrc=6&layer=c&cbll=53.396716,-6.393049&panoid=bEC0PdnaQDiY7TO-D16bEA&cbp=12,341.71,,0,27.71

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 benmad

Why where are you going,are you in a hurry!!:cool:

dgt wrote: »
    Some roads have trenches left in them... Now thats a real hazard

Edit: Not as severe as some but example (the Audi is in it)

http://maps.google.ie/maps?hl=en&ll=53.396797,-6.392887&spn=0.001099,0.00284&t=m&z=19&vpsrc=6&layer=c&cbll=53.396716,-6.393049&panoid=bEC0PdnaQDiY7TO-D16bEA&cbp=12,341.71,,0,27.71
    That's nothing really...

take a look at Tuam

http://g.co/maps/aq3f3

Start there, go through the town in street view. It'll take a few minutes but you'll see what I mean (and it's only gotten worse since those images were taken)

That's nothing really...

take a look at Tuam

http://g.co/maps/aq3f3

Start there, go through the town in street view. It'll take a few minutes but you'll see what I mean (and it's only gotten worse since those images were taken)

That is quite disgraceful, I thought it improved towards the Milltown road but that was me being optimistic :rolleyes:

Heres a place I hate driving through. The roads are so bumpy and humpy :(

http://maps.google.ie/maps?q=duleek&hl=en&ll=53.653233,-6.435974&spn=73.876963,186.152344&sll=53.519466,-8.855774&sspn=74.013008,186.152344&vpsrc=6&hnear=Duleek,+County+Meath&t=m&z=3&layer=c&cbll=53.653233,-6.435974&panoid=WawiD-3qd-zGF8QZs2tQlQ&cbp=13,55.67,,0,7.73

dgt wrote: »
    That is quite disgraceful, I thought it improved towards the Milltown road but that was me being optimistic :rolleyes:
    To be honest with you, I just had a look at it myself on street view - it's currently about 20 times worse than that. Massive gouges and holes in the road, massive lumps of manholes in the middle of the road where it's been cut back a few layers to put newer tarmac down - all sorts. Must take a video the next time I'm going through.