Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

city west golf membership

• 29-12-2011 9:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41

Hi

is anyone a member of city west golf at the moment and can you advise me what membership is like and and whether its worth joining

the €650 fee seems too good value for the championship course

cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭wcarey1975

yakkson wrote: »
    Hi

is anyone a member of city west golf at the moment and can you advise me what membership is like and and whether its worth joining

the €650 fee seems too good value for the championship course

cheers

Joined myself there 10 days ago will keep you posted. Played the complimentary round there last week and while course was a tad wet the greens were in very good condition. Have first round as a member on the 9th Jan and hope to get my GUI H/C before the end of march once I get out with a few members.

W

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 yakkson

cheers for the update W - i am going to join also this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭scubapro

wcarey1975 wrote: »
    Joined myself there 10 days ago will keep you posted. Played the complimentary round there last week and while course was a tad wet the greens were in very good condition. Have first round as a member on the 9th Jan and hope to get my GUI H/C before the end of march once I get out with a few members.

W
    Good value alright but I found the course pretty short with too many par 3's in saying that it is a club I might consider joining as I live only 10 mins away.

scubapro wrote: »
    Good value alright but I found the course pretty short with too many par 3's in saying that it is a club I might consider joining as I live only 10 mins away.

It's only a par 69 not the longest granted but as has been said its great value at their current price point. I live in Saggart and it's only 2 mins car trip away so even better value for me personally. For 2012 it ticks all the boxes for me so hopefully will make a good run at it in the new year.

W

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭brick tamland

I'm thinking of giving this a bash too. I like the course and its local enough for me and I dont think it will be beaten for value.

I'll decide for sure over rthe next week or so

I'm thinking of giving this a bash too. I like the course and its local enough for me and I dont think it will be beaten for value.

I'll decide for sure over rthe next week or so

Good man Brick if you need any info PM me I have all the contact details that you will probably need.

i joined yesterday - cant find anywhere that are doing the same deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭scubapro

It's only a par 69 not the longest granted but as has been said its great value at their current price point. I live in Saggart and it's only 2 mins car trip away so even better value for me personally. For 2012 it ticks all the boxes for me so hopefully will make a good run at it in the new year.

W
    Wcarey great value alright, can you tell me if they have member competitions at weekends and is there practice facillities there ,sorry but I can't find any info on their website.
    I played there at the start of the summer and don't really remember the course or set up.
    Thks in advance
    S

i was told that members comps would be on sat,sun,wed each week.

the course isnt the longest but they're improving it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭sodbuster77

Is Mr. Shine still running the show up there I wonder? :D

No he's not involved in the current membership setup. scubapro re practice facilities I dont believe there are any but I could be way of. As I live so close I generally just arrive and play. I'm having my first round as a member on wednesday and will look to get an existing member or two soon so I can hand in my cards for my H/C. Hope to see some of you there in the new year (although it is the current year now :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Definitely interested in this deal. I'm a member of Grange Castle at the mo & the City West deal comes in at better value at the moment. As far as I know city west are also doing €250 with a €15 pay & play if you won't get out on a weekly basis.

Just wondering if you've any info on getting a tee time for the weekly competitions? Do they have online booking?

As far as I know they have a putting green but no other practice facilities. Might be tempted to see if they do a golf & gym deal?

I think the old lakes course has now been changed to a 9 or 12 hole, any idea if there is use allowed of that course in the deal as it would be a handy one to play a few holes on if you're tight for time on a weekday

the members times are 8-11am sat & sun,wed for comps - and the deal does include use of the lakes courses.

i have also requested the leisure option ontop of my membership

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Definitely interested in this deal. I'm a member of Grange Castle at the mo & the City West deal comes in at better value at the moment. As far as I know city west are also doing €250 with a €15 pay & play if you won't get out on a weekly basis.

Just wondering if you've any info on getting a tee time for the weekly competitions? Do they have online booking?

As far as I know they have a putting green but no other practice facilities. Might be tempted to see if they do a golf & gym deal?

I think the old lakes course has now been changed to a 9 or 12 hole, any idea if there is use allowed of that course in the deal as it would be a handy one to play a few holes on if you're tight for time on a weekday

I'm also a member of GC. I live slap bang between GC and CW and actually already use the CW gym but, golfwise, I personally think sticking with GC makes more sense.

It's, probably, the slightly better course. Seems to play well in winter (this being my first winter there) while CW tends to be quite wet, particularly on the front nine.

Also, there is more of a "club" feel to GC and it has quite decent (by public course standards) practise facilities. I'm not aware of any practise facilities at CW but I'm open to correction there.

The criticism oftend levelled at CW by people I know who have been mmebers there is that members have no more rights to tee times as hotel guests, green fees, teetimes customers etc and just getting out on the course at weekends can be tough.

The back-nine at CW is very nice, however, I must say... and it works out at over a ton cheaper for the same deal.

It's close, but I think I'll stick with Grange Castle.

WHIP IT! wrote: »
    I'm also a member of GC. I live slap bang between GC and CW and actually already use the CW gym but, golfwise, I personally think sticking with GC makes more sense.

It's, probably, the slightly better course. Seems to play well in winter (this being my first winter there) while CW tends to be quite wet, particularly on the front nine.

Also, there is more of a "club" feel to GC and it has quite decent (by public course standards) practise facilities. I'm not aware of any practise facilities at CW but I'm open to correction there.

The criticism oftend levelled at CW by people I know who have been mmebers there is that members have no more rights to tee times as hotel guests, green fees, teetimes customers etc and just getting out on the course at weekends can be tough.

The back-nine at CW is very nice, however, I must say... and it works out at over a ton cheaper for the same deal.

It's close, but I think I'll stick with Grange Castle.

i used to be member in hollystown but live in the middle og GC & CW.

about a year ago i was accepted into GC but they told me on application that they couldnt always guarantee me a tee time, this was deciding factor for me & although i have played there a few times this year i would become member at GC.

GC is a really good course for a public course, but the 1k for full membership is too steep i think.

Has anyone played the new lakes 9 hole or whatever its called now?

whats it like

has anyone else joined citywest - i played yesterday for first time - course in good nick for this time of year

Hey Yakkson I joined last month and played my first round on wednesday last as a member. Course was in okay nice but the rain the revious 24-36 hours left a fair bit of standing water on a few holes on the front 9. Will be heading out again on Tuesday hopefully weather will be better this week.

W

i used to be member in hollystown but live in the middle og GC & CW.

about a year ago i was accepted into GC but they told me on application that they couldnt always guarantee me a tee time, this was deciding factor for me & although i have played there a few times this year i would become member at GC.

GC is a really good course for a public course, but the 1k for full membership is too steep i think.

Was up at GC yesterday and down to €890 for full membership this year. €320 for the pay & play with €12 mid-week, €17 weekend rate, but they are charging €3 to enter the competitions so really its only coming down from €22 to €20 to play at the weekend.

Was chatting with one of the lads Target lads, Niall, who was saying that they are also offering a payment package, so you can start the year on the €890, but if you feel you're not getting the value of it, you can switch back to the pay & play and they'll knock what you've paid up to that point off the balance.

Think I might stick with them another year, a lot of people have said to me now that City West doesn't hold up too well in the wet weather, but still the rates in CW make it very tempting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Ian1986

Hey Yakkson I joined last month and played my first round on wednesday last as a member. Course was in okay nice but the rain the revious 24-36 hours left a fair bit of standing water on a few holes on the front 9. Will be heading out again on Tuesday hopefully weather will be better this week.

W

Hey wcarey1975
    How was citywest when you played it this week any better? Looking for a new membership this year myself trying to reduce what i was paying last year as i will only be in the country till august.

Ian1986 wrote: »
    Hey wcarey1975
    How was citywest when you played it this week any better? Looking for a new membership this year myself trying to reduce what i was paying last year as i will only be in the country till august.

Course is in good nick but it's stil wet at the minute needs a few days of reasonable weather to get rid of the bad stuff. Still though it's definately worth the price.

W

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,300 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

Anyone considering Citywest or Grange Castle should consider Blessington Lakes which is only fifteen minutes fron Citywest. The course has excellent natural drainage so is playable all year round and is in very good condition at the moment. There are a number of membership deals available at the moment and it offers excellent value for money.

While not a bad course I'd definately have to question this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭sodbuster77

All depends how liberal you are with the accelerator pedal. Its do-able;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,300 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

Saggart to Brittas 5 mins
    Brittas to Blessington 5 mins
    Blessington to Blessington Lakes 5 mins

:cool:

lakes is ok course - would prefer grange castle if not at city west.

dont think that there is another course offering 650 for full membership in dublin.

i could be wrong though

Saggart to Brittas 5 mins
    Brittas to Blessington 5 mins
    Blessington to Blessington Lakes 5 mins

:cool:

Best I've ever did it is in 20 mins but then again havent tried it late at night....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭Unglika Norse

I did ask before, but I know that blessington lakes is only a 9 hole course but is it memers owned or is it propriotry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭bhob

Hey lads just looking for a little info on the Citywest membership and course?

Whats the Citywest Course like? Does it actually have 8 par 3's or is that an old course?

Do you have to pay the membership up front or do they do direct debit?

Cheers

bhob wrote: »
    Hey lads just looking for a little info on the Citywest membership and course?

Whats the Citywest Course like? Does it actually have 8 par 3's or is that an old course?

Do you have to pay the membership up front or do they do direct debit?

Cheers

Hi Bhob

Course in good nick considering all the rain over the last while but I'm slightly biased as I'm a member. Greens still in really good condition. The lakes course from what I can remember had 8 par 3's but haven't played that since 05 so working from memory and it's now only a 9 hole course. There are 3 par 3's on both the front and back 9. Regarding the payment options you can of course pay the entire amount in full or you can pay it in installments. They offer installments over a maximum of 8 months and it works out at approx 3-4% charge for the DD option.

W

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭celtic_oz

how much is green fees for a round to see if you like the course ?

celtic_oz wrote: »
    how much is green fees for a round to see if you like the course ?

Give them a buzz and say your intrested but would like to see what the course is like

Im sure theyll let you out for nothing, most courses do anyway

Give them a buzz and say your intrested but would like to see what the course is like

Im sure theyll let you out for nothing, most courses do anyway

This. But if not and your available midweek I'd be happy to let you use the members discount and you can tag along with me. I play typically Monday or Tuesday but can make the odd Wednesday.

has anyone played city west.

i played today again & i think that whilst fairways & greens are in good condirion, the rough in place is really unplayable.

anyone else agree

has anyone played city west.

i played today again & i think that whilst fairways & greens are in good condirion, the rough in place is really unplayable.

anyone else agree

I played it yesterday and agree with what ur saying about the rough, but that can be expected at this time of year. I think i'm going to join, for that price you can't really go far wrong. With the added number of members there is going to be more money for course maintenance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭one ill cat

I, along with my husband & a few out of work, were members of Citywest in 2010. I get the price tag is very reasonable, but I'd never go near the place ever again.

The course is short yes, but in saying that it's interesting enough, with a few really good holes. The management of the course however are a complete joke. There was nowhere for us to see what competitions coming up & there's a definite 'in crowd' that's looked after. There's no club house, for any functions (of which there are very few) they use the bar in the hotel.

My biggest complaint however was when they pole forked the greens. Obviously typically greens are done twice per year, I don't find that unacceptable, whatever is needed to keep them in tip top condition is worth it. In saying that, I don't find greens containing holes (& sand for that matter) for a 4 month stretch good enough. It seemed like they did them, made a mess of them, re-did them, & possibly found the holes too large or the like.

This course is still very local to me so it's a shame the place can't be ran better than it is. I get the argument about how more money from membership should bring more maintenance to the course. Although based on my previous experience, unless the golf course management are changed, I don't see this happening.

I, along with my husband & a few out of work, were members of Citywest in 2010. I get the price tag is very reasonable, but I'd never go near the place ever again.

The course is short yes, but in saying that it's interesting enough, with a few really good holes. The management of the course however are a complete joke. There was nowhere for us to see what competitions coming up & there's a definite 'in crowd' that's looked after. There's no club house, for any functions (of which there are very few) they use the bar in the hotel.

My biggest complaint however was when they pole forked the greens. Obviously typically greens are done twice per year, I don't find that unacceptable, whatever is needed to keep them in tip top condition is worth it. In saying that, I don't find greens containing holes (& sand for that matter) for a 4 month stretch good enough. It seemed like they did them, made a mess of them, re-did them, & possibly found the holes too large or the like.

This course is still very local to me so it's a shame the place can't be ran better than it is. I get the argument about how more money from membership should bring more maintenance to the course. Although based on my previous experience, unless the golf course management are changed, I don't see this happening.

I know what you are saying i played it in the summer of 2010 and it was terrible. But on talking to them this weekend the club is being run by the members now and not by one individual. It suits me this year because I'll only be in the country till the end of august so only 8 months golf. I just cannot justify paying my usual grand for 8 months membership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭one ill cat

Ian1986 wrote: »
    I know what you are saying i played it in the summer of 2010 and it was terrible. But on talking to them this weekend the club is being run by the members now and not by one individual. It suits me this year because I'll only be in the country till the end of august so only 8 months golf. I just cannot justify paying my usual grand for 8 months membership.

That's good to hear & tbh that price is very attractive alright. Best of luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭fred252

Still undecided between CW and GC.

Has anyone gotten a decent deal including the gym in CW?

I was up at the gym the other day and asked the question.

According to the girl behind the counter you get a 10% discount off the gym membership with golf membership. But she wasn't 100% on the ins & outs. Was too late to head over to the club shop at that stage, I'd say they probably have more info there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭fred252

10 %, better than nought i suppose

has anyone else joined citywest, played in scramble last weekend

How are you getting on so far Yakk?

Just wondering has anyone heard any rumours of Citywest not getting GUI affiliation. I got a mail from someone in Citywest saying it wasn't true but I've heard a few ppl around saying it now.

i got same email & then got another the next day to say that they are currently applying for affiliation to the GUI.

They applied for it initially around Dec/Jan timeframe. Not sure exactly how long the whole process takes and if it's dependant on time of year or what not. Got emails from the old Citywest golf club which were designed to cause trouble especially as they got my email address and I asked how they got it and no reply. Hopefully we should hear soon about the GUI affliiation. Still happy enough to be a member as its within walking distance to home.

W

They applied for it initially around Dec/Jan timeframe. Not sure exactly how long the whole process takes and if it's dependant on time of year or what not. Got emails from the old Citywest golf club which were designed to cause trouble especially as they got my email address and I asked how they got it and no reply. Hopefully we should hear soon about the GUI affliiation. Still happy enough to be a member as its within walking distance to home.

W
    Ye I joined this year and I got another mail from a non citywest email address saying that the GUI cards would be available in the next few days. Has me wondering where this person got my mail address if there not running the club anymore?

I seen an email went out yesterday updating the members on the GUI situation. My email account is down does anyone know what was said in it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭blackwaterfish

ian.. i can pm the email to you.

Thanks for that. Hopefully it all gets sorted soon missing playing the opens.