Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cinema Ticket Prices

• 29-12-2011 1:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭

Im sure this thread has been done before but ive been left scratchin my head.

Going to see a Daytime show (5.30pm) in Storm in Waterford cost Two of us €23 (€11.50 each) I thought this a bit steep? Is this holiday prices or are they this high normally?

Omniplex in Wexford cost me in and around €13 for two of us recently at a daytime show?

Im not even gona get into the pricing of food as thats been done over and over. Are these ticket prices not counter productive? I certainly know id be going to the Cinema less at that price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Smiley Burnett

please bear in mind that the present government LOWERED THE VAT RATE that is applied to cinema ticket prices a number of months ago!!

of course we dont hear any interest group or consumer group complaining about this NOT BEING PASSED ON???!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Storm are a bunch of thieves. We've been through this already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

1. Was it in 3D?
    2. If you look at the prices on the website, they list the premium seat prices by default. You have to set it to standard seats. It's around 1.50 in the difference though.

€11.50 is the cost for an adult premier seat. Sounds like thats what ye paid for to me.

For what its worth, you could complain all you want about the ticket prices and it wouldn't go anywhere. The film companies make the money from the tickets, the cinema itself gets the money from the food.

Doesn't explain why it's more expensive than most other cinemas in the country. And I dunno if it's just me but I think the majority of the staff in storm are terrible. If they're not talking to each other they have a puss on their faces

True. Theres a few people in there that are grand and will recommend films or how to save a bit of money, but over time it seems like they've either disappeared or been replaced.

And it's weird Mitch cause it's a job that would suit a movie lover of any age. I know there's a lot more to it but I can think of hundreds of worse jobs for the same money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭calvin_zola

And it's weird Mitch cause it's a job that would suit a movie lover of any age. I know there's a lot more to it but I can think of hundreds of worse jobs for the same money

yeah I agree, Niall who works in there is used to be an Xtra vision employee, he is always courtious and on the ball with recomendations or what not, but as for the other crew working in there they are not as inspiring. Which is probably damaging the cinema, because there are an awful lot of movie buffs around town who would kill for a job like this cos they would have a common interest in the stuff they are doing, but these guys don't seem to get these jobs. Saying that Storm dosen't tend to get a lot of european, independant, garter lane style shows, something I think there is an opening for....

Did that chap work in the xtravision in Parnell street? Sound lad if I'm thinking of the right fella

yea he would have been between the one in Parnell Street and Lismore park... he is sound out now I must say and a bit of an expert on films... the kind of bloke who should work in a cinema

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭uppishhauk

regular tickets are between €7.80 - €9.80 depending when you go
    premier tickets are between €9.50 - €11.50 depending when you go

you paid extra for the more comfortable chairs at the very back of the room.
    I never go for premier seats as I hate sitting in the back but thats just me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭forfuxsake

Check out this website.
    http://www.odysseycinemas.co.uk/default.aspx

It is for Odyssey cinemas in Belfast. It was trading as Storm until a few months ago and afaik it is still being run by the same people.

They have kid movies for £1.5
    tuesday all day £3
    Wednesday £5.80 but it is buy one get one free

the rest of the time it is £5.80 or £4,50 for an adult to see a kid's movie.

I would happily pay 7 euro to see a film but any more and I will download it for nothing and crank up the projector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭ex_infantry man

the one we always try avoid is that oul chap with the glasses!!talk about slow and a grump!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

What is happening downstairs? I noticed they ripped out the ice-cream place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

Premium seats listed by default? Ryanair tactics right there.
    the one we always try avoid is that oul chap with the glasses!!talk about slow and a grump!!!!

Haha that fella is ridiculous. He doesn't even say anything like hello, please thank you, just looks at you until you say what you want, then when you tell him the film and any food he just squints at the screen and stabs at it one finger at a time. He is quite slow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,476 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

ziedth wrote: »
    What is happening downstairs? I noticed they ripped out the ice-cream place.

There is a costa coffee going in there. It will be open at the end of feb 2012. It will do well because it will be the only cafe around the area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

PTH2009 wrote: »
    There is a costa coffee going in there. It will be open at the end of feb 2012. It will do well because it will be the only cafe around the area

Will the coffee costa lot?

....I'll get me coat...

Coffee? Fcuk's sake. The world has gone mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

He's sooo slow but I always feel so sorry for him I don't know why because he is so grumpy!

Dan133269 wrote: »

Haha that fella is ridiculous. He doesn't even say anything like hello, please thank you, just looks at you until you say what you want, then when you tell him the film and any food he just squints at the screen and stabs at it one finger at a time. He is quite slow.
    haha ya have him down to a tee lol

michellie wrote: »
    He's sooo slow but I always feel so sorry for him I don't know why because he is so grumpy!
    he knows he,s outta his league in there, as its a fast pace environment and he,s just too slow for the job!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

€20 for two student tickets to Puss in Boots 3D tonight (had to get the glasses). At one point I was going to the cinema once a week but don't think I'll be able to afford that for a while!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

michellie wrote: »
    he knows he,s outta his league in there, as its a fast pace environment and he,s just too slow for the job!!!!

Yea he always looks really stressed out and flustered.

I was in there about 2 weeks ago on a sat morning with my friend and our kiddies, it was €6 each(child and adult price) . We were planning on going to see Arthur Christmas,but just as we were about to pay the girl at the till was told it wasn't gona be showed, they made some song and dance about taking money and that off us making us go from one till to the next, took about 15 mins to pay !! They were both non nationals and didn't have a clue what they were doing!

Happy feet was great, id recommend it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

Ah yeah Niall is sound.

I'm from Dublin so always compare my cinema going experience to the likes of Dundrum, Cineworld or the Savoy and those cinema trips were always cheaper and more enjoyable.

The price of food, the price of tickets has been done to death as regards Storm but they are not listening. They were one of the places that chose not to pass on the VAT reduction.

If I recall correctly from the other thread on Storm, they reduced the sizes of their popcorn containers but left the prices the same, this was around the same time the VAT decrease came in.

This may seem like trivial stuff to complain about to some but this is why they have so little business. I have lived down here for over a year now and only once have I seen the cinema crowded and at that, there was still seats free right down the front.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Faq

Went to mission impossible 4 tonight cost around €9.80 each ticket

costa coffee is absolutely lovely imo, but they are pricey, your talking 3.20 for mid sized lattes/cappucinos etc, but sure they will tie in well with the priceing structure there in storm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭daaave

i used to go to the cinema at least once a month for years.but since storm cinemas started taking the piss with inflated prices,i barely go twice a year.

for the price of 10 trips to the cinema for a couple with munch included,you can buy a DLP projector and 10ft screen.

yup very true, and even on a smaller scale for the price of 4 trips to cinema with munch included you could have a weekend away in galway or dublin etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭2Bv¬2B

@Mod there is no need for people's names to be mentioned in this thread, I'm also sure it wouldn't be welcomed by the people either (regardless of positive or negative comments)

I don't see the problem with mentioning people's names, specifically because the praise directed at one employee is particularly relevant to the job he is doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

2Bv¬2B wrote: »
    @Mod there is no need for people's names to be mentioned in this thread, I'm also sure it wouldn't be welcomed by the people either (regardless of positive or negative comments)

If I worked with the public and someone mentioned me by name with positive comments I'd be delighted. If I got negative comments, I'd like to think I could take those comments on board. As Storm don't ever seem too interested in feedback from their customers, something like this could be an employee's only chance to see how they're doing.

Yet another wonderful experience in Storm today. Got served by such a rude woman. Then when we were in the cinema itself, two young lads walked in about a half hour into the film and spent the whole time there talking on their mobiles and talking to each other. I asked them politely to keep the noise down twice and they ignored me so I went outside and asked one of the staff if they would mind doing something about it, 20 minutes later a female member of staff came in and stood down near the screen looking up at these two lads. While she was standing there, one of them was on his phone the entire time. Then 20 minutes after that a male member of staff came in, did the same thing and left. Nothing was done about these two muppets who then spent the rest of the film making a nuisance of themselves. They left before the end of the film.

What is the point of asking staff to intervene if they are going to do nothing??

Yet another wonderful experience in Storm today. Got served by such a rude woman. Then when we were in the cinema itself, two young lads walked in about a half hour into the film and spent the whole time there talking on their mobiles and talking to each other. I asked them politely to keep the noise down twice and they ignored me so I went outside and asked one of the staff if they would mind doing something about it, 20 minutes later a female member of staff came in and stood down near the screen looking up at these two lads. While she was standing there, one of them was on his phone the entire time. Then 20 minutes after that a male member of staff came in, did the same thing and left. Nothing was done about these two muppets who then spent the rest of the film making a nuisance of themselves. They left before the end of the film.

What is the point of asking staff to intervene if they are going to do nothing??

Did you have a word with the manager after the film about your experience?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Just to give an idea about prices I paid recently. Two adult tickets, two medium cokes and a pack of M&Ms in Longford came to 28euro.

In Roscommon we got three adult tickets, three cokes, large popcorn came to 42euro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭dayshah

Did you have a word with the manager after the film about your experience?

This annoys me. Customers pay the cinema for a ticket, they don't pay to do the manager's job. Its the managers job to be informed, its not the customers job to keep the manager in the loop. Why, after paying for expensive tickets, should a customer then have to ask to see the manager, and then feel embarrassed everytime they go to the cinema?

The person notified the staff of the people causing a nuisance. They shouldn't be expected to do more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,476 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

The prices are going to get worse thats all i have to say but why give out to the Workers (We dont make the prices, the amount of times we feel like **** because of customer frustration).

Some people are just complanners but some just need to listen to themselves.

Almost 60% of Teenagers in the area that come to strom are so ****ing dim its both Scary and Ignorant (Jayus thats the future of the country and they cant even understand buying a simple cinema ticket :mad::(:D).

The Cinema recently got a new computar system in for both Ticket and Retail processing and even a few months later its hard to understand some of the features of it.

The Minimum wage worker that serves you does not make the prices, he/she is there to make a living, each worker is there to provide a 100% service (sometimes it can impossible to create good service due to computar related problems, comp vochers etc) but from the bottom of my heart sorry about the prices but LIFES TOUGH WE HAVE TO LIVE WITH IT

dayshah wrote: »
    This annoys me. Customers pay the cinema for a ticket, they don't pay to do the manager's job. Its the managers job to be informed, its not the customers job to keep the manager in the loop. Why, after paying for expensive tickets, should a customer then have to ask to see the manager, and then feel embarrassed everytime they go to the cinema?

The person notified the staff of the people causing a nuisance. They shouldn't be expected to do more.
    If they weren't satisfied with the staff response, then they should be expected to talk to the manager instead of complaining to the internet tbh. Why would they feel embarassed everytime going to the cinema?

He never said anything about them having to do the manager's job. It's just common sense. If you didn't like the response you get from the staff, did you speak to the manager? I've done it before.

If you have a problem with the staff, tell the manager if you want it sorted.

If they weren't satisfied with the staff response, then they should be expected to talk to the manager instead of complaining to the internet tbh. Why would they feel embarassed everytime going to the cinema?

He never said anything about them having to do the manager's job. It's just common sense. If you didn't like the response you get from the staff, did you speak to the manager? I've done it before.

So what's the managers job? A good manager would keep himself informed. A manager has to be proactive about finding out whether or not the staff are doing what they are meant to, and to ensure things are running smoothly. They shouldn't wait for complaints to see if something has gone wrong.

People only make complaints if they are really pissed off, or more positively, if they think something will be done. If people are talking in the cinema, the manage himself should go in to tell them to keep quite or kick them out (unless he has security staff to do that). They shouldn't pass the buck to more junior staff.

People complain on the internet because its easier. That's Storm's problem. They should have a system in place so people could complain directly in a convenient manner.

People pay for a service, they go to the cinema to relax, not start a confrontation. Its the managers responsibility that the service is delivered. Next time I go to the cinema, should I timetable in an extra ten minutes for a post film chat because the manager isn't on top of his game.

Waiting for complaints is waiting for failure.

That's Storm's problem. They should have a system in place so people could complain directly in a convenient manner.

People pay for a service, they go to the cinema to relax, not start a confrontation. Its the managers responsibility that the service is delivered. Next time I go to the cinema, should I timetable in an extra ten minutes for a post film chat because the manager isn't on top of his game.

Well there's usually at least 2 managers there, if you are so upset by your experience you should make a manager aware of it, perhaps they can provide some sort of resolution for you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,685 ✭✭✭barneystinson

A good manager would keep himself informed. A manager has to be proactive about finding out whether or not the staff are doing what they are meant to, and to ensure things are running smoothly. They shouldn't wait for complaints to see if something has gone wrong.

How do you propose the manager should keep himself informed?

Define "proactive"?

You're using lots of words here, but I'm not sure what exactly you think should happen differently...

Well there's usually at least 2 managers there, if you are so upset by your experience you should make a manager aware of it, perhaps they can provide some sort of resolution for you...

Yes, someone could do that, or they can just put it up here.

Storm should welcome complaints and encourage them. It gives the same benefit as hiring a business consultant, at a fraction of the price.

I don't know if you are a manager or not (I'm guessing you have some involvement in Storm anyway), but I think an appropriate response would be to put in place a proper system to deal with the situation when some people are acting the maggot in a film, rather than just ask whether or not someone spoke to the manager.

Only a tiny amount of people will ever speak to the manager when they are unhappy about something.

How do you propose the manager should keep himself informed?

Define "proactive"?

You're using lots of words here, but I'm not sure what exactly you think should happen differently...

Ever notice how Mr. Flash often seems to be around in Revolution, whether behind a bar or somewhere else? He isn't just pulling pints, he's keeping an eye on things.

If a manager is floating about he'll know when the jacks are clogged, the cinema should have been cleaned better, there is always a shortage of ice at a particular time or whatever problems arise. These problems arise in the best run of places. But in the best run places the manager is as likely to notice them as a customer.

A good manager would never think, 'oh why didn't the customer tell me that'. The reason is its not the customers job. If the customer does tell the staff there should be a system in place for that to filter up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

To be honest I can understand some kid working in the cinema not wanting to ask a couple of lads to be quiet. It's not their job first and could lead to trouble that they can't handle second. However, there should be someone there at all times who is trained/willing to go out and turf out these knobs who are causing trouble.

Good customers pay enough for complaints like this to be acted on.

So what's the managers job? A good manager would keep himself informed. A manager has to be proactive about finding out whether or not the staff are doing what they are meant to, and to ensure things are running smoothly. They shouldn't wait for complaints to see if something has gone wrong.

People only make complaints if they are really pissed off, or more positively, if they think something will be done. If people are talking in the cinema, the manage himself should go in to tell them to keep quite or kick them out (unless he has security staff to do that). They shouldn't pass the buck to more junior staff.

People complain on the internet because its easier. That's Storm's problem. They should have a system in place so people could complain directly in a convenient manner.

I brought my two brothers to see captain america in 3D.

There was no sound. Staff said they'd have it fixed. 30 mins passed and they never did. Went outside and told the manager. Refunded food and tickets, refilled food we had and gave free tickets to next showing.

I complained in person, resolved it in person and I was unhappy with the staff there. Simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,685 ✭✭✭barneystinson

Ever notice how Mr. Flash often seems to be around in Revolution, whether behind a bar or somewhere else? He isn't just pulling pints, he's keeping an eye on things.

If a manager is floating about he'll know when the jacks are clogged, the cinema should have been cleaned better, there is always a shortage of ice at a particular time or whatever problems arise. These problems arise in the best run of places. But in the best run places the manager is as likely to notice them as a customer.

A good manager would never think, 'oh why didn't the customer tell me that'. The reason is its not the customers job. If the customer does tell the staff there should be a system in place for that to filter up.

Well you're hardly comparing like with like there - Flash is the owner of that business, not a hired manager. And also, my OH has just told me that the jacks in Revolution are disgustingly unhygienic any time she's been in there...!

For all you or I know there may be "a system in place for that to filter up", but you're depending on the same staff (who haven't bothered to deal with the problem) to filter the information up. Bottom line is the manager can't be expected to be everywhere and see / hear everything (I agree entirely with what you say about things like clogged jackses, or the likes, but the manager can't be at every show making sure there isn't some clown spending half the film talking on their phone).

As a customer, if I had a serious issue, I'd think there's much better likelihood of it being dealt with if I actually make the manager aware of it personally, than depending on the gobsh1te staff member who already failed to do so first time round to get the message to him. And certainly more so than by grinding my gears on an unrelated web forum about it.

It would of course be nice if Storm / Odeon, had a means of giving online feedback, and I've got plenty of issues with the place myself, but I just think you've got unrealistic expectations of what can be expected of a manager. Mitch's experience shows the manager in that instance acting in the manner I'd expect, once they become aware of an issue...

In response to the above, after the film we didn't have enough time to wait for a manager to speak to as the film went on longer than expected (Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, nearly 3 hours long??) and we were in a rush home but when I went outside to complain about the two lads I specifically asked the girl to send in a manager to deal with the problem (apologies for not specifying this in my earlier post). I would've thought that that is enough on the part of any customer.

If Storm's staff are not equipped with the correct skills to deal with these type of people then they should employ people that are willing to eject people from the cinema for disturbing the showing.

they should employee people that are willing to eject people from the cinema for disturbing the showing.

Out of curiosity, how would one 'eject' someone from a cinema without being called up for assault?

I didn't mean "eject" in that sense of the word, I meant ask them to leave the premises.

What if they refused?

I'm sure Storm can equip their staff with the necessary skills to deal with this sort of scenario, idiots are ejected from premises all over the country everyday of the week. I don't know what you expect me to say :confused: So what would your approach to this scenario be?

You can't physically remove someone from an establishment unless your a guard or a bouncer (and bouncers are very restricted in what they can do in that sense**)

**assuming the bouncer is working for that establishment