Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car plans for 2012

• 28-12-2011 12:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭

Are you planning on getting a new car in the new year?
    Carrying out modifications?Getting that dent fixed,all should go here. :)

Personally, I gotta fix the rear window on my softop, it's torn and cloudy.Hopefully I'll be able to sort it without buying a new soft top.

Gotta fit those new speakers I picked up a few days ago aswell, might carry out a bit of sound proofing though.Other than that I should be set for the year (famous last words)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

New car, something fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

I'm getting an Alfa, with leather. Sure I might as well bite the bullet now and drive in comfort. Today, with a fierce hangover, I can only imagine what my money could be better spent on, as I go for a long drive in my Polo in two days for a 150 mile trip. :( I've been in dgt's Alfa and it's only beautiful to be in. Bastard converted me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I feel like a numpty for saying this because I said it last year but I WANT A LUXOBARGE....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭BuzzFish

Just keep it running! Inner CV has failed again after just 20,000 miles so that needs to be replaced and the old one sent back to Alfa for a refund!

Other than that, keep the miles ticking over for a long as possible!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Want to sell the golf and buy something crazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Another 12 months dreaming about an XF :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,842 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Buying a new Accord

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I'll probably have a new car by the end of the year. It'll be RWD and 2.5L+. Just need a proper job first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Had planned on making a few changes to the teg this yr but recently got the bug for a track car so don't know what to do now! Having said that I have to get the limiter removed on the teg :mad:

Just want something I'm not going to be worried about when out on the track, I loves my Integra to much to wreck her! Plus she's my daily drive so can't afford for anything silly to happen. Could be an interesting year ahead!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Change the Passat

Undecided if I should go new or used again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

E39 I'd say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Lex Luthor wrote: »
    Another 12 months dreaming about an XF :(
    Cant wait till they start showing up in the luxo-bangernomics threads of the future! (like say the 7 serieseseses that are there now)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Finished paying off my car loan in May so when I have the money, I'll be lowering the car, getting a paint correction done, getting the alloys refurbished and maybe getting a remap.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

I am soon to drive a real car again. Some may be familiar with the story, but when I got made redundant mid 2010 I had to hand back my company motor and the Punto being the second car, became the main motor. I now have an '01 318 Ci parked up and waiting for me, once I get the Punto sold. Now I know its not the best model in its range, not the best mpg, not the best grunt, but when your going from a Punto, it will feel great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭focus_mad

Swapping the '06 520d (with 200k kms) for an immaculate 07 VW Gti (with 35k that has been garage kept most of its life.

Probably the end of jan / deb.

Thinking of going proper DUB with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Was planning on starting this thread the other day, figured I better wait til closer to the new year :)

What I'm hoping to get done:

Get the Eibachs fitted
    Full bmw alacantra sport seat / interior swap
    Interior CF wrap / dip
    Get front / rear M-tech bumpers
    Fit HID's / Xenons - going to try find out a way to bi-xenon retrofit
    Angel eyes
    German plates
    Wheel spacers
    Remap

and way in the future: CSL bootlid

So if I get even half of that done I'll be delighted :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I had some mad ideas for the last while of selling the Civic and getting something cheaper, and buying another DC2 as a project with the money left. But realistically it's not a good plan as I live in an apartment block and there is nowhere to have a second car. I would probably also lose a fair few quid on the Civic.
    So I will probably wait til I have a new job to think about having a second car or getting back on a motorbike.

For the Civic......first plan is to pay for tax which is up next month :(. Then I want to get the kit to allow me to install a double din aftermarket stereo. Obviously need to buy the stereo aswell! I would like the front GP pack splitter, and I may possibly buy the rear aswell. I would also like to install oil temp and oil pressure gauges, and maybe tint the rear 3 windows. I can't see myself doing too much more than that for a while anyway!
    There are also a few other small bits and pieces i'd like to do......paint the brake calipers, change the number plate etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

New wipers
    Car mats (ouchy on the price)
    Might upgrade the alarm system
    Get brake calipers rebuilt and overhauled
    Get a full service
    Sort out an MP3 connection, maybe install an old iPod for just using in the car
    Maybe headrest speakers

Bye bye money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Plan on doing nothing this year outside of normal maintenance as I only bought it a year ago, had it remapped during the summer and put new tyres on it just before Christmas. No reason to change it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Undecided...

Yes I like the idea of a change from the 06 Passat I have for something a little bigger, similar vintage and with "A6" (or "E220 diesel" as an outside contender!) in the name :p, but despite being kept as immaculate as I can manage, and having a full VW service history with servicing done roughly every 3/4 months., the 205k km on the clock - despite being 95% motorway mileage - will mean I'd likely get feck all for it either privately or as a trade-in :(

I'm debating then whether I should bite the bullet anyway and go for it, or keep it till something expensive goes wrong and try and have a reserve cash float built up in the interim for the change at that point.

In the meantime though she's due her NCT in January so I suppose the front window tints will have to come off as ereven though they were the lightest version at the time 65/35 I think (or whatever way it's classified :)) it'll no doubt fail under the new regulations.. more money!

On the plus side she's going in for her latest VW service tomorrow and the infamous injectors are to be checked and replaced if needed under the VW UK recall plan (:)) so that's a plus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Changing to a new Qashqai+2 (from a 2010). It's petrol this time, (no DPF, much quieter and similar fuel consumption for most of the driving it'll do), *not* silver (not a bad colour, but it's everywhere), a few toys (integrated GPS, reversing camera) and the new dash, grille and lights from the facelift. Not the most essential of purchases, I agree, but just doing my bit to keep the economy going :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Actually here's a related question to my post above..

It's looking like I may be getting a promotion (yay me! :)) and relocating back to the Dublin area which will cut out the massive 1000 km per week commutes I'm currently doing.

So if I do end up doing mostly M50 and suburban runs but with the occasional motorway spin still included, how does the A6 petrol compare to the TDI version in terms of consumption - both would still have to be automatic though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

Yep, placed a deposit on a brand new Golf edition-r for January :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Need to buy a carby mid-end of Jan. Getting a car allowance and pretty set on getting a 2011 S60 from the UK but I'm having trouble justifying spending that much money on a car :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

barura wrote: »
    I'm getting an Alfa, with leather. Sure I might as well bite the bullet now and drive in comfort. Today, with a fierce hangover, I can only imagine what my money could be better spent on, as I go for a long drive in my Polo in two days for a 150 mile trip. :( I've been in dgt's Alfa and it's only beautiful to be in. Bastard converted me.

Heh heh I'm quite the convincing at times :pac: how about a 146? or a 147? ;)

For me, its back to my beloved van :) I'm at the end of my tether here! I miss the handling, I miss the fun of the 6 speed box, I miss my Alfa seats and wheel, I miss the brilliant driving lights, I miss the space I have in the back.... for carrying stuff :p

Theres only so much one can take before they go mad!!! :eek:

Going to see if I an scrounge up a years tax for it too :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

My car WILL be getting painted before my birthday in January, at which point I shall be releaving the Golf of it's dutys and buying something nicer.

Ideally I'd like a 02 320d M sport estate without leather but with parking sensors, a bit of history and not massive mileage in black or silver, but we can all keep dreaming. I know the 02 is less of a reliable engine, but I don't think I'm going to find anything as reliable as I have now so I may as well just bite the bullet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

- Get the stock bumper fitted (Which still hasn't arrived :mad:)
    - HID's
    - Rear windows tinted
    - Pressed plates
    - Alloys refurbed
    - New tyres
    - Fuel controller fitted

That's pretty much it until I find the wedge for that V8 conversion....:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

The focus need a bit of love, so that's going to be done.

I had hoped to change to a DS3 this year, but that doesn't look like it's going to happen, stupid responsibility and being a grown up.

I am, however, changing to something with a bit more grunt than the 1.4 focus. Preferably petrol, I don't do the milage to make use of a diesel. If I can stay in around an 03, then yay.

I'm a regular viewer on the bangernomics, so just waiting for something to catch my eye.

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

Hoping to get a 6 cylinder E46, or some kind of reasonably exciting car :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I'm due new tyres for the E38 soon.
    Small mod to get sat nav on the rear TV is about all I have planned. New car is on hold for the moment!

Oh, might also get a full Meyle suspension kit, they make as good as OEM kits, might have a stab at it myself.

While dreaming about the XF might get the Legacy remapped when its out of warranty in Aug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

I'm getting the silver interior trim wrapped in piano black by a local window tint company, seen it done and it looks well. Suprisingly cheap too.

Next is a remap, a H&R touring kit, new wheels and a reversing camera (easier and cheaper than drilling the bumper for sensors since I have a 7 inch screen in the dash now!).

Then the little things that may or may not get done as I'm not too pushed. I want to get the cloth part of my seats redone in black alcantara, retrofit heated seats, autodim exterior mirrors. I'm also looking into a retrofit mfsw but tbh the only addition that will bring is volume control as the other functions are done on the stalk. I might just get the steering wheel retrimmed as in their wisdom skoda thought it was a good idea to make 4 inches of it from the cheapest plastic I have seen in the entire car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Flesh Gorden

I'll be having the ignition barrel replaced in about a week in my old but ultra reliable Mondeo

My most recent ex forced the wrong key and damaged it on purpose after a row
    her dad's paying for it :)

White Lithium Grease has been getting me by over the past few weeks

Got a quote here for the barrel + assembly + fitting of €134

Found a franchised parts dealer in Stockport who'll supply the part + 1 key inc assembly and postage for €37 - I'll be getting it fitted for €20

Depending on how the next few months ago I might end up buying an ex-fleet 08' Focus Estate sourced by that ex's uncle's company in the UK

If things go well I'll end up racking up the miles driving around Ireland and the UK trying to get something off the ground

Even after exchange rate/ferry/diesel/vrt/nct/tax it works out about €2k cheaper than the cheapest 08' Focus over here,

So at the very least I'd break even if I sold it on here and buy from him again in 2013

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭superstoner90

99% sure im going to buy a ford fiesta off a lad. You now who you are.

EPM wrote: »
    I'm getting the silver interior trim wrapped in piano black by a local window tint company, seen it done and it looks well. Suprisingly cheap too.

Can that be done to wooden interiors aswell or would the wood grain show through?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Can that be done to wooden interiors aswell or would the wood grain show through?

It's a plastic lining, so I'm going to assume no!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Im hoping that if things go well, I'll get a 4k war chest by the summer, between selling my 02 megane and saving the rest.
    Then it's undecided between a 156 and a mondeo, but I can't wait for whatever is coming next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Funnily enough it was on a 520d msport that had wood trim that he was doing when I saw it. Looked like original black trim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭mickob16

Just going to try keep the car serviced and on the road.Out of work so keeping an e60 2.5l is not cheap,but my God do i love that car:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Buying a BMW 316i around august or september - E36 or E46, it depends what I can afford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭puppetmaster

For the Moment il be Getting a couple of Tyres, Sort out my Electric drivers window. And hopefully Get a new NCT disk in February. Besides all the regular service stuff to keep her on the Road till the bank balance is a bit brighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

well once i pass my test, im going to save like a mad thing untill september and hopefully get a new/nearly new punto or panda or if i win the lotto an arbath 500:D, untill then ill keep trying to not dent mums car:cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Thinking of moving on the X5 next year and I'm considering buying a Porsche Cayenne in Petrol, so reasonable now in the 4x4 top end luxobarge end of the 2nd hand market...........some weapon.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2821404

if not,maybe a yoke like this,
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2831983
    a v10 tdi touareg .....tow a fcuking mountain!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

delly wrote: »
    I am soon to drive a real car again. Some may be familiar with the story, but when I got made redundant mid 2010 I had to hand back my company motor and the Punto being the second car, became the main motor. I now have an '01 318 Ci parked up and waiting for me, once I get the Punto sold. Now I know its not the best model in its range, not the best mpg, not the best grunt, but when your going from a Punto, it will feel great.

Surprised to see no-body has bought it yet was only looking at it on DD earlier.......if only I had the money :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Not my own car as such but I will be driving whatever my mom changes her clio to. At the moment it's looking like a Superb/Octavia or a Fluence. I'm trying to convince my dad that the Fluence isnt worth it and to get the Superb, he has one himself and loves it. God I hope he gets the Superb.

MidlandsM wrote: »
    Thinking of moving on the X5 next year and I'm considering buying a Porsche Cayenne in Petrol, so reasonable now in the 4x4 top end luxobarge end of the 2nd hand market...........some weapon.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2821404

if not,maybe a yoke like this,
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2831983
    a v10 tdi touareg .....tow a fcuking mountain!

Its still only a Touraeg at the end of the day and expensive at that. That Porsche is nice though even if it is a dressed up Touraeg.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

-Corkie- wrote: »
    Its still only a Touraeg at the end of the day and expensive at that. That Porsche is nice though even if it is a dressed up Touraeg.

True,and thats only an quik example Corkie, I saw v10 toerags for 14k in the past.

But its the torque/powaaa/grunt I'm seeking, not the image.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭superstoner90

Not my own car as such but I will be driving whatever my mom changes her clio to. At the moment it's looking like a Superb/Octavia or a Fluence. I'm trying to convince my dad that the Fluence isnt worth it and to get the Superb, he has one himself and loves it. God I hope he gets the Superb.

Ask her to get a supra or skyline! :D

MidlandsM wrote: »
    True,and thats only an quik example Corkie, I saw v10 toerags for 14k in the past.

But its the torque/powaaa/grunt I'm seeking, not the image.
    Ya definitey. I drove the V6 so I can only imagine the power in that thing..

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

On the list:

NCT: Timing belt and variator need changing, so waiting to see what else the NCT throws up.

After that planned as follows:

Full service replacing timing belt, variator, all oils, filters, thermostat, and if necessary spark plugs
    New tyres
    Repair small rust patch on wheel arch.
    Have Pinninfarina badge glued on
    Detailing with polish to improve bodywork
    Replace dodgy aerial
    Internal bodywork cleaned up
    New wipers
    New headlights