Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Not going out on St. Patrick's Day, Stephen's Day and New Year's Eve

• 26-12-2011 7:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭

I've just realise that, bar some unlikely last-minute change of plans, by the end of this year I won't have gone out on St. Patrick's Day, Stephen's Day or New Year's Eve.

And I think that's fine. I'm not really into long, busy nights out, but I do go to the pub now and then and drink when I do.

I prefer going to the cinema and going for a meal when I do go out though.

I know some people who find it strange if they discover I don't intend to go on out on a Saturday night, but I know most people are more understanding than that.
    Yet the three nights mentioned in the title seem to me to be the three nights when, in Ireland, many people assume that if you're youngish like I am, then you're going out unless there's some reason that you can't (not so much on St. Stephen's night).
    But I hate going out on these nights, largely because every pub and club is uncomfortably full and there's a surfeit of stupid, very drunk people about. And for the two nights over Christmas, the weather is often horrendous.

I don't believe I'm alone in this though, as I seem to hear more people expressing their dissatisfaction with these nights, though some of them I know still go out anyway.

Are these nights no longer "obligatory" nights out, or am I just weird for not going out on any of these nights when I'm somewhat young and have no kids?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I have never been out, as in drinking/going out at night, on any of these days, so no. Not weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭ThePower11

Give me a night in a quiet pub anyday over Stephen's's's's night, where every sort gobshite will be out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭ThePower11

cloud493 wrote: »
    I have never been out, as in drinking/going out at night, on any of these days, so no. Not weird.
    You are a bit weird. What age are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

They're all nights I hate going out.

Everyone is out to "HAVE THE BESTEST NIGHT EVER, OF ALL TIME" when in fact noone is really enjoying themselves.

Paddys Day and New Years Eve, places are packed, you can't get to the bar, there's a cover charge on the door of the pubs. And the 00:25AM "****, it's the New Year, Happy New YEAR YAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYY" is just annoying.

I'd much rather go out on a random Sunday/Wednesday night, and have a bit of a laugh with friends, play poker with the lads, or go for something to eat.

I am 18. And I have never had alcohol in my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

It's called getting older.

You're not arsed with all the noise and the hassle. Much better to leave it to another night when it's a bit quieter to meet up with folk and have a chat.

Did anyone buy you nice slippers for Christmas?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

The 3 nights of the year I can't stand going out are those nights, everywhere is packed and you get people home for a few days blowing sh*te about how great they are doing and can't wait to get back to wherever the f**k they are for the rest of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I've only ever been out on Stephens' night once. I really don't like going out to pubs/clubs anyway, but on the nights you mention I'd avoid it at all costs. It's fcuking crazy spending so much money only to be crushed and deafened in some smelly kip.

House parties or a having a few relaxed drinks at home ftw

I've seen people posting on facebook '15 EURO INTO *insert club name*' So thats just a giant waste of money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

Nothing wrong with being a hermit. There's plenty of places I could be tonight or St. Paddy's or New Years tbh.

F*ck it, human interaction is overrated. I'd rather stay here, count my coins and see how much my beard has grown since last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

Those are the 3 most over-rated days to go out on in the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I never enjoy the big nights out. Way too many people and always trouble. The best nights are always unplanned ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    It's called getting older.

You're not arsed with all the noise and the hassle. Much better to leave it to another night when it's a bit quieter to meet up with folk and have a chat.

Did anyone buy you nice slippers for Christmas?

No :(.

I actually never really liked these nights when I was younger, but I'd go out on them sometimes (though not every year) just because my friends were doing so.

Now that I'm a little older I'm not self-conscious about what others might think of me not going out on these nights, though I never really responded to peer pressure anyway.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I was trying to think of past St. Stephen's/New Years that I've had, I think teh best I had were 2/3 New Years in a bar in Ennis call The Brewery (now called Dan O'Connells), they sold tickets well in advace for £20, then €40, then €50 (different years) and it was free drink all night, you could have whatever you wanted, the reason I think the nights were so good was cause we were in early, the place wasn't packed (they only sold a certain amount of tickets) and no-one got too drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I'm sick the past few days:(,would've headed for a few earlier but couldn't be arsed heading out at night,too many drunk eejits talking sh1te at you or the ones that started drinking at lunchtime and just want to fight each other or puke.
    Nah-prefer a few early pints & home before the Red Bull & Vodka brigade hit the town.

Jeez!! I sound ancient. (Used to be mad for going on the lash at Christmas but priorities have changed now)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Clareman wrote: »
    I was trying to think of past St. Stephen's/New Years that I've had, I think teh best I had were 2/3 New Years in a bar in Ennis call The Brewery (now called Dan O'Connells), they sold tickets well in advace for £20, then €40, then €50 (different years) and it was free drink all night, you could have whatever you wanted, the reason I think the nights were so good was cause we were in early, the place wasn't packed (they only sold a certain amount of tickets) and no-one got too drunk.

Most of my best nights out in general would probably be like that as well.

I never really saw why Stephen's Night was such was such a big night out, but I've been thinking from people's comments in other threads that it's mostly for people who travel home, usually a smallish town, from other places where they work.
    Being from a city and not having to travel to get home, and with most of my friends travelling to country towns to get home and thus being away from me over Christmas, it never seemed like a logical night out in my case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

I don't boder, with taxi prices going through the roof and crazy entry fees to different establishments,

on top of the many clients who don't drink often or go out often but do on these dates,

drinking like there was no more alcohol left in the world, then two hours later wanting to fight with the world and all their best mates,

and at the end of it all pucking back up the 40-60 euro they just forced down at breakneck speed,

so no I don't partake in the merriment's.

I never could understand the notion that you had to be out those days or else there was something wrong with you. Seems that if you aren't out getting wasted on those important nights you're some sort of social pariah. I enjoy spending Stephen's Day in with a roaring fire, some good films, bottles of beer and good food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Shhh

I never could understand the notion that you had to be out those days or else there was something wrong with you. Seems that if you aren't out getting wasted on those important nights you're some sort of social pariah. I enjoy spending Stephen's Day in with a roaring fire, some good films, bottles of beer and good food.

I'm with you darko, always have been.. The few times I have ever gone out on any of those nights i've had an awful time.. If I have to now I volunteer to be the driver. Tis nice here beside the fire with de doggies and my wine .. Oh yes and my family....

I think the biggest problem with the nights in question is that every pub is jam packed and the simple process of consuming a pint is akin to something out of the Expendables. You have to fight to get to the bar, scream to be heard and then spend 5 minutes fighting to get back to your friends only to discover that half your pint was spilt in the process. You then spend the rest of the night shouting at friends trying to have a conversation and repeating the epic struggle that is getting a pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

I've never been out on St Patrick's, Halloween, any Bank Holidays and tonight will be my first ever St Stephen's night out. I don't like the crowds, the trouble they usually cause but mostly I don't like the pressure to have a really spectacular night when really I don't feel any of these holidays are worth celebrating. I've always gone out New Year's but only ever to the pub never a night club. I would find it very depressing staying in on New Years even if I don't really enjoy going out for it either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Moved to the OAP forum.

yeah, really busy nights in bars, suck. I like my comfort and noise levels pretty quiet :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Yeah, I'm the same. You can add Hallowe'en to that list. People dressing up zany, trying to act 'mad', and everyone just standing around waiting for the fun to begin after building themselves up for weeks...but it never does. And then they end up just fighting with each other. While dressed as Ali G. You can also add Christmas Eve and Arthur's Day.

Don't get me wrong, I look forward to them if there happens something else on that day and we're heading out anyway...then the place is packed and you're on a happy buzz anyway, so it's good craic. But I just don't like the idea of pretending to be particularly excited about what is, essentially, just another day of the week.

That said, I love to DJ on any of the above nights. Venues are packed so you get to build a great atmosphere, yet you're at a safe distance from the madness, and usually pays better than other nights too so you can spend your earnings on actual good nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Nothing wrong with being a hermit.

Having lived in effect as a hermit for years, and come out the right side of it, I think the hermetic lifestyle is seriously underrated. It was incredibly hard at the start, but that made it much more rewarding at the end.

Anybody whose life revolves around commercial/popular/fashionable things, could do with exploring it if they give it a purpose. It can offer a depth which nightclubs/pubs/tv/commercial radio never give to people.

Maybe this is just something that cannot be advised. People have to arrive at the stage where they're utterly destroyed spiritually by the sameness of nightclubs/noisy tv-dominated pubs/vacuous consumerism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I hate going out those nights too. Sad day when you rather sit in with a turkey sandwich and cup of tea watching Poirot, than go to the pub.
    Although, Poirot is a legend.

EDIT: And no, Poirot isn't the name of my cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭not1but4

Think for the last 4 years I havent gone out on St Patrick's Day or St Stephens day. Always hated the way there must be something WRONG with you in some people point of view.

Was just chatting to one of my friends trying to recall the last NYE's. I have been out every NYE since I was 16 and the last two have just been terrible. The set up sounds great a pub lock in, €50 in and free drink all night the only problem I wouldnt drink more then 4 drinks all night, the pub was a massive hole and I dont get a long with my friends from home as I once did so not a whole lot of craic.

I was contemplating not going out this NYE but was asked to head pretty much the other side of the county (500km away from where I work) with a few lads from college so hopefully this year will be a different affair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Paparazzo wrote: »
    I hate going out those nights too. Sad day when you rather sit in with a turkey sandwich and cup of tea watching Poirot, than go to the pub.
    Although, Poirot is a legend.

EDIT: And no, Poirot isn't the name of my cat.

You didn't need to point that out, it's clearly a dogs name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Wasnt out for Paddys nite...
    Not out tonight as my kids are staying with me.

But looking forward to New Years for a few pints......

Dionysus wrote: »
    Having lived in effect as a hermit for years, and come out the right side of it, I think the hermetic lifestyle is seriously underrated. It was incredibly hard at the start, but that made it much more rewarding at the end.

Anybody whose life revolves around commercial/popular/fashionable things, could do with exploring it if they give it a purpose. It can offer a depth which nightclubs/pubs/tv/commercial radio never give to people.

Maybe this is just something that cannot be advised. People have to arrive at the stage where they're utterly destroyed spiritually by the sameness of nightclubs/noisy tv-dominated pubs/vacuous consumerism.

The majority are not comfortable with their own company in fairness. While saying that I wouldn't recommend a hermetic stint for everyone - some can cope better than others. Time is precious and best served how you see fit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

You didn't need to point that out, it's clearly a dogs name

It's possible for a dog to be a legend. Not for a cat though. So that's ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

st particks day is a horrible mess of a day in the city, I avoid it like the plague. went out to buy some groceries this year, it was only 6pm but the streets looked like it was 3am saturday, lots of broken glass too

I prefer to stay in NYE and start the new year fresh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Paparazzo wrote: »
    It's possible for a dog to be a legend. Not for a cat though. So that's ok

I dunno, the Epgyptians worshiped cats, who worships dogs?

Many drunken young men will be worshiping women who can only be described as looking like a dogs dinner later on tonight, so that may count.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Going out during the day and doing some fun activity with your friends is far more enjoyable than the usual "lets go get pissed in a pub".
    I enjoy drinking, but not that much and when I do, I much prefer to drink comfortably at someones house. Those 3 days are over hyped bull**** anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Skipping Stephen's night out for the first time in years! The night is cursed for me. I always wake up with a stink of shame the next day and the gossip mill churning with stories of me :o

Lord knows who the town will talk about tomorrow! Left my party girls days behind though to become a boring sap.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭bwatson

New Year's Eve is one of few days where I make a point of not going anywhere. What does it represent? Oh good, here comes January, the bleakest, coldest month of the year.

Some amount of complete tossers decide to go to the pubs, bars and clubs too and make it into one of the most frustrating, boring nights possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

I also hate big, over-hyped, overly hustled nights out.

Give me a quiet pub with a few friends, or what I really love is to head out in the car late at night, pick up a cup of coffee and just drive, anywhere. Some great views of the city and sky to be had in the dead of night.

I also hate New Years, just another date on the calendar and if anything its depressing as in "what shíte will this new year bring?"

I tend to just forget it came and get used to the number 2012 by about March.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭not1but4

My dream NYE
    ge5uC.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

These 3 nights are usually the ones I'll skip. In the last 3 years I've made it to 1 St.Stephen's night, 1 Paddy's night and 0 New Years. I dislike New Year's Eve the most. My fiends find it a bit weird that I show zero interest in doing something for it. The best nights out I've had were the complete unplanned ones on a Thursday night or something like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

two words: The Millenium

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Working at 8 so nothing for me tonight.
    Id say ive been out once on St. Patricks day cause its just a nightmare.
    New Years, I still have no idea what im doing :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

Normally I go out on nights like this but a friend's sick so I opted not to.
    Usually, I like to go for a few pints, see a few lads I know to see, shoot the sh!t, and have a spot about. But tonight's good and I'm at home. Having a few beers, talking to said friend over Facebook and arsing about the internet with no beer being spilt or people bashing into me.

Not bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

sometimes these nights can be good but i haven't been out any of those nights this year because of work but i might go to a house party on NYE but i would LOVE to stay in. I think i've been out every single NYE in the last 10years. I'd like a wee break!

[Retarded Ashton]
    Who ya gonna kiss at Midnight?
    [/Retarded Ashton]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

I spent the night babysitting my niece and nephew(godson). Such a laugh I had, they are 2-1/2 and 1-1/2yrs old, ate even more crap, bath time, snuggles on the couch watching cartoons and bed time stories. Got a few texts from the lads saying such n such is fighting/drunk/thrown/cost X to get into here out etc, need I say anymore....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

There were time in the past when I wouldn't miss NYE or Stephen's night...whatever about Patrick's night, that tended to be a day when the drinkin and the shmokin' started so early that there was no good reason for you to still be out, and inevitably a night of trouble if you still were, usually you'd be passed out in someone;s house by that stage or managed to get home. Patrick's night was never really one for clubbing either. Too much gargle.

But NYE was a staple of mine for years, rake of yokes and away off out...but then the millennium came and for some reason having not gone out that year (and had a far better time at a huge house party) the realisation dawned that it wasn't something that needed to be done in a club...pubbed it for a few years after that and then the novelty of that wore thin as well. It's not just the money you spend but it's part of it...impossible to get taxis etc.

Stephen's night is funny one... it was traditional with all my mates to be out chrsitmas eve for a few, then see no-one till stephen's afternoon, decamp to the pub and then go off out clubbing that night...it was always messy due to crowds and the fact that most had been drinking like f*ck all day...always seemed to be trouble that night to for some reason.

Pub culture has changed a lot since I was a regular for going out on the booze...the whole drinking at home thing has come of age now, but tbh as you get older, most with sense will drink to a certain point and then it's off home...not the youthful thing of polishing off a bottle of spirits to yourself and then going looking for more at first light and the ensuing consequences of that.
    Drink's great and all, greases the social wheels, but it's a c*nt as well... no point in having a great time if you can;t recall 3/4s of it the next day and have a hole in your wallet to match the one in your head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

I've missed St. Patrick's day and Stephen's day now, and not in a longing sense. My boyfriend text me earlier saying "I met X, Y and Z (my friends) and they said ya should be out!" I just replied with, "Oh I should, should I? Why exactly is that?" I went on to say like, why is it so frowned upon by some people that you don't go out on a certain date? If my friends called me up earlier and said, "Reap, we're all heading to X's to have a laugh and catch up" or "We're heading to the pub, they've got a good band in and we can have a few drinks and a chat" then i would have been far more inclined to head out. Instead, I watched Home Alone, Poirot and Downfall with my mam, ate a bit of junk food and I'll have a fresh head tomoro, my clothes won't stink of drink and be stained from gob****es knocking drinks, and I'll still have the little bit of money I'm reserving for a potentially enjoyable night!

I'm 20, almost 21, and I find that I rarely see my friends from home unless I go to a pub which is usually crowded and loud and I think its sad!

I'd be happy enough to do the exact same thing I did tonight on New Year's Eve, but I want to ring in the new year with my boyfriend, so I'll probably end up out, though I will be hoping to stay in a small local pub and not dare venture to a club! Ugh, effort...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Bubblefett

I hate going out those nights. Pubs are over priced and crowded, there's no taxis and the nightlink is a nightmare and stinks of puke. And it seems like all the a**holes come out on the most popular nights of the year.
    Don't get me started on Arthurs day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

New years i might be going on a little road trip but not at all connected to new years. i really do hate its overhypedness.
    And i also detest patrick's day too. always trouble makers out and 12 year olds collapsed on the streets after an over consumption of WKD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I don't drink so nightclubs do nothing for me. A quiet pub is quite enjoyable.

I'm 23 so all my friends think I'm a total wet blanket but they accept it at the same time, but it does mean I miss out sometimes. Damned if I care, however, or let it bother me.

Give me a movie and a meal any day - well said OP.