Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Republican/Loyalist Areas in the North

• 24-12-2011 9:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭

just out of pure interest, what are the biggest republican/loyalist areas up the north?
    presume the likes of Crossmaglen, Bellaghy and Dungiven would be the big republican areas with the likes of Portadown being loyalist??

and in general, what is there big divides in towns up north? eg would protestants go to a certain pub with catholics going to a different pub ete etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

This is good thread to start on this eve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Certainly is.Will Santa visit Loyalist or Republican areas first ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

I live in Short Strand in Belfast, ach sure I think it's lovely!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

mattjack wrote: »

That is a decision for the parades commission, who will first assess the current sit-ye-ashun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

God* bless us, every one

*the catholic one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

If he is in red he is going to loyalist and his elves who are in green go to republicans, we need a green santa up here and that's it.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Jonah42

Dunno but if you ever meet an angry northerner mind ya ask them if they're a Catholic or a Protestant. Great icebreaker.

Also, only Catholics can cross the roads when the lights are green, and estates with Irish tricolours are actually Loyalist trying to lure in unsuspecting southerners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Leroy Lita wrote: »
    just out of pure interest, what are the biggest republican/loyalist areas up the north?
    presume the likes of Crossmaglen, Bellaghy and Dungiven would be the big republican areas with the likes of Portadown being loyalist??

and in general, what is there big divides in towns up north? eg would protestants go to a certain pub with catholics going to a different pub ete etc

Outside Down and Antrim=Predominantly Republican

Catholics tend not to go to Orange Halls and Freemason Halls
    Protestants dont play GAA or carry pots of gold

John Doe1 wrote: »

except late at night carrying petrol bombs flowers and stuff.

No Surrender

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

No Surrender

:D:D up the santa,s :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Loads of catholic Freemasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Carrigfergus, Ballymena, Bangor. All fairly protestant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

presume the likes of Crossmaglen, Bellaghy, coalisland, carrickmore, Toome, Swatragh and Dungiven would be the big republican areas with the likes of Portadown, Ballymena, Ahoghill, Culybackey, Kells, Ballyclare, being loyalist??

Helped your post. (slightly)

Betty hard to sum up a few areas though, I could name you staunch areas that most of you wouldn't have heard off. (small townlands etc)

Bit of a silly thread to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Clough, Co. Down. Go there with a GAA jersey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,246 ✭✭✭conor.hogan.2

It is terrible that you can't, considering that Down are so well known for their football.

Also Down is now getting very well know for its hurling, it is becoming very popular with having two county teams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

Republican areas: West Belfast: Falls Road, Antrim Road, North Belfast, Ardoyne.
    Loyalist areas: East Belfast: Newtownards Road, Shore Road, Glengormley. North Belfast: Shankhill. South Belfast: Sandy Row.

Republican Counties and towns: South Armagh (Crossmaglen), Derry (Bogside). Down (Newry) (Warrenpoint) (Downpatrick).
    Loyalist Counties and towns: Antrim, (Coleraine) (Ballymena) (Lisburn), Armagh (Portadown) (Lurgan). Down (Bangor).

East Belfast is mainly Protestant so the Rangers supporters will drink in pubs there.
    West Belfast is mainly Catholic so the Celtic supporters will drink in pubs there.

Union Jack flags and Red White and Blue painted kerb stones, and bunting, indicate a Loyalist area.
    Tricolour flags indicate a Republican area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Portavogie, also Co. Down. Grand aul place for rebel songs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

proddys/loyalists have big lips like ian paisley and there eyes are very close together, us cathilc taigs are all paddy looking like patrick kielty with big ears, avoid places called ballina... mallard... wait hold on... jaysus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

Well, let me comment on my home county. The centre of Cork City, the northside, the southside, the east and the west of the city are all very Irish places, the suburbs of the city and all the country towns and villages of the county, the houses in the middle of nowhere in Cork, up the mountains or down the back of nowhere, god dammit when we're taken over by China beautiful Cork will be the only county that doesn't surrender, I've been on boards long enough to see a demented amount of anti-Cork posts from loads of people which is ridiculous, Cork people are intelligent AND are the proudest paddies you'll find which very few other counties seem to be.
    Happy Christmas.

Well, let me comment on my home county. The centre of Cork City, the northside, the southside, the east and the west of the city are all very Irish places, the suburbs of the city and all the country towns and villages of the county, the houses in the middle of nowhere in Cork, up the mountains or down the back of nowhere, god dammit when we're taken over by China beautiful Cork will be the only county that doesn't surrender, I've been on boards long enough to see a demented amount of anti-Cork posts from loads of people which is ridiculous, Cork people are intelligent AND are the proudest paddies you'll find which very few other counties seem to be.
    Happy Christmas.

Wrong thread mate:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭G.muny

realies wrote: »
    If he is in red he is going to loyalist and his elves who are in green go to republicans, we need a green santa up here and that's it.:)
    Traditionally Santa did wear green, it changed to red because of coca cola ads. This can only mean one thing.

Coke cola is for loyalists.

Republicans like Pepsi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Wrong thread mate:rolleyes:

Every thread is a Cork thread, m8.

The sooner you learn that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Beir Bua

When you see butchers apron bunting, painted curbstones and UDA/UVF/Loyalist flags and murals you are in trouble.

Everywhere else you will generally be grand, many Irish people have a unrealistic fear of the north, it is really a lovely place.

BB

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Happy Christmas.
    it'll Still never be the capital however

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭bwatson

G.muny wrote: »
    Traditionally Santa did wear green, it changed to red because of coca cola ads. This can only mean one thing.

Coke cola is for loyalists.

Republicans like Pepsi.

Pepsi = red, white and blue. ;) Carbonated soft Drinks are loyal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

pmcmahon wrote: »
    it'll Still never be the capital however

Okay, why would being the capital matter, my point is Cork is Ireland personified yet countless Jackeens post how **** Cork is yet the reality is that it's an extremely Irish and lovely place in the context of this thread compared to anywhere else and it's exponentially safer than Dublin. Cork is by far Ireland's greatest county despite all the hate from people who don't live here, if you lived here you'd understand the real Irishness that flows through here.

I remember going back to a loose mate's place in Rathcoole a number of years ago. Google it, at the time we were on a very heavy weekend bender and it got to like 1 in the afternoon when I suggested we all go to some local for a bit more atmosphere. Lads didn't laugh, maybe on the inside they did but they did tell me you can't go anywhere with that accent. haha, bastards. But I remember going to get a bus to Belfast the following morning and asking the postman where to get a bus, dodgy look indeed but he led me the right way. Prob would have felt guilty had i been killed :pac:

Been to the Falls and Shankhill, walked around both but only drank on the falls, maybe a mental block who knows?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Theres no such thing as a "Republican" or "Loyalist" Area

If there was Ive been a Loyalist for six of the last ten years and a Republican for the other four.

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Theres no such thing as a "Republican" or "Loyalist" Area

If there was Ive been a Loyalist for six of the last ten years and a Republican for the other four.

You are mistaken.
    I have lived in Belfast so I know.
    For example:
    The Ardoyne is a Republican area.
    The Shankhill is a Loyalist area.
    Fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

I have lived in Belfast so I know..

So do I

Ardoyne is a MAINLY Republican Nationalist area
    Shankill is a MAINLY Loyalist area
    Slight difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Republican/Loyalist Area's in the North

Areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Republican areas: West Belfast: Falls Road, Antrim Road, North Belfast, Ardoyne.
    Loyalist areas: East Belfast: Newtownards Road, Shore Road, Glengormley. North Belfast: Shankhill. South Belfast: Sandy Row.

Republican Counties and towns: South Armagh (Crossmaglen), Derry (Bogside). Down (Newry) (Warrenpoint) (Downpatrick).
    Loyalist Counties and towns: Antrim, (Coleraine) (Ballymena) (Lisburn), Armagh (Portadown) (Lurgan). Down (Bangor).

East Belfast is mainly Protestant so the Rangers supporters will drink in pubs there.
    West Belfast is mainly Catholic so the Celtic supporters will drink in pubs there.

Union Jack flags and Red White and Blue painted kerb stones, and bunting, indicate a Loyalist area.
    well ain't you a clever fuvker........

So do I

Slight difference.

So you agree.
    There are Loyalist areas in Belfast.
    Glad I have cleared that up for you.

not yet wrote: »
    well ain't you a clever fuvker........

Yes.
    I am.

So do I

Slight difference.

The Ardoyne is Republican. Fact.
    Google it.
    See what happens there on the 12th July every year.
    Check out some of its residents like Bik McFarlane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

I'm only correcting you on this because you set yourself up as some kind of expert, correcting others.
    Firstly, the Antrim Road is in North, not West Belfast and is only Republican at the city end, and even then some of the off-streets lead to Loyalist Shore Road and therefore it is best described as a mixed area punctuated by peace lines. At the upper end, it's rich and affluent and mixed.
    Secondly, the Shore Road is in North not East Belfast.
    Thirdly, Glengormley is its own town and not part of Belfast, and is also mixed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

The Ardoyne is Republican. Fact.
    Google it.
    See what happens there on the 12th July every year.
    Check out some of its residents like Bik McFarlane.

Ardoyne, great place. The auld orange flute goes down a storm. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

KeithAFC wrote: »

You've waited until 40 posts in a Republican/Loyalist thread to finally post? :eek:

Keith you're going soft on us! :cool:

Ardoyne, like a lot of places, has a reputation largely based on long-distant history. It's predominantly Republican, with many Nationalists living there too, and there is an Upper Ardoyne area which is Loyalist mainly, though it is often referred to as part of Ligoneil nowadays.
    It's no worse than many other working class areas of the city. Many cultural murals, good local music in the bars, a thriving GAA team and a very well-worth visiting festival every summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Anywhere within a 10 mile radius of Keith is automatically a Loyalist area. The stench of loyalism off him would knock a horse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Danes Hill Road in Coleraine seems like a lovely friendly welcoming place, Did you give them a hand with the paintwork, Keith ? :D:D

Even the fascia on the houses is painted blue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,764 ✭✭✭cml387

There's an app you can get now.
    Your phone's display turns green or orange depending on which "area" you're in.
    Indeterminate areas are yellow.

Sorry I can't link but I just totally made this up on the spur of the moment.

Started to get worried bout ya Keith.

cml387 wrote: »

British Army maps of the North used to be marked up like this to inform the squaddies of where they were and weren't allowed to go on days off. Anything coloured was out of bounds.

I'm only correcting you on this because you set yourself up as some kind of expert, correcting others.
    Firstly, the Antrim Road is in North, not West Belfast and is only Republican at the city end, and even then some of the off-streets lead to Loyalist Shore Road and therefore it is best described as a mixed area punctuated by peace lines. At the upper end, it's rich and affluent and mixed.
    Secondly, the Shore Road is in North not East Belfast.
    Thirdly, Glengormley is its own town and not part of Belfast, and is also mixed.

I stand corrected.
    Antrim Road and Shore Road are North Belfast, my mistake.
    I accept what you say that some roads off the Antrim road are mixed, but lower down areas off it such as Crumlin Road and the New Lodge are Republican.
    Such mixed roads as Alexandra Park Avenue which is Catholic in the Dunmore estate, but Protestant from the North Belfast Orange Hall down to the Shore Road.
    However Glengormley is Loyalist like Rathcoole, hence all the UVF flags around the 12th July.
    I accept that although Glengormley borders with North Belfast, it is a separate town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

You've waited until 40 posts in a Republican/Loyalist thread to finally post? :eek:

Keith you're going soft on us! :cool:

This isn't my sort of topic.;)

I stand corrected.
    Antrim Road and Shore Road are North Belfast, my mistake.
    I accept what you say that some roads of the Antrim road are mixed, but lower down areas off it such as Crumlin Road and the New Lodge are Republican.
    Such as Alexandra Park Avenue which is Catholic in the Dunmore estate, but Protestant from the North Belfast Orange Hall down to the Shore Road.
    However Glengormley is Loyalist like Rathcoole, hence all the UVF flags around the 12th July.
    I accept that although Glengormley borders with North Belfast, it is a separate town.

Large parts of Glengormley are Catholic. Any of the estates nearest the motorway/city end are likely to be more Catholic than not.
    The only significant Republican area on the Antrim Road is the New Lodge. For the most part, it's pretty mixed. My gaff's yards from the Antrim Road and I have a number of Protestant neighbours, and I live closer to the city (ie not in the huge detached houses on the hillside bit.)
    North Belfast is generally like that - a lot of areas cheek by jowl. You can pass from a hardline Republican area to a Loyalist one and back again via a mixed area in minutes walking in many places. It's not a good place for a visitor to get lost in due to that reason, but the painted kerbstones do provide a handy guide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

cml387 wrote: »

It goes Orange as you enter Clonmel, Clonmel has a nice sized protestant community, Old St Mary's is an awesome building, I been inside it several times, Is Rev Knox still there ?

The White Memorial Theatre and that church building on Anglesea St were former Protestant churches too.