Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool - will they lose many fans who are non white?

• 23-12-2011 07:45PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭

After the players and further staff from the club wore t-shirts in support of someone charged for racist comments, are the club staring down a potential own goal of losing the support - either present or future - of fans from minorities? Especially, in the Merseyside era.

Similar to how in Glasgow, Celtic are widely viewed as the 'Catholic' club, and Rangers are the 'Protestant' club, will there be a noticeable divide in the support of both Merseyside clubs, as a result of the t-shirts?

If the club's hierarchy were smart, surely they would issue an apology in the coming days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Non white. Lol. It's got out of control now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

ffs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

non-white hahaha

Black even :eek: oh no i didnt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Yes. Yes they will. All of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Non white. Lol. It's got out of control now.

and your point is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,290 ✭✭✭Esse85

Everton supporter?

and your point is?

you're joking right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

and your point is?

No offence mate but this is just silly. PC gone mad. It's supposed to be a football club not a children's choir

I don't think it is PC - it is technically correct.

A football club who sign black players are danger in looking of hypocritical, when they stick up for someone charged with racism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,760 ✭✭✭ASOT

today_op_was_a_phaggot.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

You do know white people can be against racism as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

After the players and further staff from the club wore t-shirts in support of someone charged for racist comments, are the club staring down a potential own goal of losing the support - either present or future - of fans from minorities? Especially, in the Merseyside era.

Similar to how in Glasgow, Celtic are widely viewed as the 'Catholic' club, and Rangers are the 'Protestant' club, will there be a noticeable divide in the support of both Merseyside clubs, as a result of the t-shirts?

If the club's hierarchy were smart, surely they would issue an apology in the coming days?

You are making the mistake of confusing Suarez's Liverpool team mates standing by him as being anything other than friends believing him when he said that he didn't say anything racist.

Also, what happens if the charge is overturned in the appeal? Or even one step further, if it comes out that Evra lied?

You are getting slightly ahead of yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,517 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

RACE WAR !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! its begun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭RayCon

1101_race_war.jpg

I don't think it is PC - it is technically correct.

A football club who sign black players are danger in looking of hypocritical, when they stick up for someone charged with racism.

It is PC, will we start referring to white players as non black players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Liverpool should let him off with himself like who does he think he is hope he is punished

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Sorted ....

UK_Daz%20Powder.jpg

You are making the mistake of confusing Suarez's Liverpool team mates standing by him as being anything other than friends believing him when he said that he didn't say anything racist.

Also, what happens if the charge is overturned in the appeal? Or even one step further, if it comes out that Evra lied?

You are getting slightly ahead of yourself!

It does not matter what they choose to believe, the fact is the player has been banned specifically because of racist language. it would have been smarter to have just got on with the game, without the need for slogans.

While most Liverpool fans are grand, I can understand a non white fan feeling a little uncomfortable with endorsing the club, at the moment.

English clubs in general have been great at being appeal to attract all types of people as fans - well ahead of several countries -and hopefully something like this does not lead to something more dark. That would be my concern.

Iang87 wrote: »
    It is PC, will we start referring to white players as non black players

You have heard of Asians?

BTW, I am not a PC type of person. Started a thread about a year ago, critical of how the media under reported attacks by Pakistani sex gangs for years, but this is not the forum to elaborate on that topic.

yep little yellow fúckers :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,122 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

I'm not sure if this is a piss take or not, I think it is though.

i hope so otherwise i'll get a banning for my yellow people comment.

It is PC gone insane though soon enough we wont be able to say anything

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

You mean BLACK supporters?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I suppose the only way to really would be by checking the race profile of the LFC season ticket database and likewise that of SKY subscribers and seeing how many do not renew their subs. Ahem.

mike65 wrote: »
    I suppose the only way to really would be by checking the race profile of the LFC season ticket database and likewise that of SKY subscribers and seeing how many do not renew their subs. Ahem.

Credit to you for being one of the few to give a proper opinion, and not desperately clutch at my wording in the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

This stupidity is getting out of hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

It's Health and Safety gone mad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

On the plus side we might gain a few white supremacists to make up the numbers...but we will probably have to share them with Chelsea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭th3 s1aught3r

If you could issue an apology for this thread too that would be great ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭karl tyrrell

The ref has a yellow red and black card now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

The ref has a yellow red and black card now

Racist ref?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,395 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

wow, i wondered how it could get worse than the hilarious photoshop pics of suarez/liverpool in KKK hoods and here we are. well played op. Late contender for TOTY.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭paddy kerins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,560 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

I think they will lose some fans over it. Not many but if I were black I'd wonder why a racist ban isn't taken seriously.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

Evra has form as a wNKr from the spat at Chelsea a few years back
    And wasn't he up to his tits in the French national team fiasco in south africa!

Plus now he's a cry baby!!!

Evra has form as a wNKr from the spat at Chelsea a few years back
    And wasn't he up to his tits in the French national team fiasco in south africa!

Plus now he's a cry baby!!!
    jesus christ that is one of the thickest comments I've seen on the subject in a while. And I'm on Facebook!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭blindpilot

Non white. Seriously? What the ****?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Your motivation for this thread, Kenny Dalglish is himself a Protestant and didn't have sectarian issues at Celtic. Just because Rangers discriminated on the basis of religion does not mean their local rivals stooped to that level.

Celtic aren't a club solely for Catholics, Celtic are a club for everyone. Its Rangers who proudly proclaim themselves as the Protestant club, and who for a long time implemented discrimination policies based on creed. Celtic are welcoming of all creeds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭Hannibal

Would you describe Luis Suarez as a non-white?

it's like saying will Man United lose fans that are Hispanic due to the comments Evra made about Suarez's heritage, Evra also admitted to the FA that he used an offensive remark but the FA for some reason won't charge him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Dotsey wrote: »
    Would you describe Luis Suarez as a non-white?

it's like saying will Man United lose fans that are Hispanic due to the comments Evra made about Suarez's heritage, Evra also admitted to the FA that he used an offensive remark but the FA for some reason won't charge him.

That's because Suarez even though abused by Evra left it on the pitch where it should be sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

mister men wrote: »
    That's because Suarez even though abused by Evra left it on the pitch where it should be sorted.

Your posts are getting more ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Jaysus, what is it with Everton fans on this board?

I suppose they have to make a lot of noise to feel relevant and not forgotten.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Sh!t!! does this mean we need a new full back? Oh no Glen wore a t-shirt in support of Luis too!!!!!!!! Shock horror

Can ya say black anymore? Or is it racist...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

tommyhaas wrote: »
    Rangers who proudly proclaim themselves as the Protestant club,

What.The.****?

You got proof of these proud claims, or are you just talking ****e?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Eirebear wrote: »
    What.The.****?

I think this entire thread is tbh.

Liverpool players have supported a Liverpool player and do not agree with him being charged by the FA with regards a racial issue fullstop. If its proven to the public or even the players involved that Suarez actually said something intentionally racist id imagine their stance would change otherwise yes im sure black fans would gfind it hard to support those players in their endevours.

now im off to watch the boondocks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,057 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

In light of recent developments RTE played a song yesterday about enjoying a white christmas. this is clearly a call to arms and an inflammatory tune calling on non coloured supremasists and christian fundamentalists to join forces .im calling on the OP to join me in organising a strongly worded letter followed by a call to joe duffy and a candle light vigil at the gates of the montrose complex ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Im white. Liverpool lost me with the way the fans treated Torres and Hodgson (how these people can sing "You'll Never Walk Alone" is as ironic as it is embarassing). They are only another Man Utd now tbh.

The Suarez shirts were embarassing. Rather than deny the whole thing Suarez should have admitted blame. So should John Terry. The other day I called a Sydney spa bus driver an "arrogant Aussie cnut" because he tried to argue with me that the bus I had taken to work for free for 3 months had never been free, ever, and I now had to pay. Doesnt mean I want to send all Aussies to th gas chambers- its something said in the heat of the moment. Liverpool backing Surez when he was clearly in the wrong is another aspect of their embarassing decline under "King Kenny".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Eirebear wrote: »
    What.The.****?

Rangers always did see themselves as a Protestant club :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,122 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Im white. Liverpool lost me with the way the fans treated Torres and Hodgson (how these people can sing "You'll Never Walk Alone" is as ironic as it is embarassing). They are only another Man Utd now tbh.

The Suarez shirts were embarassing. Rather than deny the whole thing Suarez should have admitted blame. So should John Terry. The other day I called a Sydney spa bus driver an "arrogant Aussie cnut" because he tried to argue with me that the bus I had taken to work for free for 3 months had never been free, ever, and I now had to pay. Doesnt mean I want to send all Aussies to th gas chambers- its something said in the heat of the moment. Liverpool backing Surez when he was clearly in the wrong is another aspect of their embarassing decline under "King Kenny".

Why did you call him a ****, he was only doing his job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

I wonder if Suarez played for someone like everton, would there be 20 threads about it. The Terry/Ferdinand incident is much worse than this yet there is barely a mention of it. Why?