Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Proper driven pheasant shooting.

• 23-12-2011 1:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭

Some fast shooting here from Michael Yardley in Hungary.

Enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭transit260

sport is it,I dont know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

Boring....

Fish in a barrel springs to mind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭steyrman2

Tbh not very sporting birds i wonder who paid for the day each drive he was trying to shoot as quick as the next gun i have met mike yardly and had a few tips of him .If i meet him again i would say something about that shoot any man stands and counts his birds he shot out loud is a ****ing nob and should say on the clay grounds were he belongs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

transit260 wrote: »
    sport is it,I dont know.
    Boring....

Fish in a barrel springs to mind
    steyrman2 wrote: »
    Tbh not very sporting birds i wonder who paid for the day each drive he was trying to shoot as quick as the next gun i have met mike yardly and had a few tips of him .If i meet him again i would say something about that shoot any man stands and counts his birds he shot out loud is a ****ing nob and should say on the clay grounds were he belongs

Ah come off it now lads, ye haven't a clue what ye're talking about.

I saw this video today on youtube and I thought it was excellent, the birds were high and fast, they were difficult to shoot because he was shooting them in a small enough gap between the trees. It had the hair standing on the back of my neck, it was a delight to watch. I just put it up to show people what driven shooting was really all about and to see what kind of replys it would get, I doubt any of the three of ye have ever been on a driven pheasant shoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

I saw this video today on youtube and I thought it was excellent, the birds were high and fast, they were difficult to shoot because he was shooting them in a small enough gap between the trees. It had the hair standing on the back of my neck, it was a delight to watch. I just put it up to show people what driven shooting was really all about.

I put it up to see what kind of replys it would get, I doubt any of the three of ye have ever been on a driven pheasant shoot.

And why would you write something like that deeks?:rolleyes:,it just makes you sound like a nob.I'm not saying you are a nob(i don't know you)i'm just saying that statements like the above make you sound like one,happy Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭foxer3640

Thats some fine shooting there. Im just back from a driven shoot in england and i wouldnt call it boring. It might not be everyones cup of tea but i found it exciting and challenging! My two cents :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

i see nothing wrong with those birds perfectly sporting from what i could see :confused: certainly no less sporting than decoyed pigeon or flighted duck .
    the bag was huge but that is how they do things over there and there were 18 guns from what i could tell
    yes maybe he was a bit number happy but at the end of the day it was a video made to sell the gun to the shooting public

I saw this video today on youtube and I thought it was excellent, the birds were high and fast, they were difficult to shoot because he was shooting them in a small enough gap between the trees. It had the hair standing on the back of my neck, it was a delight to watch. I just put it up to show people what driven shooting was really all about and to see what kind of replys it would get, I doubt any of the three of ye have ever been on a driven pheasant shoot.

If that is what you call driven shooting your way off the mark in some of the drives mike and his next gun were shooting the same bird twice and lot of birds looked to be close driven shooting is all about the days shooting enjoying birds taking sporting shots not bag numbers the shot over 900 birds mike had over 100 him self and by the sounds of it bragging about it . I myself have being on a good few driven shoots private and commerical shoots in the last 12 years both here and uk so i do know what im talking about and have being a member of 3 private shoots i enjoy my driven shooting and other guns having good shots

And why would you write something like that deeks?:rolleyes:,it just makes you sound like a nob.I'm not saying you are a nob(i don't know you)i'm just saying that statements like the above make you sound like one,happy Christmas.

Just to clarify- the term 'nob', to me means one of two things;
    a) That I am wealthy and have a lot of expendable income and that I can spend my extra cash on driven shooting and you resent me because of it
    b) I'm a bit of a bollix and you resent me because of it

As regards (a) well I'm far from wealthy I've had to work hard for everything thing I have and can barely afford to buy cartridges, so paying for driven shooting unfortunately isn't an option. I do beat on a local shoot and I do get the oppourtunity once a year to shoot as payment for my dedication during the season.

For point (b) maybe I am a bit of a nob and I'ld rather that you didn't imply that I am a 'nob'.

Try and keep it clean and we might have some lively discussion and debate on the topic, rather than have the thread closed due to insulting one another.

If that is what you call driven shooting your way off the mark in some of the drives mike and his next gun were shooting the same bird twice and lot of birds looked to be close driven shooting is all about the days shooting enjoying birds taking sporting shots not bag numbers the shot over 900 birds mike had over 100 him self and by the sounds of it bragging about it . I myself have being on a good few driven shoots private and commerical shoots in the last 12 years both here and uk so i do know what im talking about and have being a member of 3 private shoots i enjoy my driven shooting and other guns having good shots

Look the bag was excessive I totally agree AFAIK it was a shoot organised by browning to show their products..

I didn't know you were on first name terms with Michael Yardley, I'm sure if you were to say it to him he'ld be disgusted with himself.

Look the bag was excessive I totally agree AFAIK it was a shoot organised by browning to show their products..

I didn't know you were on first name terms with Michael Yardley, I'm sure if you were to say it to him he'ld be disgusted with himself.

Just to put things in perspective i looked at the video clip a few times and still think some of the birds were low or if you look at 2.17, 2.36, 3.14, 4.02 will prove my point the shot a big bag browning more than lightly paid for his weekend
    Yes i am on first names with micheal i had a few private lessons off him and email him regularly and i will email him about the video over xmas
    I am not digging at you but i have being on both ends in beating spent a good few days loading on driven days and lucky to have shot myself and enjoy the days i will be out on one tomorrow 200 bird day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

Excellent shooting indeed, a hell of a shot! Whether he shot 10 birds on the video or 1000 birds whats the problem. Its a driven shoot i.e you pay for the day of shooting and at the end of the day the birds will be used:cool:

Never been to a driven shoot where one bird was binned, the locals, resturants or family get birds from it. been at a duck shoot where there was 900 ducks shot in the space of 6 hours with 8 guns, you think over kill:eek:nope!!!!! every single duck was used............................ The next week the number was around the same amount we had shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭homerhop

I always have to wonder when lads give out about drivn shoots, yet they are quiet happy to walk along a ditch with the dog a few yards ahead of them flushing a bird that gets no higher than 20ft in the air. A good driven shoot where the birds are at full flight and in the heavens will test even the best of guns, or shooting in forrestry where you have snap shots as the birds go over your head is some of the best testing shots you can get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

homerhop wrote: »
    I always have to wonder when lads give out about drivn shoots, yet they are quiet happy to walk along a ditch with the dog a few yards ahead of them flushing a bird that gets no higher than 20ft in the air. A good driven shoot where the birds are at full flight and in the heavens will test even the best of guns, or shooting in forrestry where you have snap shots as the birds go over your head is some of the best testing shots you can get.

Agree !!!! Lots of lads who think that their 20-40 yard shot on a pheasant going over hedge are the dogs bollox of the shooting world:eek:

LMAO then they wonder why they couldnt hit nothing on a good driven shoot. Yea:D, On a driven shoot or well a good driven shoot you kinda of have an idea of where the birds are being pushed but you have no idea the height or how far away these birds are coming from. Some of your mans shots where just talent! Plain and simple....Love to be at that level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Tone it down a few octaves lads! :eek:

Cheers for the vid Deeks. A good watch - I have never driven shot & I probably never will. Not to say I wouldn't like to at least once to experience it. I love visiting old manor houses seeing the shooting rooms & such & imagining the whole event going back hundreds of years. (would recommend Dunster in Sommerset for this - beautiful place!!)
    It's not my thing as a weekly hobby as i enjoy the walk, the dogs etc but there is tradition in it & brings millions into the economy. True clays would serve a similiar purpose but not the same. If the birds go to the table then i've no issue with it.

I don't think the intent of the thread was a pro/ anti driven shoot thread or who is the better shot or thinks they're a good shot. Fact is the most unassuming 16 year old or 80 year old would probably shoot the ass off anyone one of us.

Lets keep things :) for the season thats in it folks ;)

Have a look at this link and compare them there is some very good videos in the link give a true idea what should happen
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GkxdfFJ0kUw&feature=g-all-s&context=G24abd32FAAAAAAAABAA

Have a look at this link and compare them there is some very good videos in the link give a true idea what should happen
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GkxdfFJ0kUw&feature=g-all-s&context=G24abd32FAAAAAAAABAA

Yeah looks like a nice shoot, but Yardley .... sorry Mike is still a better shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

From watching the video it is very obvious that it was made for advertising purposes. I don't know Mike Yardley from the Pope but I doubt very much that he would be calling out his amount of birds down and probably not taking some of the lower birds if he was shooting in his local syndicate. He was most likely being paid so was expected to shoot what was presented and tell everybody how great the gun was. Also Browning is an American company so they would not have the same morals regarding sportsmanship that maybe we would or other European countries.

, I doubt any of the three of ye have ever been on a driven pheasant shoot.

I'll have you know I was working on a shoot for many a time and was a beater on a few occasions,and that wasnt very sporting either,.

transit260 wrote: »
    I'll have you know I was working on a shoot for many a time and was a beater on a few occasions,and that wasnt very sporting either,.

So you don't like driven game shooting.

I am open to anything,each to their own.I was just commenting as to how I found it but that was a long time ago.Pheasants were half tame and needed to be pesuaded to fly,lol.I think if the man wants to pay for that kind of thing then drive on but after 20+ birds down in a first drive and over 900 the day before,well not very sporting to me but does that matter,theres always someone going to find others sport not for them.Any way HAPPY X MASS TO ALL.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 46 decoyer

Oh bloody top hole shootin old chap B******S where is this great shooting
    not 1 right and left among it all looks to me like they where all fired out of a trap LOL just over the banking he was under
    Reminds me of the program he done about the shooting of Kennedy
    he had to reinact the shot and guess what he fuccked it just a big toff who gets paid to make these clips ect as publicity for Gunmakers

decoyer wrote: »
    not 1 right and left among it all looks to me like they where all fired out of a trap LOL just over the banking he was under
    Reminds me of the program he done about the shooting of Kennedy
    he had to reinact the shot and guess what he fuccked it just a big toff who gets paid to make these clips ect as publicity for Gunmakers

Someone is not full of the Christmas cheer!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 ProStalker

Mike was paid to do this video and he was to shoot as many "safe" birds as possible to advertise the gun. Remember this is a video for the American market as well where they want to see stuff get killed! He is an incredible shot who would normally only take higher birds. This video is not him on a normal day though, its him doing what he is paid to do and boy does he do it well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,156 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

FWIW
    I have shot those kind of drives in Hungary and know Mike Yardley personally,and TBH The driven shoots over there will have that amount of birds as the one we were on hatches over 500k of chicks and releases 250k per annum.900 birds between 18 guns is fifty birds per gun.Actually pretty small bag for that many guns on a drive.That place looked highly expensive and as stated obviously for advertising purposes of both the shoot and the gun.[Also the end shot of the way the game was laid out in a circle is not done either.It should be in pairs,on a square.]
    Yes lads,people can get exited...It isnt against the law you know to be so while shooting,[Either that or we have more arch conservatives here than Mike himself....:rolleyes:Do many of ye dress for the occasion in shirt & tie for even going rough shooting as he considers that de riguer??]so what if the guy counts out loud???I was counting out loud last time how many I MISSED!!!:pFor 63 birds over three days, that was 130 rounds fired and over 200 misses/got away birds
    And yes you can get all sorts of shots presented to you over there as well.Last time I was there I ended up on a drive where I was thankful I had my semi auto with the nine shots in it!You were literally presented with waves of birds coming over you for about 15 mins solid!!!.So much that the twin tube boys were missing more birds,even with attendant loaders where I could happily pick difficult or fast shots without worrying about reloading.
    Fine,its an advert...But thats what driven shooting is like over there,on other drives it was exactly like the 2nd youtube video,staid long range shots too.The Hungarians want to advertise their place as well,and the only way to get punters in there is by showing how many birds they have and can expect to be taken on a drive.These are commercial entities,not some private or local gunclub affair that are perhaps the only employment in some of the more poorer agricultural areas of Hungary.
    Dont judge a man who can proably outshoot the best of us here with a DBBL with the barrels pointing both left and right at the same time,because he is doing his job and having fun at it.
    And dont knock the European style of a driven shoot until you actually experiance it in real life.I grauentee you will be counting as well!:)

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Also Browning is an American company so they would not have the same morals regarding sportsmanship that maybe we would or other European countries.

Broad sweeping statement there!!!:(

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Broad sweeping statement there!!!:(

Well I do not mean to offend anyone and I do not mean that they are unsporting. From what little knowledge of American pheasant shooting I posses I know that the vast majority of their pheasant shooting is walked up so might not understand the etiquette involved with European driven shoots. That is all they have different morals but not unsporting morals.

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    FWIW
    I have shot those kind of drives in Hungary and know Mike Yardley personally,and TBH The driven shoots over there will have that amount of birds as the one we were on hatches over 500k of chicks and releases 250k per annum.900 birds between 18 guns is fifty birds per gun.Actually pretty small bag for that many guns on a drive.That place looked highly expensive and as stated obviously for advertising purposes of both the shoot and the gun.[Also the end shot of the way the game was laid out in a circle is not done either.It should be in pairs,on a square.]
    Yes lads,people can get exited...It isnt against the law you know to be so while shooting,[Either that or we have more arch conservatives here than Mike himself....:rolleyes:Do many of ye dress for the occasion in shirt & tie for even going rough shooting as he considers that de riguer??]so what if the guy counts out loud???I was counting out loud last time how many I MISSED!!!:pFor 63 birds over three days, that was 130 rounds fired and over 200 misses/got away birds
    And yes you can get all sorts of shots presented to you over there as well.Last time I was there I ended up on a drive where I was thankful I had my semi auto with the nine shots in it!You were literally presented with waves of birds coming over you for about 15 mins solid!!!.So much that the twin tube boys were missing more birds,even with attendant loaders where I could happily pick difficult or fast shots without worrying about reloading.
    Fine,its an advert...But thats what driven shooting is like over there,on other drives it was exactly like the 2nd youtube video,staid long range shots too.The Hungarians want to advertise their place as well,and the only way to get punters in there is by showing how many birds they have and can expect to be taken on a drive.These are commercial entities,not some private or local gunclub affair that are perhaps the only employment in some of the more poorer agricultural areas of Hungary.
    Dont judge a man who can proably outshoot the best of us here with a DBBL with the barrels pointing both left and right at the same time,because he is doing his job and having fun at it.
    And dont knock the European style of a driven shoot until you actually experiance it in real life.I grauentee you will be counting as well!:)
    Thats interesting what you say about the semi auto. On some of the driven shoots in the uk the use of a semi auto would be considered unsporting. Did anyone have a problem with you useing it? Heard of a couple of lads not allowed to shoot when they turned up with a semi...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭yessam

Yeah looks like a nice shoot, but Yardley .... sorry Mike is still a better shot.
    it is seriously challenging shooting and is very enjoyable when birds are driven properly. i would have no problem doing some driven shooting if i could afford it. it makes a change from shooting them up the arse all the time. i would love to have the talent of michael yardley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭hunterpajero

decoyer wrote: »

i agree with decoyer 100% all single birds and breaking cover within ten yards of the same point

foxer3640 wrote: »
    Thats interesting what you say about the semi auto. On some of the driven shoots in the uk the use of a semi auto would be considered unsporting. Did anyone have a problem with you useing it? Heard of a couple of lads not allowed to shoot when they turned up with a semi...

No none at all.
    Different country and mindset too I guess.No probs with semi high cap pumps or semi shotguns for hunting even large game.
    They are well used to the Italians shooting over there as well with high cap semis as well.:)I just found it a lot handier than having to every 30 secs be stuffing twin tubes while good shots were departing and I'm looking around.I tried my cousind Bretta OU for the last two days.TBH I found I missed more with the OU than I did with the semi,as the chance of getting off the second shot is much quicker and I found I wasnt correcting for lead properly.

I've had this out alot of times with this sporting/unsporting malarkey of semis and I put a lot of this down to snobbery and traditionalism that belongs in another century [like the 19th].It is the man not the gun that pulls the trigger,if you dont hit that bird with the two shots,no worries in certain situations over there there will be another three breaking from cover within possibly 30 secs.In a situation where your shooting action is fast and furious,and you dont have Jeeves beside to hand you your loaded and cocked matched Purdey .You are going to miss good shots.I even shot over there with a loader,it speeded up the process alright,but I found this very archaic and awkward.You really do need to be a well oiled team of gun and loader.My cousin on one drive did try with the two OU s a loader and swoping the guns,and they were putting up a rate of fire that made me and the semi look slow.:eek:TBH what difference does it make wether two shots come out of one barrel or two shots out of seperate barrells?

I agree it is the man not the gun. A lad could be useing a 30 grand purdey and still be a gob****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Bananaman

I've gone on a few shooting weekends in Scotland - bit of foreshore, bit of walk up, bit of driven, bit of stalking, bit of drinkin, bit of eatin.

They are a great weekend - utterly unaffordable here - but doable there for the likes of me.

When shooting sporting clays I would regard the driven birds to be the easiest - many lads cant hit them at all - but driven pheasant is a different kettle of fish.

I have - often - seen a bird get up out of a walled.wood - come out of cover at the treetops, fly the length of the wood and glide away into the bog having passed over and had been fired at by four or five guns - just like the four more that came out while everyone was reloading.

Its not fish in a barrell - i suppose the first weekend on very well stocked land might make for huge bags - new birds - not wary of people or gunshot yet - but I'm usually on the third weekend - when the birds are a bit more scarce and wary - which makes for great shooting.

Your mans video is a great example of good shooting and of the gun he was using - sure its not everyones cup of tea - its all a bit tweed, plus fours, down the barbers with the spaniel to get the coat permed and off for afternoon tea with egbert - but its just an ad.

B'Man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Bananaman

I've gone on a few shooting weekends in Scotland - bit of foreshore, bit of walk up, bit of driven, bit of stalking, bit of drinkin, bit of eatin.

They are a great weekend - utterly unaffordable here - but doable there for the likes of me.

When shooting sporting clays I would regard the driven birds to be the easiest - many lads cant hit them at all - but driven pheasant is a different kettle of fish.

I have - often - seen a bird get up out of a walled.wood - come out of cover at the treetops, fly the length of the wood and glide away into the bog having passed over and had been fired at by four or five guns - just like the four more that came out while everyone was reloading.

Its not fish in a barrell - i suppose the first weekend on very well stocked land might make for huge bags - new birds - not wary of people or gunshot yet - but I'm usually on the third weekend - when the birds are a bit more scarce and wary - which makes for great shooting.

Your mans video is a great example of good shooting and of the gun he was using - sure its not everyones cup of tea - its all a bit tweed, plus fours, down the barbers with the spaniel to get the coat permed and off for afternoon tea with egbert - but its just an ad.

B'Man