Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toddler attacks 10 children in Leistershire creche

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Placing bets on the killstreak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭rossieboy

He must have got an Assualt Drone for that Killstreak..

But seriously.. Thats crazy!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

I'm surprised a 2 year old would even know they're being slagged off, I mean they're not that bright at 2 years of age, I can easily beat my 2 year old at chess/cards/rugby etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭irelandspurs

Death penalty ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I'm not certain but I am fairly sure they have gotten this story from South Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

Video link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Jaysus, I'd be MORTIFIED if that was my child!

Maybe that's the point though, her parents might not give a flying fcuk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Sign that baby up for UFC juniors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

ah the state of the poor child face in the picture,id be very upset if that was my child!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Based on the mothers attitude to the whole thing, it looks as if she didn't take it from the wind.
    The mother of the girl yesterday refused to comment about her daughter.

She said: “My daughter is two years old. I want nothing more to do with this.”

Hey missus, your kid kicked the shít out of 10, count them, 10 other kids. You better have more to do with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

If a two year old did that damage to another kid then there's some serious supervision issues there. Looks like there were several blows with a heavy enough implement that shouldn't be in a feckin creche.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

amacachi wrote: »
    If a two year old did that damage to another kid then there's some serious supervision issues there. Looks like there were several blows with a heavy enough implement that shouldn't be in a feckin creche.

Crèches are child minding facilities not special schools or psychiatric hospitals. We're trained and paid to supervise children in large groups. When a child has behavioural or mental health problems to the extent that they are a danger to themselves, other children or to staff then they need one to one attention in a specialised environment. They should not be in a crèche like this. A good facility will turn them away or remove them. Nothing to do with discrimination, but because it's just not the right environment for a child like this. However because to them more kids = more profit many won't. And I know this from experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

All the parents should take some of the blame. Joking about it and calling a child Chucky yet still sending their kid to the crèche. If you think there is a danger to you child then take them out.

As for the child in question. If the mother isn't prepared to take care of the child it should be removed from her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭AlkalineAcid

Plazaman wrote: »
    Based on the mothers attitude to the whole thing, it looks as if she didn't take it from the wind.

Hey missus, your kid kicked the shít out of 10, count them, 10 other kids. You better have more to do with it

Yes, that's right, give the child stimulants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

The mother is a childminder herself, something tells me she had to put her own child in nursery to stop her from attacking her customers kids in her care.

I don't know what to say tbh, she's a 2 year old whom is in need of some help, instead of simply being thrown out of the nursery.

But jesus, if that was my child on the receiving end of that assault i'd be extremely upset and angry.

I hope that all involved can laugh about this in 20 years time, when all involved have turned into good decent young people and this is not the start of a slippey slope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Its simple.............send in Pedobear, thatl sort the 2 year old out!

Truley wrote: »
    Crèches are child minding facilities not special schools or psychiatric hospitals. We're trained and paid to supervise children in large groups. When a child has behavioural or mental health problems to the extent that they are a danger to themselves, other children or to staff then they need one to one attention in a specialised environment. They should not be in a crèche like this. A good facility will turn them away or remove them. Nothing to do with discrimination, but because it's just not the right environment for a child like this. However because to them more kids = more profit many won't. And I know this from experience.

I assume you work in one, how many things would the kids in yours have access to that could do that kind of damage to a toddler? Toddlers can't punch that hard. :pac:

I don't know what to say tbh, she's a 2 year old whom is in need of some help, instead of simply being thrown out of the nursery.

The nursery's only responsibility IMO is kicking her out. Her parents and probably the state need to work on the rest of it.

I assume you work in one, how many things would the kids in yours have access to that could do that kind of damage to a toddler? Toddlers can't punch that hard. :pac:

Toddlers can bite the **** out of you, and smack kids in the face with building blocks, the wooden ones.

Snakeblood wrote: »
    Toddlers can bite the **** out of you, and smack kids in the face with building blocks, the wooden ones.

Fair enough, though I remember more than one smack with those light wooden blocks back in the day and no-one was left with a black eye.

I'm not saying you definitely could, but some wooden blocks, I wouldn't discount the possibility. Anyway, after child five, I'd imagine they should have put her out of the creche.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

MagicSean wrote: »
    All the parents should take some of the blame. Joking about it and calling a child Chucky yet still sending their kid to the crèche. If you think there is a danger to you child then take them out.

As for the child in question. If the mother isn't prepared to take care of the child it should be removed from her.

You would be very surprised how hard it is to find a créche with free space/relatively close proximity to your home area (talking within 15 miles)/affordable/accessible enough that you can work to provide for them (i.e. early start/late finish).

It's not so easy as my child's safety (albeit after that last attack I'd make a huge exception and move house if necessary) if they are suddenly unable to find another créche and then one parent must stay at home and in the current job climate I can see you losing your job over this with some places. The child's household should be reviewed by social services before anything else happens.

Snakeblood wrote: »
    I'm not saying you definitely could, but some wooden blocks, I wouldn't discount the possibility. Anyway, after child five, I'd imagine they should have put her out of the creche.

I'm just saying I remember a lot of "roughhousing" even up til I was 4 or 5 and I don't recall anyone ending up with a smashed face. :P The main issue though is that the kid has lasted so long in the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Sounds like the child doing the attacking is special needs and the parents are in denial about it and instead insisting on sending the child to "normal" places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Ah that poor little girl!! Her little face! That kid must have been hanging onto her like a ferret to do that type of damage. She could actually be traumatised by that attack.

No wonder all the parents are raging, that's awful.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I assume (just from the experience of being a parent of four alone) that the child learned how to behave, react to others by from what it sees and hears.

It wasn't born one day with a genetic disposition to beat the crap out of everything it meets!
    (I'm no genetic expert so I'm assuming the above)
    That leads me to think that the home life of the child doing the violence must be pretty bad already.
    If so, the prospects for that child I think are horrendous for the future already - and worse if such things continue (and what values is it learning?).
    To a certain extent, I don't blame the child but the environment that its growing up in and is possibly replicating - and a good part of that is the mother and father.

THEY need seriously to be looked at! If only as a process of elimination to where or what is bringing about this problem with such a violent child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Take that, Prune Tracey now I'm D...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Chuck Norris has a 2yr old daughter?

I wonder how long it'll take for them to uncover a copy of GTA and for the media to blame it on that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

MagicSean wrote: »
    Plazaman wrote: »

I see there's the usual amount of conclusion drawing about the mother just because she refuses to discuss stuff with the press - guess what, if I was the parent of that child I'd tell the journalist who tapped me up for a quote to go **** off.

2 year olds are a law onto themselves - I've 2 kids and the youngest one would bite, scratch an pull his older sisters hair until quite recently (he's 2 as well) - no amount of trips to the naughty step seemed to have any effect - he'd get frustrated and he'd bite. Our older girl never did anything like this.
    Luckily he never attacked any other kids in the childminders - but I used to worry that he might.

A lot of people passing comment on the mothers parenting obviously have no experience of dealing with a frustrated 2 year old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭Leopardi

seamus wrote: »
    Sounds like the child doing the attacking is special needs and the parents are in denial about it and instead insisting on sending the child to "normal" places.

Yes, let's all search frantically for a suitable behavioural disorder label (we might even invent one, should the need arise). Prior to doing so, let's entirely discount the possibility of Spoiled Brat/Feral Child Syndrome or Neglectful Parent Syndrome. We might even secure a nice benefits package for the parents of the misunderstood angel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Kids can do a lot of damage.

NSFW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

Toddlers can be punched and fall back against tables and door handles which can do a lot of damage. Also, climbing onto furniture and falling from a height hitting the floor or furniture. There are plenty of toys that can cause a lot of damage when used as a weapon. Off the top of my head, heavy plastic toys, rolling pins, cutlery such as wooden spoons and spatulas, toy pots and pans, wooden train sets or blocks. The problem isn't with the toy itself but with the intent it's used, so unless the kids can only play with bubble wrap that's not the fault of the crèche.

I work in (very busy) crèche btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

I am shocked that the parents are calling the child Chucky!
    It is a 2 year old ffs!
    Either there are some very serious issues at home, or the child has special needs of some sort.
    You can't go about calling a 2 year old names like!
    Obviously that child needs to be removed from mainstream settings for the moment at least as she is clearly a danger to other children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Kid should be taken off the parents and taken into care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

TheZohan wrote: »

The mother is making excuses for the childs behaviour, and probably no intention of doing anything about it either. The child learned this behaviour, so its the home environment / parenting at fault. So yeah, taking her into care is the only solution I can see here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I see there's the usual amount of conclusion drawing about the mother just because she refuses to discuss stuff with the press - guess what, if I was the parent of that child I'd tell the journalist who tapped me up for a quote to go **** off.

Fair enough, except that what she actually said was "I want nothing more to do with this", as though she had the option of walking away from her child's behaviour. That attitude may well be part of the origin of the problem, as well as a block to the efforts to solve the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

This is the kind of thing that shouldn't be in the paper. It's like parents gossip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Abi wrote: »
    The mother is making excuses for the childs behaviour, and probably no intention of doing anything about it either. The child learned this behaviour, so its the home environment / parenting at fault. So yeah, taking her into care is the only solution I can see here.

Speculation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

This is the kind of thing that shouldn't be in the paper. It's like parents gossip.

Except for the photographic evidence of the injuries and the multiple entries in the incident book detailing the attacks on the other children, some of which required first aid. Other than that, yeh, just like parent's gossip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Speculation.
    Well I can hardly call it a fact. It's an opinion, obviously.

TheZohan wrote: »

You're on fire today Zohan.

Fair enough, except that what she actually said was "I want nothing more to do with this", as though she had the option of walking away from her child's behaviour. That attitude may well be part of the origin of the problem, as well as a block to the efforts to solve the problem.

Or maybe she meant this 'interview'.

Except for the photographic evidence of the injuries and the multiple entries in the incident book detailing the attacks on the other children, some of which required first aid. Other than that, yeh, just like parent's gossip.
    Some ****er threw sand in my eye in Junior Infants. They should have printed that story too and the scumbag should have been locked up or executed. He attacked half the class.

This wasn't even in the mother land and the Endo is printing it. Slow news day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭twinQuins

Leopardi wrote: »
    Yes, let's all search frantically for a suitable behavioural disorder label (we might even invent one, should the need arise). Prior to doing so, let's entirely discount the possibility of Spoiled Brat/Feral Child Syndrome or Neglectful Parent Syndrome. We might even secure a nice benefits package for the parents of the misunderstood angel!

So not only do you accuse others of lazily suggesting behavioural disorders along the usual lines of insinuating they don't actually exist you also go on, yourself, to insinuate that it's done only to benefit them financially?

I'll take "irony" for $500, Alex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

It's shocking to see these pictures and the mothers reaction sounds like a cop out but no doubt , somebody has to be brought to account for the childs behaviour .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

With out going into to many details, I know a kid and he is just a violent kid. His parents are university educated loving and middle classed and disciplining. They sought professional help and he is "normal" and none of the advice works. They took him out of the creche and now they may take him out of school till his behaviour gets better.

He is banned from any tv violence, computer games he is constantly watched but every now and again if thwarted violence is his response and to make matters worse he is big and strong for his age, when he hits it hurts.

He is getting better now as he matures slightly, but they just live and hope.

44leto wrote: »
    With out going into to many details, I know a kid and he is just a violent kid. His parents are university educated loving and middle classed and disciplining. They sought professional help and he is "normal" and none of the advice works. They took him out of the creche and now they may take him out of school till his behaviour gets better.

He is banned from any tv violence, computer games he is constantly watched but every now and again if thwarted violence is his response and to make matters worse he is big and strong for his age, when he hits it hurts.

He is getting better now as he matures slightly, but they just live and hope.

Kids are all different. I know we raised our 2 the same, but one was calm and placid and the other prone to fits of temper - thankfully he wasn't on the scale of this kid, but he'd leave bite marks on his sister that would last a couple of days. He did grow out of it, I'm sure nearly all do, including probably the kid in the article.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

seamus wrote: »
    Nail on the head. Parents in denial about their kid being special needs happens a lot.
    Biggins wrote: »
    I assume (just from the experience of being a parent of four alone) that the child learned how to behave, react to others by from what it sees and hears.

It wasn't born one day with a genetic disposition to beat the crap out of everything it meets!
    (I'm no genetic expert so I'm assuming the above)
    That leads me to think that the home life of the child doing the violence must be pretty bad already.
    If so, the prospects for that child I think are horrendous for the future already - and worse if such things continue (and what values is it learning?).
    To a certain extent, I don't blame the child but the environment that its growing up in and is possibly replicating - and a good part of that is the mother and father.

THEY need seriously to be looked at! If only as a process of elimination to where or what is bringing about this problem with such a violent child.
    Genetically predisposed to this kind violence not really. Copying what it sees daily, definitely.
    To be fair, she is right to not say anything. But it is hard not to draw conclusions about this. By the time "chucky" is 3, the damage will just about be recoverable. By the time "chucky" is 7, it is irreversible. "Chucky" will then go on to live a sh1tty life of crime, violence etc.

That is a fact.

Scumbags breed scumbags.