Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I Just Watched 10 Seconds of Mamma Mia.

• 21-12-2011 9:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭

I had the TV on in the background & the film "Mamma Mia" came on.

I looked up, kind of half looking at the screen & it was about 10-15 seconds before I realised what it was. As soon as I did, I switched channels, but I'm really worried now... I mean, what could the long term negative effects be?

Will I suddenly feel the need to start discussing my emotions? Will I start to develop high levels of estrogen & not be able to make my mind up? Could it turn me gay? Or even worse, will I go to HMV & buy an Abba CD?

I've searched Google, but can't seem to find any answers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I'm still watching it star. It's great TV.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

I looked up, kind of half looking at the screen & it was about 10-15 seconds before I realised what it was. As soon as I did, I switched channels, but I'm really worried now... I mean, what could the long term negative effects be?

Will I suddenly feel the need to start discussing my emotions? Will I start to develop high levels of estrogen & not be able to make my mind up? Could it turn me gay? Or even worse, will I go to HMV & buy an Abba CD?

Thats the real part that worried me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

You've caught the gay! Its too late, dude. Even me being a girl would feel unwashed if i watched 2 seconds of that tripe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

pmcmahon wrote: »
    Thats the real part that worried me.

I buy CDs all the time. And vinyl.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

i agree with vinyl,but CDs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

La de Da. Look at 'Mister I have a television' :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Bodhidharma

Nowt wrong with ABBA, great melodies, hooks and lyrics. What more could you ask for?

Perhaps Colin Firth singing surrounded by muscley scuba divers*

*I'm not gay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭ThePower11

Have I been transported back to 1999?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭Nerdkiller1991

Just put on a Rambo movie. Before you know it, you'll want to buy a Slayer CD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

Football on sky sports.

pmcmahon wrote: »
    i agree with vinyl,but CDs?

I bought an MP3 player a few years ago but it wouldn't fit in the CD tray.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Single middle aged women would love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

You're going to end up being a dancing queen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭jos28

You'll be grand, you will just start to believe that 60 year old women have 18 year old daughters and they spend all their time singing and leaping about the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭Nerdkiller1991

ThePower11 wrote: »
    Have I been transported back to 1999?
    If you actually were, he'd be on Napster instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

So I says to Mabel, I says... I had the TV on in the background & the film "Mamma Mia" came on. I wasn't really paying attention as I was too relaxed thanks to the footspa and the towel over my wet hair was covering my ears so I couldn't really hear it.

Will I suddenly feel the need to start discussing my emotions? Will I start to develop high levels of estrogen & not be able to make my mind up? Could it turn me gay? Or even worse, will I go to HMV & buy another Abba CD?

I've searched Google, but can't seem to find any good men.

I'd say you'll be fine.

rednik wrote: »
    Football on sky sports.

man utd 5 goals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Jeez Star that's bad news man, I'd get a CT scan if I were you, can't be too careful.. Let me know how you get on..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

If you find yourself shaving your legs before your face, tiz all over for ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I bought an MP3 player a few years ago but it wouldn't fit in the CD tray.

You mean the cup holder?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Maedbhish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭number10a

You've caught the ghey. And the worst strain. You'll be teabagging by sunrise.

hondasam wrote: »
    man utd 5 goals

It must be a huge pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

You'll be okay. A few seconds is usually acceptable.

Just make sure you dont watch Glee.

:(

hondasam wrote: »
    man utd 5 goals

Can't wait till we knock City off the top.

Haha, did you google something manly to say? Bet you meant sex in the city :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

What is mamma mia?

o0

Ten seconds, wow you Do last long... ;)

Id be ready to slit my throat after 5.

Pierce Brosnan is fcuking horrifying :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,908 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Here we go again. Very good movie.....for Brosnan's wallet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Pete M.

Don't worry boss, you'll be fine.

I've watched parts of Glee, SITC and Mamma Mia and I still function normally as a manly man.

It's scary I'll admit and a bit like taking bad acid, but hey, what doesn't kill ya makes ya stronger right?

Dahling...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Kiera wrote: »
    Haha, did you google something manly to say? Bet you meant sex in the city :P
    He is probably parading around the house in a frock and high heels at this stage :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

it won't turn you gay, top gun is the ultimate gay movie.

Mamma mia was shít!

Oz, a great series, and Spartacus, but only last about 10 minutes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

First comes numb despair, then a further numbing of your genitalia. The next morning 'the lads' are gone, replaced by a rubber novelty vagina. I'm so sorry, OP, I really am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Isn't it obvious??

It's made you start posting **** threads on boards.

Oh yes victory will be ours :)

Confab wrote: »
    First comes numb despair, then a further numbing of your genitalia. The next morning 'the lads' are gone, replaced by a rubber novelty vagina. I'm so sorry, OP, I really am.

A rubber novelty vagina??:eek:

de fook??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Jake1 wrote: »
    Ten seconds, wow you Do last long... ;)

Id be ready to slit my throat after 5.

Pierce Brosnan is fcuking horrifying :eek:

You must have watched it for more than 10 seconds then, because I didn't see Pierce Brosnan in it!

This film is very violent though. Not for the squeamish-loved it.

You must have watched it for more than 10 seconds then, because I didn't see Pierce Brosnan in it!

ehh, I saw de ads, roite?? :)

InTheTrees wrote: »
    You'll be okay. A few seconds is usually acceptable.

Just make sure you watch some gee to compensate.

:(

fyp

ehh, I saw de ads, roite?? :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Bad ABBA cover versions will rot your brain

you need to listen to the real thing

Or at least watch Muriel's Wedding instead of going cold turkey.
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0110598/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

They played this in the Cinema Tent in Electric Picnic a few years ago.

It's a whole different movie at 2am in the middle of a massive field with tents and random lights and music pumping out from every corner and you're after ingesting a feck load of, um, hot dogs.

It's still shite though.

Boards just did a brain fart :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Here we go again....

My my, how can i resist you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

I think my housemate is watching it :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Here we go again....

My my, how can i resist you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx