Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thieving Shopkeeper

• 21-12-2011 9:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭

Just went in to my local shop chap in front had just bought something, anyway his change was about 8 to 12 cent in fiddlers and he told the shopkeep to put in in the boxes i.e charity things Fecker put it in the till when guy walked out should I report this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Who to? The penny police?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Yes.

Get on to the Gardai immediately. This sort of crime should not go unpunished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

Hootanany wrote: »
    Just went in to my local shop chap in front had just bought something, anyway his change was about 8 to 12 cent in fiddlers and he told the shopkeep to put in in the boxes i.e charity things Fecker put it in the till when guy walked out should I report this.
    Lemmewinks wrote: »

Call the cops - it's a crime spree!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Watch the pennies pounds will follow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

I've had shop assistants do that in front of me. Like the other poster said what are you going to do call the Guards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Rat him out to the Charity and the manager/owner of the shop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Crime of the century. It might make crimecall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

That you lemmewinks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

vicwatson wrote: »
    Where's me post gone?:confused:

Probably stolen by a shopkeeper.

You should probably have dropped five euros into the charity box. One by one, while staring at the f#cker.
    Mind you , he'd have them too as soon as you were out the door.:p
    Drop money into the box, pretend to leave, rush back in the door.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

No.

You should thieve something from the shop guilt free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

tell him were filming it on an iphone and if he doesnt supply.....[roll of a list of goodies here],it will be going straight to the po pos & local shops comissioning body [whatever that is].

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Just went in to my local shop chap in front had just bought something, anyway his change was about 8 to 12 cent in fiddlers and he told the shopkeeper to put in in the boxes i.e charity things Fecker put it in the till when guy walked out should I report this.
    Was there definitely a charity box in the shop?

Did you meet lemmewinks in the shop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

i was out for a drink last week, a friend of mine asked for box of matches, gave in forty cent for matches, received no change, my friend said nothing, but when we came out of same public house, my friend said he would never ever darken that door, and i will never go there again either,
    anybody know the price of a box of matches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭ladysarastro

Maybe he'd let some little brat kid off some money earlier and left it in his till so it would even up

It was the owner of the shop i mean a few coppers for charity and he sticks it in the till

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

goat2 wrote: »
    i was out for a drink last week, a friend of mine asked for box of matches, gave in forty cent for matches, received no change, my friend said nothing, but when we came out of same public house, my friend said he would never ever darken that door, and i will never go there again either,

10p the last time I bought some

Who os lemmonwanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭Molloys Clondalkin

I know a shop that does that and it all added up to a pretty penny at the end of the day, said shops ass manager used to pilfer the charity boxes aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056491474

Happened this chap tonight as well :eek::p;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

Who os lemmonwanks

Must be your twin, ye sure do think alike. word for word.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭eiresandra

chucken1 wrote: »
    10p the last time I bought some

If it was 10p, then the last time you bought them was ten years ago. Dunno how much they are now... I would have said 30c but 40 wouldn't shock me.

It was the owner of the shop i mean a few coppers for charity and he sticks it in the till
    Oh I agree the shopkeeper is a twat. Just not sure what you'd do about it other than tell him.

eiresandra wrote: »
    If it was 10p, then the last time you bought them was ten years ago. Dunno how much they are now... I would have said 30c but 40 wouldn't shock me.
    In a pub 40c wouldnt be bad.

Seems strange to me that he has charity boxes but steals the change. Maybe it was a mistage/other explanation.
    Surely if he always keeps the money he would do it in the office at the end of the night and not in front of people.

In a pub 40c wouldnt be bad.
    thats pricey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Happenend to me in a shop across the road from my house, I never set foot in the place since.

Someone must be stalking me

thats pricey
    But not pricey enough for you to leave your pint to go to a shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

I agree with the shop keeper. These charity types saunter in with their 'save this that and the other' collection boxes and have the audacity to ask shopkeepers to place them at the till free of charge. What the OP calls thieving I call rent.

Nothing free in this world ya know:D

But not pricey enough for you to leave your pint to go to a shop.
    the person who bought the matches did not want to make an issue of it infront of a good few people, as there was no tv or radio on at time everything could be heard, and he is a quiet person, but we swished back our drinks fast, and left, will not be back.
    i once worked in a bar, that there was always a lighter or match available to customers.
    it is called appreciation of your customer.

Unless the shopkeeper is holding the box hostage behind the counter, just put it there yourself.

I don't really see the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,877 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I will find out the price of a box of matches tomorrow for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,877 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

This is serious. Tomorrow I will find out the price of a box of matches and let you know. Then if it turns out your friend was not overcharged you both can resume your patronage of that establishment and everyone will be happy.

Didn't know they still sold boxes of matches,thought it was all lighters these days,:confused: There not maguire & paterson by any chance.

the person who bought the matches did not want to make an issue of it infront of a good few people, as there was no tv or radio on at time everything could be heard, and he is a quiet person, but we swished back our drinks fast, and left, will not be back.
    i once worked in a bar, that there was always a lighter or match available to customers.
    it is called appreciation of your customer.

Was it the goats bar in ...........goats town :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

When I read that I thought straight away of what Wayne Dundon said to a reporter "In for a penny, In for a pound".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭dunnaman93

Why didn't you just post this in the stingy thread instead of making a pointless thread?

It would have contributed greatly to it, and god damn it we need our daily stinge stories!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

I know a shop that does that and it all added up to a pretty penny at the end of the day, said shops ass manager used to pilfer the charity boxes aswell.
    So you're saying Molloy's of Clondalkin rob the poor box?!

dunnaman93 wrote: »
    Why didn't you just post this in the stingy thread instead of making a pointless thread?

It would have contributed greatly to it, and god damn it we need our daily stinge stories!

I thought this needed a threaad of it own Bah Humbug

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭Arianna_26

You should've punched him OP. :mad:

(:p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭carlosvan

i work in a shop and someones bill came to 19 euro one day they said put change in box, so once they left i put euro in a empty match box, stuck it in my pocket and went and bought a sun newspaper and went for a jerkoff in my van, should i feel bad about it, i did do as i was asked after all

carlosvan wrote: »
    i work in a shop and someones bill came to 19 euro one day they said put change in box, so once they left i put euro in a empty match box, stuck it in my pocket and went and bought a sun newspaper and went for a jerkoff in my van, should i feel bad about it, i did do as i was asked after all

Yes you should the daily sport is much better and only a bit dearer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Kev.OC

To answer the question someone asked earlier, average I come across seems to be 30c.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Report? :pac:
    Sorry man, it just sounds like a little kid in school reporting someone to the teacher :P

Just realise he is a greedy fecker and hey, if you dont wanna shop there no more. Thats grand. But it aint something report worthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 teishen

I used to work in a shop and he's scrounging for change for the till as it costs money to obtain change from the bank and such, especially if everyone is walking in with €50 for something that costs €2.56 or some ****e.

I used to just throw small change into the till that I was told to stick into the charity boxes when I was low while keeping a running count. When I hit 20c or so worth of charity box change I'd **** a 20c piece into the box and so on. ;) Some beggars are fierce fussy about getting their poxy 1c back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 thisiswar

You should report him to the Police immediately.

Be prepared though as you may be required to testify in court. Crimes this serious in nature usually involve long, drawn out court cases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Maedbhish

Maybe you should've said something at the time rather than starting a thread about it... But that's just me and my wacky ideas.. :pac: