Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crazy AZ!

• 21-12-2011 8:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭

Forget the Premier League...

Ajax v AZ Alkmaar is where it's at tonight.

Ajax leading 1-0, fan rushes the pitch, jumps at AZ's goalie. The goalie drops him pretty quick, and then starts to kick lumps out of him on the ground. Naturally he gets a Red Card, which pretty much infuriates just about everyone.
    Manager calls the whole team off the pitch, 35 minutes in, play suspended

No links or anything at the moment, but I'm sure there'll be Youtube footage soon enough. SIS have shown the replay without hesitation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Looks like the game is called off. Ajax out applauding the fans (not the ones that invaded the pitch)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Got to say, I'm not a big fan of violence, but if anyone ever deserved a few digs, that guy did.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

Snakeblood wrote: »
    Got to say, I'm not a big fan of violence, but if anyone ever deserved a few digs, that guy did.
    why did he get a red card?

if anything he didnt kick him hard enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

AZ manager didn't agree with sending off and ordered all his player off!

Oh you said that in OP :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭iMuse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Terrible stuff tbh. No need for that sort of violence on the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Maybe the ref was shouting to leave him? I dunno. I wouldn't have given it. Like, I watch the fake wrestling, and if a dude jumps into the ring at that, they knock seven kinds of **** out of them. You don't know just because the guy is on the ground he's not a threat. I'd keep kicking until there were two people holding him down, then I'd give him another for luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Its the rules, seen it happen before. Someone tripped up a streaker and was sent off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Terrible stuff tbh. No need for that sort of violence on the pitch.

The "fan" got exactly what he deserved. He attacked what looks like a ****ing horse of a man from behind on front of thousands of people. Would love to have seen him get a few more kicks in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭the untitled user

kicking a guy who's on the ground though, the law never ever looks kindly on that as it's gone beyond self defense at that point. He'll be lucky not to get the book thrown at him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

kicking a guy who's on the ground though, the law never ever looks kindly on that as it's gone beyond self defense at that point. He'll be lucky not to get the book thrown at him!

As long you feel they pose a threat (and the fact they just jumped you could be evidence of that) then it's still self-defence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

here's the incident....

* edit: the video was removed from youtube.

Crazy stuff, I'm not sure what to think about it. Part of me thinks the keeper is right the other part of me says he was wrong to lash out at the "fan" in the way he did. I think the coach was right to take his players off the pitch all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

Any "fan" who invades the pitch with the intention of attacking a player deserves everything they get. No player should ever have to worry about their safety while they are trying to do their job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭ConorBF1

I have no sympathy for that man. In fact, I'm delighted. Good enough for him.

Think the manager did the right thing pulling his team off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Only two people to blame for that(being cancvelled)...the hardman "fan" and the ref. Not too much in it (thanks to lads who got to the fan quick enough), not as if was unprovoked.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Keeper was dead right , He got attacked and defended himself .

The more I see the more I see it in the keeper's favour.
    Manager was 100% right to take his players off as well, can't be sending players out to play when the staff can't do their job and keep them safe and the players aren't allowed to defend themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

Keeper looks like he acted in self-defense. The guy threw a flying kick at him but the keeper dodged it an got a couple in himself to keep him on the ground. Crazy that he was given a red card for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

This "fan" that rushed the pitch could have been carrying a knife. I'm not going to condemn the keeper.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Obviously its a rule that referees have been told to enforce. Similar thing happened in Romania not too long ago and two players got red carded.

I feel sorry for the ref in these situations to be honest. Technically it's violent conduct and the law states that a red card should be given no matter who the offence is perpetrated against
    A player who commits a cautionable or sending-off offence, either on or off the field of play, whether directed towards an opponent, a team-mate, the referee, an assistant referee or any other person, is disciplined according to the nature of the offence committed.

Don't agree with it though. I'd knock seven shades of sh!te out of any fan if I was in that situation.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

The referee should have shown a bit of cop-on in that situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

I remember my old history/religion teacher saying "if you want to fight go out there to those pitches and do it there"

Always stuck with me.

Fan got what was coming to him.

Goalkeeper is only a man at the end of the day. Card should not have come in to the picture.

The referee should have shown a bit of cop-on in that situation.

I don't think the referee can alas. It's the same if two players have a row, if one gets hit all he's allowed to do is hit the deck. It's a ridiculous rule/law but that's how it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

smokedeels wrote: »
    This "fan" that rushed the pitch could have been carrying a knife. I'm not going to condemn the keeper.

This!! Anyone condemning the keeper should just think of this. Manager was 100% correct and I'd do the same. Soccer is a game, no one should be risking their life.

amacachi wrote: »
    I don't think the referee can alas. It's the same if two players have a row, if one gets hit all he's allowed to do is hit the deck. It's a ridiculous rule/law but that's how it is.
    He can, he has to be willing to risk getting in trouble over it. Instead a game is called off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Maybe some of you should get sky sports to explain the actual rules of football to you. Violent conduct is a red card, no exceptions. The referee acted according to the rules of the game. Whether they need to be changed is another question entirely.

He can, he has to be willing to risk getting in trouble over it. Instead a game is called off.

Aye he should sacrifice his career. Rules are rules no matter how ridiculous they are, his hands were completely tied.

He's paid to enforce all the rules of the game. If he doesn't, he loses his job. Unfortunately, he had to send the keeper off.

CiaranC wrote: »
    Maybe some of you should get sky sports to explain the actual rules of football to you. Violent conduct is a red card, no exceptions. The referee acted according to the rules of the game. Whether they need to be changed is another question entirely.

Some people, myself included, may take the rules to be rules of the game. Following from that, I dont see fans as part of the game (as in, actively playing the game).

If a player did it, then grand, red card. But its a fan who has zero activity in the game, so it blurs the lines, and is seperate from the rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭ConorBF1

Will Ajax be getting a walkover? 3-0 win. Or will it be replayed?

Mushy wrote: »
    If a player did it, then grand, red card. But its a fan who has zero activity in the game, so it blurs the lines, and is seperate from the rules.
    No it's not. It's specifically part of the rules.
    A player is guilty of violent conduct if he uses excessive force or brutality against an opponent when not challenging for the ball.

He is also guilty of violent conduct if he uses excessive force or brutality against a team-mate, spectator, match official or any other person.

... A player... who is guilty of violent conduct mustbe sent off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Some people, myself included, may take the rules to be rules of the game. Following from that, I dont see fans as part of the game (as in, actively playing the game).

Nonsense, you dont know what you are talking about.

No it's not. It's specifically part of the rules.

Fair enough then. Rules are rules and red card should be applied. Whether I agree with it is irrelevant. Goes to show why common sense should be allowed though.

Take it the ref was looking at the other keeper with the ball at the time so didnt see it fully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,201 ✭✭✭Sappy404

That pitch invader should consider himself lucky the goalkeeper only kicked him on the arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,789 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Snakeblood wrote: »

I think he might have used the N word .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Kickin lumps out of him is a bit of an exageration tbh. He kicked him twice and neither looked like they made great contact. If anything it was just to stop him getting back up until security got there. He was dead right to do what he did.

As for the referee, I imagine the powers that be would have enough sense not to punish him for letting a player stay on after that. I always took the violent conduct rule as for players, coaches, officials etc. Not nutjobs who assault you during the match.

Fair enough then. Rules are rules and red card should be applied. Whether I agree with it is irrelevant. Goes to show why common sense should be allowed though.

Take it the ref was looking at the other keeper with the ball at the time so didnt see it fully.
    I'd say he saw the end of it and the assistant saw the beginnings.
    Unfortunately, it doesn't matter what the fan did. Ridiculous, but the referee had no choice but to brandish the red.

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    ...I imagine the powers that be would have enough sense...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

:D Okay maybe not here or in England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

ConorBF1 wrote: »
    Will Ajax be getting a walkover? 3-0 win. Or will it be replayed?

Its Holland....honestly no idea.

Could be a special bag of **** for everyone in the audience.

But its a red card unquestionably, its violent conduct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

At first I thought the keeper over-reacted, when he got out of the way he could have just let the security deal with the "fan". As said though, the fan could have had a knife or anything and the keeper was just protecting himself.

The ref is going by the rules, maybe too strictly but it's not an easy job. The AZ manager was right to take his players off the pitch at the same time, really strange thing to happen, i don't know what to think.

Is Ajax - AZ a big derby in Holland or what the hell was going through the "fans" head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Keeper and manager were right.

Fan deserved everything he got.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Cannot blame the Ref at all, in that situation there's only one decision he can make, he doesn't make the rules, only enforce them.

Feel sorry for the keeper though, gets attacked unprovoked and reacts naturally, I agree with the manager for pulling everyone off.

The fan who attacked the keeper is the one to blame.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

I am so glad that there are others supporting the ref. In this case I think all three parties done the right thing.

The Keeper for first of all defending the intial attack and secondly for ensuring the spectator was unable to further harm him. If that was on the street, keeper wouldn't be touched by the law.

The Manager for calling the team off, no team should fear for their own safety.

The ref, as he has to follow the rules. If he hadnt sent the player off he could very well of risked his own head and career. Unfortunatly common sense isnt common in the upper tiers of any FA or fifa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

maybe the best solution would have been for the ref to abandon the game and not issue any cards

I'd love to find see a proper legal battle about this. If AZ are kicked out they should kick up a massive fuss about Ajax not having proper security etc. or even go a step further and sue over the lack of a safe working environment. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

The AZ manager was right to pull his players off the field in defence of his player getting wrongly judged by the referee or safety grounds. The Dutch FA should sort this out fairly easily but i imagine it will take the gk to appeal his punishment to get a fair one.

The keeper was right to defend himself imo, he shouldnt be punished for it. Anyone running onto a field of play should be legally liable for the harm endured as a form of deterrent imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

The rules of the game are clear - he should have been sent off (as stupid as it seems) given that he could be deemed to be just protecting himself. The AZ manager deffo did the right thing seeing as the safety of his players couldn't be guaranteed.

Page 36 - "A player who commits a cautionable or sending-off offence, either on or off the field of play, whether directed towards an opponent, a team-mate, the referee, an assistant referee or any other person, is disciplined according to the nature of the offence committed."

P121 - "A player is guilty of violent conduct if he uses excessive force or brutality against an opponent when not challenging for the ball.

He is also guilty of violent conduct if he uses excessive force or brutality against a team-mate, spectator, match official or any other person."

http://www.fifa.com/mm/document/affederation/generic/81/42/36/lawsofthegame_2011_12_en.pdf

amacachi wrote: »
    Aye he should sacrifice his career. Rules are rules no matter how ridiculous they are, his hands were completely tied.
    If the authorities sacked every referee who applied the rules incorrectly there'd be no referees.

The law in this case is an ass.