Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you think about China?

• 21-12-2011 4:28am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭

:)I had this lesson on my Enlish book when I was a middle school student.

uh~ The lesson was like this.

Han Meimei: Hi, Jim, what do you think about China?
    Jim:Hi, Han Meimei, I think China is good.

After many years, Now I am a worker and an adult. I find the world is not simple as the book.
    China develops quickly these years, we get much, and we also lose a lot.
    As a Chiese, I love my dear country, well, who isn't?

But it's sure we do not know clearly about our country.
    As I find not so many countries respect China.Dear friends, I hope any one could tell me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

great bunch of lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭Hal Emmerich

Where's the spam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

It's a bit pricey and i woulnd't feel comfortable eating a steak off it tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

It's hard to have an opinion on such a large land mass with diverse flora and fauna, with a rich national and social history, and 1.2 billion people that doesn't fill a room full of servers.

Pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Tbh I could never figure out why her and Triple H never worked out, she had all that lovely muscle and Stephanie Mac is a bit of a bitch IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

some of the food turns your arse red raw!

Leaves Toilet paper looking like a Japanese Flag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

There's Sum Ting Wong with those lads.

I don't like their ****ty Shwimp either, bleh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭DrGreenthumb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

abbywhite wrote: »
    As a Chiese
    Hey there, I'd like to introduce you to my friends.. Chicken fillet and baguette. You guys will go well together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭DrGreenthumb

Sykk wrote: »
    Hey there, I'd like to introduce you to my friends.. Chicken fillet and baguette. You guys will go well together.

your on a roll tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭celtictiger32

once upon a time there was two chinese.......................... now look how many there ****in is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

After many years, Now I am a worker and an adult. I find the world is not simple as the book.
    China develops quickly these years, we get much, and we also lose a lot. ?
    As a Chiese, I love my dear country, well, who isn't? me

As I find not so many countries respect China.Dear friends, I hope any one could tell me.

Maybe you should of learnt from the book instead of pondering the nonsense examples that that were given.

BTW, The Chinese are a great bunch of lads. Give yourself a pat on the back, dear friend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

An bhfuil tusa ag labhairt liomsa?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

All hail overlord Mao.

I was in Tienanmen square and there was a 4 hour queue for Overlord Mao's 'tomb'.
    And a huge portrait of him over the entrance to the Forbidden City.

I remarked to my brother as we passed through the gate that I was, 'Mao entering the forbidden city'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

Enlish book? Chiese?
    I think you mean English book and Chinese.
    Perhaps if you had studied harder you would be able to spell.
    Nice attempt at trolling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

The Borg, your job will be assimilated.

I am suspicious of CHina's long term goals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

China develops quickly these years, we get much, and we also lose a lot. ?
    As a Chiese, I love my dear country, well, who isn't? me

Maybe you should of learnt from the book instead of pondering the nonsense examples that that were given.

BTW, The Chinese are a great bunch of lads. Give yourself a pat on the back, dear friend

Oh the irony....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭abbywhite

I C

you do not like China.

forget this post

I don't care

I did care some years ago.

lol.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

I finished reading Wild Swans last week.
    What a book!
    I believe it was banned in China when it was first published. Is it still?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Odd it having just one time zone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

China has a lot going for it and a lot that I have issues with, just like with the US and several other countries.

The Chinese are great businessmen/women and a lot points to them overtaking the US in a not too distant future.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'd be concerned about it's political stability down the line. I'd also be concerned about it's economic stability. When I hear the words "economic miracle" I tend to step back and think "economic bubble". Yes it's had huge growth, but that huge growth hasn't applied to a huge percentage of the population.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Beruthiel wrote: »
    I finished reading Wild Swans last week.
    What a book!
    I believe it was banned in China when it was first published. Is it still?

No

The follow up was a disappointment. But it was more about Mao's China then modern China. What a lunatic and what craziness one man can achieve. Hard to accurately determine but some estimates say he was directly and indirectly responsible for 100 million deaths. Stalin only scored 60, so Mao wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

China hard to know really - They have some disgusting human rights policies but nobody can fault their economic power house.

The girl run over earlier in the year and other stories involving corrupt officials still makes me think, though unfair to judge 1.1 billion people on the actions of a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

It's the only thing to drink tea out of! If you haven't tried it and you like tea, you should give it a go - it makes a huge difference but I can't explain it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

I wish the Chinese would stop using all my oil to make stuff for Tesco that I don't need.

Otherwise carry on.

'cptr

yeppydeppy wrote: »
    It's the only thing to drink tea out of! If you haven't tried it and you like tea, you should give it a go - it makes a huge difference but I can't explain it?

China is a western product first made in Britain. The British pottery makers copied the style of Chinese porceline and called it China. We still call it that, but now it is probably made in China like every other western product.

The things you learn from BBC4.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Oranage2 wrote: »
    though unfair to judge 1.1 billion people on the actions of a few.
    You could say similar of their economic power base.

Fascinating history to the place. Their list of innovations in science and philosophy is long(though not printing, that was Korea IIRC). They had great leaps forward followed by long periods of stagnation. Probably down to culture and lack of competition.

China is less a country more an empire(A Han Chinese one) and this explains a lot and asks more questions. Some like to imagine what would have happened if Imperial Rome never fell. I reckon it would have looked like China. Monolithic, centralised, innovative at times, but mostly stagnant. A Chinese peasant of the year 1900 would not have looked, worked or acted very different from one from the year 1000, or earlier. Compare that to a European peasant over the same time period where change was almost generational as was their individual freedoms and wealth. Contrary to some popular belief it was very rare for per capita wealth in China to be higher than per capita wealth in Europe(6th to 8th centuries IIRC).

Change and competition is the great innovator. Many cultures and countries in a small area drive progress. Monolithic empires rarely do. For China to really shift the world focus and powerbase their way they're gonna have to embrace that. I'm not so sure they will if their long history is anything to go by. Plus unless their current tide raises all boats, the near billion boats beyond the cities, they'll have no customers to sell to, if the "west" decided to play economic hardball or went around the U bend.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The West is sclewed.

44leto wrote: »
    China is a western product first made in Britain. The British pottery makers copied the style of Chinese porceline and called it China.
    And we call other ceramics Delph because of Delft in the Netherlands who were churning out their version. Cool or wha? :)
    We still call it that, but now it is probably made in China like every other western product.
    But designed in the west and most of the money flows back to the west. For a lot of products "Made in China" would be more accurately labeled "assembled in China". This they'll have to change. And they'll have to get with the concept of copyright and intellectual property, words that seem to have no equivalents in Mandarin, judging by how blatant they are about ripping designs off. Often with government backing.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    The West is sclewed.
    No it's really not. Not by a long shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I can't wait to go there. Seems interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Till I came to Australia had no problem, Now though they get on my nerves feckin place polluted with them and there disgusting ways:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭dilbert2

Great nation and bunch of people. I also look forward to the day when they become a world power and put some manners on America, and its unilateral actions and casual disregard for international law. America has been running amok since it’s been the only superpower since the collapse of the USSR, and it will be good for a return of global balance with the rise of China to rival America’s current position in the world as the sole superpower.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Fear Uladh

Their food really is the dogs bollocks.

dilbert2 wrote: »
    Great nation and bunch of people. I also look forward to the day when they become a world power and put some manners on America, and its unilateral actions and casual disregard for international law.
    Ehhhh and you reckon China of all places would be a better bet? Seriously?

Wibbs wrote: »
    And we call other ceramics Delph because of Delft in the Netherlands who were churning out their version. Cool or wha? :) But designed in the west and most of the money flows back to the west. For a lot of products "Made in China" would be more accurately labeled "assembled in China". This they'll have to change. And they'll have to get with the concept of copyright and intellectual property, words that seem to have no equivalents in Mandarin, judging by how blatant they are about ripping designs off. Often with government backing.

Yay someone else watched a history of pottery. It sounds boring and you may think 44leto get a life, but it was the most fascinating doco I seen in ages, it was brilliant.

Well the cheap shyte is made and designed in China, Philippines, Indonesia. But the exclusive arty, fashionable and clever designs are actually still made in Blighty.

Porceline is very labour intensive and low tech, Britain got rich on it when it was high tech for that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭TiGeR KiNgS

China is not going to be a world counter weight or anything of the sort, it's culture is too conservative and inward looking.

With exception to the south china sea, Taiwan and other localized places of interest with natural resources their influence will remain limited world wide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Broads.ie

China is taking over Africa right now. Yes, they are building beautiful new roads and highways... which make it easier to transport the minerals out of the jungles and to the ports. Soon enough Sub Saharan Africa will be standing on empty ground! Also, they have a voracious appetite for rhino horns and elephant tusks. It's not uncommon to see a high incidence of poaching wherever the Chinese workers are stationed.

Other than that....

A great bunch of lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Videos of the bad things that happen in china are always posted, yet the good things are very rarely.

in light of the video of the run over kid being ignored, and the child being abused by people in the street have a look at this

http://www.chinasmack.com/2011/videos/chinese-crowd-lifts-suv-to-rescue-run-over-child-in-wenzhou.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Lanaier

cocoshovel wrote: »
    Videos of the bad things that happen in china are always posted, yet the good things are very rarely.

in light of the video of the run over kid being ignored, and the child being abused by people in the street have a look at this

http://www.chinasmack.com/2011/videos/chinese-crowd-lifts-suv-to-rescue-run-over-child-in-wenzhou.html

Now I'm certainly not going to argue that horrible things happen in China all the time, but what exactly would a video of "good things" be?

A man helping a granny across the street?
    Firemen rescuing a kitten?

Would such stories even be considered upload worthy to any of the sites that focus on that stuff?

Got any Ireland vids of the good variety to post?

PS: Don't read sites like Chinasmack if you don't want to be led into a suicidal depression, dreadful reading some of that stuff, the comments especially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Its a grand place...and they make nice curry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

China is not going to be a world counter weight or anything of the sort, it's culture is too conservative and inward looking.

With exception to the south china sea, Taiwan and other localized places of interest with natural resources their influence will remain limited world wide.

Except, of course, as another poster has already stated, where they are making huge inroads in Africa. They've also strong trading agreements with places like Russia, Iran and (I think) Venezuela. And they're also buying up shedloads of American debt.

Hardly inward looking and their influence is certainly not limited.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

I prefer regular delph as it is dish washer proof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I haven't been to China. All I know about it is what I read from the news. If the financial reporting is correct, China is headed for the Mother of all financial crises in the next few years. Fasten your seatbelts, it's going to be a bumpy ride ..!

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

Any Chinese people I've met I've liked in general. I really dislike their internet censorship policies however, any government that actively limits the education of its citizens does NOT have its citizens interests at heart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

Well, if I heard the words 'Attack' and 'China' in the same sentence I would probably tie up all lose ends so to speak.

Its like some mega brain of the world that operates alone where people do what they're damned told by the core neuron system, while the rest of the world just smile politely with a slight unease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

They are doing something useful, getting rid of sh1te tv programmes, although they might be replacing them with a different kind of crap.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/0104/breaking26.html
    China claims victory in TV taste war

A campaign to curb "excessive entertainment" by cutting the number of "racy" programmes on Chinese satellite television channels has been successful, state media reported.
    The broadcast regulator ordered the two-thirds cutback in October, taking particular aim at dating and talent shows, programmes featuring "emotional stories" and those of "low taste" after President Hu Jintao warned Western culture was out to attack China.
    As of the end of last year, satellite channels had begun showing programmes that "promote traditional virtues and socialist core value", the official Xinhua news agency said yesterday, citing a statement from the regulator.
    The regulator "believes that the move to cut entertainment programming is crucial in improving cultural services for the public by offering high quality programming", Xinhua added.
    The government has long struggled to promote what it believes is a healthy cultural environment, in contrast to more brash television shows and movies from Hong Kong, Taiwan and the west that circulate widely online and via pirated DVDs.
    In the latest issue of the ruling Communist Party's top theoretical journal, Qiushi , which means "Seeking Truth", Mr Hu warned the country must promote its own culture over "westernisation" promoted by hostile forces.
    "We must clearly be aware that international enemy forces are stepping up their strategic plots to westernise and split our country," he wrote. "The fields of thought and culture are important sectors they are using for this long-term infiltration. We must clearly recognise the seriousness and difficulty of this struggle, sound the alarm bell . . . and take effective measures to deal with it."