Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you look through a mate's recent documents?

• 20-12-2011 4:47pm

One of the lads here tellin me it happened before and about ten of his friends saw a clip of him and his girlfriend.. This was years ago when he was about 24. I know I wouldn't look through someones history in case of what I'd see.

So is it fair game or completely out of order?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

depends what their gf's like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

No.

But if it's on their desktop just sitting there... waiting... calling me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

If I knew i could profit somehow, why yees, yees I would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

No, I respect peoples privacy. nobody would trust me to fix their cimputers again if I was like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭PrincessLola

No, but I was quite tempted to look at a friend's search history once.........

but also quite terrified about what I might find.:eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Thanks OP, you reminded me to do something there.

*clears history*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

One of the lads here tellin me it happened before and about ten of his friends saw a clip of him and his girlfriend.. This was years ago when he was about 24. I know I wouldn't look through someones history in case of what I'd see.

you'd be some tool to have that sort of material viewable from a recent items folder.....

Come on, amateur hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

As Oscar Wilde famously said, "I can resist anything but temptation.":):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Nah, I would feel to guilty. I have an awful conscience!

I very rarely let people use my computer because I don't want them snooping around.

FearDark wrote: »

*clears history*

The PedoBear speech bubble made that look fairly dodgy..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

FearDark wrote: »

*clears history*

TOTALLY Free: http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download
    (First box on left)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

If any of my friends leave their phone in my company I look through it in dept. Text messages, photos the lot. I'm mainly checking to see if they've said or done anything against me behind my back. But I've seen photos of some of them in the nip and read some of the pervy **** they text their other half. You learn a lot about a person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Carter P Fly

I can and regularly do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Nah, I would feel to guilty. I have an awful conscience!

I very rarely let people use my computer because I don't want them snooping around.
    Just hide your porn better :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Stompbox

If any of my friends leave their phone in my company I look through it in dept. Text messages, photos the lot. I'm mainly checking to see if they've said or done anything against me behind my back. But I've seen photos of some of them in the nip and read some of the pervy **** they text their other half. You learn a lot about a person.

If you actually do that, then you can't call that person your 'friend'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Sweet wrote: »
    If you actually do that, then you can't call that person your 'friend'.

:pac::pac: of course you can

It's not nice, but If you find a text about you sent to someone, totally justified.

Would you ever confront someone about it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭theTinker

After many years of fixing peoples broken computers with the added request of "please save any of my personal data"... I loathe to look in their folders even at thier behest. The dirty mind boggling festishes and interests people have are disturbing. It was a big lesson to me to learn that people have an outside persona, and a very creepy dark ugly kinda raunchy inside persona!

I always wonder what they are thinking when i hand them back a cd of thier personal data and its clearly got something that you dont want ANYONE EVER to know you look at.

Some of it isnt just illegal, its go to hell sort of stuff. *shudders*.. now i just format and reinstall :)

F*ck that... How were the nudie pics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

May as well snoop in on every conversation, open peoples letters, hack their emails. You never know, they might have said something about you behind your back :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭eyesquirm

I was going to give out to the whole family recently for downloading weird weird kinky porn.
    Then I realised I was the only one who uses that particular pc. :eek:

Would you ever confront someone about it?
    It depends how far it went. There's ways of getting your own back without them ever knowing what you know. You could always use it again in the future to confront them over it if something else comes to light. I've never confronted anyone about it anything yet, but I've always gotten satisfactory revenge :)
    Most people actually don't say anything bad about us, we just always naturally think they do. But when you do catch someone out it's justified.

I'm not going to open letter and hack emails:pac: That's going way overboard.

smash wrote: »
    F*ck that... How were the nudie pics?
    I should have made back ups of them, could have come in useful someday:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

When you say "clip" presumably you mean porn. If he filmed himself bangin' some bird and put in a place where it can be viewed he's an idiot and deserves to be looked at.

However, if these "documents" are not for public consumption, not sexually explicit and he has taken reasonable precautions to prevent people seeing them who shouldn't then it is no more than prying on your part

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

theTinker wrote: »
    Some of it isnt just illegal, its go to hell sort of stuff. *shudders*.. now i just format and reinstall :)

Pics or GTFO

It depends how far it went. There's ways of getting your own back without them ever knowing what you know. You could always use it again in the future to confront them over it if something else comes to light. I've never confronted anyone about it anything yet, but I've always gotten satisfactory revenge :)
    Most people actually don't say anything bad about us, we just always naturally think they do. But when you do catch someone out it's justified.

I'm not going to open letter and hack emails:pac: That's going way overboard.

Sorry what? You can count me out of that 'we'. As for it "being justified", it's not. Invading personal privacy is a lot worse than saying someone's an eejit. If someone confronted me after checking my phone, Id write them off as a friend before they finished their sentence. And you actually go and get revenge? Maybe take note of what is being said about you and try change your ways so you can be like the rest of us.. Not a paranoid mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

The other day I was using my friend's phone to text someone. It was a Blackberry and I didn't really know how to use it. I went into pictures by mistake and there were tons of naked pictures of her and her boyfriend.

orourkeda wrote: »
    When you say "clip" presumably you mean porn. If he filmed himself bangin' some bird and put in a place where it can be viewed he's an idiot and deserves to be looked at.

However, if these "documents" are not for public consumption, not sexually explicit and he has taken reasonable precautions to prevent people seeing them who shouldn't then it is no more than prying on your part
    What are precautions? Locking it in a rar file on a separate partition inside a virtual operating system? Or is a private folder enough?

As far as I'm concerned, once it's not in my browser or xbmc, I shouldn't have to worry..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

You just sound like a paranoid wreck to me.

And a shit friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

If you found this stuff - it's probably because they wanted you to find it.

Kinky feckers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭smallBiscuit

As a general rule, I don't look, fixing someones comp, I keep my eyes closed, don't look at recent history, keep out of browser cache, etc. I don't know of they are kinky weird feckers, I do not want to know.

I assume they are :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

theTinker wrote: »
    I always wonder what they are thinking when i hand them back a cd of thier personal data and its clearly got something that you dont want ANYONE EVER to know you look at.

EXAMPLES!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Robdude

If someone leaves their computer somewhere - absolutely not.
    If someone asks me to fix their computer - yes.

Part of fixing the computer is going to be me trying to backup their stuff. That means looking around to find their personal stuff they don't want to lose and making a copy.

stoneill wrote: »

Kinky feckers.
    My sis in law hides no secrets, freaks me out some times. She was showing me photos from a night out when suddenly her bits were on the screen and she went into a story of how she took the photos for her gyno following problems since child birth.

I didn't want or need to see them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭smallBiscuit

stoneill wrote: »

Kinky feckers.
    My sis in law hides no secrets, freaks me out some times. She was showing me photos from a night out when suddenly her bits were on the screen and she went into a story of how she took the photos for her gyno following problems since child birth.

Smash, if you're a girl, that's sorta ok. Of you're a bloke, I think you're missing the message she's trying to give you :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

She wants you,............she hot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

Sure she did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Nope not intentionally anyway. I logged on to youtube on a friends computer once and all this hardcore porno sh1t start coming up on the Recommended (because you watched) viewing. He was sitting beside at the time, bit of an awkward moment but I just pretended not to see anything.

Aoifey! wrote: »
    The other day I was using my friend's phone to text someone. It was a Blackberry and I didn't really know how to use it. I went into pictures by mistake and there were tons of naked pictures of her and her boyfriend.
    It can easily happen.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

O' ...not good.

No lads she had some sort of prolapse, wasn't pretty!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Jagle

Nope not intentionally anyway. I logged on to youtube on a friends computer once and all this hardcore porno sh1t start coming up on the Recommended (because you watched) viewing. He was sitting beside at the time, bit of an awkward moment but I just pretended not to see anything.

youtube doesnt show porn, so either you werent on youtube or your talking bs:rolleyes:

Biggins wrote: »
    O' ...not good.
    I better clarify because I think people think I'm being serious. I should have used this :rolleyes:little fellow from the beginning but I HATE HIM!
    I've never looked through someones phone or pc documents. Anyone who does purposefully needs to be evaluated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Aoifey! wrote: »

Game on.....thats an invite for a threesome...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭Arianna_26

I'd consider it completely out of order and a breach of your friend's trust.

Besides, say if you did go snooping and were to find something that made you think differently about your friend - you can hardly say anything about it as it would show you up for being a nosey, untrustworthy person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

If there's a lesson here, it's this: sharing a computer doesn't mean sharing an account. If you give each user their own account, then no-one can see anyone else's private files, including browser history etc. If it's your computer, everyone else should be a "standard" user with no administration rights. Enable the Guest account (on Windows) for strangers needing quick access. Lock the screen (Win+L) or log out if you have to leave the computer.

These days, with a multi-user OS like Windows 7, there's no excuse for using someone else's account. You obviously can't trust people to respect your privacy.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭SteoL

Jagle wrote: »

youtube doesnt show porn, so either you werent on youtube or your talking bs:rolleyes:

Got there before me jagle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I remember about 10-12 years ago when the I was just discovering the internet, my mate wanted to know how to clear history. I went into temp internet files, or history (can't remember which) and you could clearly see what he typed into a yahoo search.
    I can still remember falling around laughing after seeing "spank me teacher" and "anal assassins". He said he was bored one night and was typing in everything.